219095 User submitted reviews online!!
Sonoma County Fair Grounds was rated 7 out of 10 based on 72 user reviews. Phone: (707) 293-8410
CGID472

Sonoma County Fair Grounds

Camp Information
Sites
48
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   5   8   8   7   7   7   5   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
Rate reflects PA for 1st night plus 3 nights at full $30/night rate. This CG could be a 9+ except for some minor nits plus 1 big issue. First, the positives. The sites are double width for large events where they cram them in. I would not want to be here then. During our stay, each rig had a double wide for itself. The utility pedestals are in good shape and set in concrete so everything is neat and tidy. The shade trees are neatly trimmed to avoid eating RV roofs and solar panels. The surface is large (~1/2 to 1 inch) gravel that doesn't track into the RV. The sites are canted, making it difficult to level without deploying blocks. They won't let you park facing the opposite direction. There's no grass anywhere. The bathrooms and showers are worn but clean except the moldy shower curtains. The laundry has good, clean washers and dryers. The primary host is a nice guy who seems to always be hustling around and getting things done. His underling is a major negative who needs a class on customer service. His first words to me, before I said a word, were, "That's the way it is. If you have to wait 10 minutes, so be it. I don't care." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$27
Great price for the area. The park is basic, We stayed here a few days and then stored our camper here while we took a cruise. Worked out great. Love the town of Santa Rosa, but then who wouldn't love the home of Charles M. Schulz and his Peanuts gang. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2014
$30
A clean safe place to park overnight with hookups. That is not easy to find in the Santa Rosa area. I can't say much more than that. It really is nothing more than a gravel parking lot with hookups near the fairground. It is right off Highway 1, two exits over and they are very careful about security. No long-term residents (14 days maximum stay), no RVs older than ten years unless the camp host approves them, camp host on site 24/7, level sites, lots of room to maneuver the rig. We stayed here a few years ago and we came back because we have relatives in the area. It's safe. Its clean. If you want scenery go further north. if you need a stopover or have family in Santa Rosa it's perfect. $30 seems high for a gravel parking lot with no cable or Wi-Fi but for this part of California it's a bargain. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$27
Nothing special, but was clean and friendly. Has gravel level lots. Was a short walk/cab to town. The Russian River Brewery was our stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$35
Easy to find, very friendly and helpful hosts and a great location for touring Sonoma, Napa, Bodega Bay, and other interesting things in the area. No cable or Wi-Fi, but satellite was clear. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$27
Sonoma County Fairgrounds RV Park in Santa Rosa is a great place to stay overnight. For us it was just an overnight and wanted a safe place to stay. We have stayed here in October and will return. Check in is easy the staff is friendly and helpful. The gravel sites (the whole park is gravel) are clean and level all good size, all pull through, big rig friendly. Do have to drive some surface streets in and out, but not bad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
This is a large gravel lot that is level with some shade trees. Utilities are placed correctly and worked fine even in 97 degree weather. It's close enough to go down to Frisco for the day. Overall this park is fine for a short stay. They do not have WI-FI. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
It is just a gravel parking lot, but worked for our needs. Convenient and the price was right. Would stay again if I had to be in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
We wanted a reasonably priced place to stay while visiting the area and this fit the bill for that. We got a Good Sam discount. However, it's definitely not an attractive one, but that's to be expected for a fairgrounds. It's a gravel parking lot and the surrounding neighbors had barking dogs and music blaring. There was also a 'cross fit' event going on and the campground had a lot of party goers and kids running around uncontrolled. Management did nothing about it. We came in on a Thursday and management was turning away 'normal' RVers saying the campground will be booked up for the weekend with the event. We had reservations, so were allowed to stay. As it turned out, it wasn't nearly full so turning away folks was not necessary. The bathrooms were not cleaned daily. The park is very difficult to get to off 101 with so much traffic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$23
A county RV Park located close to downtown. Nothing fancy, all gravel, sites basically level, Wi-Fi not working during our stay, lots of sites for satellite, satisfactory site spacing, good utilities, only 2 washers & 2 dryers, but worked well. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$23
Price reflects Good Sam. They also accept PPA for 1 night. Here 6 nights & good for wineries & visiting San Francisco. Santa Rosa is a fun town with good restaurants. Bodega Bay is a short drive. The campground consists of gravel with trees here & there. The laundry is convenient. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$23
