214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Rideau Acres Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (613) 546-2711
CGID4973

Rideau Acres Campground

Camp Information
Sites
320
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   7   6   8   9   9   7   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
This large park is about 75% seasonals, most of whom are not particularly friendly to transients. Nonetheless, the facilities are pretty good, at least in the part we used. Their laundry is satisfactory, though somewhat undersized for the number of users. Convenience to Kingston is the major attraction for us. Our rate includes a discount for a week long stay. We might stay here again if we need to be close to Kingston. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
Campsite right on the water, great to see the sunset and rise. Very friendly, and quiet during the week. Quite a few mosquitoes, but nothing a bit of spray can't fix. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
Expensive park for what you get, WIFI was only a hotspot and no cable is available. We hit town just in time for a dog show at the park, but thankfully we spent the day away from the park. The area is beautiful. The park itself is very dusty. Since we only wanted an overnight stopping place, this place was somewhat pricey for the services available. We probably would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
This is not a great Big Rig Campground, but it does have its own charm. The roads and sites are dirt and the recent rains made them soggy. The sites are uneven although it was not difficult to level our rig. Wi-Fi is only available at the office. On the other hand the setting of the campground is on Colonel By Lake that provides associated wildlife and great sunsets. The park is exceptionally friendly to birds and has a large approachable population of birds including peacocks and a variety of geese. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
Got a site the last minute for 2 nights during the week. Was about 50 feet from a beach! Shallow water, warm, with a little island to walk to. Great for the kids! Nice tent sites right on the water. Friendly seasonal campers. Decent playground, and clean pool. Only one shower in each bathroom, but was often vacant (surprisingly). A lot of noise from passing trains. There was one around 10:30 PM, one sometime overnight, one at 7 AM that I wasn't too thrilled with. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
We stayed here as part of a week long group rally. Long, level pull through sites with good internal roads. The water system kept cutting off and on and running dirty, but otherwise the facilities are good. Wi-Fi is available at the store (cafe?). Our group (36 trailers) used the excellent rec hall for dinners on two nights. We enjoyed the stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$32
Wonderful park with peacock, guinea hens, and geese wandering around. Permanent residents are well separated from transient. Shaded as well as sunny pull through sites. Wi-Fi available at main rec hall and also a Wi-Fi Cafe. Friendly people all over with great roads to walk/hike throughout this huge park. Security gated with guard shack. Rate was based on a monthly rate. The only drawback was poor water, very mineral based well water. Make coffee with bottled water! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$41
Nice well run campground on the outskirts of Kingston, ON. On the river although we did not have a riverfront site. Personnel was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Not a bad park but not real professional in dealing with public. No signage to tell you where the office is and seldom anyone around to take your money. We extended our stay a few times and it was almost impossible to find someone. Constantly saw new arrivals wandering the park trying to figure out how to register. One guy told me he was just taking an open space and leaving the next day without paying. Not sure how that worked out. We stayed over a week and the shower had an old toothpick and razor cover on the floor the whole time I was here. Beyond that, sites were nice, large and well kept. Rate was Passport America and varied from $19-$25 depending on who took your $. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
As per previous reviews, the place is a little tired, but still pretty OK. Nice long pull through sites, though we had to do quite a bit of leveling. Handy to downtown Kingston. Also, very pretty, right on the canal. Being so late in the season, we didn't use the showers, so can't comment. Roads were a little muddy with the bad weather, but just surface stuff. Still solid. Nothing that would bury your rig. The biggest disappointment was the WiFi. Once again, third party provider, so any problems are not the park's problems. Signal was weak, even with a Lynx booster, and bandwidth was pitiful. Like so many parks, they haven't got it that "full service sites" these days needs to include good internet. Staff was friendly and helpful. Gave us a real welcome feeling. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
Please note: the rate I've listed is the Passport America rate. We've had the pleasure of visiting this campground a number of times both with groups as well as "solo" and will again in the future. From what we've seen if you're visiting the Kingston area you won't find a better campground. It's completely "as advertised" and we definitely recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
