214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Scenic View RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (907) 567-3909
CGID5540

Scenic View RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
18
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   10   10   10   9   1   1   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Sites are small with neighbors improperly connected smelly sewer right outside my door. Couldn't use awning as it was in neighbor's site. Site was fairly level. Definitely a fish/clamming camp with inconsiderate fishermen leaving early and coming back late, waking us up. The park is all dirt. If you are a professional with a nice class A, you are out of place here. We saw people that didn't want to participate in the nightly gossip session treated rudely by owners and other campers. Disgraceful. Not at all what their website indicates. Two ounces of old microwaved salmon does not make up for the negatives at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
A super RV Park, but quite small. Wonderful, friendly owners who really took care of us. We stayed 3 days on the way to Homer and one day on the way back. The first time, it was too cloudy to see the great mountains across the inlet, but the scenery was still spectacular with all the waving, blooming fire weed, bluffs, and such. On our way back, we could see the mountains - awesome. Sites were good, with enough space. We had water and electricity and used their dump. Some sites have sewer. There were only two showers, but they actually had bathtubs with them. My wife loves baths and was in heaven. One caution: they close fairly early, perhaps in late August this year. We were there on Aug 14, and the owner was getting things ready for the winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
This is an awesome RV park! Small but awesome views, volcano Redoubt was across the inlet, and gorgeous Fireweed all around. Lots are plenty large enough for awnings, and our 38' 5th wheel with 4 slides, and a parking space for my big truck. The owners did have a little dog, but it was very friendly and I never saw any pet waste around. Owners were very nice and after we were set up brought us smoked salmon as a greeting, and they brought it in the pouring rain, which they didn't have to. I'd camp here again and again, we loved the place. This was our 1st time at the park, as we're are from Indiana, and hope we get to stay here again one day. AT&T air card worked for Internet, also got on to there wifi with no problems. If your looking for a nice, friendly RV park, I'd stay here. If you're grouchy and don't like friendly, I'd go else where. We stayed here 4 nights and wish our schedule would have allowed us to stay longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
We were looking for a small RV park. We were booked for a week and ended up staying three! Wonderful hosts, stunning views and several yummy pot lucks would definitely make us return. The owners/hosts were helpful with things to do, places to see, and the loan of clam guns and fishing nets! We learned to fillet salmon and smoke fish. A great time! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
We truly enjoyed this place! We planned to stay for a few days and ended up staying for a month! The owners are amazing. When I said I was going to catch halibut, the owner offered to cook my catch (three ways). It was fantastic. We were there over the 4th of July and enjoyed a great potluck dinner. The picnic tables and fire pit are in a common area - a great way to meet people, unless you are a curmudgeon! When we mentioned that we wanted to go clamming, we were offered use of clamming gear. After we brought home our catch, the owner was kind enough to show us how to clean the clams! (Not an easy task for a newbie!) The view here is spectacular, right across the Cook Inlet with Mount Redoubt and Iliammna in sight. The location is perfect for day trips to Homer. We had no problems with dogs, sewer or anything else. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
All sites are back-in only and arranged facing the "common area". The interior roads are all dirt with gravel patches. Closest to the busy highway are the 10 full hook-ups sites. The full hook-up sites are the smallest I have ever seen. We were backed into the bushes, and the sides were too tight as well. We tried to put out two chairs and our BBQ, but were unable to use it. There is no place to park your tow vehicle, so we played musical chairs with the other RVers trying to find parking. When we arrived and tried to hook up, the park's sewer dump was overflowing into the empty site next door. We were rarely able to access the common area (fire pit, BBQ, and two picnic tables) as the owner had lots of his friends (or unpaid help) staying at the park. They lived inside and outside the park. This group overcrowded the small bathrooms and common area intended for guests. At meal times they all crowded at the BBQ and the one shaded picnic table and left no place for the campers to go. We got to know this group and found many of the reviews or "testimonials" were written by this group When you could use