224208 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails - Palm Springs RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (760) 345-2236
CGID5885

Thousand Trails - Palm Springs RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
401
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   8   9   7   8   9   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$1
We come here 2-4 times each winter for a couple weeks at a time. 50 amp side seems to be pretty solid for power, then again it is pretty full during Dec-Feb when air isn't needed much. Once the temps start climbing the place empties out a lot. Limited shade from Palms but they do help. If park is more empty than full and winds come the sand will be an issue. Park is close to everything, including freeway! Rate reflects member. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$1
We stayed two weeks and gradually got used to the park being smack dab on I-10, surrounded on three sides by commercial establishments, close to the train track, and located in a legally farmed date palm orchard, with tight sites and periodic dust storms. The staff was super friendly, as were most of the campers we met while out walking. The facilities were some of the best for TT parks. Great library and lots of activities. Close to shopping and restaurants. Would have stayed longer except for the use restriction during peak season. Here's a tip: If you don't absolutely have to have 50 amp, find a site on the 30 amp side. All roomy pull-throughs instead of tight back-ins. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$0
Nice Thousand Trails (member rate applied). Everything is top notch except roads and sites are tight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$1
Sites are VERY tight. Streets are narrow, and palm trees separating sites make backing or pull through sites difficult to get in and out of with a 30' trailer. If windy, sand storms can kick up. After a morning of sand storm activity, we had 1/2 an inch of sand/dirt caked on our truck/trailer. Our shore plug post arced when plugging in, so the maintenance man came (within five minutes!) to fix it, and we were good to go. At the back in sites, we couldn't use as our electric plug cord wasn't long enough to plug into the shore plug (which is located at the back of the sites). Pull through sites have the shore plug set up on the side of the sites. Due to freight train traffic and I-10 noise, it's best to try and get a site as far north in the campground as possible. If you choose a site close to the freeway, it's definitely noisy. Because of the above, we rated this park an "8". Otherwise nice park with very active residents/campers (daily activities). Newly remodeled bathrooms with great water pressure in showers (so we just used their bathrooms). Very friendly staff! Close to shopping. We used our Verizon smartphone 'hotspot' for wi-fi, and had no problems staying online. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$1
This is one of the nicest TT parks where we have stayed. I gave it a 9, only because we could not get our 40 ft motor home into the 50 amp sites due to the palm trees. We tried two sites, then gave up and went to a 30 amp pull through, which was a nice site. We enjoyed our stay and will return to this park in the future. The Rangers were very nice and extremely helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$1
Really tight getting into and out of the back-in sites. And if you want 50 amp it has to be the back-in sites. They could take out some of the palm trees and make things easier. Windy the whole time and lots of sand blowing through. Not our favorite TT park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$1
I really like this campground and have stayed here several times in the past and look forward to staying here again. The sites are level and come with a palm tree or two and a picnic table. The sun through the palm tress is stunning, and, yes, there are lots of palm trees - and they make parking into either an obstacle or a challenge. We have only a 35' rig, and thus, they are challenges. There is a pool, pickle ball courts and pool tables. It is more a campground than an exclusive resort, and that is part of its charm. The other part is being in Palm Springs where there is an abundance of hiking trails which is what we look for when we come. We have Verizon cell phones and hotspot and have no trouble with either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$1
I had forgotten how much fun it is to not panic at the appearance of the "coziness" of this park! But, despite the thousand palm trees (one of two between each site) - and thus the name of this Palm Spring "suburb" - it really is OK to get around; even in a 38 foot, 5th-wheel and long-bed truck. The rate indicates we are TT members. This is a busy place in November after the snow-birds arrive, but pleasant. Bathrooms 7 of 10. Verizon 3 bars of 5. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$1
We just left this park today. We are Thousand Trails members and therefore free for us to stay here. We left anyway and paid somewhere else. I understand that Thousand Trails members can stay here at no cost and that is a good deal, but frankly I was a bit surprised by this park and the high ratings other posters have left. If you are a TT member, have a rig of about 30' or smaller, and can stand a BLAST of noise then this may be the park for you. When I booked I knew it was on the freeway and so I should have known what I was getting into before going here. I just did not anticipate the full effect of I 10 with it's constant din. And there is the trains. LOTS of trains. Many many trains. For me the immense noise ruined the experience. We would never stay here again even if noise were the only problem. It is not. This is Palm Desert and it is very hot here even at the end of April. Like 100. Unless you have a small RV 30 amps is not enough to keep you cool. 98 percent of the pull through sites are 30 amps. There are lots of back in sites with 50 amps. The only problem is that if you have a big RV and do not have the nerves of Evil Knieval you are going to be really really nervous getting into these back in sites. I am a pretty good driver and usually have no problem at all backing into sites. The very big palm trees at the corner of every site had me spooked. I could not find a site I felt comfortable backing into. A good thing about this park is that as usual there are very nice employees here that will help you. They found me the very last pull through site that had 50amps. Naturally it was also the site closest to the freeway and very nearly the closest to the trains. If I were paying to stay here I would have rated it a 1. I will never stay here again. That is until my hearing is poor. And I don't mind 100 degree heat. So likely I will never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$1