Where to start? Let's start with the reservation. Now, I made my reservation on Thursday. Not bad, that they had a spot for this great weather weekend for me. I mentioned that I was a Passport America member, knowing that they do not accept the discount before August 15, but the guy who recorded the reservation, told me they would accept it anyway. GREAT! I make my reservation. The check in, being a busy weekend, was havoc. Lined up all the way to the main road, I walked up to the check-in booth. Being about 6th in line, there are vehicles that pull up past the STOP sign and park right at the access gate and line up. Well: how are all these people standing in line, going to get in, now that buddy at the back of the line is now blocking the gate? Great. I finally get to check in, and the girl who is checking my in advises that the person who took the reservation was wrong and that they will not accept the PA discount, "during the summer." I ask her when else are we supposed to be camping in Ontario? Not about to turn back home after 2+ hours, I check in. Girl at the check-in gives me the wrong site number. The site #'s are very difficult to find and there isn't really all that much room to be maneuvering a 35+ foot RV around. I get to the site and there is already another camper in it. Great. #2 Finally get my correct site and head back. Nice site, kind of unlevel, FHU with the sewer, in the front of the site? I don't know anyone who would have a hose that long. Great. #3 The pool was great. Weather was awesome. They kick all the kids out of the pool for an adult swim from 2pm to 3pm. Everyone leaves and there was no one there. I'm not sure if anyone was there for that hour, but it seemed to be a waste to throw the kids out if there are no adults here to swim. They could have gone around and checked the 20 or so people here, who were all with kids, if any would stay for the adult only swim. Overall, an experience that tells me that I won't be back to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
Sites are nice and reasonably level. Owners are making efforts to put money back into the park though the washrooms are in need of a major face lift. The staff was pleasant, and helpful and the grounds are beautiful. Nice beach and dock area. Great sunsets. We would certainly go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
This is an older campground with lots of seasonal trailers. It is well kept and very pretty. We were given a site with a view of the canal and were treated to a beautiful sunset. The night was quiet and we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. Passport America rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
This is a very busy and crowded campground. Our site was so narrow we could smell the sewer on the site next to us, and the sewer connection for our site was immediately adjacent to our neighbors tent where they were sleeping. We didn't have the heart to connect up our sewer hose. It seems that this campground caters more for the seasonal campers and the overnighters get second best. We chose this campground because it was close to Kingston. Next time we will look further afield. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
It is a very nice campground. We only stayed 1 night. Everything was quiet. Everything was clean and kept up. They did lock the showers in the afternoon, we are not sure why. The showers and toilets are in two different rooms of the same building. There is a shower in the toilet area, but the exhaust for this room isn't the greatest - it is very hot and humid after someone takes a shower. We would stay again in this campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
This is one of the better campgrounds we have visited. The owners and staff are friendly and helpful. We found strong Wi-Fi at the pavillion, but not at our site. However, my husband was able to do an online training activity required by his place of employment by sitting in the pavillion. There is a lifeguard at the pool, which is quite lovely. The park is located on the Rideau Canal and has a "beach" area, but our kids preferred the pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$34
A very well-kept and beautiful park. We enjoyed our stay here very much. The duck pond with plenty of ducks and great playground were enjoyable for my 2-1/2 year old daughter. We only wish we would have taken one of the back-in sites instead of the pull-through that we took as they were nicer but I thought the pull-through was easier. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
We've stayed at this campground on several occasions, the most recent being July 22-25. We have always enjoyed our stays. The campsites are relatively large and with the exception of the rally sites give enough privacy so you don't feel as though you're camping in a Walmart parking lot. THere are quite a few seasonal sites but we've never felt as if we're intruding. Our only complaint and it's not a big one is the park could use more staff. Washrooms tend to get a little dirtier than they should be. Again though, I feel price relects that. More staff higher rates. Paying less than $40 nightly for a fully serviced site in a private Ontario campground is a good deal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2008
$1
