214919 User submitted reviews online!!
Anchorage Ship Creek RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (907) 277-0877
CGID5288

Anchorage Ship Creek RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$49



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   9   6   2   4   8   4   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$49
This park is plain and rather expensive. However, it is in downtown Anchorage. The location is convenient. We could walk or ride a bike to Ship Creek, the Alaska RR station, the Saturday Market-Festival, and the Alaska Experience Theater. That same convenient location does make it noisy with the train and the sea gulls. The sites are very close together and there is not a picnic table at every one. The showers are clean for the use they get. However, the managers seem to clean them when they wish. No time is posted and on 2 days they were trying to clean while 6 men were shaving, showering or using the toilet at 9am. The park is fenced for security and ringed with trees for privacy and shade. On the hot afternoons, our RV was still comfortable, but not sure how the ones in the middle of the park felt with no shade. The laundry is the standard $2 a machine and normally busy. The office staff is helpful and there is a lot of tourist information available. This is the place to stay to see Anchorage,but do not expect an RV resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$49
Narrow sites but very wide access roads and had a spacious feel despite the narrow sites. Nice trees around the perimeter. Internet worked well. Laundry was good. Nicest RV park in Anchorage and close to town and weekend markets. We have a 42 foot motor home and have been traveling for 11 years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
We have been to Alaska numerous times. This is the place to stay in Anchorage, in our opinion. It's as nice a park as you will fined in Anchorage. It's within walking distance of the Saturday market and the downtown museum. The big attraction for us is that during much of the summer (when we have been here) the salmon are running in Ship Creek and we enjoy watching the locals fishing in the evenings. There's a nice place for walking in the evening. The train tracks are adjacent to the park, but the last train arrives around 8 in the evening and there's no traffic on the rail after that. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
This is a nice park although it is an industrial feeling area of town. The people were nice and friendly and we noticed security people driving through the park a few times which made us feel more comfortable. The sites were easy to pull into, but did take some leveling of our unit. There is a train track just on the other side of a fence which made our fifth wheel shake a little but only noticed them during daytime hours. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$44
The rate reflects a 10% Good Sam discount. Yes, this is a parking lot with very tight spaces. We were given two choices of sites. The first we could not get into because the neighbor had his awning out and the second had a car parked in it. We chose a third site without anyone on either side. However, folks did come in and stay on one side during our stay there. It has some of the closest sites that we have stayed in during our eight years of full-time RVing. It is convenient to downtown Anchorage. We walked to town one day, but elected to drive after that because of the various homeless folks that we encountered during our walk. It is in a very industrial area but is quiet at night. The trains do go by very close but it is mainly during the day and we love trains, so not a problem. Our Verizon phone and data worked very well there. The park WiFi was off and on, sometimes great, at other times nothing. The campground hosts were very nice and helpful. Anchorage has some amazingly great bike paths and some are accessible directly from the park. We did check out the other RV parks in the city and chose this one over the others, so if we were staying in the city again would likely stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
We camped here for two nights on a two month Alaska tour. This park is the best of a very sorry collection of RV parks in the Anchorage area. Sites are very tight with almost no room to extend slide outs. Park is in a very run down section which just adds to its already worn feel. My wife and I elected to walk into town and on the way back walked through a homeless campsite right above the park on the hill. Quite a treat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
This park is next to a railroad track in an industrial-feeling part of town. It is a gravel strip with sites that are narrow and short. Electricity worked fine, but our site didn't have water or sewer. WiFi worked well. Bathroom and shower were dingy and didn't feel very clean, and shower was quite cramped. At $36, it seemed expensive for what we got. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
The great thing about this park is its proximity to downtown Anchorage. We were able to walk into town for everything we wanted to do. Spaces were somewhat close, but who cared? Location, location, location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
We read this was the best campground in Anchorage--would hate to see the worst. This is a gravel lot with tiny spaces. Many campers could not use slideouts or awnings. The sewer did not have a threaded connector. You just drop your hose into the hole and put a rock on your hose to keep it in place. Train tracks are right outside the wooden fence separating them from the campground and trains did run at night. Did I mention being under the Anchorage airport flight path? On a positive note, the Wi-Fi worked well and the office staff were friendly and helpful. Palmer is only 35 miles away--next time we will stay there and come to Anchorage for the day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
I gave this park rating of 8 only because the sites are very tight. We could not put out an awning and basically stepped out our door into the next sites vehicle. The park overall is very clean and has a nice staff. All the sites are flat with a gravel base. There is some train noise because the track are next to the park, but its daytime for the most part. Would stay here again because its the best in Anchorage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
Close to town and could walk into city. Expensive and small sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
The sites were on hard ground and easy back-ins. The electric and water hook ups were fine, but the sewer was far beyond the end of your trailer so make sure you have extensions. There is some grass at the sites where we were. The rest rooms were very clean. The staff was very helpful with information about the area and various tours that could be booked right from the campground. The Wi-Fi at the site was fine. One thing to be aware of and that is the AK railroad depot is just on the other side of the fence. Running 3-4 times per day with a very loud horn. We could feel the ground shake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
Best park in Anchorage (we checked them all). Large sites with plenty of room to move around in. Managers extremely helpful. Clean washers, dryers, showers, bathrooms. Walking distance to downtown activities and Alaska railroad. Will stop again on our way through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