Rate reflects Good Sam discount. This place is a gravel parking lot with full hookups. The "camp hosts" are all very nice. The hookups are well placed, spots fairly level, trees small, but give some shade, plenty of room to park you car beside your coach even with a slideout out. WiFi very good if you are in the right spot. Try for #51. Restrooms are old, and the paint is flaking, but they are cleaned every day by the city, and there is plenty of free hot water. We planned on staying two, maybe three days, but ended up staying eight, and we still didn't do everything we wanted, but had to move on. A good base of Bodega Bay and other places on the coast, as well as the Napa Valley, and Santa Rosa itself, home to Charles Shulz and Luther Burbank. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$23
Very convenient location in Santa Rosa with easy access to Sonoma County wine country. Located on open, gravel site with a few trees that might provide some shade in summer. Gravel not much fun for our dog, but several grassy parks nearby. Bathroom was clean but in need of upgrade and fresh paint, especially the showers. Staff/hosts were friendly and helpful. A good value for the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$15
The park is in a great location if you are planning to visit Santa Rosa. Pretty easy access from the freeway. The park is a short drive to downtown and practically around the corner is a shopping center that includes a Trader Joe's and Target. This park is not gravel; it is rocks everywhere and not smooth ones. There is no place to walk your pet except on rocks. If you plan to stay there, I recommend a spot by the gate so you can easily walk your pet outside the grounds. The host put me at the far end near the residential area telling me it was a quiet spot. It was not the neighbor had hens and a rooster that crowed at 4 in the morning. I would go back but park near the front gate and as far from the far end as possible in case that rooster is still there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$30
$15 the first day (Passport America rate), $30 the second day, for full 50 amp hookups. A gravel parking lot that's easy for any size rig to navigate. There is a bodacious dip where the driveway meets the road. Sites are level and wide, and they are long enough for a big rig and tow/towed vehicle. The 50 amp power was very good--almost no sag in voltage under heavy loads. The camp host was very pleasant. He gives you a code to access the rest rooms and laundry. The rest rooms and showers are old but clean. The laundry is tiny--two washers and two driers, with no table for folding clothes. The host told us that their Wi-Fi wasn't working. It was not clear whether than meant that it was down permanently. Costco is less than a mile away. If we need to stop again in this area, we'll stay here. Unlike a proper RV park, there is no nearby train and no highway noise! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
Good for what you pay for it. Site was level and clean, hookups were well maintained and easy to use. Host was right there as soon as I pulled in and very friendly and helpful. Nothing to go to or see within walking distance, so it's best to pull in, hook up, make dinner and read or use the Internet for entertainment unless you have a toad. If I had kids I'd want them to have games or DVDs to watch, and hope I'd tired them out doing things during the day so they fall asleep early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
There are so few options to stay in Sonoma County so this park is the best option. While it is rather bleak in terms of amenities...gravel, few trees..It is easy to park and hook up. No cable and little TV reception, so a satellite is a must. We did not use the Wi-Fi as we had our own. The park limits the stay to 14 days which means there are truly travelers in the park and no permanent residents, which we found to be a plus. The on site hosts are helpful and attentive, but this is the first park we have stayed in that required we show our insurance on the trailer. Also watch for the big "dip" in the entry to the park. All in all we will stay here again since we have relatives in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
Sites are gravel, average size and very level. Easy to maneuver in park and sites. Utilities worked well except for Wi-Fi. This park gives excellent access to the surrounding wine country and is about one hour north of San Francisco. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
This is a good deal for a place to explore the wine country. It's not much more than a large gravel parking lot but the site are reasonably roomy with excellent utilities. Wi-Fi was flaky during our stay with lots of dropouts. Very slow in the early evening but great late at night. Laundry was small with 2 washers and dryers. No space for folding or hanging clothes. Park is closed during fair which is mid-July to mid-August. Host's comment was that you didn't want to be there during the fair. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
Everything worked well. Nice long level gravel spots with adequate room between. The camp host was super nice and helpful. Easy to navigate to but watch for dip at turn in. We would stay here again. Price reflexes good Sam and weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