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
This is a very nice park right off the 401 in Kingston. The pull through sites are very nice as traffic on the out road is only from rigs that are actually leaving so you don't have vehicles constantly circling. The campground is clean and the staff friendly. It is a nice place to relax or to use a a base to explore Kingston and the 1000 islands. There is a high percentage of seasonals. Nice pool and an OK beach. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Large campground right off Hwy. 401, close to Kingston. We camped here for first time on Canada Day weekend, and I can safely say we won't camp here a 2nd time. When booking, I asked if we could check in late. I was assured there wouldn't be a problem - I was told there was an intercom system at the entrance with a direct line to the owners who could open the gate for us. We arrived late - so we attempted to contact someone via the intercom - to no avail. No one answered despite numerous attempts. We were contemplating parking the trailer in the entryway when one of the employees (teenager) came ambling by. We were able to get in with his assistance. The roads and campsites aren't well marked out at all. The pool isn't heated - freezing!! There are a high percentage of seasonals, some looking quite derelict. During our stay there was a large family gathering of campers near our site who proceeded to boldly block the road to our general campsite area with their picnic tables and general party gear. We advised the staff of this - teenagers again - and no action was taken. All in all there was the impression of subtle neglect. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
Beware of renting anything here! The pluses for the campground are that they have a nice in ground pool,a playground and duck ponds but we learned that both the paddle boat rental and the bike rental were thru private parties and not the campground. I paid for a paddle boat rental and the girl at the desk told me there were two- one that leaked and one that was available for use. When we arrived at the beach there was only one paddle boat and no one knew if that was the one that worked! When we went back to the desk we were informed that the campground didn't own the boats, sometimes the boats got stolen and that also she would page the owner to come help us. No help arrived and we instead asked for a refund. We decided to rent a 4 wheeled bike instead and we were directed to a weedy campsite with bikes. My husband rented a bike and in the process during his ride got an 8 inch gash on his leg from a protruding screw from these less than well maintained bikes. Many were held together with duct tape. We stayed here for the dog show and we were kind of upset that we had to stay in the Rally section, which had no shade, even though we had a tent. The sites were very poorly marked. Actually, the sites had no numbers and the map is very confusing. We stayed in what we thought was our site and we were next to a very large dumpster with no lid that was full of trash. Also, we had electric but did not have the right adapter so our plugs did not fit into their outlets. There are no showers or bathrooms in the Rally section. The bathroom that I was able to find had only 1 shower. It was hot and powerful though. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
Very attractive and well maintained. Lovely landscaping with ponds and ducks. Staff great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$17
We stayed at this campground for a week. The space between the entrance gates is a little narrower than I like for our 38' motorhome with tow vehicle. Check in was extremely slow (a good 30+ minutes) and after talking with other RV'ers, we weren't the only ones that had problems at check-in. This is a Passport America Park. Although they weren't advertising Wi-Fi, I found it when I turned on my computer. After checking with the office, I was told they were just in the process of setting it up and weren't sure if I would be able to access it from our location in the park, because of all of the trees in that area. They did say that if we were in one of the newer areas (without the trees), I would likely be able to get better reception. As we were camping with another couple, it wasn't worth re-locating two RVs for the few times we would likely go on the internet. They didn't charge me for the Wi-Fi, because they were still in set-up mode and not advertising the service. I appreciated that as the service was extremely sporadic in our section of the park. It kept dropping the line. The beach had the potential to be nice, but was full of goose droppings. They have a 9 hole frisbee golf course and once we figured out where to start, it was good fun. A sign on the road pointing to the first hole would be helpful. We had daily visitors from the duck pond looking for a piece of bread. Overall it is a nice peaceful and relaxing campground with decent size sites. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$19
This is nice as very few campgrounds in Ontario have 50 amp service. Passport America campground. Has water on 3 sides but most waterfront taken up by seasonal. There are some sites with water view. No cable (you get used to it in the US). Some sites need leveling blocks but most are not bad. Laundry room needs more dryers but price is good. We like it here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com