206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Blue Spruce RV Park & Cabins was rated 9 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (970) 884-2641
CGID599

Blue Spruce RV Park & Cabins

Camp Information
Sites
105
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   10   10   8   10   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$13
The daily rate is based on $170 per week rate. This is a very nice park. The only reason it didn't get a 10 is because some of the sites are pretty tight. But, all sites have nice trees and landscaping. The park is very well kept. The trash is picked up daily on site. Facilities are nice with game room with pool table, covered pavilion with tables, hiking trail, and a nice club room with kitchen and a lot of seating (Pancake breakfast on Sunday and Bingo on Thursday). The laundry facilities are fine. We did not use the showers, but they looked nice and clean. The WiFi was spotty, but the cable worked fine. Very nice people; especially, the older couple who call the Bingo and do volunteer recycling. The area is fun to explore. Nice lake to walk the dog by and a few local restaurants very close to the park that are fun. Be sure to visit Pura Vida Cafe and La Comida Ranchera Mexican Food Restaurant and Vallecito Liquors. La Comida has a interesting variety of staples, too!. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
We spent a delightful few days at Blue Spruce. When we arrived, we were impressed with the huge trees and the cleanliness of the park. We settled in to our reserved site, but after walking around a bit (after set-up, of course), we discovered another side - recently vacated - that was even bigger and prettier. A quick trip back to the office got us the "OK" to move to the newly-discovered site, and move we did... into site 103. The site was large and beautiful, backing up to their "mountain" and with a large graveled sitting area with fire ring. Perfect for evening campfires with friends, new and old! The attention to detail at Blue Spruce is much in evidence with little stone-surrounded planted areas with flowers and native shrubs. There is a perfect picnic place high on a rock outcropping that is easily reached. The laundry room is nice, clean, and in good order. The restrooms/showers likewise are clean and well cared-for. Every member of the staff as well as the owners are delightful. Friendly and always happy to help. As we were leaving Blue Spruce to head over to SE Utah for a few days, we made reservations for another couple of days after we returned from Utah. That was not our original plan, but Blue Spruce was just so nice, we wanted to return. All in all, a great place within a short drive to Durango and super home base for day trips to Silverton, Ouray, and the surrounding area! Recommended? Yes sir... highly recommended! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
What a gorgeous place to camp! Right in the middle of a spruce and pine forest, this is a very nice campground. Accommodating staff, close access to river, lake and hiking; a pleasant drive to Durango, we'd definitely come back to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
We stayed 5 days at this park and could not have been happier. Site 90 gives you plenty of privacy as there is no one on your patio side and you have a rock mountain with lots of shade around you. All the sites seemed very spacious though. We enjoyed our outdoor space very much. Each site has concrete patio, picnic table and fire ring. Site 90 had a little waterfall behind it that we could hear from inside the camper the first couple of days we were here, but sadly it quit running before we left. Someone else posted that the washers and dryers were not that great. I don't agree. Perhaps they have updated since the previous poster's stay (they are under new ownership) but we had no problems. It was off season while we were here so the park was not near full, and I had no trouble getting available machines (there are several). I washed in 3 loads but decided to dry in 4 due to altitude. Everything dried in the 45min cycle. The park is very quiet and nestled in the trees so every now and then you can hear the wind blowing through the tree tops (a nice sound). The new owners seemed to be very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. It is under new ownership, and they are working hard to repaint and freshen up the park. Each site has a concrete pad, picnic table and fire pit. Sites are level, Wi-Fi steady, electric and water are good. Set in the San Juan National Forest, it is quiet and relaxing. There are hiking trails from the park. Staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely be going back to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
This was our second stay at this park in less than a month. The park is beautiful, and the owner and staff are great. The few things that kept us from giving this park a 10 are washer & dryers not good, spaces very tight, and location of park was a little inconvenient, but these were minor issues. The biggest problem was their screwy reservation policy. To stay here for 1 month we would have had to move to 4 different sites. It made no sense, and we moved to the national forest and dry camped for a week. Our first stay was 10 days, the second was 9 days. We did enjoy our stay(s) and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
This is one of the nicest and best run places we have stayed. You are reminded you are in the forest. Staff is friendly and efficient. Sites are well laid out. Hiking trails nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
Price reflects weekly rate with Good Sam discount. Outstanding park in a VERY quiet and wooded area! The staff is very attentive without being nosy or pushy, the grounds are immaculately maintained EVERY SINGLE DAY, and the store is well stocked and fairly priced. There are multiple WiFi access points and antennas throughout the park and the signal is strong from everywhere I used it. They even have DirecTV boxes for rent at $2/day or $10/week since most of the sites don't allow for dish use. If you already have DirecTV service, just hookup to the pedestal and you're good to go. The town of Vallecito is just a few miles down the road and Bayfield and Durango are about 15-20 miles further away. There are plenty of activities to do around the campground and the grounds themselves are a great place to relax. We chose this campground as a destination and we would certainly return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Beautiful campground with great access to trails all around and lake. Very quiet: almost too quiet with an early bedtime. Mostly retirees. Fun events, such as Bingo, music and food. The restaurants around area have spectacular food: seriously good food. Not close to any town really so if you are not hiking/fishing it can get boring after a week. We loved it though and would come again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
