206874 User submitted reviews online!!
Northern Lights RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (250) 782-9433
CGID5186

Northern Lights RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   3   7   8   8   7   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
There may be friendlier park owners but we have not met them. Fairly new owners (husband and wife and we met wife) of an older park that they are upgrading. The have put in a new building containing individual rooms each with restroom/shower (immaculate tile floors/walls and glass door shower and pedestal sink!), a sizeable laundry facility, and a meeting space aimed at caravans. Wi-Fi was speedy (nearly 3 mb tested speed) and cable TV worked well. Limited channels (2-13) but more that adequate for a couple of days stay. Apparently the owner has added Wi-Fi repeaters to provide excellent service. Owner was very helpful with information about the area in the event we wanted to stay longer. Spaces appeared to be double-wide and our rig was level when we pulled in. Utilities were appropriately placed and sewer was close to ground for thorough dump. Nice views of the surrounding countryside. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
Large gravel spaces, good valley views, friendly owners. One of the best laundry rooms ever. I didn't use the showers but they look as good as any nice hotel. Strong Wi-Fi and cable TV. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
We camped here as part of a caravan. Would not stay again. Sites are small and unlevel. The site next to ours had no seating area so we had to share ours. Owner required guests to remove their shoes to use the laundry or meeting room! Wi-Fi signal is weak and Internet is very slow. We would have been happier staying in the parking lot of the local WalMart. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Nice Park, sites small and gravel only. Owner/managers very friendly and helpful. Downside, laundry is overpriced as are the pay showers. Would we stay again, but not if we didn't need full hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
Nice park. Nice host. Lots of oil/gas workers staying there, so be ready to be woke up at 5:30am with trucks starting. Good water pressure and electric. Good WIFI, Cable was grainy, but it just rained. We'd stay here again. We stayed in a 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$36
The rate reflects a 30 amp site with a 10% AAA discount. This is a very convenient campground just outside of town on Highway 97 South. We had a site further back in the campground so road noise was not a big issue, although it could be heard. The WiFi signal was very strong and relatively fast. There are few trees so satellite was possible, although it is very low in the sky up this far north. Our Verizon phone had a strong signal. The woman that checked us in was very nice and helpful in pointing out where to find things to stock up in Dawson Creek. The laundry room was very clean. This is not a destination park, but a great place to stay for an overnight on your journey. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$41
Office staff are very friendly and eager to accommodate your needs. Sites are mostly gravel pull-thrus, some sites are grassy, nicest sites are blocked off, suspect Caravan coming through. Rate reflects AAA/FMCA discount of 10%. Early in season so not any dust issues. Laundry, Showers and Club House appear to be in new building which is keep immaculate, washers are $3 and driers are $2, Loony for a shower room. Stayed here for 3 nights in a 34' Motorhome towing on our way to Alaska. Good place to stock up as you head North. Would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
Park is mostly gravel with some sites having grass. Sites are fairly level with hookups in proper locations. Lots of dust because of the gravel roads and site areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
Sort of expensive (for us) but worth it. The park was clean with great Wi-Fi. Easy access to town. The owners were very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
Owner very friendly and although we arrived late in the day, and most of the spaces available at this time of year were occupied, he found space for us. But we only had power. He saw to it that we were able to fill up with water and were able to dump our tanks. Had to stay longer than planned due to weather and he let us pay a day at a time. The restrooms were very nice; although, I think it is wrong to have to pay to use showers when we already were paying $40 a night for just power hookup. Lots of snow melting so was quite muddy. It seems BC towns don't use much pavement, only gravel. Would stay here again as everything was clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Very tightly packed campground with barely enough space to get parked in some sites. Was told I had pull-through site but vehicle barely fit unless unhitched. Construction site next door and was very loud at 5am. Poor wifi signal even near office. Very nice bathrooms but cost $1.00 per minute for showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$44
The brand new bathrooms are nice, but it really irritates me that I have to pay extra to take a shower when I am already paying $40 for the site (which includes unlimited water and electricity). Why not charge to use the toilets too? The site was $40, plus two 6 minute showers makes it $44. This park is overpriced in my opinion considering the remote location (way out of town). Their internet service is insufficient for the demands of 50+ users and consequently is slow to the point of being barely usable. It is directly on the 97 and the road noise at the front of the park is really bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Very nice park with outstanding shower facilities. Owners friendly and helpful, polite and considerate. We plan on staying here again on our way back from Alaska. Definitely customer oriented. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
This park has very strict rules (like having to remove your shoes to enter bathrooms or laundry), but they are immaculate. The bathroom/shower are individual rooms with new glass-door shower stalls and fixtures. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The park is on the bluff which keeps the sites from becoming muddy during heavy rainfall, which was the case at other parks while we were in town. We would highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