You cannot beat the location of this campground. We have stayed here twice now. It is not fancy but the location is great and it is quiet for sleeping. No cable TV and does not get much in the way of over the air TV. We would rate it higher if it had some cable TV and the internet worked better. But we had a Verizon aircard and it worked fine. Bathrooms are clean but older and somewhat worn. Sites are average size and level. Gravel roads but not a lot of dust. There are garbage cans at every site and the trash is picked up daily which is very nice! The campground hosts are friendly, helpful, and available. We will be back. Sonoma wine country is great and seems to have smaller crowds for wine tasting than Napa. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
Open lot, good for satellite reception. Good hook-ups, very friendly host. Would have rated higher, except there is a huge dip at the entry causing our rig to severely bounce from side to side. Refrigerator doors and food came flying as did a number of cabinet contents. If they would fix this I would rate as 9. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$15
Who would have thought a county fairground would be such a great rest stop! Friendly host, clean gravel lot, great water pressure & voltage. And a QUIET night's sleep, away from road noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
It was very quiet for a fairground setting. Very helpful campground host. Convenient location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$15
Great for a stop over or seeing area. Camp host very friendly. Easy access from 101. Agree with what everyone else said! Easy in/out. Rate was PA for 50 amp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
Great park to visit while in the Santa Rosa. Sites and roads are rock and not even but can be leveled up. Camp host was friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Recommend for both short and long stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Great campground when visiting the Sonoma-Russian River Valley and surrounding areas wine regions. Healdsburg is just up the road about 15 miles and is a great little town. Friendly campground hosts, excellent hookups and includes free wi-fi with a strong signal. We were here for 4 days in October 2011 and will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
This park gives most discounts, PA, Escapee, Good Sam and several others. The sites are just hook-ups in a graveled parking lot but they are level, access is very good and some sites have fair shade. The staff are friendly and the price is the best that I know of in that part of the state. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Park refuses anyone with a ten year or older motorhome. We were turned away from an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$13
If you have a GPS you have to write in the address as GPS does not have County Fair grounds listed. It was clean; gravel sites and roadways. Laundry room clean. Pleasant and for the price incredible. The camp host is very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
This is an adequate park for short stays to visit the area. Keep in mind it's the only RV park in Santa Rosa. The park is a large, gravel parking lot with 50amp electricity along the back row and the rest 30amp. Good voltage but water pressure is low (40 psi). The sites are long and level with large gravel. The sites aren't real wide so your neighbors are pretty close. Now the bad part. During the Sonoma County fair you will share one site with another RV which probably wouldn't allow for slide outs on at least one side and maybe both much less awnings. So, unless you don't mind being real cozy I would suggest checking before coming in to see if this is the case. The Trailer Life directions are good but the roads leading to the park are fairly narrow and big rigs will have to use the opposing lane when making sharp turns. I would suggest calling the RV park for possible alternate routes from Hwy 12 or Hwy 101. The park accepts Good Sam and Passport America and the price reflects Passport America rates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
Really nice place to stay while exploring the area. The fairgrounds outside the RV park lot are lovely, but you can't ride around in them on a bike, much to my disappointment. You are in a gravel parking lot for the RV's, but there are some trees, we had one on our site. Residential area around the fairgrounds low income area but we felt safe. Laundry facility at the RV park. Santa Rosa is a cool town to explore, great food, great whale watching at Bodega Bay Head about 30 miles away. Flea market on the weekends right across from the park. Friendly park manager, very helpful. We would stay here again, definitely. Very easy to get in and out with a big rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
This campground is clean, well managed and in the middle of California's famed wine country. The only amenity is Wi-Fi. The manager and work-campers are extremely friendly and efficient. The grounds are well graveled and there is a picnic table at each site. Be careful entering the fair-grounds as the swale is jarringly deep. There are trees at each site but they are immature. The utililty hook-ups are easily accessed. We are enjoying our stay under the sunny skies of Santa Rosa. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$27
Our Garmin GPS thinks the entrance is on "Meda" avenue, but it is on "Aston" just west of the Meda and Aston intersection. Also, the swale at the entrance is quite deep and can be a real bone-jarring experience lest you slow down to a creep. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$13
The rate is the Passport America rate. The wifi was smoking fast!! Gravel lot with good level sites and easy on off to Hwy 101. Close to wine country and easy trip to SF. Have stayed here before and would stay here again. Have to remember to get a site that does not have the parking lot light directly above the shower skylight!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