Rate includes Good Sam and weekly discount. Beautiful, spotless campground professionally run with great staff. Roomy sites with great shade in a wonderful setting. Both Wi-Fi and AT&T worked very well. The Vallecito area is gorgeous with lots of great hiking nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
We are given the opportunity to select our specific site when making the booking over the phone. It was PERFECT! Easy pull through site with 50 amp service. You can rent a satellite TV box for a couple of bucks to get a ton of TV channels. Worked perfectly. Staff was very accommodating and welcoming. We did some hikes and best yet, we rented ATV's from "Vallecito ATV" and it was AWESOME! If you are there in the woods and the mountains, get out there and see it all! Some great little restaurants very close by. Ask at office for a list. We would absolutely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
One of the most beautiful parks we have ever stayed in. Friendly, courteous staff. Spaces vary a lot in size, but 99% of them are larger than average. Each space has a fire ring. The only negative comment I would make is they need more washing machines and better dryers, as this is a remote location. The nearest town in Bayfield, and the laundromat there is more expensive than the one in the RV park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
This is a beautiful RV campground located at the end of a county road near Lake Vallecito. Most all sites are located in tall beautiful pine and spruce trees. We camped in a 37" fifth wheel and had no problem getting into our site and moving thru the campground. The campground is kept neat and is very quiet. The Staff were very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
Beautiful mountain park with lots of tall pines (they had DirecTV hook up at the site because it's impossible to set up a dish). Great walks and hikes all around the park. Close to the lake. Would've given it a 10 if it were a little easier to get in our site, too many close trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
This is a very nice RV park but it is showing it's age. Some sites are close together and others are spread out. There are some sites that are not used. The staff is very friendly and will go out of there way to help. Located just a couple of miles from Vallecito Lake. Put your trash out in front of your unit between 6AM and 9AM and the staff will pick it up. I would stay here again in a minute. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
Great RV park in more secluded area of southern Colorado. Almost all the sites have trees. We camped with friends in #102 and 103. They were probably the best sites. Maybe 104 . Staff was friendly. So much to do in the area. Reservoir is lovely. Mountains all around. The trees in the campground make it great on warm July days. They have a pancake breakfast and had music. Very very quiet park. I loved it. You can rent boats at the marina. Hiking. Had a picnic at a beachfront of the lake. Canoes at the marina. Fire pits are nice. Lots of pesky chipmunks. But very lovely location and services. Usually you would find this isolation and beauty at a state park. But we wanted full hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We were fortunate to get a spot that backs up to the mountain so we didn’t have anyone camped behind us. While we really enjoyed the site, we were unable to use the fire pit as we felt it was too close to the trailer. Voltage to the site always maintained an acceptable level. We used the satellite TV rental option which worked very well. We never had an issue connecting to Wi-Fi. The on site facilities (e.g. store, laundry, bathrooms) were very well maintained. Being tucked away on a dead end country road kept the traffic down and made for an enjoyable bicycle ride. We drove around the lake to check out our other camping options, and after doing so we knew we made the right decision. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Although I much prefer to camp off the beaten path, we were tired and ready for full hook-ups and a hot, unlimited water shower. This RV park fit the bill perfectly. The staff was fantastic, the showers were immaculate (as were the grounds) and the park was quiet. Some of the sites were a little too close together, but we lucked out and did not have neighbors on either side. Although it really is a little out of the way if you want to explore Durango, we unhitched and did just that. The area has a lot to offer including horse back riding just down the road. The lake was very nice and has a full marina. I would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
I'm not going to rehash the park particulars as these have been stated. We found this to be a delightful, quiet park. The management was not burnt out and I found this interesting, then I found out why. The Campers were friendly. Most all folks here talk to each other and are more than helpful and not complaining and the park employees attitude shows it. Receiving a satellite signal is difficult due to the heavy pine tree cover, so the park has installed Direct TV to every site. If you have the box forget the dish. Saturday night there was free entertainment and peach cobbler with ice cream. What more can you ask for? Next year we'll return for a longer stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
We camped in site 79, a very spacious pull- through for four nights. Physically this campground appears very well kept. However, this park is quite remote and not convenient to Durango or other sites in the region. Our complaint started on the third day of our stay when two noisy groups with kids and large barking dogs moved in across the street from us. These people had no regards for the camp rule of quiet time from 9PM to 7AM. The next morning we complained to the manager who promised to take care of the problem. However, a third party arrived to join the other two groups for our last night and the problems persisted. We attempted to contact the manager via cell phone but only reached his voice mail. We were finally forced to confront these people ourselves in order to get them to quiet down. We reviewed the history of comments for this park and noted that similar problems were encountered by others in the past. I doubt that we will return to this location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
