217671 User submitted reviews online!!
Santa Rosa Lake State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (575) 472-3110
CGID5879

Santa Rosa Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   8   9   9   8   9   7   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$18
We were surprised that we enjoyed this park.Landscape much different than we are used to.All the sites at Rocky Point have electricity but not all have water. Its a nice quiet park. Not much in the area except a car museum in Santa Rosa. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$14
Distant views of the lake. Most sites are reasonably level and spacious. Very sturdy stone shelter at each site, with a large cement picnic table underneath. About a 7 mile drive north of I-40, but your reward is a quiet campground at the very fair rate of only $14 for a level water and electric hookup. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
No frills, nice, clean, economical and relatively close to Hwy. We had pull thru site A4, and it was not level and we had electrical issues after dark. Not crowded, no problem finding a walk up site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$12
Great place camp host friendly and helped out!! Spaces were nice, level and clean. We stayed for one night in an RV and did some mountain biking on trials. Thought it a bit rocky but better than nothing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
This was a neat find for an overnight stay. It is out of the way a little, but worth the short drive. All sites are spacious giving plenty of room for your outdoor space and privacy with some neat views as well. Each site in the loop we were on, has electric and some had water (ours didn't). The other loop has no hookups. The only issue we had was that someone was in our reserved site (marked Reserved on the electric) when we arrived. Upon questioning them, they said that when we didn't arrive by 6pm, they thought it was then fair game. (We arrived at 6:15 and they were already eating dinner. Been there a while.) We traveled over 300 miles and had made reservations weeks before so that we could get a site large enough for our 37' fifth wheel and tow vehicle. (Didn't want to unhook for just a one night stay.) The only remaining sites in the park were too short, so we had no choice but to kindly ask them to move. They had a 15' single axle travel trailer and could fit easily in any of the available walk up sites in the park. This is my only reason for not giving a perfect 10 rating. I realize it is not the park's fault, but it took a lot of time waiting on them to pack up and move that we could have been using relaxing and enjoying the space. I think they just need a better system to verify no one is in a reserved space without a reservation. Will I camp here again? Absolutely! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
We stayed here a couple of years ago, and we still love the place. If you enjoy seclusion, this park is for you. The park is several miles north of I-40, and the route through the town of Santa Rosa is a bit disconcerting until you've done it once or twice. Just stay on Rt 91 and eventually you will get there. Gravel sites are reasonably level. Water and electric service is good. Cellular service in the area is marginal but usable. The lake level seems to have receded even further, however. If you crane your neck when you drive across the dam, you can see the "lake" way down there. It's pretty sad, and I guess it speaks to the drought situation that continues in the area. The last time we were here, the dump station was a mess. It was a little better this time, however, somebody needs to put up signs advising folks to use a sewer hose to connect to the sewer ground port, rather than simply opening their tanks into the gutter leading to the ports. Kinda makes a mess that way. We'll probably be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$14
I love this little campground. Price includes electric and water (only a few sites have water but tanks can be filled across from the restrooms). The dump is free. The campground has 2 loops but only one has hookups. The loop without hookups has the largest sites but both offer plenty of privacy and space. This state park is very convenient to I-40. The electric loop fills up every night. You need to arrive before 5 PM or make reservations. Because the lake is less than one fourth its original size this state park no longer attracts crowds. It is very quiet. I highly recommend this as an over night stop. Please keep in mind it is a state park in a poor state not a KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$14
Nice state park that is a reasonably easy overnight stop from the Interstate. Very quiet with great sweeping vista views. Each site has a brick shelter over the picnic table. The town of Santa Rosa has seen better days, but still has a few interesting attractions including a few deep water swimming "holes" that some even go scuba diving in! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$14
This is a very nice park with shaded picnic tables on many sites. We saw a water outlet with in a few yards of our site. We pulled in and unhooked only to find our the water had been turned off - bummer! Fortunately with our hoses and two more borrowed from a neighbor we were able to reach water at the campground host location. Strange that the host was never there. Others told us the season hadn't started yet. Convenient if you are touring old Route 66. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$14
Enjoyed our stay here. Spacious, private, level sites, excellent picnic shelters. Very quiet and pleasant scenery. The campground is not near the lake, so don't expect water views. Our site did not have fresh water available, but this was not an issue since we came in with a full tank. A slow but adequate internet signal on both Verizon and ATT without use of antenna or booster. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
Typical State Park. Friendly staff(rangers). Campground was clean. Nice trails to walk on. Will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2011
$10