This is a decent park that has some potential, but it is still a work in progress. More attention needs to be given to the roads and sites as the gravel is quite sparse. I was a little concerned because the site that I was given had an electric pedestal with no circuit breaker, just a 30 amp plug in a small box. I had no problems with it, but it was a concern. The location is on a hill, and the winds were quite strong while we were here. Awnings and satellite dishes banged around quite a bit. This is a caravan stop and large groups can and do show up regularly. Check for a reservation if it is in the summer months. We checked in and got the last site available for more than 1 night. The hosts are very helpful and friendly. Since it is close to the highway, as most parks in BC seem to be, there is always road noise present. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
This campground seems to be a nice work in progress, but a bit pricey for what they have thus far. Very private coin-operated shower rooms with huge showers. Did not like that you have to take your shoes off in an entry area to the building. Nice community room (locked). The sites are mostly level gravel with minimal grass. The Wi-Fi fluctuated and could be slow when there were many users. Rate reflects Good Sam and taxes. We might camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
We had to stop in Dawson Creek due to wash outs farther north on the Alaska Highway. This is by far the best RV park in Dawson Creek. It is well maintained,and has a friendly, helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
Very friendly owner/hosts who are proud of their facility and working to upgrade it as evidenced by the new shower/restrooms - private rooms with huge showers as nice as we've seen. Our problem was that the showers and laundry operated on Canada dollar coins - no change machine and the office does not open until noon. How operators think they can be closed half of a day and still meet the needs of clients does not make sense to me. The sites are gravel with tiny patches of grass on some, but level. The Wi-Fi was weak. Rate reflects Good Sam and taxes. We will try one of the other parks on our return trip from AK. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
We stayed two nights and recommend the park to other RVers. Helpful and polite office staff knowledgeable of the area. Mostly level spaces with gravel. It is a lot with few trees but fairly typical of Alaska Highway RV parks. Very clean (and newly renovated) bathrooms, showers and laundry room. Small store with RV supplies. Highway noise but quiets down in the evening. Owners seem to be putting a lot of energy into improvements. Located right outside of town, very convenient. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
Located on a bluff overlooking Dawson City so it is a nice view. You camp on gravel with 50 amp service available. Friendly and helpful staff. Free WiFi worked well as did cable. Five minute drive to see the start of the Alaska Highway and milepost "0". We would stay here again. We travel in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Our GPS did not take us to this campground but down gravel roads outside the town of Dawson Creek. We arrived a little frustrated but the staff were super accommodating and went the extra mile to make our stay better. The campground has a great view from a hill over looking the town of Dawson Creek. Our pull though site did have some grass and two mid size trees, however many sites were just on a gravel lot. The site next to our was empty and became a walking path to the washroom for the whole campground. Washroom building was new with separate rooms with sink, toilet and large coin operated showers that were unisex and perfect for families. No fire pit at our site but one available near a meeting room. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
We stayed here for two nights in preparation for our departure for Alaska. The campground is extremely convenient to downtown Dawson Creek. The owners are also making significant improvements, including new bathrooms and a new laundry (my wife called it "fabulous" with new appliances) which are among the best we've seen anywhere! The staff was incredibly helpful to both us and some of our traveling companions in trying to find local RV services. The cable TV was excellent and the wireless had a strong signal (but be certain to get the correct access code). There is a little noise from the traffic on the adjacent highway, but only a very minor issue as far as we were concerned. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Nice, clean basic park for an overnight stay. The staff was friendly. Wi-Fi worked well. Good selection of TV channels. It was quiet in the back section of the park. I imagine it might have been noisier up front as the park is on a "dangerous load road". Would stay here again if passing through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
Park fit our needs to prepare for the Alaska Highway. We noticed a lot of work being done to improve the park and the new owner was extremely helpful, a very hardworking individual. The WiFi worked for the most part, and we had 12 channels of cable TV. Water pressure was good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Your very basic crushed rock sites, Ours was level. Cable and Wi-Fi worked fine. Close to town. Very nice new shower house and laundry room - best we've seen. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This park is under new ownership/management. They are wonderful people. We do not normally use the bathrooms or showers but checked them out since they are brand new. Would highly recommend this park. We had a gravel, level pull-through site. There is a nice county road behind the park that the county does not maintain anymore, but twice, while walking our pup, two different owners in the area came out and told me that it was fine to walk her around the area. It is a huge, well-kept grassy area. Everyone we have met during our stay in Dawson Creek, BC, were wonderful and helpful people. I would stay here again without hesitation. The prices in this area are rather high compared to what we are used to but considering the short season, we can understand why. Had great Wi-Fi and satellite radio reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Good place to overnight. Big rig friendly sites, and caravan friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Charges $7 per night extra for 50 amp! Flat, level but dusty outside of town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
