218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Haines Hitch-Up RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (907) 766-2882
CGID5296

Haines Hitch-Up RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   7   8   9   9   8   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$47
We are presently in the park and can honestly say this is one of the nicest parks we have stayed in during our 8 week visit to Alaska. The park is exceptionally well maintained. Lovely grassy well spaced sites. Bathroom, showers, and laundry facilities are spotless. Staff are friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi works well and there is a great selection of TV channels available. I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$44
Excellent RV park with large level sites. Friendly staff. Clean rest rooms and showers. Good wifi signal. Park had cable TV with a good selection of channels but picture was not clear on all channels. Close to town and all the other things to do and see in Haines. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Full service campground with good cable and wifi service. Sites are average size with no trees. Traffic noise is constant. Definitely the best game in town for services offered. Main advantage is being walking distance to town and a block or two to a great coffee shop/bakery/deli store. There is a convenient area for walking the "fur kids" . The gravel roads make it unfriendly for wheelchairs, unfortunately. We stayed a week and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Good park with wide, all grass sites. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The whole place is immaculate. The only downside is the views aren't as great as they could be. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
This is a great, full service park. All the sites are GRASS, which is real rarity in Alaska. There are different types of sites so the price can vary by about $20. The laundry and showers are very clean and spacious. I was happy to see recycling which is too rare at RV parks. We walked to the harbor in about 15 minutes. Definitely the best RV park in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
We loved this RV Park. Very nice owners and staff. Sites are nice with plenty of room. Everything works. Park is within walking distance of town. Haines is a nice small town not affected by the cruise ship crowds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Nicely kept park and good utilities. Only thing that keeps it from being a 10 is that it is in town with Haines Highway on one side and Main street on the other. Not a lot of traffic (day or night), so it's not a big deal. We looked at the other parks in town and while you don't get an ocean view, this is the nicest park. They have a well kept laundry as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
Rate reflects weekly rate. I'm in my 2nd of seven days here and so far so good. All roadways are newly laid gravel - smooth and even and wide. My sight is all grass (as all are) and very solid level and wide. I say solid because it has rained since I arrived and there are no puddles. Wi-Fi is strong. Staff is helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$41
We stayed here 6 nights. The awesome WIFI is the best we've had since May--strong and reliable. Everything works well. Nice, hard-working, security-oriented managers. They give you a good brochure with a map of where everything is. Pretty colorful flower plantings around office. Nice, wide, pull-thru spaces, and they have 50 amps! We really could have left 2-3 days earlier, but it's such a nice park that we stayed. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$41
Great park, great staff. Everything promised worked which is quite odd for Alaska. Sites great, far above average for our two months in this state. Staff very helpful and knowledgeable. Only downer -- $3.00 per load in the washers and $3 per load in the dryers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
Nice large spaces in an open grassy park. Good Wi-Fi, very clean laundry, friendly staff. Very short walk to town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
It is a rarity to have grass sites in AK. The only bad part of grass sites is that you also park on grass. This may cause your jacks to settle. They are a bid over zealous with the rules. Forget to put your yellow car tag on your windshield and be greeted in the morning with a nasty-gram to comply. Come on one car on a site and they wonder if its authorized! They also nickel and dime you. You pay extra for a 50 amp site and then they will charge you an extra $3/night for heat, air, or a freezer. They also have a strange online reservation system. You send them $35 by PayPal and don't get a confirmation of your reservation. With the negatives, this is a nice park. Clean laundry room. Easy walk to town. Oh one more negative. Okay no washing, got it. But also no waxing or wiping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
This is a beautiful park, very well run, neat, clean. Staff is full of information. Sites are all grass and it is lush and green. Washing rig is not allowed. They referred us to Duck In Car Wash across the street. We believe the clearance wasn't as high as indicated, and we damaged our A/C. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Immaculate park. Nice level grass sites. Plenty of space between units. Wide roads. Easy access and close to town. Owners gave complete information about area. Drove through other parks, this is best one in Haines. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Very friendly people who care about their park. It was very clean and tidy. In the restrooms there even had hair driers! Unfortunately the park is only grass without any trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Very helpful folks. Excellently maintained campground. Has lots of grass, which can be unique around here. Very clean facilities. Convenient to get back on highway to Haines Junction. Not close to town but nice place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Very nice well kept park. Very strict rules which keep this park nice. All sites are nice, more private in the back away from main road. About 6 blocks from town. We preferred the Ocean front RV park but they were full. Oceanside is smaller and site closer together but views of ocean are worth it, and right in town. I would stay at Oceanside is available just because the harbor is right out your front door, but this one is very good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Very clean, pretty campground. Friendly, helpful people. A bit pricey, but this is Alaska. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
This park is the neatest and best kept park we have stayed in for a long time and is within walking distance to everything in the town. The office staff were most helpful and informative. We would most definitely stay here again. It is by far the best in town. All beautiful grassy sites and good, large even pads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$39
Nice people, nice park. Only thing to add was they will charge you for AC use and electric heater. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
