219988 User submitted reviews online!!
The Campground at Wesley Clover Parks ( formerly Ottawa Municipal Camp was rated 8 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (613) 828-6632
CGID5318

The Campground at Wesley Clover Parks ( formerly Ottawa Municipal Camp

Camp Information
Sites
152
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   8   9   8   7   8   10   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
This is a sprawling campground with all sites in treed areas. Many are not very level. Washrooms are older but generally clean. Wi-Fi works only in the washroom area, not at the sites. There are good laundry facilities at the campground entrance but not within walking distance of the sites. Local bus is available at a nearby park and ride for the 1/2 hour trip to downtown Ottawa. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$44
Nice campground with good services from check-in to utilities. Site was level and a good length to also park our car. Mosquitoes where a pain after a rain or around 8:30 pm. Campground about 15 t0 20 minutes from downtown Ottawa. We camped here in a 40' motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Fifteen minute drive from "downtown" Ottawa...lots of wide, long sites and big rig friendly. Very close to the #417 highway into Ottawa, so lots of white noise from traffic which dissipates rapidly during the evening. The place is well managed by RVers who have worked here for 10 years and go south every winter. Only drawbacks are no paved sites, no sewer hookups and one dump station on the way out. But very scenic and lots of sites. Recently bought out by new owners of the horse park 1 mile down the road, but will remain as a RV park with same managers. Rate paid was with Good Sam discount. Would definitely stay here again when in the area or traveling thru, 45 minutes from the #401. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
We stayed here a little more than a week. Lots of trees. You could see your neighbors, but you don't feel you are right on top of them. Wi-Fi didn't work at campsite, but all the washrooms had it. It was just as fast as home. Washrooms were kept very well. Close to down town, but in the country. Hiking trail near by, bicycle trails almost right there that will take you downtown if you wanted too. A pool would have been nice, but they are a lot of work to maintain. Yes, I would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$39
Canada's municipal parks are great. This was no exception. About 15 minutes to downtown. It seems very secluded, next to a greenway bike route, with heavily wooded sites not too close to each other. WiFi was available in the office, adequate for email, but slow Very clean. We would absolutely sty here gain if visiting Ottawa. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
If you have business or pleasure in the nation's capitol, you can't beat this cg. Almost right in town, just a quick blast down the 417 or 416 to everything Ottawa has to offer. Great customer service too. This is a gem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
This campground is ideally situated. Ten minutes east or west gets you to some great shopping areas. There is a bike path near the park that will get all the way to the Parliament Buildings. We were pleasantly surprised when we first visited this campground. Based on information that I had picked up on the web, I expected the campground to be much smaller. It actually covers a huge area. We have a 40' motorhome. They have sites that accommodate big rigs. Our site gave us total privacy. If I strained my eyes I could just make out the outline of the rig in the next campsite. They do have free Wi-Fi in the office area. My guess is that the campground is just too darn large to pump a Wi-Fi signal through the entire area. Anyway, the campground is gorgeous, the staff are friendly and helpful, the location is great. Hard to ask for more from a campground so close to the city. We camped here in a motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
Best experience we have had in a long time, excellent service, super friendly, helpful staff! Extra large sites, few leveling issues, great fire rings and being from the US, found the wood prices a bargain. Laundry clean, $2.00 washer or dryer for 60 minutes also a bargain. Very close to bus lines into Ottawa and bike trails also shopping close by. This must be the best kept secret in Ontario as there were a lot of empty spots. I guess it was getting late in the season. We would recommend this campground to anyone. We spent 3 nights here and hated to move on. Only drawbacks: no 50 amp electric or sewer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
It is a nice park with asphalt internal roads. The campsite are large and basically level. The utilities are pretty good but we did need 50 foot of hose for the water connection. There are limited shower facilities. The rest rooms are clean and have hot water and soap. The down side is the internet Wi-Fi. You have to go to the office set outside to use it and the signal is weak even close to the building. There is only one dump stations which is busy at times. But the campsite sites are nice and private. It is close to a park and ride bus location so it make it easy to get down town from the area. Excellent bus service. I would have rated it higher except for the Wi-Fi and no sewer connections. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Large sites, some surrounded by forest, others in the open. Pretty good staff with helpful maps of where to buy groceries, gas, etc. Park abuts a beautiful wildlife area and there are bike/walking trails down to the Ottawa waterfront park. WiFi exists, although it's strongest in the office. Office closes early so do your internet work in the morning or afternoon. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
Park staff only works until 6:00 PM. WE arrived at 8:00. The line up to get in the park was long and took 1 hour as there was only 1 Security Guard in a booth to register over 100 inbound campers for the first long weekend of the summer. In my view there needs to be a review of park staffing. The park is very nice, sites are nicely treed and private. Only 1 sewage dump we were lined up for over an hour with campers 20 deep. But all in all a nice park Only down side is it's run by the Municipality and therefore s-l-o-w. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
