214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Millerton Lake State Recreaton Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (559) 822-2332
CGID4825

Millerton Lake State Recreaton Area

Camp Information
Sites
148
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   9   9   6   9   8   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Nice setting. Very spacious sites and shade canopies. Very quiet in off season. Stayed in non-hookup site although those are available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Great camping. Asphalt parking gets hot during summer. Big trees behind spot. Easy access to lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Superb location, close to the lake. Only a few shady places, quickly taken by frequent visitors. Do not go to the full hook up site, the others are much better placed. The lake is Hot, Hot, Hot, and the campground is quiet, especially on weekdays. Not enough shade, and a stupid, incomprehensible reservation system, otherwise a 10/10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
We last camped here 30 years ago. We were really pleased with the improvements that have been made, in particular, the RV hookups. We were here with a large group of tent campers, so after spending the day at the lake with them, in 100+ degree temps, it was really nice to be able to go back our trailer's AC. For boaters: fuel dock at the marina may be closed during the week. The closest gas station or market for that matter, is about a 16 mile round trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
California state parks are too expensive for state parks. Beautiful view of wonderful lake, winding rode to get to park. Real downer is having to pay for showers instead of having time valve. Especially when park employee turns one of the site water spigots on full blast and then leave for over 30-minutes while it runs! Overall great place to stay overnight or vacation at. Would return, wish it wasn't so costly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$40
This site has a nice view on the lake but is too expensive for what it offers. Now there is too much parking around the sites and you feel no more in pure nature. Children are not welcomed because there is no playground and the only games are to play with the threes but it's also forbidden. We would not return there. Camp host very kind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
We dry camped right down on the water. Park staff was friendly. This was a great trip. I went for one night to check it out to see if it was as good as the posts suggested, and it was. We had a blast wading around in the water, even chased a fish with a big stick hoping to scare it on shore in the shallow water. This is a popular place for boaters, which I presently am not, however the marina does offer rentals, from what I understand. If you camp here in the summer expect very warm temperatures. The hooks up sites appear to be quite a bit closer together with less privacy than the dry sites. Looks like almost every dry camp site does include a fresh water spout. We camped in site 95 which at this time was the closest to the water and has a huge oak tree for picnic shade. It was just big enough to fit my 30' and tow vehicle. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$29
Nice park in a very nice setting -- except I need wi-fi for my work and the closest was 45 minutes away. 15 minutes of that is getting from the turn-off into the park back to the RV camping area -- it seems to take forever! The coyotes howling at night and the zillions of stars almost make up for the distance. The bathrooms and showers were typical of CA state parks, clean and decent. I thought the $29 off-season fee was a little high, especially comparing it to some of the weekly rates of private campgrounds, but we liked camping there and the hosts were *very* friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
This campground is quite a trip from the main road. We camped out of season, so it's self check-in. Don't pay at the main station, wait until you get into the RV campground to pay. The campground is like a parking lot with wide spaces. Picnic tables are two feet apart, so you should like your fellow campers. We saw several hawks and heard coyotes at night. It is a nice California State campground, but we're used to camping in Oregon where each site is very private. Since it's so far from the main roads, we probably will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$34
Millerton Lake SRA is an outstanding campground and we cannot wait to return. The park was clean and well maintained. The restrooms and showers were, by far, the cleanest I have ever seen in a state park and better than most high-end campgrounds! There is a lot of beach access so, even with a full campground, you won’t feel crowded down on the beach. The drawbacks are that only about 30 sites of the 148 are full hook up, (the rest are dry sites) and they require that generators be off from 8:00 p.m. to 10:00 a.m. The full hookup sites felt a little like a parking lot, but there was a large area of grass and trees behind each site with the standard fire rings and picnic tables. The park staff was friendly and patrolled the park regularly. We cannot wait to return! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2005
$20
There are 148 sites in the campground though only 26 have electrical and water. Most of these are situated on asphalt with open wooded area behind the rv. Only a few sites with hookup are in a shaded area. Many of the sites without hookups are amongst trees though. There is a view of the lake from most of the sites. Self-registration was in proces at time of our visit and campground was practically empty. Nice place to relax if one can do without telephone and tv. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com