219848 User submitted reviews online!!
The Californian RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (661) 269-0919
CGID6049

The Californian RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
193
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   8   7   8   9   8   9   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
Great park for overnight. The pull-through site was long enough that we did not have to disconnect our toad. Sites are a bit close together. Office staff was friendly and led us to our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$21
Some fwy noise from the 14, but not too bad. Sites are paved & long, but narrow (there's a grass strip in between each site that helps with this). No picnic tables. Wifi works well & cable TV is good, pool and spa are sparkling and inviting. Dog run is dirt and small, but the owners open up the grassy yard behind the office for off-leash dogs, which is very nice! Easy in and out, but you have to stop on an incline to check in. Roads are a bit narrow, but easy to navigate. All in all, a nice, relaxing park. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
Have stayed here several times. Park is on a hillside but all the sites are level concrete with grass and trees. Very nice. Clean, well kept; water, electricity. and sewer all good. Office staff helpful. Reasonably easy to get in and out of sites even with our 40' rig. Closest small shopping is 3 miles in Acton. Closest big shopping is 7-10 miles in Palmdale/Lancaster. Only 40 miles from N. Hollywood. Nice place, especially if you want access to North LA or Magic Mountain (20 miles). Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
Previous reviews give this CG a bad rap but it is Fine for shorter rigs. I'd say anything up to 37 feet would have little to no difficulty. Mine is 35'. They said most buses disconnect toads after turning into the level portion inside the gate and have no problems thereafter. Interior roads are paved and double wide which makes turns into sites easy. Yes, sites are narrow at 11' and the power pedestal takes up some of that space right by the entry. Sites are 60 feet long but you may lose about 7 feet of that if you have a slide-out on the left side due to placement of the pedestal. They were parking rigs in every other spot and allowed me to park my toad in the adjacent spot since they weren't full. When you first turn into the park, you have to stop on an uphill grade to register. That bothered me more than the narrow sites. They lead you to your site which is terraced and paved into the hillside. There is nice grass and flowers between sites but everything slopes when you get off your pad. Overall this is a pretty park and well manicured. They also have 4 sites which they have widened about 2 feet for larger rigs so inquire about them if you need it. Good ATT & Verizon signals. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
We parked here one night and did not need anything except full hookup. It is a beautiful park, friendly staff, but I would never park here again. I have been an 18 wheel driver, a safe, accident free driver, but I demolished the power pedestal at the first site I was assigned here while trying to keep trailer on pavement. The pads are very narrow, the power pedestals and water faucets are actually set within the concrete pads on one side, the sprinkler heads are installed against the concrete pads on the opposite side. You have to tramp in flower beds to hook up. After I hit the pedestal I commented about the small size of the sites and was told by the manager the sites were not meant for today's larger trailers; although, she had asked size of my travel trailer. At about 7 a.m. next morning grounds crew was noisily cleaning flower beds including bumping against out trailer. Again, beautiful park, but problematic for big rigs, We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
Nice park. Nice area in Antelope Vly hills. Built on a hillside and split into two separate areas, one for longer term. Level concrete sites, asphalt driveways with grass and trees between sites. Pads are a bit narrow but adequate space between sites (long term is a bit more room but asphalt &gravel and not as aesthetic. Controlled access. Wi-Fi good (1 week free), cable TV good. Water and power all good. Not much in way of shopping close by. Nearest is Palmdale-7 miles. 40 minutes from Burbank/N Hollywood (with decent traffic). We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Very friendly and accommodating staff. Nice quiet spot with good mountain views. The electricity, sewer and water hook-ups worked flawlessly. The pool was large and very clean. They do have some extended stay people, but everybody was friendly and respected other campers privacy. After quiet time, the place is so still I could hear the air leaking from my spare tire! All in all, a great place to stay. The only gripe I had is relatively minor. I wish there was a little more space between sites and for some reason, the sprinklers in the grass area between sites came on around 8 pm. We were still grilling dinner when we had to move everything to keep from getting wet. I think a better choice would be to have them come on late at night. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
