218884 User submitted reviews online!!
Fountain Creek RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (719) 633-2192
CGID532

Fountain Creek RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
108
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   5   3   3   7   7   10   9   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$41
I would not consider this a big rig friendly park. Not very well maintained. Friendly staff, but, in general, not a very impressive park, to say the least. We would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
Do not expect this to look like a campground. If I expected that, my rating would be a 2. I give it a 5 because it provides a clean and tidy place to stay if you're site seeking or short duration business trip. Sites are nearly on top of one another--neighbor's sewer line is right next to our picnic/grill spot, and actually on our space. There is hardly room for vehicles and the layout makes for some interesting maneuvering to get around vehicles. Their awning is over top of their neighbor's on the other side. The park however, is clean, restrooms adequate, and the proprietor is helpful and accommodating. Most sites seem to have cement pads for the table. And the area is pretty well shaded with nice trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
This is not a campground, it is a mobile home park. Mostly permanent residents. I was disappointed in park and wanted to leave early. They would not give a refund even though the park was not as advertised. It was quiet and reasonably clean, but I would not stay here again. My RV space was small and cramped. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
Paved road. Gravel sites. More permanent residents than not. Some very old run down RV units. Backs to a park that has homeless people there. Many people walking through that look rough. Our neighbor had his BBQ grill stolen. We were told by two different people that to lock up anything you wanted to keep. No security Park next to busy street that you get traffic noise from. Hard to get in/out of with our 40ft 5th wheel. Park does not look clean but that could be due to the dry conditions. Will not stay here again, to many other RV parks to choose from in the area. People in the office were nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Rate reflects Good Sam. We've stayed here 3 years in a row and find the location perfect. Just a few miles from Manitou Springs, close to Old Colorado City and within a few miles of all to do in Colorado Springs. Grocery store is up the street. The park is older and there are some full time residents but they are friendly and helpful. The staff is always working on the property. They even rake the gravel on the sites after someone leaves. The sites are level, DirecTV was good where we were since there were no trees and Verizon air card worked well. There's not a lot of places to walk the dog in the park but there is a trail right outside the gate. Not a fancy park but the location and price are right for the area. We will come back again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
OK park. Nothing fancy but very liveable. Previous comments apply here as well. Good central location, right between Taco Bell and McDonalds! I think rate a little high for this type of park. Should be $25-$30 dollars but rates have gone up everyplace this year. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
My Husband and I could only stay here one night but we wished we could have stayed longer! It is a very nice, clean park. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Facilities were clean, which is always a plus. The space provided for our fifth wheel was a little tight, but again, not a big concern. We will be staying here again if we come through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
The owners of this park try to keep it very neat. It's gravel sites but level with a picnic table and also a stand for a grill, which is nice. There is some noise from the road but overnight it's pretty quiet. There is a trail right outside the gate which is great for walking the dog. The location for sightseeing is perfect with Manitou Springs right up the road and Old Colorado City right down the street. Lots of restaurants & grocery stores very close too. This park is nothing fancy but it's a good location and clean. There are some permanent rigs but they are on the perimeter for the most part. We have a 40 ft & could get in easily. I'd suggest unhooking the tow before pulling in, as it's just easier. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
We stayed at this RV park for over a month. The best feature about this park is that everything you need is close. A lot is within walking distance. The Park is clean and well kept. The restrooms/showers are very clean. The rates are reasonable. The Park has free local cable, (minus the refundable $50.00 deposit.) The sites are mostly dirt/gravel but fairly level. They have pull-through sites. The sites can be tight depending on which one you get or if your neighbor has slide-outs. All sites have picnic tables and grill stands. There is not much for children. No playground or pool. There also isn't anywhere to walk your dog, no grass. You have to walk your dog outside the park on the Midland Trail that runs beside the park along Fountain Creek. The Trail is a nice walking/biking trail that adds to the amenities of the park. The owners are very friendly and helpful. There are quite a few long timers there but their sites are well kept and everyone seems friendly. Some of their RV's are older and need some repair but not everyone can afford a nice, new expensive RV. I think the owners do a good job of providing a nice, clean, safe place to stay! I would of given this Park a 8 or 9 if they had a place to walk my little dog and if the sites were a little bigger. Oh well, I guess I can't have everything. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Older park, could be improved on. Small, narrow un-level dirt pads. There are picnic tables. Big Rigs did seem to manage though they are parked mostly in the center spaces. We had space 38 which backed up to Fountain Creek and afforded some shade. WiFi was very slow (Tengo) most of the time. Cable TV worked well. Laundry was large, clean, 6 machines, and inexpensive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
