218177 User submitted reviews online!!
Big Bear Campground & RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (907) 745-7445
CGID5539

Big Bear Campground & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   3   6   6   8   7   8   10   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
Rate reflects a premium site with the Good Sam Discount. Nice enough park. Adequate room between rigs. Check in person nice. Did not try their WIFI has have our own. Laundry expensive. $3.00 to wash/ $3.00 to dry. Highest we've seen in 5 years of fulltiming. Would stay here again if ever in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$23
This campground is conveniently located to the major highways, Wasilla, and Palmer. However, we were not disturbed by road noise. The laundry was clean and not expensive ($2.00 per machine). A code must be used to unlock the free showers so they were clean and private. The showers had nice private dressing area with plenty of hooks. No cable, and only about 8 channels on the TV. The Wi-Fi is also free, and consistently strong - I was never kicked off. The price quoted is for electric only with a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
This place was OK for a one night stop for convenience to shopping. The sites are very small and separated by a narrow grass strip. The people were very nice. The laundry was a mess as some of the long term residents are allowed to wash very muddy clothes. The WiFi was not working. Dog walking was very convenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
We probably expected too much from the park because of the positive reviews. It is correct that there is grass, but the spaces are very close together with no (none) vegetation to separate the sites. It is really a large open field with some RV hookups. Some of the hookups will be on the wrong side as you share a utility post with a neighbor. It is busy. Even though we arrived at noon, we got the last site with only 30 amp electric hook-ups – no water or sewer, so if you decide to stay here you might want to make reservations. There is a water fill and a dump station. We did not use the restrooms, but did use the laundry. Washer was $2 and the same for the dryer. The laundry was very dirty and some of the driers did not work. There is very significant road noise from the nearby highway. Our Verizon phone and data MiFi worked well here, so we did not try the WiFi. We would probably search for another place to stay next time in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
This is a gravel lot with easily accessible pull-thru site which tend to be a bit narrow. Electrical and water connections were fine (we did not have sewer on our site). I didn't try the WiFi because the Verizon 4G worked well. Bathrooms were clean, though the shower space was a bit small and tight. Laundry was convenient. This was a pleasant place to stay for a few days, and at $25 it seemed a good value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
This park is hidden off the Parks Highway but has a nice setup. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Their facilities are clean, and the grounds are cared for. There is lots of room to walk the dogs. Wi-fi was good, and there was nice space between sites. We would definitely recommend this campground and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
Staff was friendly and helpful during our stay. Our pull through site was plenty long for a 40' motorhome and toad. Site was not very level, however all utilities worked well. WiFi was not good at our site but WiFi worked very well near office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
Park was about the best in area. We had a pull through FHU with 50 amps. The sites are gravel with some grass in between. Very tight, but level. The Wi-Fi was almost nonexistent. Park is family owned and kept up as far as repairs. Walmart and other shopping is near by. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
Family oriented RV park. They have frequent pot luck dinners where the owners provide Salmon fixed several ways for everyone You just need to bring a side dish to share. We have stayed there several times and will continue to stay there each year we come to Alaska. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
Great park in a great location. Very close to many of the attractions in Wasilla, Palmer, and Anchorage. Huge pull through site and hook-ups were just right. Hosts never bothered us and the 3 days there were very smooth. Not really a "camping location", but great place to get ready and get shopping done before things get more expensive. I have nothing negative to say and the rating is so low because I rated it based on what I have found in the lower 48 states. By "Alaska and Canada standards" it would be an 8. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
We stayed at this park on two separate occasions. One of the best parks in the Wasilla/Palmer area. Nicely spaced sites, far enough away from the road to not hear traffic noises. Beautiful view of the mountains. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. No charge for showers, laundry very reasonable. If in the area I would definitely stay here again. We stayed here close to two weeks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
We stayed here for a week after staying three nights another park in Anchorage. This location was much better. The host was great even allowing us to borrow some gold pans to try our luck on Hatcher Pass. The newer area was spaced apart and the back in circle was not close parking. The park had grass between sites. A rare thing up here. We were in a 38' fifth wheel with dually truck and had plenty of space. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