We stayed here overnight. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Guided us to our spot and helped us park. Nice concrete pads but they are not level. Allowed us to use adjacent spot for our toad. Driver side was very tight and the tiered pads made it difficult to connect utilities. Nice small grassy area on passenger side but no picnic table. Rest rooms and showers were immaculate and the pool was beautiful and inviting. There is a dog run on the far side of the pool complex but no grassy areas. Beautiful views of the mountains. Lots of extended stay residents. Quiet. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$36
Very friendly & accommodating staff. Park is very clean with paved roads & concrete pads for each site. The pads are a little narrow (ours was 11' wide), but the park escort helps guide you into the site, so no big problem for me. I had to pull my rig forward so the slide would clear the power pedestal. This did not leave me enough room to park my truck behind the rig, so I was given permission to park on the site next to me. I realize during peak season this might not be possible, but it was a very nice gesture from the park. I must disagree with the previous reviewer because I had 8' of grass to step on when leaving my rig. With the rig centered on the site, I could also walk on the concrete pad on the street side. I saw many people walking their dogs, so I assume the park is pet friendly. I requested & received 2 internet codes (for laptop & I-pad) with no problem. Although too cold to use during our stay, the pool appeared to be very nice & clean. The laundry room was also very clean. All utilities & wi-fi worked well. We also liked the security of the park. A gate code is required for entry, and there are one way tire spikes at the exit. We enjoyed the tiered hillside sites and the mountains around the park. If the sites were just a little wider, I would have rated the park a 10. We will definitely stay here again when in this area. Rate is based on a 1 week stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2012
$38
I have never been to a park with such narrow spots. You can barely leave your rig without stepping on the dirt slop. If you want to sit outside, it will be in front of your rig. We had to unhook our toad in the rain in order to make the turn into the site for a one-night stay. The park is clean and quiet but doesn't appear dog friendly. I was told to keep my dog inside. Okay...it's pouring, I don't plan on hanging out outside, but I can walk him, RIGHT? Also, we were two adults. We run a business. They refused to give us two internet codes. I'm looking for a park in the area for a few months and CA RV Resort is not in the running. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
Very friendly staff. Narrow sites. Clean. Good power and Wi-Fi. Lots of ants. Close to Palmdale for shopping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$38
Friendly staff, good utilities and Wi-Fi, pretty quiet, I liked the tiered hillside sites although with hatch doors open on the utility side, you're walking on a dirt slope between you and your neighbor. Just a tad narrow while towing, they will direct you in order to help you avoid the electrical post while getting pretty close at that angle of attack. Long term neighbors were nice. Nothing within walking distance. We chose this spot to avoid our typical Valencia/Santa Clarita stop. Glad we did. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
Friendly staff. Sits on a hillside. VERY narrow sites. Clean and neat. Close to Palmdale for shopping, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$38
A nice, clean, scenic park. Only down side is the fact it is on the side of a hill, and each site has a fairly steep bank on the hookup side. We were unable to use our street side bins when the slide was out. We were here only two days: used it to visit LA area attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$38
The attraction to this park is the closeness to Santa Monica. It is clean and has many amenities. There is a side for monthly RV'ers and we were able to pick our site, so we would not be on top of our neighbors. There is a view of the mountains but there is also some road noise. This is only a quick stop over for us. Would not want to stay for an extended period as we prefer a more natural setting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
The park was clean. In addition, the pool was clean and refreshing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
This was our second stay at this park. Once again, park was clean & quiet. Friendly staff, restrooms and showers tidy. Pool was nice and kids had fun swimming. Our site (112) was not the most level of the bunch, but not too bad. Only problem was morning sprinkler water pooled up on slab due to this. I noticed our neighbor's sites did not have this water pooling problem. Wi-Fi speeds about 768k down and 100 up with good coverage. Each site has plenty of room, concrete slab, and is bordered with grass. A game room and/or playground for the kids would really do this park good and put it at the 'great' level. Cable TV clear. Overall a good park should you find yourself in the Palmdale/Lancaster/Acton area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$42