Campsites are very close together, and the site we were given was the most unlevel I have ever had to deal with. We reserved a pull through site but got one we had to back into, with no apologies. The park is surrounded by busy roads, and it's very noisy. The 7-8 creekside sites are mostly taken by long term renters. Some of the long term renters (seems like there are a lot) stay in fairly run down RVs. There is nowhere for kids to play or to walk the dog. We had to walk the dog on the sidewalk outside the park. Lots of homeless people hanging out, sleeping, drinking along the sidewalk - taunting the dogs. I asked a woman in the office if she could call the police or anything. I'm not sure she spoke English or could understand me. I'd really like to know what they consider a boutique (which they say they have). Their office is in a trailer, where they also sell a few miscellaneous items. But there is nothing like a boutique, as defined in the dictionary. I will never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
Restrooms & showers are clean. Shower stalls are small. You can't control the water temperature. The showers are push button for ladies and some men's showers. Must push button often to keep flow of water. Water temperature determined by the park along with the water flow. The rating is because of the showers. Currently restrooms have no heat so when it is in the 40's and 50's at night the restrooms are cold and still 40 or 50 at 10 or 11 o'clock in the morning regardless of the current temperature. Except for the showers probably would have given it a 6 or 7. The location is good for sight seeing. The sites are level and on hard dirt and gravel. The sites are average in closeness, with slides they are closer. Park roads have speed bumps but are paved. Escort to site. Some sites are double with trailers back to back. Internet is okay. There is a little road noise during the day but it is quiet at night. Owners are okay. The park maintenance is okay. They do check on things when you say something about it, but do not necessarily feel it needs to be fixed. e.g heaters in bathrooms. We stayed a month plus a week because there is a lot to see and do. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Price reflects Good Sam Discount. Older park but the family who owns it keeps it up. Staff was helpful & the woman who checked us in was very helpful and friendly. No language problem as mentioned in a previous review. Watch the roof line of the rest rooms when pulling in. We could see it had been hit before and we barely missed it. Some long term tenants with older rigs. Walking the dog was outside the park on the trails. Okay since they are close. Location is wonderful. Blocks from Old Colorado Springs and close to Garden of the Gods and Manitou Springs. Highway 24 can be heard but quieter at night. Across the street is Rudy's BBQ, which we love in Texas. Great to see it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$37
Would you please pass the mustard? Good thing the RV next to me didn't have a slide, our slides would have been about 3 feet apart. Other than that, I found this RV park to be decent enough for a short stay in Colorado Springs. The check in person was friendly, but also vocal about the rules and regulations. I was here for an event at the Academy, didn't get to check the restrooms and laundry. Sites fairly level, didn't have to go too far on the stabilizers. Gravel/dirt sites. Park is close to a busy highway, but didn't notice any road noise. On the night before you check out, they leave a note reminding you that it's your last night. Gee, the park wasn't even full. Internet was through Tengo, didn't try to use it. Verizon Air Card (4G) worked fairly fast, although signal dropped occasionally. Cable worked OK, just basic network channels and a few "junk" ones. If you don't tow a car, and want transportation, Enterprise can deliver a car here. Or there is a bus with frequent service that goes right by here. Good well known "chain" grocery store a block away, as well as banks and restaurants within short walks if you don't tow a car. I would stay here again, despite the "pass the mustard" situation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
Overall I thought this park was pretty good. Staff were polite and helpful whenever we interacted with them. Highway noise is not bad even though Route 25 is close by. Location is convenient to some good restaurants and plenty of sightseeing attractions. (Vietnamese Garden, which is within walking distance, rocks!) We checked in late however, and found that the prior occupants of our assigned site had dumped their black water tank on the ground. Yes, Ew. Because the office was closed, we just selected a different site -- upwind -- and advised the office in the morning. They were very apologetic and cleaned up the mess promptly. The bathhouse is older but clean. Showers are the water-saving kind where you have to press a button about every 10 or so seconds to maintain water flow. This worked fine though and the water was plenty hot with good pressure (actually a little hotter than my usual shower). Wi-Fi is through TengoInternet and worked very well. The only thing that might make me hesitate to stay here again was that there was a neighbor on another lot (a permanent resident judging from the looks of his site) who had dogs which were tied and/or caged outside to bark and whine for hours. We had to complain to the office before anyone spoke to him about it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2011