Sites are tight between Date Palm trees. Pull through sites are long with plenty room for tow car parking. Back-in sites are more crowded as you are backed up close to your neighbor. Freeway noise unless park far in back.Pool spa clean with right temps. Showers had tile floor and walls glass doors with large changing room with a separate locking door. Lots of activities including pickle ball courts/ horseshoes/billiards/basketball (bent rim). We drove out to Joshua Tree about 45 min away for the day hiking around beautiful National park. Lots to do nearby Palm Springs including shopping, casinos,Tramway, museums and a popular weekly swap meet at College of the Desert campus I think was the name that had good deals.This resort very popular with snowbirds with very little turnaround for weekend campers to get in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$1
We are members of Thousand Trails so the price reflects this membership. We have always enjoyed camping here and will continue to make this a stop on our winter travels. The campground is typical Thousand Trails: lots of activities, nice facilities (is there anything prettier than the rows of palms throughout the campground?), close to everything and full of friendly people. The campsites are a bit close, but that is not a problem. The campsites are mostly level, have a picnic table, and you can choose whether you wish back-in or pull-through. Because it is a big campground, you can get your daily walk in just by walking through the streets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$1
An absolutely beautiful place with campsites laid out in a date palm orchard. Some sites are very tight, but we found a large and long pull through site that we enjoyed. Some noise from nearby I-10 and a railroad across the highway, but it didn't bother us. Lots to do in the area, and the winter weather is spectacular. Very friendly staff and many activities in the park. Nice swimming pool, family lodge, and other facilities. This is a membership campground,and we stayed here as members. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$5
Bright, shinny, clean, close, full. A nice TT park that everyone must like as getting into it is tight. Getting in, reservation available wise and the max the space available. And individual sites all nice in a row with Palm trees at each site. Most sites are back in sites. Rest rooms clean. If you like to hike check out Indian Canyon trails over by Palm springs, about a half hour away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$1
TTN Palm Springs is handy to the freeway, and there is a combination of drive-through and back-in sites. The Preserve has Date Palms growing all over the site, and they do sell dates at the Ranger Station. There are 2 Pickle ball courts and the staff is friendly and helpful. The sites are all grass or sand but the roads are paved, with paved patios on some sites. Golf is available here with variety and good pricing, a little research will lead you to a good round of golf. This Preserve is handy to many different points of interest: Salton Sea and Joshua Tree NP, for instance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$1
We were impressed with the amenities offered at this park and wished that we had more time to stay. The sites are close together and not much privacy between them. However, the staff was extremely friendly and there is a lot to do there. We would definitely stay here again and for more than one day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$0
This is one of our favorite campgrounds in the Palm Springs area. We stay at least six weeks out of the year here. We have a 44 ft. motorhome. Although some of the turns are a little tricky, we manage them and there is plenty of room to back in to our sites. Some are bigger than others, so you have to choose carefully. The staff has always been friendly to us, but we have not had any complaints to register. The only problems we have had is parking in the right place to get satellite. The palm trees make it a little difficult. Some of the sites are uneven. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$1
Beautiful park at first glance with all the towering palm trees. However, turns are very tight, sites are not very level and have narrow parking area between the trees and sewer hookup. Staff at the gate were great. Cannot say this about the manager. She was rude, caustic and bordered on being verbally abusive when my husband approached her when the internet went down, to ask if the server was down. Since the temperature in Palm Desert was 102 degrees, and her attitude was anything but pleasant, we cancelled 3 days of our stay here and left the following day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$68
We stayed here for a few days, but it seemed cramped and the interstate was so close,m that's all I heard. Its a good stop off for the TT members, if sites are available. Have to reserve ahead in the winter, that's for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$1
A "membership park" that reflects the standard expected of 1000 Trails preserves. The magnificent date palm trees make maneuvering big rigs a bit difficult but it is an excellent park. Very friendly and courteous staff. Walking distance to groceries and drugstore. Lots to see and do in the vicinity. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$1
Conveniently located off Highway 10 and close to shopping and the sites of the Coachella Valley, this is a very popular Thousand Trails park. In fact, it can be difficult to get into during the season. The staff is friendly and helpful. The park and facilities are also well maintained. About 1/2 of the sties have 50 amp service, which is unusual in the world of Thousand Trails parks! Some sections of the park are difficult to maneuver through in a 40 foot motorhome. This could be eased a bit by the removal of a few trees, in particular the ones by the pickle ball courts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$1
This is our favorite winter park. Everyone is super friendly. The pool is heated to a comfortable temperature. As mentioned, some sites are tight but most are not. There are many pull through sites that are very easy to pull into. The weekend breakfasts are great. The location is fabulous. What else can I say? We love it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$5
I agree with other reviewers that the staff and other campers are friendlier here than any of the other TT campgrounds we've stayed. We have already visited 6 of them this season. We will probably return at some point, only because of the weather. The sites are super tight, especially for 40' and longer rigs. Vehicle parking is also tight, and is difficult to park and get completely off the road. I have to wash our dog's feet every time he is walked. His feet get covered with a black sooty substance. The Wi-Fi is only at the Adult Center. As compact as this park is, it should be available at the sites. No designated place to unhook and hookup your tow vehicle, roads are narrow and you block traffic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$5