the area, the host never left the guests alone. He wanted be the center of attention and made a general unprofessional nuisance of himself. Their web site is outdated and lists amenities that no longer exist. The "trail" to the beach no longer exists. The closest beach for clamming or fishing was 8 miles away. The "kennel" was used by the owner's dog. We saw 3 dog fights and saw one dog owner in tears after hers was attacked by three dogs. The web site claimed it was an "adult" park; we had kids there everyday. The wi-fi was bad. Three times our computers said "IP address already in use", and several campers showed us stuff like home movies, pictures, and iTunes on their computers that belonged on other campers computers in the park. My wife was joking about how bad the wi-fi was, and the owner actually said, "If you give me your IP address I'll put you at the head to the list". After dealing with unsanitary conditions for 12 days out of a 30 day stay, we finally asked for our money back and moved on. As a full-timer, with a 40 foot RV, and staying in Alaska for 4 months, I can say this is the worst park we stayed at. I have never had a more unpleasant stay in 20 years of RVing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
This is not an RV park, but rather a hangout for the owners freeloading friends who talk negatively about RVers, calling them homeless. Owners' and their friends' dogs ran loose, never on leashes, leaving their deposits everywhere. I witnessed the owners' dog on several occasions attacking camper's dogs. The internet hardly worked, and you cannot put out your awning as the sites are too small. Not the pleasant experience other posters had, and I am convinced those reviews were written by the owners and their friends. The owners continually knocked on our coach looking for someone to talk to and bothered the campers. Sewer dump kept backing up, causing horrible smells to permeate the park the entire two weeks we were there. While attempting to fix it, the owner slopped sewage all over our coach, and we had to clean it up. The park was filthy and amenities boasted about on the website are not there, such as a trail to the beach. Instead of working on the sewer issue or cleaning up, the owner sunbathed half naked in the only place to sit at the park. Not an adult park, as there were children there every day. No place to walk your dog. It was so bad, we asked for a refund and left early, as did others. Skip this park and continue on to Homer. This is the worst park we have stayed in, and we ended up sitting in our coach as the owners and their friends made us uncomfortable with their constant gossip about other campers and their expenses running the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
Scenic is an understatement for the views from this park. We came in on a foggy afternoon, probably due to a heat wave, but when it cleared up in the afternoon the mountains and volcanoes of the Aleutian chain were spectacular across Cook Inlet. This is an adult campground, but there are none friendlier, believe me. Wi-fi worked well, and facilities are small but very clean. We used this as a central stay for the west side of the Kenai and ended up staying an extra day. We highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
We really enjoyed our two-week stay at Scenic View RV Park. Owners/Hosts were wonderful hosts and made us feel at home with nightly group campfires and wonderful potluck dinners where they provided the main dishes (grilled salmon & halibut, fish tacos and brisket) and the rest of us brought the side dishes to share. We will definitely come back to this park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
Great place. From the moment you arrive to when you leave. The hosts do everything they can to make you feel welcome, from the smoked salmon to always asking if there is anything that can be done. The views are terrific. With a big rig, before pulling in I'd recommend stopping at the view spot at the entrance. The owners help you park and get set up. There is a central fire pit and eating area and they have the fire going plus have pot-luck suppers. Being a small park you can get to know people quick. We were here 3 nights and had a great time. The owner is an IT guy and he tuned up the Wi-Fi a couple of times while we were here. Probably the fastest, most stable Wi-Fi we have had. Highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$37
We had an absolutely beautiful site with great view of Cook Inlet and volcanoes across the way. Hookups worked well, Wi-Fi reliable most of the time. Restrooms and showers are clean, but only one toilet for park where some sites don't have sewer is maybe not enough. Owners are very friendly and helpful. We were given freshly smoked salmon and a meal of flounder. Opportunities for social gatherings, which we choose not to take part in. They didn't push us. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Really friendly owners and fantastic views. Everything was spotless. WiFi worked great. I would stay here again and would recommend this park to everybody. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Fabulous view of the inlet and mountains. Owners are extremely friendly and helpful. Sites are separated by hedges, all sites are back-ins. Not all sites have sewer, but they do have a dump station. We really love this park, wish we had found it earlier. This park would easily be a 10 if it had cable TV and sewer at all sites. Wi-Fi was strong. You can purchase half a fresh salmon filet from the owners and they will even cook it for you. Great park with great view and great owners. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