$32
Yes, I agree the campground is very close to downtown Colorado Springs city and the sites, but the staff and the campground it selfs needs a lot of improvement. The staff are oriental and most of the time their teenage daughter is working the front desk. There is a language barrier and I had to repeat my question 5 different ways to get my point across and she still had to call someone on the waikie-talkie to help. The men that work can sometime be harsh in their tone. The free Wi-Fi is very, very slow and throughout the day will kick off several times. I haven't met one friend person that works here yet and I am not nor have I ever been accused of being a difficult person. There should be someone who can communicate correctly with the public and be an adult. Also, on their web page, the rates on there are not the correct rates. When I asked about the increase rate change, the response I received from the lady working was the website is not revised. Evidently! I believe that is false advertisement. I will be moving on to a better campground. There are a lot better ones in Colorado Springs. And the noise is horrible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
What this campground has going for it is location. Close to Garden of the Gods, Manitou Springs, Pike's Peak Cog Railway; you can walk to Old Colorado Springs and it's convenient to fast food and other restaurants, drugstore, Safeway and not far from Wal-Mart. Also, the park personnel are friendly and helpful. What's bad about it is extreme traffic noise and tight spots, narrow and short. There is a small concrete pad with a table, but the parking spot is mostly dirt with a little bit of very small gravel, so you track the rocks in on your shoes. We would probably stay here again because of the location, but some regular gravel spread around would be a big improvement. Wi-Fi and cable worked well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
As other reviewers have noted, this is in the city. That means it's accessible to Old Colorado City but it's noisy. There is barely a blade of grass, courteous people on check-in, Wi-Fi is fee (not free) and the restrooms are adequate, but strange. You have to punch in a code and turn a special knob to get in; the shower stall I used was tiny and the shower activator is a push-button on a timer. Won't come here again, ever. Will check RV Park Reviews in the future! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
Friendly folks but the campground was fairly quaint for lack of a better term. Pretty noisy from the highway as there was no barrier to the sound of big rigs coming down the hill and general city traffic noise. The restrooms/showers were marginal. If I'm greeted by spiders I'm not usually a happy camper. Though we were planning to stay in the Springs for a few weeks, we moved on after a night. Too bad though, with a noise fence and some sprucing up, it could be a much nicer campground and it is otherwise excellently located, convenient to the things we were there for. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
Dirty and noisy.Very close to two major intersections.Sites were small and close together.Appeared to have quite a few resident campers whose sites were not well maintained.Staff was friendly.Would rather stay in Walmart parking lot than stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
This is an older park surrounded on three sides by roads with heavy traffic, so it's not quiet. \Rates seem high considering there aren't many amenities. Spaces are average but park roads are narrow and there isn't much room for wide turns. There are quite a few full-time residents and some of these lots are junkie. This place is okay for a night or two but probably not where you'd want to spend more time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
Big rig friendly, I don't think so. Very tight, cramped sites. Not very level. Busy highway within a stone's throw with quite a lot of emergency vehicular traffic. Really have to be on your toes to find the entrance. (Between McDonalds and Taco Bell.) Made to seem worse and set up and take down was in rain. As said by others, kind of pricey for what it offered. Was here for 2 nights, would not have wanted to stay very much longer. Not sure if I'd use it again. Didn't attempt to use the Wi-Fi, rather used my air card which worked well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
This Park is not very well maintained,& sites were not level. The Park has mostly full time people living there, with run down unsightly units. It is very close to a main highway, so the traffic noise was very constant, and hard for sleeping. Quite pricey for what they had to offer. They have a small sign at the sidewalk, which is not easy to see, hence we had to go around the block twice as we did not see the sign. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
Tight, congested, urban RV park, mostly RVers, short and long term. Many large DPers staying. Live creek adjacent to park, but unable to hear because of urban setting. Park does refill propane tanks. Rigidly efficient management. Located east of Manitou Springs, close to Garden of the Gods, etc. WIFI available only as extra charge $$. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