My wife and I have camped here for 4 years in a row at two weeks at a time in the month of June. The facility is always kept clean and neat. The staff has always helped us anytime we have needed help. In fact most of the time the owner goes out of his way to make sure our stay is enjoyable. The Wi-Fi goes out once in a while but never for any length of time. Many people don`t understand that Wi-Fi is not meant for downloading or trading stocks on a daily basis, it`s meant for e-mail and surfing. My wife and I would recomend this park to anyone who rv`s, and pretty much guarantee their stay would also be enjoyable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
Great park with friendly staff. Has all the amenities needed for a great time. The park hosts pot lucks, weekly pancake breakfast, and plenty of activities for the family. Very clean from grounds to bathrooms. I would recommend for weekenders to seasonal as there is lots of recreation to advantage of. We camped for 2 months in our 5th wheel We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
This campground should be renamed Blue Spruce Dog Park as the dogs outnumbered the people many times during our 5 month stay. They have no limits on the # of dogs per RV or the size or breed. Many RVs had 3-4 large dogs. Breeds allowed included a hybrid wolf, pit bulls, boxers, Dobermans, etc.. Even if requested, management would not enforce pet rules so at times some of these were loose which we feel was dangerous to guests including children. There is no dog walk area so pets were allowed to defecate anywhere including other's sites. We were constantly having to pick up dog waste in our site although we own no dog. Of course, flies were aplenty. The two owners were two of the worst offenders. The pool tables are unlevel and the felt torn, the exercise equipment is damaged and not working properly. The laundry is very costly as it takes sometimes 3-4 times running a dryer to dry clothes. The equipment is old and not working properly and management appears to have no intention of investing in new equipment. We only stayed here 5 months because we require a reliable Internet connection for our daily work. When the free WiFi here turned out not to be reliable, we had to immediately commit to install DSL. If we had known the park was so poorly managed, we would have left before installing the DSL. The noise rules are not enforced. They rent the pavilion out at times so one night a band was blasting till after midnight and many nights RVers were partying real loud. Rigs were allowed to pull in after midnight and set up which was quite noisy. This park seems to attract the weekend warriors who only come to party and don't care about rules. It's unfortunate because the location is beautiful and the campground has so much potential. We will never stay here again and do not recommend it because of the multitude of problems. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$26
My wife and I "discovered" Blue Spruce by accident four years ago and have spent our summers there since. New Management took over three years ago and has made steady improvements in the place since. It is a clean, quiet, cool, shady place, with access to excellent fishing and wilderness hiking. Blue Spruce has free music concerts, and the pancake breakfast on Saturday is gourmet. The weekly bingo game is fun, and the biweekly pot luck dinner is fattening. Daley trash pickup at the sites combined with vigilant camp hosts keep the place extra clean. Located a days drive from Phoenix makes Blue Spruce a convenient destination. We would recommend Blue Spruce to anyone. Kids seem to enjoy the place. If you like to fish, hike, go four wheeling or sightseeing Blue Spruce is perfect. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
This is an old fashion park, the kind you use to love to stay in. Great location bordering the National Forest, close to a fantastic fishing Lake and has a real feel of being in the mountains. Lots of hiking and forest service roads to explore nearby. Area has marinas, horseback riding, markets and restaurants and is close enough for trips to Durango. Very friendly staff, clean bathrooms and lots of events. They have lots of returning customers that we see each year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Beautiful setting, lots of trees and it is in a little valley that protects you from the wind if it is blowing. Very clean and friendly. Wi-Fi and satellite TV. We stayed for a couple weeks 2 years ago, then stayed most of the summer last year. Looking forward to going again this summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
This is the best park to stay at if you are interested in hiking the San Juan National Forest and the Weiminuche Wilderness. The entry point for this area is within walking distance of the park. The facilities were clean (bathrooms, laundry, sites) and they offer curbside trash pick-up. No walking to the dumpster! Everyone was real friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$26
We have visited this park for several years. They have new owners this summer and it isn't near enjoyable as before. The owners are not friendly, do not like to receive rv'ers mail and are not rv "savvy". They mix tenters with rvers. Rules in regards to pets and campsites are not enforced. Wifi is weak at best. A better bet would be in Durango or Bayfield. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$24
Blue Spruce was our favorite campsite of our entire vacation! We had a beautiful view of wildflowers, mountainside, and wildlife. The restrooms were brand new, spotless, and convenient in every way. The camphosts were not only friendly, they even helped us when we had a vehicle problem. The park is backed by the National Forest and a mountain stream runs through the park. Laundry, pool table, indoor and outdoor eating halls, are just some of the amenities. A short drive to the gorgeous Valecito Lake or the babbling creek for either swimming or fishing. We're planning to be yearly guests: we even planted Columbine seeds for future enjoyment! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$24
We stayed at Blue Spruce for six consecutive summers. It is near Durango, Mesa Verde and a reasonable driving distance from Silverton and Ouray. It is right next to millions of acres of National Forest, with breathtaking mountain views all around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com