The City of Ottawa doesn't know what a gem they have with this park...otherwise they would put some money into it and upgrade the facilities. On the plus side it is well located in a wooded area just off the Hwy and near the bike paths so you can get into the city easily by vehicle or bike. Although there are only back-in sites they are large and located in pods which limits traffic. On the minus side there is no sewer hookup sites which puts a strain on the shower facilities (one shower per 47 sites). The shower and washroom facilities are clean but are looking tired. The Wi-Fi hotspot is at the office but once the office closes you must sit outside to get service - not great for planning your next days adventures. Having said all this we will use the campground again while in the area but will limit our stay due to the lack of sewer hook-up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
This is a nice spacious park with sites arranged in pods of 7 to 9 sites. This keeps the local traffic to a minimum. Wi-Fi is only available near the office. A few tables and benches have been provided so if you have a good battery it is only a minor inconvenience. Sewer is not available at any sites and only 1 dump site is provided for the entire park. The dump was not busy when we were there so maybe it's not an issue. Rate is with CAA discount before taxes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
This park was a pleasant surprise considering it's a Municipal Park. The site we had was 3D8 and it was about 60 feet wide and about 80 feet deep. The gate is manned by security after 7pm which is a nice feature. My feeling that the $42 fee for not having sewer hookup is a little high. You could also have campfires at this park. It is close to anything one would want to do in and around Ottawa. They have one sewer dump either on your way in or out. This can get very busy upon checkout in the mornings which we encountered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Sites are gravel - All back In. Services were on the wrong side at the 3 sites by us. No control on the breaker - it is a popout type but trips at about 26 amps. Our rig controls the current but the breaker must be weak. We stayed by the office so we would have one of 3 sites that MIGHT have WI-FI. Found that we have to sit with the computer at the window to get it. Have to go outside to connect. Poor signal strength. No Sewer. Nice arrangement with Grey Line tours to pick up customers at the office for the Hop on Hop Off tour. It was worth the $20 for one day much less the 3 days for the price. If in this area we would stay here again cause there doesn't appear to be anything much better in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
WOW! It is a large CG run by the city of Ottawa. CG is made up of pods with several CG's in a pod. Sites are huge: about 25' wide plus 15' or so off woods on either side of the site. Privacy is great. Sites are gravel and level (mine was less than 1/2 bubble off center). Big playground for kids and lots of open space in central area. Washrooms were very clean. Shower stall (singular in our washroom is correct) is gigantic, about 10' long. The floor is on pallets. WiFi in office area only and strong. Although 25k (15 mi.) west of the city, transportation is not a problem. They have an arrangement with Grey Line to ferry CG patrons to their kiosk, which is right in the heart of things in town. The shuttle is free, a 3 day pass to ride the Grey Line tour is $30. I recommend it. 80% of the tourist things are within walking distance of the kiosk, but the tour bus hits the other 20. And it is a hop on, hop off to see the outlying sights. What a deal. There is one shuttle down in the AM and a return late in the afternoon. Staff is very helpful. The only downside is it's nearness to Hwy 417. Some road noise. It's a gem! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
Our two night stop was in a spacious partially wooded site near the office. Site was level side to side, but was on a slight downhill grade. Did not use Wi-Fi, instead using data stick which had good reception. Water and power services were good and while there is a dump station easily accessible, would rate higher if there were sewer service available at site. In season reservations would be advisable. Overnight security guard controls entry to Park for peace of mind. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
Sites are large and wooded. Gray Line Tours runs a shuttle to the campground. Nearby bike trail leads to Ottawa River Trail. It's about 14 miles to Parliament Hill--a nice ride. Laundry has new front loaders. Wi-fi is available only near office (laundry, office, parking lot). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
Clean campground with lots of garbage cans, nicely trimmed grass, well-paved access roads and great newer playground for the kids. The washrooms are older but clean and well-stocked. However, the showers are dirty with mold. Very friendly staff and full-time security controlled access overnight. Camp store was stocked minimally but the prices were fair. All RV sites are accessed by one-way loop road and you must back into sites. Our site was big enough but the access road and site are very narrow which required some skill to place the trailer on the site. We camped overnight. Unfortunately, there is lots of highway noise (not more than 300m off Hwy 417) and train tracks are very close (though only passed by during the day). So I would suggest that this is a great alternative to a hotel room when visiting Ottawa but it is definitely not a "nature" getaway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$24
I really like this park, has excellent access to Ottawa but only one site has a sewer connection. It has a really nice playground and a fountain for the kids to play in but no pool. The sites are huge, probably the largest I've seen in Ontario. The rate shown is based on a monthly rate (28 days), regular rate is $30/day. There is a small store in the office and the laundry room is really clean with lots of washers and dryers but expensive at $2/wash and $2/dry (1 hour). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com