Californian RV Resort is situated on a hill overlooking the 14 freeway between Palmdale and Santa Clarita. The office personnel have always been professionally friendly and helpful. The park is well-maintained. The bathhouses have recently been upgraded. The pool, hot tub, laundry, exercise room, & clubhouse are clean. Presumably as a cost cutting measure, shower water is just about lukewarm. (Which is annoying considering the site rate.) Interior roads are somewhat narrow, but manageable. Sites are very narrow and really too short for rigs 40' or more. Our rig is 40' so, even parked catty-corner, our Jeep hangs out in the road somewhat. They have a lot of rules, but nothing onerous if you have a rig less than 10 years old and insurance papers up-to-date. We stay here every year around the Christmas / New Year holidays and it's usually quite windy and cold. In our experience at this park, the guests tend to be without children, and do adhere to the rules. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$37
This park has some good things going for them. Front desk staff were professional and friendly. Restrooms and showers clean, as was the entire park. The cable TV channels were clear and a good selection was available. The Wi-Fi was spotty but they have several antennas. I found if my connection was not too good, I could "search for available networks" and find a better connection. My best connection was about 768k down. About the same as a low-end DSL connection at home. Park was not crowded and that was a plus. Earlier reports about sites being small are true, but without neighbors you don't notice it. If you had neighbors on both sides I could see where that might be a problem. Our space and those near us had grass and I'm fairly sure all are pull-through. No space firepits and personal firepits are not allowed. Not overly kid friendly either: no playground, game-room, or things for kids to do except skateboard / scooter on the hills until staff comes to tell them to stop. Freeway close but that's about it. Nothing near-by but Palmdale is only about 10 quick freeway miles away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$46
While this park has everything you can think of, everything is a pain in the biscuits. Swimming Pool, Hot Tub, and the Bathhouse are on one side of the park close to the first three rows but far from the bulk of the sites. All the amenities are here, but so is the price tag at $46 a day. Then there are the negatives. Starting with the sites. Very small sites, all pull-throughs but narrow enough that they send you out with a guide to get you parked. We don't like to run the fiver all the way to the end of the site, but to get the slide outs out we had to be pretty forward in the site. About three feet from the end of the site. Leaving not enough room to park behind the unit. Normally if I park that close to the front I just park in back. At this park, I couldn't do that without four feet of truck sticking out in the road. Canting the truck to minimize the chance of being hit left me on the grass (a no-no the managment informed me). There is no other place to park the truck. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2009
$23
The park is very clean, but the sites are very tight. We have been here three months and have observed that the management has no control over the behavior of the guests here. We have about 20 line men who have literally taken this park over. They drink, and party until all hours of the night. When approached about a complaint they threatened to do bodily harm to the man representing management. All of this despite letters and notices that such behavior is unacceptable. Beware, you may not get much sleep here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$34
We camped here with an RV club. Upon check in, a staff member saw me to my site and assisted in guiding the RV in. All sites are pull in, 30 amp, water, sewer, electric and cable TV. Sites are level concrete slabs with a grass strip between sites. This campground is on a hill and all sites are tiered up the hill. There is plenty of room to park a vehicle in front of or behind your rig. There is also room to open slides on both sides. The restrooms were spotless with some homey touches such as a sign and silk flowers. The grounds were immaculate. Eighty percent of the park residents are full timers. The long term residents were extremely friendly. There is a club house that is available for groups which is in the same room as the office. For our stay they set the tables in the club house with fresh flowers. There is also a very tiny pretty useless dog run above the pool. The pool area has firepits and a room enclosed on 3 sides. The bathrooms with showers are adjacent to the pool. There are additional bathrooms in the clubhouse. I did notice a laundry room and what may have been a workout room in the center of the park. We found the campground staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. The campground was very clean. The office has tons of brochures of local attractions, although the closest thing we could find was a winery in Agua Dulce. Which we did visit and enjoy. The resort is right off of the 14 freeway. It's ideal for groups, and for people who are passing through. It's not a destination resort type of place. The park was also extremely quiet. They have a Security Guard that patrols in a truck at night. It also has a security gate at the entrance. Very nice place, nice staff and nice residents. I'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$38