We stayed at this campground during our Alaska trip. The location between Wasilla (for the shopping and services) and Palmer (for the attractions and fishing) is perfect. The view of the mountains is beautiful. Sites were level and spacious. Wi-Fi service was very good. Office staff were courteous and helpful. Laundry and showers were very clean. If it had cable we would give it a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Very nice park, staff was very helpful. Nice location. They added some tent sites and additional pull through sites. Clean and attractive with nice views of mountains. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Spent 2 days and everything was fine. Clean restrooms. Gravel lot with some grass & friendly people. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Very nice RV park between Wasilla and Palmer. Clean wide space some with 50 amp service FHU which we had along with pull-through site. Laundry was large and clean as well as the restrooms. These are gravel sites with some grass between them typical of what you see through out Alaska. We stayed here 4-nights and would stay here again. Convenient to the Parks and Glenn Highways heading toward Anchorage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
The nightly rate is for the week with no sewer. Very clean restrooms and very, very clean laundry room. Office staff was very nice and helpful. This is a nice campground with some space between the campers. 30 amp service and had no problems. Free internet (fast and reliable),TV 10 stations using our antenna with good reception. Good location to shopping. Would recommend and will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
We stayed here over the 4th of July weekend. The staff was so friendly and personable that we returned on our way back through from Homer. The showers, restroom, and laundry are sparkling clean and well maintained. It is a quaint, quiet campground. We chose a site with electric only, but full hookups or sites with water and electric are available. The gravel lots are level. The grounds are kept up. The campground has a playground for children; a covered pavilion with picnic tables and gas grills for your use; and free Wi-Fi with your stay. Great place to stay not only to visit Wasilla, but to visit area highlights such as Hatcher Pass and Summit Lake. We stayed here in our 38 foot motor home and the site was large enough for our rig and tow car. This is definitely the best RV park in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Rate is daily rate for 30 amp electric and water back-in with GS discount. Roads and pads are gravel with adequate maneuverability for our big rig. Park has two areas, one area has FHU pull through sites, the other area, in the form of a circle, has water and electric back-in sites though, a few are pull through. Good check-in experience, and were informed of many things to see and do in the area. Bathrooms and laundry were well maintained. There are no trees, but that meant we could use our Internet satellite. The only negative was the electric proved to be less than reliable, and our surge protector tripped several times due to low voltage. Used our voltage booster and had no more problems, though we could tell others were still experiencing difficulties. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
This is not a bad little park for overnight. Many of the sites are either pull throughs or back ins around a large center circle. This works pretty well and the spoke arrangement tends to separate the rigs a bit. However the people with pickups tend to park their pickups across the front (narrow end) of the site rather than in the back (in pull throughs). This makes it hard for the neighbor to get out of their site. The Wi-Fi was free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This is a typical Alaska park, a gravel pull-through, but they are super friendly. The washrooms are very clean, the laundry is also. The hosts certainly do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable and take time to greet each person that enters their park. I would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Right in town! Sites are level and not too close to neighbors. Helpful staff. Laundromat also present. Nice campground in the town! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
An okay place. Lots of full timers in it. Got there at 8pm; no one in office. Had to leave early next morning and again no one in office at 8:30am. Wouldn't stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
This is a very nice, friendly campground located between Wasilla and Palmer. Both towns have lots of things to see and do. We stayed here two separate times for a total of seven days. We would stay again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$29
Large gravel parking lot, but buildings and grounds are very neatly kept. Very nice laundry room. Convenient location for area touring. Good satellite reception. Sites have tables and fire rings. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
This is a good average park for Alaska. It has good easy sites to park in and great people in the office. Wi-Fi was just so-so as you have to sign-up for a plan. This is a good base for travel into Anchorage since the campgrounds there are not so great. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
This was a larger campground than many in Alaska. The sites were pull through with some space between units. The wi-fi was free and worked well in the camper. Staff was friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
After staying in a few really cramped up RV parks in Kenai, Homer, and Anchorage with rates around $40, this park was a pleasant surprise. Not only is there some space between the sites, we even had a small GRASS yard! The lady in the office was extremely helpful and the Wi-Fi access was the best we've seen lately. We would definitely recommend this park and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
The wireless is not longer free. $15/week or $19/month. Lots for grass for dogs to run. We opted for a full h/u site, level gravel sites. Only able to receive 1 TV station, which is the down side to staying here but the best in Wasilla. Good park to commute to Anchorage in. Fred Meyer store was very reasonable for Alaska We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
Full hookup sites are located in a gravel lot, we opted for W/E which had lush grass between sites. Free Wi-Fi available at most sites. Friendly and helpful staff. Quiet setting. Excellent choice if you want to stay on the outskirts of Anchorage. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com