I stayed in this park for three weeks in December of 2011. The park itself is remote and actually quite beautiful. Unfortunately it was spoiled by the lack of maintenance. All the garbage cans there were overflowing and never emptied during the entire three weeks I was there. There was no camp host. The showers were ice cold, the park employee who was supposed to clean and restock the bathroom didn’t do his job. He simply would open the bathroom door and write his initials down on a board that showed he cleaned it. Actually now that I think about it, he did do something. Since he never filled the soap containers there was never any soap available for hand washing. So I left a bar a soap on the sink for other campers to use. For four days straight he would open the bathroom door, take the soap I left on the sink and throw it away, and then mark his initials down showing that he cleaned and stocked the bathroom. I’ve been to many state parks and this was the very worse in terms of management and lazy incompetent employees. Hopefully this issue has been addressed since last I stayed there. I still recommend this park if you can don't need to use the bathrooms/showers and the site and stench of garbage doesn't bother you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$14
This park might not be in the exact middle of nowhere, but you can sure see it from here! Personally I like remote areas, and this little park sure fits the bill. Got a nice level pull through with 30amp and electric for $14. Can't beat that! The reservation and check-in process was a little disjointed, but we muddled our way through. Beautiful high desert scenery abounds, although the lake itself was rather low due to drought. Camp host was very nice, but oddly he seemed unconcerned with a badly leaking spigot within sight of his own trailer. Also upon leaving we noticed that the dump station was totally backed up. Someone before us had dumped anyway and made a nasty mess. In spite of all that, the park was very nice. We will probably stay here again when we are seeking solitude. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$14
This was our 2nd trip to Santa Rosa State Park. And like the first time, we enjoyed it very much. We chose a site at the far end, had only 30 amp and no water, but that was fine. Walked a couple trails and enjoyed ourselves immensely. Several pull throughs, and the back-ins are easy to negotiate as well, spacious and with a covered picnic table. We will stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$17
We liked the pull thru site we had with its desert flavor. The cactus were in bloom, and the sunsets were lovely. Showers and bathrooms were clean and well maintained, with lots of hot water. Nearby is a stretch of historic Hwy 66 (between Tucumcari and Santa Rosa) and a decent Mexican restaurant in Santa Rosa. We would go back there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$14
The Rocky Point campground at Santa Rosa Lake State Park has two loops. All 23 sites in Loop A have 30 amp electric, but only sites 1 through 9 have water. There is a water faucet across from the bath house that you can use to fill your rig before going to your site. There is no drinking water at the dump station. Loop B (closed in winter) has no utilities. When we arrived we had difficulty finding site numbers until we realized they are on the picnic table supports. If you like camping in the high desert in its natural state, this is your place. Do not expect green manicured lawns. Didn't see much of the campground host. If we came this way again and were looking for an overnight stay, we would probably stay nearer to the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$14
We stayed at the RV park that advertised electric sites. The park as a whole was clean and moderately well kept. Most of the sites weren't very level, and most were quite short. We used a pull-thru, but most of these were too curved, and difficult to arrange a big rig in without hitting shrubbery or trees. Only some of the sites had water. There are two loops, but only one was open. Reserved sites with a green placard could be used for one night only without reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2010
$14
The sites were very unlevel. The water in the men's shower was only warm, and in the women's it was not even that. There was a hose but no water at the dump station. Overall, this was not a pleasant stop, and we would not plan on staying here again unless necessary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
Arriving here was complicated by nearly every campsite being available for reservations. Thankfully a campground volunteer simplified everything by telling us to take the campsite we had. Even though the bathrooms were unheated, they were nice and clean. It was an excellent place to walk. We'd most definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
This was our first stay in a New Mexico State Park. It was great. The site was level, good electricity, large and private. Park has only 23 electric sites and only half have water. Being close to I-40, those sites fill quickly, even on week days in October. Staff was nice, restrooms are old but clean. Park is very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$24
Price reflects $10.00 reservation fee. Campground is 20 minutes outside of Santa Rosa. This is a clean park, with a nice pull-through. Had concrete picnic tables. Views of the lake but from a distance. This was a stop over for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$14
Decent park, fairly roomy sites: not all of which have a water hookup. A little grungy; our campsite had cigarette butts and bottle caps laying around, and they had been there awhile. Soggy, partially burned plywood in the fire pit. Toilet/shower building dated as is in most New Mexico State Parks, but better than nothing. Never saw the park people. The campground is 7 miles or so from town. There is a good hiking trail. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$14
A typical clean New Mexico state park. Separate areas for primitive, dry, and powered camping. Most of the powered camping slots have no water, though some do. Most of the sites (including all of the ones with water) are reservable; if they are not reserved on a given day, the ranger puts a green tag at the site that means you can use it, but for one day only. I thought the entire system was biased against the tourist (as opposed to the local who is savvy to the system), especially since my Good Sam guide said the park didn't take reservations at all so I hadn't made any. I was set up before I realized I should have filled up my onboard water tank on entry. Well, live and learn. The rest rooms and showers were very clean and comfortable. The park grounds were beautiful, and my dogs enjoyed swimming off the lake's boat ramp. Some mosquitos at dusk. I would stay there again, now that I understand the system. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
