214654 User submitted reviews online!!
Portage Valley Cabins & RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (907) 783-3111
CGID5107

Portage Valley Cabins & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   3   9   5   6   6   6   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
This was a great park that was recommended by another traveler. Surrounded by mountains and streams, it was very picturesque. A large tent with a fire that burns every night. People gather for happy hour and you get to know your neighbors. The owner was very helpful and joined the guests around the fire. We would have stayed longer but we had reservations on the ferry to Valdez. I give it a 9 only because our WiFi didn't work--otherwise, it's a 10. Didn't use the restrooms and showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
As we pulled in, we noted it was surrounded by mountains. We also noticed the totally awesome fire pit structure. It reminded me of a large yurt with sides comprised of split firewood. It was the perfect gathering and meeting place. Plenty of room for a ton of people. BBQ pits were provided for those that wanted to cook their foods or catch of the day. Super close to fishing streams, hiking trails, and glacier beauty. They had free Wi-Fi, some cute cabins to accommodate non camper/RV's, nice FREE (2) spacious shower rooms that can be locked for privacy. Wall mounted heater if needed. Also, I noticed some reviewers were here before water had been hooked up. The 1st row now has water. All spots had electric. They have also added more picnic tables to the sites. We were lucky the group was not far away and we were able to call them to come see if this was a suitable campsite for all. Needless to say they Loved it just as much as we did. We loved it so much this is where we chose to spend our last night before we all had to leave. We will be back on our next trip to Alaska. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
We were forced to use this campground when we found another one full. Basically a total rip-off. $40 for an electric only site. Porta-potty with no toilet paper for a rest room. Wi-fi that worked for about 30 minutes during the 20 or so hours we stayed there. No one at the office - so no way to reset the Wi-Fi, or direct you to a site. Cell service (At&T) non-existent (but not the fault of the park). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$19
These people could not be nicer. They keep a campfire burning (just like Motel Six has a light on) and when you arrive they talk to you like you are family. Clean sites and easy to pull through or back into to...great! Easy to access dump. They just added some sites with water. If you need a "site for the night" or a great place to explore the glaciers this IS the place to go, check out this park. Easy access to good fishing. They even started providing live music on the weekends. If you have not been there this year be sure and put it on your list for next year! Clean and safe and right in our backyard. Only 40 miles from Anchorage and 1.7 miles off the highway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
This is a spacious, gravel park with generously sized sites surrounded by views of the mountains, but there are no shade sites available. The electric hookup worked well, but we did not have water or sewer hookups, nor WiFi. The toilets are porta-potties, but they are clean. The showers were spacious but only modestly clean. There was a friendly gathering around a campfire underneath a roofed area with campers singing and playing music. Pricing was typical of Alaska, seemingly a bit high for what we got. For tent campers, there are waterfront sites on the pond. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
As others have stated, be aware that this RV park is about 1.5 miles down the road toward Portage Glacier and Whittier, which makes it about 45 miles from Anchorage. The campground is a big gravel parking lot and all but a few are 30 amp, electricity only. The "dump station" is a tank & hose that the campground host hooks up to your RV to pump out your tanks. It works fine, but not your typical dump station. The views here are spectacular, and you are close to the Portage Glacier Visitors center (5 mi) and Alaska Wildlife Refuge Center (2 mi). However, we felt the price was high for what you got. They were in the process of getting Internet service, but it wasn't working yet. There were quite a few old rusting/abandoned trucks and cars around the campground, and the pond was surrounded with lots of debris. The camping spots themselves were on gravel that seemed to be fairly deep. All in all, it was a good place to stay a night or two for visiting Portage Glacier or Whittier. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
First – the entrance was not well labeled. We got in around 5:00 and they were still running backhoes to dump new gravel on the site. It’s all gravel, very well cared for, with electric hookups only – the only ones from Anchorage to here and Whittier. They had just gotten their phones back after the winter and internet was still down. There was a water hookup so we could fill up. The best sites were against the stream, the rest were parking lot, but the mountain views on both sides were spectacular. Extremely close to Portage Glacier and other walking trails and tunnel to Whittier. Friendly staff and they encourage visits around a covered campfire each night. If you can survive without bells and whistles, we would recommend this spot to anyone for overnights or weekends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$39
The park is in a beautiful setting with easy access to the Trail of Blue Ice for bicycling and hiking. A large pavilion with gas grills and nightly bonfire are a nice touch. The park itself is a large gravel area with generously spaced sites; both pull-through and back-in. Only electric is available to the sites but potable water is available next to the office and there is a sewage pump-out station. Port-a-potties provide restroom facilities. The two, clean, free showers are in a building and have space heaters for added comfort. There is no Wi-Fi or television. AT&T phone and data service were weak but functional. No discounts are available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$39
