214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Faria Beach Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (805) 654-3951
CGID501

Faria Beach Campground

Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   9   8   8   7   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$48
We have camped at Faria several times over the last four years. Last week, I discovered Faria's dirty little secret. Since there are no reservations, everything is on a "first come, first served" basis. At least that is what is published on the Web and at the campground. In reality, local people place a tent at an unoccupied site and use the tent as a "place holder" for when the owner returns with his RV. Such practice is perfectly correct. I saw nine sites occupied by "tent place holders" during my stay at Faria. One person even placed a tent on my RV site without even asking me. Such practice allow campers to place a tent at a site on say Wednesday, presumably pay the daily fee of $48 while the tent holds their site. Then the RV family arrives on Friday and they remove their tent and park their RV. The problem is that many families pass through Faria and when they see the tent (but no campers are actually occupying the site) yet and are turned away because of the "tent placeholder". Such behavior is tolerated and encouraged by the Parks Department of Ventura and the Board of Supervisors. Faria is a great campground, but using "a tent as a placeholder" for several days is just wrong. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
We showed up on a Thursday morning at 9:30am. All the hook up sites were taken, but there were still a half dozen dry sites. Ours was right in front of the ocean. We could see crashing waves from our bed window. This is a very friendly place. I think a lot of locals come often, and over the years get to know each other, but everyone is friendly to newbies likes us. I suspect it would be hopping on the weekend. I really hope to go again sometime. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$48
Very nice campground if you love fantastic views and beautiful sunsets. Beach is great at low tide and lots to do and see in the area. If you want a nice spot get there early Sunday or Monday during the months of November thru May. June thru Sept are very difficult months to camp at this campground. Also, keep everything of value locked up at night, if not locked up it will walk away! We loved it and would highly recommend it for a nice relaxing few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$50
We were originally going to stay at another park off of Main Street, but after pulling in and realizing we could spend $50 a night there and listen to the traffic on 101 - or come here and listen to the sound of crashing waves for the same price - it was a no-brainer. We turned around and came here instead. Had a premium back in site with 50 amp, water, sewer, and cable. Plenty of room for our 40' motorhome with tow car. We had no problems backing in at night. Level sight (cement pad), fire pit was a bonus. There is a great little cafe on site here and the camp host, who also runs of cafe, makes one great cheeseburger. They also serve breakfast with a rather extensive menu, all things considered. Watched dolphins frolic in the ocean and surfers catch waves. The beach is great for dogs, as they can run forever along the beach at low tide. If you're driving through town, I would highly recommend making a stop here if you can. Better than what we saw in town. First come / first served and I can imagine that this gets packed in summer months. There is also dry camping along the PCH for $27 a night with gorgeous views of the Pacific. Two other state parks in the same area as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$47
This would be a "10" if the sites were just a tad larger, but given the full-hookup ocean-front location, it is just about perfect. Sites are very tight, but you are on the beach, so what's not to like? There is a little beach-cafe staffed by a friendly camp hostess and surprisingly clean showers. We have been here before and love the ocean access and friendly campers. This place is dog-heaven as they have free run on the beach. It is next to the highway and the train, but the waves block out the sound to the extent that the train has never bothered us. Ventura is a cute funky little town about 10 minutes drive. Highly recommend arriving by Wednesday to get a no-reservation site; however, when we left this morning (Friday) there were three vacant sites. Not all sites accommodate a big rig. There are some large prime-view non-hookup sites and we noticed a pump-out outfit cruising through a couple of times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
This is a great place. Most of the people here are locals who are very friendly and helpful. Prepare for a test of your patience and bargaining powers. Reservations are not accepted and it's first come, first serve. Checkout is before 11 am. Sundays and Mondays are the best days to secure a spot. Listen up if you want to get a site. Get here early. We were here by 0830Hrs and with the help of a local, we secured a 50 amp spot and was in place by 1100Hrs. Leave your unit parked on the highway. Walk or drive you car down to the area and get a coffee at the restaurant. Walk around and talk to people, looking to see if anyone is packing up. There are roughly 6 spots with 50 amps service. When you get your coffee, look to the left and get the park paper work and a payment envelope. Be ready. Walk and talk if you want a spot. You will love this place, sleeping with the windows open and listening to the rolling surf. Good luck. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$32
Great location, can not be beat! We were RIGHT on the beach. Rincon parkway and the others in the area do not measure up. The price is a little high considering amenities and there are no seasonal or longer term discounts. We paid $32 for dry camping spot. It was $47 or $50 per night for hook up sites. When the campground is full I can see it being very crowded. Sites are right next to each other with no separation so privacy wouldn't be very high. They have fire rings and tables at almost every site. All but the "premium" sites are on gravel but its not like a gravel road, more like a hard pack gravel/sand/dirt mix. It rained when we were there and this was not super muddy although there were some puddles. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$40
We are a family with small children, pulling a 32 ft travel trailer. The campground is operated by the county of Ventura, and all sites are on a first come first served basis, there are NO reservations. Most sites are gravel. All of the sites are level. There are 15 sites with full hook ups. All of the amenities are in good working order, and the campground and facilities were clean and well maintained. The hosts (new hosts as of December 2006) are pleasant and helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. There are train tracks nearby that carry freight a few times per night, but we were not bothered. This campground is as close to the beach as you can get without being in the water! The sites are very close together, and I suspect things can feel very cramped when the park is full to capacity. We were there in the off-season, and the campground was nowhere near full. Overall, for ocean front camping it does not get better than this! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$40
Stayed here one night on our way home from Northern California. Daily rates have increased to $40 per day for full hookups and $27 for dry camping sites. Great view of ocean, which is less than 50 feet away at high tide! First come, first serve, no reservations. Fire rings at each site, nice store/grill on site. Generators off from 10pm to 7am. Recommend very highly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2004
$28
This campground is newly renovated and has excellent hookup sites on the beach. Very clean, with a nice camp store. Visited in 2004. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$30
Faria County Park has 38 dry spaces $22.00 night, and 4 spaces with full hook-ups $35.00 night. The park is just north of Ventura off Sea Cliff exit, great ocean views and beach access. The 4 hook-up pads are relatively level, spacious enough. The dry spaces vary in size. Reservations are a must (805) 654-3951. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com