We stay here often and have for the past few years. The managers are wonderful and have spent a lot of money into sprucing up the park and improving the grounds. If you visit in the spring you may be lucky enough to have a moose wonder through your campsite or see an eagle in the trees (they are such beautiful creatures, so have your camera ready). Their restrooms are the absolute cleanest we've ever seen. Always nice and tidy and their is NO charge for taking a shower. This is something that is very unusual for campgrounds in Alaska. You usually pay as much as $4.50 for a 5 to 7 minute shower, so this is a great perk. They also have a great laundry facility with top loading large capacity washers and dryers, I believe we pay $2.00 to wash and $2.00 to dry for 45 minutes of drying time. These are reasonable rates and your towels and jeans get dried in the first round! They also provide complimentary Internet service, its not high speed, but it is free of charge and it is pretty good service. They can accommodate just about any size rig. This is a great park for caravans or any RVing group, they also allow tent camping, which is becoming scarce and hard to find in some areas and in Anchorage, this is the ONLY RV Park that allows tent camping (with the exception of a small City park on the east edge of Anchorage). I also love their location. It is just a short 8 minute casual walk to downtown Anchorage or over to Ship Creek where the fisherman do their best to catch salmon during the salmon runs. There is also paved bike paths nearby, lots of parks and other wonderful activities to enjoy. They do have noise from the trains that pass by, but they don't come by all night or anything, only a couple times, and if you like trains like I do, you will love to watch them pass by and wave to other tourists (and yes, they will wave back to you!). This is just a really nice all around park in a great spot for visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
We have stayed at every campground in Anchorage over the past 8 years of coming to AK for the summer season, this by far is the best campground in Anchorage. Location is wonderful, 10 minute walk to downtown, farmers market,and Ship Creek for fishing. Friendly knowledgeable staff, wonderful tour desk, manager even helped me with a problem with my RV. Yes the train can be loud, but again best RV park in Anchorage and we have stayed at them all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$43
Best thing about the park is it's proximity to downtown Anchorage. Sites had sufficient room for slideouts. There were very few sites that would hold our 36' 5th wheel and truck. (Pull-through sites weren't long enough plus they wanted $18 more for a pull-through site.) Train tracks are just the other side of the fence, and trains run day and night. Earplugs are a must! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
We saw the ad for this campsite in the Milepost. We needed a place close to Anchorage. The office was closed when we got there at 10pm. There were instructions for known reservations but nothing about drop-ins. We just parked and crossed our fingers. The ladies' shower was okay but my husband said the men was terribly filthy. We did appreciate the hot coffee in the morning but this is not someplace we'd ever stay for more than one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$47
This is a noisy park situated in an industrial section of town. On the plus side, it is clean and well maintained, and is close to the downtown area of Anchorage. The train tracks are from 10 to 40 feet from your rig, so if you stay here you have to like trains! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$43
Very tight spaces, located in middle of town. Very noisy, located between airport and factory and next to railroad track. First night train came through at 4:45 am. Sewer dump so high we couldn't use it. Would not stay here again. People were friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
By far the best RV Park in Anchorage. Yes it is a older campground, but you can walk right out the back gate and go King Salmon fishing in Ship Creek or with in 5 minute walk from RV park be at farmers market or downtown. Park is under new management and they have turned it around. One of our favorite places. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2008
$41
If you are deaf, this might be a nice place to stay, but this is the noisiest RV Park we have ever stayed at. The park is right along the railroad track, with two major railroad crossings at both ends. So, you hear the railroad whistle all day and night. It is right under the flight path for a major tour center's airport. So, there are low flying airplanes all day long and well into the evening. It is across the street from a power plant, which has a alarm which whistle goes off and on all day and night. The manufacturing plant across the railroad plays reveille at 5 and 7 am and then taps at 5 and 7 pm. The staff are helpful, but didn't warn us of the noise issues. It was not worth ½ the price they charged. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
The staff were great the washrooms shower clean. The sites are too narrow and too short for current RVs; no room for slides or tow vehicle parking. Great central location. We would look for alternate site next time due to tight quarters. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
Sites were close together. One side of campground close to railroad tracks and was very noisy. If train was transporting coal, RV would shake. TV reception was poor. The staff was friendly. The campground was within walking distance to Ship Creek for salmon fishing. We paid $40.50 with Good Sams discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
This RV parking lot is like many others we encountered in Alaska - the sites are way too small and jammed together. We could almost reach out and touch our neighbors on either side. Also, even with a relatively short motorhome (33 feet) there was not enough room in front of our coach to park our tow car comfortably. We had to park it crossway in front of our coach and was still afraid someone would sideswipe it going up the street. The Wi-Fi was good - it reached our site with a decent signal strength and was fairly fast. This was a one night stay, and next time we will look for some other place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2008
$26
The office staff are very nice & helpful at this park. The park itself is noisy, and the sites are small. Its right next to the railroad tracks. The restrooms/showers are not great. I stayed here because the park is within walking distance of downtown Anchorage. The rate is $26 with no hookups. Discount for Good Sam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
Not the best park but can't beat the location. W/n walking distance of Ship Creek salmon viewing area, Ulu factory, etc. Sites really close together. We would stay here again but I understand they are closing after this season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
We were here with a big-rig rally of over 25 coaches - a strain for almost any park. This was not one of our finest picks. The manager & employees were really nice is my best comment; the free WiFi is second. I have no idea how they got their TL ratings. The sites are small & not level, the roads are narrow, I wasn't impressed by the showers when I looked in, the ambience is lacking a lot. Our group didn't help things any by parking toads encroaching into the roads, but there wasn't any place else! This was not built as a big rig park - it has a few sites. Get one down toward the front gate, if possible (but then you are blocked in by arrivals.) Train noise was occasionally like a small earthquake - it’s just over the creek - & plane noise was not overpowering, but there. However, in perspective, if looking at the other Anchorage area park ratings, this might not be all that bad. The ‘interesting’ group of tent campers across from us may have influenced our attitude. You can walk to see the salmon in the river, a bit longer hike to the Ulu factory, train depot, Saturday Market & downtown. A free shuttle comes by the front gate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com