This park is really at the turn off for Seward and is perfect for your first day run out of Anchorage. It gives you a chance to remember how to dive a 25 ft or larger RV if you haven't in a while. We were here May 13th: turns out it was a early spring and wonderful. We did not use the showers or port-a-cans, so I cannot commit on those. It is a great setting with mountains all around, small creek and a really great, covered fire pit pavilion. They also have gas grills in the pavilion for your use. Just across the road is a nice walking path and wet lands. Down the road is Portage Glacier Lake and exhibit center. It is also close to Aleyska Ski Resort which is way cool. Don't miss this RV camp! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
What a hidden gem! Beautiful place with nice, clean, hot, showers! I was pleasantly surprised that it had electric! NO WHERE ELSE IN THE AREA DOES!!! It has a great community cook house with a nightly campfire and gas grills for all to use. It is family owned and they stay right on the property. The owner is very helpful and seems to run much of the park. The kids have an adorable baby that helps with check in. They all were so nice, and the facilities were so clean, we decided to stay again on our return from Kenai to Anchorage. It is only one hour from Anchorage, so it was a perfect stop on our way to and from the airport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
I called for reservations since it was a holiday weekend but, the answer machine. said "none necessary" so I came in. They had room!! Not much since it was a holiday, but the staff would have done anything to accommodate if all spots were full. I have never come across such an accommodating bunch of people. Great cook house! Gas grills and a nightly campfire. They even gave us marsh mellows for our kids to roast. It is only 2 miles from the Wildlife Conservation Center (which is wonderful) but right there we saw Black Bear, Owls, Moose, an Eagle and salmon in the creek. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
This is a rustic RV park with only electric hookups in a gravel parking area. The owner is very friendly and wants you to have a good experience when you stay there. When we stayed there was a warm, welcoming fire roaring away in the community cook shed. She keeps a cooking grill there for your use and supplies the shed with utensils, spices, etc. The restrooms are just port o potties, but the showers are nice and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
Very quiet campground. Had a community fire ring for people to relax or visit with one another. All sites are gravel with no trees. Beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. Some sites are next to the creek. Electric but no water. Dump station and water on site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$29
This is a good park to stay at if you want to drive into Whittier for the boat tours. The campground is all gravel, but the sites are large enough for big rigs. We had 50 amp service, but there is no water or sewer hookups. The staff was very friendly. We were able to get out with our satellite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$29
We enjoyed our stay at this park. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. They just finished (in June) expanding to 49 sites, including many pull-throughs, and upgrading their electric to 50 amps. I didn't rate them higher because they don't have sewer, a dump station or site water. They have tried three times to get good water, but although potable and safe, it is full of iron, and, to their credit, they warn you openly about it. The location is beautiful, with a small glacier descending right down to their property. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
We spent 2 nights in this campground in a motorhome. The 3 best things in this campground are the pleasant and helpful owner, clean and nice showers (but portable potties toilets only, no washrooms), and the fact that it is probably the only campground in the Portage area to offer electric hook-up. No dumping station. The only dumping station is about 12 Miles North in the Girdwood gas station. Drinking water fill-up is available but no direct water hook-up. A central public area with campfire and tables is available but no picnic tables whatsoever, which was very inconvenient. It was only later that we discovered an alternative in the area of Hope for spoiled people like us who want full hook-up (Alaska Dacha located at Mile 15.8 Hope Highway. 4 new full hook up sites. Pleasant owner). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
Great family oriented park with a common area and nightly campfires. Located on the road to Whittier, which was a large disappointment. Great view of the surrounding mountains. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
Even though it wasn't full hookup and it's basically just the typical gravel parking lot, it is surrounded by the mountains and the stream ran right behind our MH (much to my son's delight), was really beautiful. The best part, though, is the large thatch-covered area where you can build a fire (they provide the wood), 2 gas grills for anyone's use (they provide the gas), picnic tables and chairs. The showers were clean, but you have to get in early to get the hot water! There is also a nearby trail for a nice family walk: very pretty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
This park was not what I expected, it was great! I have been to many parks in AK that the spaces are very tight, fires are either not allowed, or the wood is expensive, grouchy hosts that charge for every tiny thing. This is not one of those parks! It is beautiful, large spaces, nice people, nightly fires, community cook house, free coffee in the morning! You can even book your glacier cruise and Kenai Fjords tours right there! What a bonus! Don't miss this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
No dump site or WiFi available although advertised as being there. Management attitude was so what you still must pay full price. This was areal bad attitude. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com