The good news is that new owners bought this park in April 2010 and will be making improvements. There are a lot of deficiencies in the meantime. The shower and laundry building is an old mobile home with sagging floors, exposed wiring, rust, etc. The women's bathroom has two toilets, one doesn't work and a sign threatens eviction if you use it or take the sign down. The meeting room building has a tar paper roof which sags. All of the buildings need paint and new roofs. The sites are narrow and not long enough for our coach and toad together. They are pretty flat however. There is only one dumpster for the entire park. Our cable TV was disconnected so we didn't have that even though it was included in the price we paid. The staff and owner were wonderful: very friendly and helpful. This park is not worth $30 per night. They have let their Good Sam affiliation lapse so they do not give any discount. Unfortunately the parks in Dawson Creek fill up each night and they can get away with the price and services. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
We were in a pull through in the back section. The room was sufficient but the whole area had large standing puddles. I was able to straddle the one at our site because of my size. They don't use any campground management software and had lost our reservation. (They keep a list on some scratch paper) Wi-fi worked fine. I would not rule this out for an overnight, but I would have to think about it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
When we stayed here, for one night, it was very busy. Most spots are close to each other. Very good internet connection. Not a place where would stay for more than 1 night. Good for one night stop over. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$31
There are two sections to this park and we were in the nicer one which had more grass separating the sites. The back section appeared to have more dirt and less gravel. It was an easy in and out for our 33 foot 5th wheel but our pull-through gravel site wasn’t very level side to side. The power was good and there is cable TV. Despite a good Wi-Fi signal, I was not able to get any web pages or e-mail to open. I later learned that the system was down that day. I did not go to the Internet Lounge and try to get on there. The park is located right off the highway, so there is some road noise. We did not use the bathrooms so can not comment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
Small, cramped, junky. Restrooms and showers are old and dirty. WiFi in and out, but okay speeds when it was working. Will find someplace to boondock when back in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
This is a nice campground but the spaces are very tightly placed. The showers are rather old. The WIFI works great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$29
At first you feel like your in a junk place. Very muddy with junk all over. The sites are close together. The internet works fine in the commons area which does stay open all night. Not too bad of a place just for one night, but not more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
The manager was unaware we had reservations even though we'd had them for a month and had confirmed 2 weeks before arriving. Things were chaotic and we were shoehorned as were many other rigs wherever they could fit with some having limited utilities until other rigs departed and a space available. We heard the park had been newly purchased and the handover obviously not very complete. The manager did work hard to do what he could and it was hard to be mad, though some were. It's not a luxurious spot but the wifi is excellent and it's a good jumping off spot for Alaskan travelers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$32
Nice people in the office. The sites are OK and usable. The shower rest room is older but clean and wifi as usual at most parks weak, but the front of the rec building has chairs and tables and has a strong signal. It is not a destination but a stop on your way to the destination. It does what it is expected to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Not a fantastic park, but certainly OK. We parked close to the wifi antenna so it worked well at our site. Both wifi and plug-in available at the laundry. Satellite reception was marginal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
We spent 3 days here enroute to Alaska. The staff was friendly and the computer room made it nice to get hooked up and stay in touch. The only downside was the "wide spacious sites" advertised were pretty narrow and required some care getting in and out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$24
We were here 4 days with a big rig rally just back from Alaska. People were nice; the park had areas under construction; the sites were mostly level but close together; the rec hall was a life-saver for meals & meetings; the firepit was well used. It is out of town a mile or so, but this isn't much of a problem. As always on this trip, fitting 27 big rigs into a park was an experience, but it worked. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
An adequate park is about all I can give it. Each site has grass between them but are very narrow; your neighbors sewer hookup will be right by your picnic table. Sites are short, not enough room for your trailer and TV. Has satellite TV but that's only 6 channels. Broadband Internet available in a room near the office which was free so that's a step in the right direction. Mechanic available in the evenings for oil changes, minor repairs, etc but very expensive; $30 PLUS parts for an oil change; a dealer in town did mine for $20. As with all parks pets must remain on a leash, but not so for the owners dog who is allowed to wander around freely, frequently wetting on our picnic table. We'll go somewhere else next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com