220693 User submitted reviews online!!
Rancho Oso was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (877) 880-2508
CGID4978

Rancho Oso

Camp Information
Sites
159
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   7   9   7   9   9   5   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$13
This is a great park, handy to Santa Barbara and the Ynez valley. Although there were no pull thrus, the back in sites were easy to manage with plenty of turning space. The restrooms were clean. There is WiFi (not the greatest) in the adult lodge and some of it spills into the nearest campsites. We took advantage of local hiking, bicycling, and organized activities like the stock demonstration and wine tasting right on site. The pool and hot tub are beautifully surrounded by trees. The only downside is the narrow road within the ranch that takes you to the campsites. It is very narrow and very winding with three corners that have big convex mirrors to help you see around. It is quite nerve-wracking with a big RV. On-coming traffic can best be avoided by checking in late in the afternoon and leaving early in the morning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$62
There are a lot of great things about this RV park. It is quiet, the man at the gate was very nice. Our grand daughter took the horse back ride and loved it. The girl leading the horses was really great. The RV spots are large, but dirt, there was no privacy plants between the spots. There were bottle caps and garbage that wasn't cleaned up when we arrived at our spot. I never saw anyone cleaning up the RV spots. The pool area was clean and the pools were very nice. The last 1.3 miles was a one way road. There were 3 switch backs that you couldn't see around and they had mirrors that the driver coming down could see if there was someone coming, however the person coming up had no clue if there was someone in their path. We were towing a toad and it would have been hard for us to back up. Rancho Oso wants people leaving to use the road in the morning and the ones coming in to use it in the afternoon. That sorta of works but every time I used the road and met someone however not at the switch backs. I don't think my husband wants to drive that 1.3 miles again. As far as cell phone use you can go into the lodge, which is very nice and they have a booster and I was able to get an AT&T signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$1
We are TT members and the price reflects this. Yes, there is a 1 1/2 mile 2 lane road into the park but most people leave in the morning and arrive in the afternoon so we did not see a problem. I think there might be one in the summer when the place gets busier than in February. The campground is terraced and the sites are mostly level but on dirt and gravel. We had trouble finding a site with good electrical connections but finally did and settled in. There are nice trails around the park to take. The ranch house is historic and fun to visit. We enjoyed the sundaes (who wouldn't) and there were all sorts of other meals served. There was a small convenience store. We used this campground to explore the area of Solvang, Santa Barbara, Kanpp Castle, and the roads around the area. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$0
First time out to this campground, but for sure not the last time. The restrooms are the cleanest ones we have ever seen. Free pool table in very good condition. The pools are heated and warm enough (sure warmer would be better), but they are nice and deep (up to 8 1/2'). The sites are level and it is very peaceful. Internet seems to be limited on a daily usage, so in the morning it works good and in the afternoon it slows done to unusable. Great Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$1
Thousand Trails members rate. Park is in a beautiful setting, but the drive in is a bit difficult as it is over very steep large hills from 101 northbound and then ends via a very narrow access road with corners so tight they have mirrors mounted to see around the corner! Luckily no traffic coming out as we went in. Most of the park is tiered with lots of tall grass, hills and trees surrounding dirt and gravel sites. VERY quiet and peaceful. 30 amp electric is steady, good water and we got strong Direct TV with no issue. Verizon was very marginal but with my signal booster got out fine. We would come here again. This is about 24 miles out of Santa Barbara; a slow, curvy drive to be sure. No quarrel with park itself. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$1
Second time at this campground and our rate is Thousand Trails member. We enjoy this location. For us it's close to home in miles but seems like you're out in the wilds. Campground has 30 amp power, good water, and sewer connections. Lots of areas to explore and walking trails to enjoy. Plenty of mule deer in the campground at dusk and into the night. Adult lodge allows internet access and Verizon cell worked but only single bar. We stayed here in site #1 and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$1
Spent 5 nights here during mid-week through weekend. Our rate is with Thousand Trails Zone Pass. AS with others, the last part of the drive into CG is narrow, but we had no problem. CG was fairly full although all the facilities we mostly had to ourselves. The adult clubhouse was well equipped with nice lounge and pool table. We checked out the swimming pool(heated pool was closed for repairs), but both pools looked in good shape as well as the heated spa. All utilities worked well(30 amp power, water and sewer), Cell phone coverage was limited. We didn't have our computers with us so we don't know about Wi-Fi although we saw several with their computers in the lounge area's. Lots of wildlife about at dusk and dawn(mule deer, wild turkeys, fox). All in all a very nice time and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$15
WARNING. Getting to the park and getting anywhere from the park is extremely difficult. It is 15 miles past Santa Barbara over and around mountains. Then you exit onto the approach road which is smaller and more difficult to maneuver. And then like Disney World, you reach the entrance only to find another mile of harrowing driving. I have a 26 ft class A diesel with a tow and was very concerned most of the way. Once arriving for our 3 night visit we decided that going back and forth to SB would be too difficult even with just a car, so we forfeited our prepayment through RPI and left. The park seemed nice, but the ride was not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$58
Were told about this hidden gem of a campground by a friend. We liked is so much that we actually joined Thousand Trails because of the campground. Lots of activities to keep busy with if you want to stay in the campground all day. Decent movie selection at the store with recent movie rentals. Lodge's are very nice and well maintained. Site was level and all utilities were close and worked well. We will definitely be back as we belong to a few wineries in the area and this will be our stop to pick up our wine a few times a year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$1