Park is very close to restaurants and attractions. Park staff is very friendly and helpful. They were able to get two spots together in one day notice at 4th of July. Unfortunately we were not able to camp here. The spots are too close together for our 31 foot rigs with the slide outs. Many of the spots are occupied with full time residents, and most of the rigs were in need of repairs. Navigating through the park was next to impossible. With no space to park a tow vehicle, at your site, most vehicles were in the two roadways through the park. One couple even had to move their truck so we could get past. We paid for one night but ended up leaving before we even set up and went elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
Nice park in the heart of the city. Clean restrooms, helpful staff. Close to everything. Nice stop-over place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$45
This is a great park. We stayed 4 days in motor home. Had a level site with cement pad with table on it. Also sites have fire ring. They cook breakfast and dinner (great barbecue). Staff was very friendly and helpful.We had a guide to our site. Only drawback is you are a little close to your neighbors when you have a site near the stream. Roads are not paved other than that it would get a 10.We will stay again when we go that way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$21
Older park with lots of long term residents, with RVs that are in need of repairs (tires that are flat, etc.). Staff was friendly, and there are several fast food places within walking distance from the park. This park is well off the Interstate but still has a noise problem because it is adjacent to a major local road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2007
$31
You have couple one lane blacktop roads in park. All sites are some what gravel and close to level. Most people on outside ring live here full time and never move. Two rows down center are for people who come and go. Park sits on Fountain Creek. Lots of road noise here 24/7. Staff was very helpful at check in. A great location to see Colorado Springs. Tons of good places to eat close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
The campground was really nothing special. I would not stay here again. Next time, we are going to try something a little more expensive and will, hopefully, have a better experience. The park was not well run and needs some physical improvements. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$30
Park has been under new management since last year. I'm a full timer there and thouroughly enjoy it. Cable will be back within a month, the wireless signal is great from all sites, and the new owners are working hard to ensure that it's a park people want to visit. They don't tolerate drugs or violence in the park and are quick to help when asked. There are no more fences up around sites (haven't been in 3 years that I've been there), and they now have cabins as well. Fountain Creek runs through the park, and while currently there is tent camping and a few creek side spots available, the city of Colorado Springs is going to make a river walk alongside the creek so those spots will disappear by the end of the summer, I think. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$25
I really liked the price and the location of this campground. The campground is right behind one of the 2 main Colorado Springs "strip of shops" that you can walk down. You are close to all of the fun stuff in Colorado springs. When I travel I like to stay where I can see the owners of the campground actively watching over stuff. They know what is going on better than anybody. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Friendly staff, but all dirt sites and roads throughout park. Showers were very clean but extremely small. Water temperature in showers is "fixed", women's showers have a big button you have to push and hold to turn the water on. Appear to be lots of permanent campers. Stayed one night and moved to another campground. Would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$31
Great Location for base camp to see the sites in and around Colorado Springs. Super helpful friendly staff. The access and sites are extremely narrow and the trees are badly in need of trimming. Some had to be trimmed just to get us to and into our site. Once in our site we had enough room to open our slides but not the awning. We were so tight on the side with the sliders that the only way to access that side of the coach was to crawl under the slides due to permanent fixtures including a fence erected by our neighbors. The real problem with the campground is that it is mostly seasonal both of our neighbors had fences so even getting access to the hooks ups was made more difficult. We had made reservations months in advance and confirmed we had requested two sites together and told no problem since we were traveling with another couple and would be in Colorado springs for several days. But when we arrived we were told that they did not have two sites together. Once settled in between two seasonals every thing worked out if you discount the seasonals behavior. When we left we had to get the camp staff to knock on trailer doors to get vehicles moved so we could pull out of our site. The staff tried but had little success so we unhooked our dingy and backed out and went down the other lane where the staff was able to get vehicles moved. Very poor pet facilities. They have a form that must be signed relative to pet restrictions. Just the typical stuff .The seasonals seem to operate from a different set of rules. We will look elsewhere next time our travels take us to Colorado Springs. But there isn't a better location. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$28
Fantastic park. Friendliest staff and cleanest restrooms of any park we stayed at this year. Will definitely come back for a longer stay. Very convenient to all local attractions. Restaurants within walking distance. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com