These hosts are fantastic! We were welcomed with smoked salmon and shown to our site. Once we were settled in, they arrived with bowls of wonderful seafood chowder. We really enjoyed gathering around the fire and the camaraderie of this park. The sites are tiered, which gave us a fantastic water and volcano view. We think we paid $35 but don't exactly remember. Whatever it was, it was completely worth it. Our favorite park of this vacation! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
The most friendly and giving host/owners we ever met in over 20 years of Rving! Were greeted w/ smoked salmon and later, home made clam chowder. Group campfire, took us clamming and sightseeing in their 4x4 mule. Host and hostess are just great and the view is incredible. Stayed in 40' MH, fellow travelers in 40' foot MH felt the same. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Its a small family run RV park on the Sterling Highway Mile 127. Best view in all Alaska. Close to clamming and fishing. The owners make this park. When we arrived they greeted us with smoked salmon and a plate of ceviche!! They guided us to the best clamming and showed us, and also helped us clean clams. They rent clamming equipment at a very reasonable price. When we left, it was like leaving family. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Scenic View is exactly what this park has to offer and More! Has fantastic views of the Cook Inlet and mountains in the distance. Easy access to Homer, Kenai and Charter fishing out of Ninilchik. The best part is the charming atmosphere that these hosts bring to their park. Great times around the fire ring with a view to remember. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
I rated them a 9 instead of a 10 only because there was no shade. The site is beautiful with a good view in 180 degrees. The owners/managers obviously love what they do and love people. They are committed to everyone having a good time and feeling at home in their park. When the tides are right, they will take a group out clamming. Pot luck dinners around an evening campfire are a common occurrence. It is the only place on our 45-day Alaska stay that we met people and exchanged e-mail and phone numbers. We will definitely remember this as a place to recommend to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We stayed at this RV park the entire months of June and July 2009. Bob & Brenda, the owners, couldn't have been nicer. We learned so much (especially about those pesky clams) and had such a wonderful time. They go WAY above and beyond any other campground hosts/owners we know. The grounds are nicely kept and the washrooms are immaculate. There is a community campfire and being a small park, everyone gathers at the fire to visit, play cards, etc. This park does not have all the perks of some parks, i.e. cable TV, but what it lacks in TV, it makes up for in friendliness and did I mention the view?? Impeccable. Go to their website and see what I mean. I highly recommend this park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
For us, this was a fun place to stay because we could get to know some of the other campers and we enjoyed ourselves very much. We had a potluck and there were card games, etc. We learned how to dig clams, clean them adn cook them at Scenic View (and it lives up to its name !) When we drove in the driveway, the owner met us at the vehicle, welcomed us and said his wife would be right with us, we knew this campground was different. One man left, then returned when his plans fell through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
Scenic View RV is located midway between Soldotna and Homer. They have an outstanding 180° view of the Cook Inlet, Mt. Ileana and Mt. Redoubt absolutely justifying the name Scenic View. We have camped at fancier parks with more amenities and activities, but we have never enjoyed a campground more than Scenic View RV. We met some of the nicest people there and the new owners, are the friendliest and funniest campground owners we have ever encountered. Each night they have a community campfire, one night they hosted a potluck dinner featuring freshly caught razor clams. When the salmon are running, they can arrange for a local commercial fisherman to deliver fresh salmon at an unbelievably low price. We initially booked two nights but extended our stay to a week. While we were there, almost everyone we talked to extended their stay once they realized what a friendly and scenic campground it is. I don’t rate many campgrounds a 10, but will always remember Scenic View RV as one of our favorites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com