Full hookups with good WiFi in a large gravel park. The location is very convenient for wine country and close enough to San Francisco. The price is good for this area and easy access from highway 101. Do watch the swale as you enter the park. It is at that perfect angle to rock everything off the hangers and shelves in your closet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$25
Great place for an overnight stay. Very simple gravel spaces, no trees or much to look at. Sites are large and wide with very nice hook up stations. We would stay again for just an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
It is what it is: a giant gravel lot with hookups (very nice hookups I might add). Once you get past that, it is a fine place. It's a little bit off Hwy 101, near what looks like a horse/livestock area, and a quiet neighborhood. Sites were adequate size. (Although I was told they "double up" during big events, yikes). Roads were wide making pulling in/out a snap. We stayed here while visiting San Francisco and the Marin area. Sure it's a little far, but the campgrounds nearer to the city are twice as expensive. To us it was the right combination of price and proximity. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
As others have mentioned, this park is essentially a large gravel/crushed rock area with hookups. Although it clearly gets crowded during events, it's a great stop otherwise. It's far enough from US-101 that there's no road noise, yet still convenient to shopping or as a base for exploring Sonoma. Hopefully, they'll expand the number of 50A sites over time, as they are a small percentage of those available and it does get hot here (larger rigs will need 50A for A/C). Staff was helpful and friendly, our pets were welcome, and we had no issue getting satellite and Verizon signals. Rate reflects Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Passport America for one night only is accepted. If your stay is 5 days or longer, best value is to use Good Sam. The park is centrally located for touring of wine country. It is also close to Charles Schultz museum. Spaces are comfortably sized so neighbors aren't in your face. A great value for the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
The park is all gravel with some trees. 30A is $25; 50A is $30. All sites are full-hookups. There is a small laundry and the restrooms are clean. The host was helpful and friendly. This is an o.k. park if you are doing things in the area. All sites are suitable for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$13
This park is nothing more than a large gravel lot, with hook-ups, and a smattering of small trees. However, it is next to the fairgrounds, and I imagine, that when the fair is running, it is perfect for people that are working, or showing something at the fair. It was only $12.50 a night, with Good Sam. Staff was friendly, and let us pick our site. Worked well for our overnight. We would try to find another town to stay at, but if in Santa Rosa again for the night, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Big gravel lot, nothing fancy, but clean. Served our purpose. Good Verizon and At&T signal. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Yes this is a large gravel lot with RV site. But they are large and most of them seem fairly level (there appear to be a few sites that good be hard to level). Good "base" of operations for the area. Not a "destination" type place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
Great stop over place. Sketchy looking neighborhood on the drive in, but don't let that fool you. Camp hosts were friendly and you can't beat the price! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Almost want to keep this park a secret. It is difficult to find a good campground with good access in either the Sonoma or Napa wine country area. This campground is in the middle of the Sonoma wine country. It is not scenic, being basically a large gravel area, but it is easy to get to, has OK Wi-Fi, and good camp hosts. The Good Sam rate at $27 for 50 amp ($5 less for 30 amp)is a steal by California standards. Will definitely being staying here when returning to this area. Only downside is not having access when events go on in the fairgrounds and a 14 day limit on your stay. Would have given it a 10 but doesn't have any sort of on site store, and the TV reception is limited to a couple of channels. A small price to pay for a nice clean campground in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
We stayed here over memorial day weekend. I only gave it a 6 because its really only a large gravel parking lot. It does smell like horses but its right next to a lot of horse stables. It really wasn't that bad when we were there. Only noticed when we first arrived or when returning from wine tasting. This is a great location to get you into wine country if you are bringing along a toad. It was clean and did the trick for a place to stay. You wouldn't sit around and hang out here as its not exactly a "resort". The neighborhood on the drive in seems a little sketchy but beyond that it was fine. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
Nice basic place to park for a couple days between stops. Large level sites and good utilities. We do not use park Wi-Fi so I can't rate but the Verizon signal was strong and fast. A little hard to find coming in on 101, even had my GPS confused. Would stay here again if in area. Rate is passport America for two days (1 day half price 1 day full price). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$23