Nice, well maintained Thousand Trails park with lots of activities. There was no 50 amp service and it was over 100 a couple of days so we really missed having the extra power. Sites are dirt, but lots of trees. Got good satellite and fair cell service (At&T) and internet (Verizon MiFi) with booster. Only real problem we saw, was the road to the park. It is only wide enough for one rig going one direction. If you meet another rig coming the other way, one of you will have to back up quite a distance. It would be nice if they could enforce having rigs go out before noon and rigs come in after noon. I'm surprised there hasn't been any fatalities with the current setup. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$1
Nightly rate reflects membership in TT Zone Pass. My wife and I spent 10 days at this resort over the 4th of July. It was our first trip to this resort. The view from your campsite is like looking at a postcard. The mountain views are spectacular. You are a thirty minute ride down the mountain to the beaches at Santa Barbara or the little Danish town of Solvang. Don't miss either of these destinations. The staff were always friendly and the grounds and restrooms were clean. Food is available on weekends at breakfast, lunch and dinner and the food was good. The only negative item and the reason I can't give Rancho Oso a "10" is the entry road to the campground. It is approx 1.2 miles from the entry gate to the guard shack and the road has many sharp curves and is very narrow most of the way. There are very few areas for two RV's to pass each other on this entry road. Enter in the afternoon after people have left the resort in the AM. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$1
Rancho Oso TTN is a horse ranch, with boarding facilities and trail rides. Weekly the Preserve manager hosts a bull-bucking show and a cow dog demonstration in the arena that is well worth the time spent. The staff is very helpful and the facilities are clean. They hold a wine tasting here, local vintners, and raffle some of the wines to the participants. Solvang is a great little town to visit from here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
The price reflects membership. Good secure site. We unhooked car as the road to this RV park is very narrow. Was plenty of room between sites. Has a very nice swimming pool. Adults only 10.00-11.00am and 3.00-4.00pm. Spa is 18 and over at all times. Would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
This was a great experience: our first outing in a motorhome and it was a blast! The staff was exceptionally friendly and the place was immaculate. It would be nice if they made one pool an adult pool and the other a kid's pool. There were a couple exceptional hikes at the ranch. The waterfall hike kept the temperature at 75 degrees when it was about 100 degrees outside. An amazing mossy, naturally air-conditioned habitat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
My wife and I spent 3 nights here in July and we really loved it. The RV sites are tiered which really gives a nice view of the surrounding area rather than looking at another trailer. The park has nice amenities. The only real negative is the entrance road..Very narrow, not sure if two RVs could pass each other??? Will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$1
We stayed in this park as Thousand Trails members. Like most Thousand Trails parks, staffing and funding have been significantly reduced. The Rancho Oso staff have done a fine job however with their limited resources. The park is clean and well maintained for the most part. The pool is inviting and the little store is well stocked. All of the RV sites have an exceptionally clear view of the southern sky, so satellite reception is a breeze. The adult lodge is very clean and has WiFi. The park overall is quiet and relaxing. The access road entering/leaving the park can be tight and hazardous. Meeting another RV will require a great deal of maneuvering. If you tow a car behind your motorhome, I highly suggest that you disconnect it before taking the access road. You can do this on Paradise Road, about 2 miles south of the park. That way you have the option of backing up should you meet another RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$1
This is another great preserve in the Thousand Trails system. It is close to Santa Barbara and the "Sideways" wine country. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$10
Camped here as an Resort Parks International member. Rancho Oso is a horse ranch, so the cool thing is that there are a lot of horses around as you drive in. They do offer trail rides and a few other ranch activities. The facilities are very nice - there is a well-maintained adult lodge with free, albeit slow, wifi, a pool table, book exchange, tv, common areas, etc. There is a family lodge for the kids to enjoy, 2 pools (one heated year-round), a hot tub, mini-golf, horseshoes, tennis, basketball, etc. There are a lot of activities and meals, and what's nice, is it's year-round (too many campgrounds stop the fun activities off-season). All this being said, however, we were disappointed that the camping spots weren't nicer - it's dusty here - no grass. The campground is row-upon-row of RV sites, and although decent in size, they're just dirt, not even a concrete slab. You are in the middle of nowhere, so whether this is good or bad is up to you - it's about 30 minutes to Santa Barbara. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$0
I liked this park. It has two swimming pools and a hot tub. You need to be in sites 1-30 to have a campfire (we were and did). There is a real feel of community here. The flies were bad. I guess it is to be expected because this is a working horse ranch. WiFi in the adult lodge. Mini-golf was fun, and the wives had fun with the crossword puzzle. We will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$23
We stayed here for 2 weeks as it was a membership park for Thousand Trail. Its a heck of a narrow road and only one way in part of it, with a stop lite, and 3 mirrors to watch while driving in. Once down the hill you see the beautiful Ranch with lots of horses. Overall it was nicely maintained with lots to do. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$8
Excellent park. Access is via a long narrow one lane road. Facilities were generally excellent. Free WiFi in the vicinity of the Adult Lodge only. This is a Thousand Trails park but we visited as an RPI member so we paid $8 a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$8
This is a lovely campground located in the mountains. The views are spectacular. The staff is excellent and security is good. We stayed here for 2 weeks and would return anytime. Located about 15 miles from Solvang, CA. The campground is also a dude ranch so you can go on horse rides. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com