Excellent service - nice, inexpensive restaurant on site- owner manager very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$14
Gosh. I am a little surprised by the really negative reviews of this park. Maybe it is because we have just driven across the country and seen the really deplorable state of some parks; but we found the Santa Rosa park to be pretty good. We had a pretty site high on the hill above the lake. (Which yes, was low, but we thought the exposed red soil added a nice contrast to the blue waters.) The restrooms were cleaned while we were here and the showers were fine. We biked the paved roads and walked the trails. Electric worked fine and we filled our tank with water upon arrival. It was a nice quiet, low key, place. And we'd stay here again. The grounds were not mowed to perfection, but, if we had wanted that, we'd have stayed at home in the suburbs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2008
$10
We were so disappointed in this park. The minute we drove in, we were dismayed by the almost derelict appearance of the campground. Overgrown with dead, dry weeds. It was a very sad park. Another camper said New Mexico hasn't really done anything to improve things since they took it over from the Corps of Engineers. The view was unimpressive because the lake has been drained practically dry. We were given the $10 rate because the electricity was off all day both days. We couldn't wait to get the heck out of there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$4
Nice views. Quiet and uncrowded during the week. Filled up on the weekend. Enough space between sites so a little noise is not objectionable. Dump station is about a mile away from the A loop. Bathrooms are not cleaned regularly. We've been here for a week. They were clean when we came in but haven't been touched since, even though someone signs off on them each day. Camp host mostly stays in his RV. Very little contact with anyone working for the State. Everyone is friendly. Mostly one nighters with a few staying to fish a couple of days. Nice trails. I measured 115 volts. Cellphone coverage is marginal but mostly reliable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$19
This started out to be a wonderful campout. Then the second day we were there the Camp Manager came around with several others to make it known that there was a major water leak to the tune of about 60,000 gallons lost on the first night that we were there. So there was only going to be the Push Button Cold Showers available at the shower stalls. But the water was cut off by that evening with no water at all. Then on day three no one came to tell us that the water line had been fixed. Well it was too late then to do anything but leave. We had already packed up and ready to move on. Check in time is 4:00 PM and check out time is suppose to be at 2:00 PM. Like others here the views are spectacular! The fishing is usually good too. Non-Resident Licenses are about $30.00 for 5 Days. It is 7 miles to Santa Rosa from this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$14
Beautiful views! Pick your site carefully, many do not have water spigots. Electric service was only running about 105 volts. There is a place in the campground to fill your tank. Trees and grounds were kind of overgrown, but not real bad. Really nice hiking trails. About 12 miles into town. Great boat ramps. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$14
We had planned on staying here for a week but when we arrived we were surprised to find that most of the first come sites didn't have water. The water is centrally located, meaning you would need about 100 feet of hose with a doubler if you wanted to connect to it. The sites were wide enough to open your slides but not much room to sit outside. There are 2 loops of camp sites. A loop has power and B loop doesn't. There's a dump station and also a playground for the kids. We decided not to stay and went to another State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$14
Quiet high desert (4,800') campground. Big sites, although most of the back-in sites would be too unlevel for a big rig. Several level pull-through sites. While most of the sites are reservable, none of the unoccupied reservable sites were reserved when we were there. Great weather in March. It's about eight miles of 50 mph road off I-40, but well worth the drive. $14 was for dry camping with 30 amp power. Central water and dump. After we saw the place, we decided to spend at least one extra night there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$14
Great site and very quiet. Follow signs north from town and enjoy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$14
Nice state park. Have stayed in better. Only a few sites have water. Nice view of lake. One section of campground has no hook ups. For a one night stop, check out the campground in downtown Santa Rosa. The state park is about 9 miles from town and you will probably save enough on fuel to stay downtown. We have stayed there 3 times and never got in early enough to get a site with water. Appears you can make reservations. Cost of a site with water is unknown. Three of us camped there for one night. One was a very large 5th wheel with 4 slides, and they had no problem with the curved pull thrus. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$15
Stayed here one night traveling east. Park is a good distance out of town. Self-registration at time of our stay. Not many campers in park. Nice view of lake though several hundred yards distance. The peace and serenity were certainly worth the drive off Interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$15
We spent one night here Sep 2005. Though it is 7-8 miles out of Santa Rosa, it is well worth the drive. RV sites have a great view of the lake. Interor roads are paved and sites level. It is a place I certainly would stop at were I traveling on I-40 again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$10
Very well kept, scenic park. Located about 7 miles N. of I-40 in Santa Rosa. There are 26 sites with electric, others are dry camp (electric sites: $14/nite). Sites are well spaced and the lake and surrounding area very quiet and beautiful. Fishing and swimming are allowed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com