223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Superior Provincial Park - Agawa Bay Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (705) 856-2284
CGID5387

Lake Superior Provincial Park - Agawa Bay Campground

Camp Information
Sites
147
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   9   5   8   8   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
This is a very expensive campground considering the lack of services. Wi-Fi is available in the visitor centre only. It's a beautiful location on the shores of Lake Superior, but the roads are very narrow and rough, sites although separated by forest, are small and difficult to get into, and the washrooms were old, dirty, and smelly. There are clean modern toilets in the visitor centre. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$49
The rate paid included the online reservation fee. While it might seem high for the services provided, the venue is really wonderful. Our site was well sheltered by mature conifers. We were able to reach the 30 amp power with our onboard cord, but on some sites an extension cord is needed (they loan cords at the check-in office). The trees seem close on the drive into the site, but if you know what you are doing with your rig (ours is 30') it is not difficult. Great beach, awesome scenery and a really worthwhile visitor center. Would love to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$44
This provincial park is on the lake and a few sites have really nice views. Most of the sites don't have electricity. The elec sites are mostly set up for trailers and smaller vehicles. While there are a few sites for motorhomes 32-34 feet, there aren't many, and the trees are difficult to maneuver around. The staff could not have been better in assisting us. Our site was hugely unlevel and almost 50 feet away from the electric post and unreachable with my power cord. Yet, the staff worked hard to get us moved to an acceptable site and we appreciated that especially on a holiday weekend. The attraction here is the lake shore and the staff. The sites need reworking and should be better for this price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$47
This park doesn't have much to offer except a stunning view of Lake Superior. Nevertheless it was worth the overnight stay to be able to walk along the pristine beach and stroll along the wooded areas. The sites are very tight and you can't get in any vehicle combination greater than 36 feet. However, we were able to squeeze in our 24' motorhome and our 8' Smartcar toad quite easily into our pull-through site. There is only electrical hookups (15 and 30 amp) and no water or sewer hookup. There was a fresh water spigot nearby. Our little puppy wanted badly to romp in the lake surf, however no dogs are allowed on the beach. We would stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$41
It's a bit expensive for a "state park" with just dry or electric-only hookups, but the location can't be beat. Our site was literally 20 feet from the beach and it's a gorgeous beach for sunsets! Sites are small and anything larger than a Class B/C motorhome will have a hard time driving between all the pine trees. But the campground facilities are well-maintained and there's a wonderful new visitor's center there too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
This campground stretches along the lake such that about 1/3 of the campsites are next to the beach and the others are close. The beach is sandy but many areas this year were covered in small stones which made it difficult to walk in bare feet. The water of Lake Superior is very cold but the views and sunsets are great. The lake can be perfectly flat some days and other days there will be 3 ft waves - very impressive. The electric pull thru sites are not very level and some are very narrow. The roads are also narrow - about 11 ft between trees so it is not possible to turn long trailers or motor homes into many of the sites that are classified as large. Be very careful entering this park with large RV units. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$34
When we stayed at this campground the bugs were horrible, but we came prepared with bug spray/lotion so they were tolerable. We stayed at a site facing the lake, and the sunsets were incredible! The campground has wonderful hiking trails and nice beaches. They have a beach for the dogs which is a nice idea so you can sit out on the beach and watch the sunset with your fur baby. Our site was very narrow so that we could not put our awning out. Most sites are this way because of the pine trees. It is very pretty here but not much privacy. Bathroom facilities were very nice and so was the visitors' center. We would camp here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$24
Terrific sandy beach campground on Lake Superior with fantastic sunsets! All sites are shaded by tall pine trees, but there is very little ground cover so minimal privacy between sites. While some sites might be accessible by bigger rigs, most are too small. Great facilities, including a new, modern visitor's center. Dogs are prohibited from the main beach in front of the campsites, but there is a nice section of sandy beach directly north of the campsites that allows dogs. If camping in a tent or tent trailer, traffic noise may be an issue as the Trans-Canada highway borders the east side of the campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com