Very, very nice. Campground hosts were friendly and helpful. Grounds were kept neat and clean. Wi-Fi excellent. A little difficult to get into. Directions weren't the best and there is a HUGE hump coming in/going out. Best to unhook before going in/coming out if possible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$22
Plenty of sites to choose from. Park has friendly camp hosts. There are only 2 washers and 2 dryers in a cramped room. But this is a good park for a day or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$25
This is just a HUGE (but level) gravel lot, with quite large pull-through sites. Each site has two pairs of hookups; I wonder if they "double up" when it's really busy. 50 amp sites are $5/night extra. Be sure to closely watch for the "RV Park" signs when you leave Highway 12, as you need to enter from Aston Ave, not Bennett Valley Rd. It isn't scenic, but it's decent and convenient. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
Best park in the bay area! Close for day trips to most everywhere in bay area from SF to the beaches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$23
This campground is easily the best deal in the Bay area! Sure, it’s a huge gravel parking lot, but the sites are level and very easy to pull into; plus, the park is roomy, quiet, clean, and far from any busy roads. The campground is very convenient to Hwy. 101, which you can then take over to East Bay or over the Golden Gate to San Francisco. It’s kind of a drive into San Francisco, but compared to RV parks closer to the city, this one has a fantastic price and no crowding. The slots are 70 feet long with spiffy utility posts that would allow you to put one long rig or two short ones in the spot. The laundry room is small and tight for the size of the park, but the washers and dryers were in excellent condition. My one complaint is that the bathroom had no electrical outlets, so I didn’t have anywhere to plug in my hair dryer. The kids complained that there wasn’t anything to do at the campground, but we tried to keep them busy on field trips to local attractions. Lola’s Market, which is located around the corner from the fairgrounds, has fantastic tacos and good pastries. The camp host was friendly and efficient, and our Verizon air card worked well. We used Good Sam to get a 10% discount off our week-long stay, but if you’re only staying one or two nights, you can get one night half-price with Passport America. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$23
We stayed there based on a previous review. It was an excellent place to just park for the night. A large gravel lot with some 12' trees. The camp host was on top of everything. The rate reflects the amenities. My rating is low because this is not a place to stay for views, beauty, privacy or things to do. It is a simple, clean place to hookup. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
We stayed both here and at the Napa County Fairgrounds in Calistoga and think this one is nicer. The bathrooms are in better condition. The shower, while resembling one in a high school gym, was hot and clean. The wi-fi was out when we were there. It's a lot quieter than the one in Calistoga. And it's a lot cheaper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
Clean and convenient. Good stopping point but would not recommend long term. No shade and hot gravel spots. Good place to pack and visit San Francisco for a day. Clean park with helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$23
Sort of hard to locate, we were happy we had our GPS working. A huge gravel parking lot, sites are level, different rates for 30-amp or 50-amp, no shade. All pull-through sites with full hook-ups. Wifi was free and worked great, only 3-channels on the antenna TV. The restrooms and showers are old, but clean. They require you to show your vehicle insurance card, maybe because it is on County property. The contact person is the Campground Host, not the County Fairgrounds. There is good security on site. It is quiet at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
A huge gravel parking lot, sites are level, different rates for 30-amp or 50-amp, no shade. The rate shown is for 30 amp. All long pull-through sites with full hook-ups. There is good security on site. It is quiet at night. This is a great location for exploring San Francisco; it is probably the best campground value in the area. There is a sizable hump to cross as you enter the campground. It is not a problem but you must take it very slowly. The easiest access to the campground is via Linwood Ave to reach the back side of the fairgrounds. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$25
Rate shown is without discount. I got first night for half price with Passport America. Sites are gravel and 72 feet long so there is room for any rig. Utility posts are shared and when campground fills then it might get a little tight for slideouts. There is no cable TV; only a few off the air channels. Pay phone is over in the fairgrounds (a long walk away). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$25
Good price for the area. No problems following the signage. Staff friendly and helpful. Laundry available. Well placed for touring the Sonoma/Napa area as well as Point Reyes. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$23
$22.50 with Good Sam. Park allows use of 1 discount card only. Passport is limited to 3 nights, cannot use it and then Good Sam. As stated just a big flat gravel lot with the killer curb cut at the entrance. Need to really really take it slow or you will have stuff flying all over the place. Hard to do with the way the traffic flys by. Double check directions, Trailerlife had us taking a left on a closed off road, watch for the small signs, take the first right after you see the fairgrounds. We would only stop again if we had too. Not very impressed with the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