I have stayed here before, both longterm and overnight weekend. It was great then and is even better now. They have added fitness room and new laundromat. The management of the park are terrific and visitor friendly. I will be back and would recommend this resort for all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$39
Not a bad place, good for overnight. Probably not for long time or a weekend. Not really close to anything, but clean and available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
It's nice and clean but it's more for over night camping. The spaces are sloped real bad. It's sort of like a drive-in shape. It's not near anything and out of the way. It's freeway close for traveling but not to stay at for too long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$34
This campground is more of a place for permanent RV parking. There were a few spots for "over nighters". We were there for three days, visiting the Los Angeles area. The LA area doesn't have an over abundance of nice RV spots that aren't tied to places like Disneyland. The only down side to this park is that is a fair distance from many of the attractions in LA. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$38
This was the only decent RV park in the Lancaster/Palm Dale area. It's located off a busy highway but you don't hear road noise. My GPS (Magellan) had trouble with this, just as another reviewer posted. But the good thing is, the park (according to the park map) appears to have a good majority of "pull through" spots, with some "back in" around the perimeter. I had made a reservation, but it wasn't really necessary, park had plenty of spots available for this time of year. Since this was off season, they were ok with me arriving a day later than originally scheduled; they let me slice off one night without penalty. The rate I am showing is the rate before Good Sam/AAA discounts. The entrance to the park is steeply sloped. When I turned in from the highway, I "scraped bottom" (I have a 30 foot class C). The slots are relatively level, but somewhat narrow. You cannot park a car next to your RV, and there is a sliver of pavement (more like a tightrope) to walk on next to your RV on both sides. If you have enough room, you can park a SMALL car in back or front of the RV. If you have a large car, there are extra parking lots around the park. The slots are terraced, there is a small width of grass between each RV slot. As for "full-timers," the park has a rule that guests can stay only 90 days, then they have to leave for 72 hours. However, a letter in the laundry room clarified this to say that you could move to a "daily" site for 72 hours, then move back to the monthly site. The manager stated that the free wireless is only accessible in the office. My spot was farther up the hill, and sometimes I was able to get the wireless in my RV, sometimes not. Didn't matter whether I used it in the office or in my RV, it was slow, might as well have been on dial up! The cable has about 40 channels, not bad. The restroom/shower building was ok, not sparkling clean, but ok. The laundry building has a good supply of washers and dryers for the size of this park (176 spaces, I counted). The only bad thing about the laundry area is that all the laundry facilities are in one building in the center of the park. If you are not close to the center of the park, it's a hike! Up and down hills (the whole park is terraced), there are no "straight short cuts." This could be a problem for those with health/respiratory issues. I'm in reasonably good health, but I would have preferred maybe three smaller laundry areas as opposed to one large area, but maybe there is a reason they have it this way. There is a pool, spa, and exercise room, but I didn't get a chance to use any of these facilities during my stay. I'll give it an 8 despite my major issue with "scraping bottom" at the entrance, and the slow wireless. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$34
This was a very clean, well maintained RV park. There were full-time resident RVs, but they were all to one side of the park and were well maintained. The sites are an adequate distance apart with grass and plants between. No access problems with our 39' fifth wheel & crew cab dually. The restrooms were spotless and there is also a modest exercise room. The staff was very helpful arranging to get us in the closed gate and to our assigned site for our after hours arrival. Note that the directions in the Trailer Life directory are not quite accurate and our GPS had a difficult time with the location too, as there are multiple exits for the same road. Acton is not a very exciting location or destination, but this park was a nice spot for our one night stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$34
An excellent park just across the Angeles forest from LA. Newer park with excellent pool and spa. Decent size sites, all concrete with trees and grass. Not much shade, but excellent accommodations. WIFI is free but of limited range. Showers and restrooms were nice and conveniently located. I would highly recommend if you are anywhere near LA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com