A very well run RV park, clean, secure. Grass sites and gift shop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
Price reflects Good Sam discount. What a great campground, probably the nicest in Alaska and nicer than the vast majority of campgrounds we’ve stayed at anywhere. There are a number of different “categories” of sites to choose from, depending on whether you want a pull-through, cable TV, W/E only, etc., so you only pay for the amenities you want. Easy walk to town and restaurants. The owners greeted us and provided detailed information about activities in the area. Our back-in grass site was almost perfectly level. The showers and restrooms were immaculate! Wi-Fi worked great! This campground sets the standard for all Alaska campgrounds! We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$44
We paid a premium price to have 50 amp service. I'm not sure it was worth it though. Park is clean and people are friendly and helpful. You camp on grass and there are lots of pull through spaces. We would stay here again but might opt for 30 amp service which is less money. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$39
The CG is right on Main St, so there is traffic noise during the day, but not so much at night. Very well-tended place, grass spots (thick grass, not dirt). The laundry and showers are immaculate. Staff was very friendly. We loved the little town of Haines – you can easily walk to downtown from the CG. And you see mountains all around from the CG. I would stay here again, but I might try the Oceanside CG next time – we did a walk through – not as nice facilities-wise, but you park right next to the harbor & can watch the cruise-ships, fishing boats, and ferries come and go (so the choice is comfort – Hitch-up; or view - Oceanside) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
We camped here for five nights and this is one of the most immaculate parks we have ever stayed in. Prices seem quite high. All of the sites are grass and are immediately mowed upon resident departures. It almost seems somewhat impractical. Only objections are the amount of rules and monitorings that have been implemented to protect the grass. Haines is a beautiful area and we would return and stay at this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
Very nice, well groomed park and centrally located. However, at $42 for the night it was a little too pricey. The park had way too many "Don't Do's". No portable heaters, no AC, etc., and an additional $8.95 for the WiFi had it's own list of "Don't Do's". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
This is a great RV park for travelers. Would only stay here when coming back to Haines. Stayed for 3 nights. It was super clean and super friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
Very well run RV Park. The staff is very friendly and helpful in arranging tours, etc. The place is spotless, and their laundry is the nicest we have ever seen. The rate is with a Good Sam discount. We did not pay for the Wi-Fi and cable TV which are both extra. Mostly no shade, and the setting is right in the middle of town with road noise. This is the only reason we didn't give them a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Excellent Park that delivers on all it advertises. Restrooms are secure ones and they as well as laundry room are the cleanest I've ever seen. They even sweep the rocks off the street back into the park and were repainting signs while we were there. The park is well organized and has wide interior drives. The staffers are all friendly and knowledgeable. There is a nice gift shop. Above price is a weekly rate divided by 7. The longer you stay the lower the price. We would certainly return. Sat TV and Wi-F work well. The only drawback is road noise on both sides of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
Very nice park with well maintained grassy sites. Our 33 foot 5th wheel and truck just fit in the assigned site. There is space in between the sites so you don't feel closed in. Depending on where you are in the park there are nice views of the mountains. The owner is very helpful when you check in and tells you about all the things in the area. The sites are level and have full hookups plus cable. The Wi-Fi is $5.28/night or $12.92/3 days. You are asked if you have a portable heater that you will be using and if so they charge and additional $3.50 plus tax per day. They have a nice selection of items in their gift shop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$37
This is one of the most well kept campgrounds we ever stayed at and is in walking distance of downtown shops and museums. The grass sites are level and well spaced. The restrooms and laundry were very clean and nicely decorated. The price is a little 'spendy,' but worth it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
Very clean and nice site. They would get a higher score if they didn't charge $5 a night for WiFi. I didn't use the WiFi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$42
Clean and neat as a pin. You park on grass with wide crushed stone roads with no dust. Only reason not a ten is the Wi-Fi does not reach the far sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
This place is a rare gem. Although you are in an open area, it has plenty of space. The owners meticulously maintain this park. You won't be disappointed. Level spaces on a lush lawn and wide open travel lanes. Convenient RV wash ($) across the street. Everything super clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Clean, well maintained park. Long, wide, level sites on grass. Interior roads are wide and easy to navigate. Excellent laundry and camp store. One of the best RV parks anywhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
I would rate this campground higher, but they have so many rules! The sites are very level and have grass. The restrooms and showers are very clean. It is a convenient location and there is room enough for slide-outs and awnings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
After staying at Haines Junction this campground was a god send. Green grass, clean, quiet, friendly staff, clean restrooms, clean showers, level sites,able to walk to town. It was great. If anyone spent any time camping in Alaska and did not appreciate this camp ground, something is wrong with them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$37
Beautiful park, only park in Alaska on grass. Too many restrictions. Not worth driving 300 miles r/t to visit from Haines Junction. Would not return We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
This is the nicest RV Park/campground in Alaska or Canada that I have stayed. Lots of mowed green grass, thick layer of gravel on the interior roads, no mud or potholes, lots of landscaping. Laundry and bath house were spotless. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
Nice grassy sites. Strict pet rules enforced. Wifi was $5 a day and sometimes was not available. Washing, wiping or waxing of vehicles is prohibited. However, there is a RV wash across the street. Easy walk to town. For AK this is a great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com