There is nothing fancy about this place. It is all gravel with a small tree per site. We have stayed here before, and we will again because it is the best spot we have found in the area, and it is well priced. Make sure there isn’t an event going on at the Fairgrounds if you don’t have a reservation because the park can fill completely then. And yes, watch out for the bump coming in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$22
Good overnight stop. Great price! Big gravel parking lot with free wifi, full hookups. Little difficult to find in the dark but watch for small white signs at turns. Easy in and out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Great location for visiting the whole Sonoma/Napa area. Most sites have one tree that does provide some shade. Helpful and friendly staff. Wide pull throughs ,inexpensive and full hookups. Wi-Fi is fast and easy. The area is quiet at night. You do get some animal smell from the stables when the wind shifts but it is very intermittent and didn't really bother us. Given that this popular area has very few choices for RV hookups we think this place is a great bargain. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$23
I agree with the last review but feel it deserves a higher rating. Do watch the bump at the entrance and there are good signs directing you to the campground. As far as the smells, well it is a fairground in a agricultural area. Great value will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$23
There is a significant bump which is not readily visible getting in and out of the park. We also smelled urine and manure from the numerous stables. Staff was friendly and park is conveniently located but directions should be obtained as it is not clearly marked or described in the directions. The park is predominantly gravel, thus there is little to no grass to walk a dog. For the price we felt it was a good deal as the sites were wide and long with full hook-ups. We would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
Location and rate were good and sites level, but not a good area for walking the dogs. Most likely we would go somewhere else next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$23
This is a big gravel parking lot with full hook ups. Considering it's location, it's relatively quiet and safe. There is no shade, but I got perfect cell reception and the WiFi reception was excellent. The laundry was very small just two washers and two dryers. Not enough for the size of the park. I was up at 5:00 am to do my laundry! I didn't use the bathrooms, so I can't comment on them. It is right across the street from the fairgrounds and the stench of animal manure and urine is really bad at night and in the early morning. The location is close to downtown and very close to Hwy 12 which easy access to Hwy 101. This is a perfect spot to layover for a day or two, but not for a long term stay. The camp hosts are incredibly helpful and friendly! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$10
This is a convenient campground at the right price. The sites are wide & long enough, but it is quite dusty. We camped here using Passport America. The campground hosts were great. You need to pay by cash unless you go to the office during business hours and then you can use a credit card or check. We would stay here again. We have a 40' motor home with four slides. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2006
$10
I would have given this park a higher rating if it were not for the mud. November is rainy and the whole park is a wet. It is in a good location for touring the valley and the Passport America price of $10 per night is sure great but I guess that is why we put up with the dirt. There are no signs on your way to this park so have your directions when you start out. The laundry room consists of only two washers and dryers for such a large park. I think once it has grass or drainage of some sort it will be quite nice but expect if it is full the spots will be tight for the larger RVs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$10
The fairgrounds RV area is located at the back of the fairgrounds off of Aston Ave. This turned out to be a great place to stay while we loaded up food and gas from Costco which is only a few minutes away. It's nothing special, no tables or grass areas, just dirt and gravel pull through sites. The sites were level, the power was fine, water pressure wasn't the greatest but adequate. There are a few trees in the park but not a lot of shade. If the RV park is full, there is no room for awnings or slides, it is really tight. We were here during mid week and there were only a handful of motorhomes. They accept Passport America here, otherwise the daily rate is $20.00. There is a gate at the entrance to the RV park and there is someone patrolling the area at night. The horse stalls are across the street from the park and when the wind shifts, it's a bit horsey, but not too bad. We would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Very limited spaces, nothing fancy and no frills. Clean, gravel pull throughs. If full no room to extend awning. Great place to park and take in the Napa Valley attractions during the day. Spaces located in the back of the fairgrounds, very well maintained and secure. First come first serve. We paid in advance to secure space. It was well worth the $20 per night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com