This is probably the friendliest Thousand Trails Preserve 21 out of 57 of them I've stayed in. The Staff was positively the helpful and their willingness to make my stay here was like no other. The other campers just seem to go out of their way to say hello and strike up a conversation when out walking. Within just a few minutes after I got parked in my space, my "new" next door neighbor came over and introduced themselves and for the next two weeks we did things both inside and outside the park together. I had never met these folks before but like me are snowbirds. They are from Vancouver Island while "home" for me is in Western Washington, just 175 miles apart, plus a little "pond" also known as the Straits of George. I'm really sorry to have to leave this wonderful area and all the new friends I've met. This is my 3rd visit, but will not be my last. I just can't understand anyone giving this location anything less than 5 stars. I guess they won't be using membership parks for very long--too bad--cause what Palm Desert lacks in gorgeous views with wide paved streets and plush grass (which cost upwards of $50/night or more, they more than make up for with dependable utilities and super friendly staff & guests. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$1
Every staff member was very friendly. We stayed for $0, but have to put in a number. As stated sites and roads are tight, but if you take you time there should be no problem. About half the sites are 50 amp. All the back in sites are 50 amp and 26 of the 155 pull throughs. Verizon cell phone and air card worked very well. A huge desert field next door is great for running dogs, and no stickers of any kind on the dogs. Sites 1 to 19 are easy access to the field. The pool was great. There are many activities. The laundry was very clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$10
This is a typical California Thousand Trails campground. It's very dirty, poorly kept sites full of goat thorns, hard to get into sites and not big rig friendly. We find a site that we could fit into after driving around the park for 45 minutes. We started to set-up only to find that the site was full of goat thorns as were all that other sites at this campground. We left the same day due to all of the goat thorns and poorly kept up sites. We will not be going back to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$2
This is a very nice park located within convenient access to Palm Desert, Cathedral City and Palm Springs. The park is well maintained and every employee or volunteer we encountered was extremely friendly. One drawback is that we have a 40-foot motor home and wished the turns were larger. The roads are a bit narrow and there are a lot of one-way streets in the park, which may mean several trips around to get to the site you want. There are numerous 50 amp sites spread throughout the park. Getting into some of the sites is a real challenge with a large unit. We made a couple of trips around before we found a 50 amp site we could fit into without a lot of trouble. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$1
Snowbird Heaven. Nice park September through May Thousand Trails Member Park. This is actually a pretty nice park, which is for the birds: snowbirds. On the downside, it is completely packed November through February. On the plus side, the pool is nice and inviting, and there are quite a few shops and restaurants which are close by if you have a dinghy. Since it's the desert, it is subject to high winds, so don't leave your awning up if you leave for awhile. The palm trees do give the park a lot of character, but may make it a bit tricky for big rigs. A bit more thought should have been given to placement. Steak night (Saturday) is a pretty good meal. Not much for the grandkids to do except play in the pool and visit the Living Desert. Closed mid-May to September. It's just too hot, and the electric bills would kill the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$1
We camped here in October 2008. Older TT park with narrow roads and sites that make it tight for bigger rigs. Pool was very sporadic in it's availability due to maintenance issues. Thorny little round prickly burrs all over the grass got into your shoes and pedal bike tires and we had to fix four flats. WiFi only works right next to the hall. Booked in for three weeks and left early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$1
We stayed at this Thousand Trails and used the "SuperHost" program. We had 21 rigs from our Carriage Travel Club Golden State Travelers Chapter and the AZ Roadrunner Chapter. Thousand Trails members stay at no charge; non-members pay $32 per night. Sites are a little tight, but everyone got in with their 5th wheel units. Management was great especially the assistant manager. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2008
$50
The sites at the campground are really close together and they need to relocate a lot of the palm trees to make getting into and out of the sites easier. We tried pulling through one of the sites but the palm trees got in the way and we had to back into it instead. Also, there were sand spurs that got into your feet, shoes and dogs paws that were extremely painful and annoying. The fire ants were no joy either. I'm glad we were only there one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$1
As said a membership park with nice pull throughs but you have to look hard to find the 50 amp sites. Most are taken by long term campers. Nice date palm trees and a very attractive park. Easy in and out. While we were here the winds where tough: 20 to 30 MPH with gusts to 50mph. We took a load of sand with us. Park closes for the summer on May 15. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
Since this is a TT pk we paid nothing. The sites are under date palm trees and are close. Park needs to be updated as do so many of these Thousand Trails pks. Pool was nice but crowded and small. Breakfast area nice for eating. We stayed here a week as it is a highly used TT pk. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$40
This is a membership park, there may be some specials along with a sales person talk. When we were there the park was all but empty due to the time of year. I understand the park is very full in the winter. Most sites have long pull throughs, good voltage, good water pressure, clean and well groomed. There are many huge palm trees making the park look very attractive. The park easy to find off I 10 and easy to access. The park staff was friendly and helpful. As far as TT parks go, this is one of the nicer ones. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com