224371 User submitted reviews online!!
Mountain Lakes Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (256) 582-5556
CGID6063

Mountain Lakes Resort

Camp Information
Sites
215
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   5   1   9   10   8   8   10   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$10
The rate is coast to coast. This is a nice park with lots of activities, a store, and café. It is situated on a lake. The campground is well maintained, probably because they are still trying to sell memberships. The sites are level and electric and water are good. The sewer connection on many sites ran "uphill" even with a slinky. If you are interested in going to church services, you might want to check out some of the area churches since this one is not non-demoninational as it should be for a campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
We love using our Ocean Canyon Properties membership at Mountain Lakes Resort. Friendly and helpful staff. Fully stocked convenience store on site. Lots of activities for all ages. All kinds of accommodations available whether you want to tent camp, use an RV site or rent a cabinette, cabin, lake home, condo, or bunkhouse. The club house always has activities going on to interact with other campers. Chapel on site, playground, fishing and boat pier, boat launch, ample parking, and picnic pavilions. Many recent renovations have been completed to the Clubhouse, bunkhouses, and grounds. Many sites have new tables and overall the place just keeps getting a face lift and improving. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
Check-in process is not accommodative, office staff needs a little more customer friendly training. Sites are wet and boggy after rains, do not know how long it takes to dry out. It was wet the three days we were there. The restaurant was great, very friendly staff and management and the food was good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2013
$3.0
There are people who like Mountain Lakes "resort" and people who do not. We fall in the latter category. There is nothing interesting to do here if you don't fish. The sites are crammed together to the point that our next door neighbor could not open his car's passenger door without hitting our RV. This place is not big rig friendly as the streets are very, very narrow with sharp turns. This campground is built beside a lake, but there are no actual lakeside sites. There are a few sites across a street from the lake, but most have a water view. When we were there, many of the trailers seemed empty for days on end. This place really creeps me out!! Not a fan of Mountain Lakes and we will never camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$1
Beautiful resort on Lake Guntersville. The resort has nice views of the lake and a large piece of the waterfront. We have stayed in both our RV and cabins and the cabins are great, with new TVs and amenities. The staff is very friendly and willing to assist you with any task. The restaurant is a little bit slow but has delicious food that is well worth the wait. The activities manager is so nice and friendly and always has something planned for our day. Campers treat you with respect and kindness. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$1
We was called by a telemarketer for a free stay at this rv park from Camping World and my husband and I went. We expected to get a free three night stay with our kids but what we got was a second family. The sites were a little crowded and muddy but the staff was excellent!!! Sissy was in the game room with my boys and they just loved her, they wanted to stay in there the whole vacation. Plus there were plenty of kids for the to hang out with. There was lots to do including Boat Ramp,Boating, Fishing,Fishing Supplies ,Horseshoes, Marina, Playground, power Boating Recreation Hall,Shuffle-board, indoor Swimming, a restaurant with GREAT food, and GREAT prices. The sales pitch was a little high pressure but the park and money we saved was well worth it. We are looking forward to seeing all the other parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
Nice campground on Lake Guntersville. Although the sites are close together, we were able to find a spot with no one on either side so we did not feel cramped. Limited number of 50-amp sites. Some steep hills getting to the campground especially if you come from Guntersville. We came south on county road 67 from Alabama Rt. 35. No hills that way. Narrow county road but passable. We booked through Coast to Coast so paid $10 a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$1
We got a free stay for signing up to hear their presentation. It's an older park newly acquired by this company and the sites are somewhat closer together than we are used to but they are starting to renovate and intend to make them more spacious and update the poles and hookups. It is a little noisy here because the place is packed and the sites are small (and it's summertime and the kids are out of school). It is a gorgeous place that backs up to Guntersville Lake. The clubhouse is nice, we toured the cabins and would love to build one for ourselves. They were really nice. The sales pitch wasn't hardcore, our rep, was very personable and we have been treated well. One of the sewer hookups was broken, the other one looked full but we were told that's the way they drain; we haven't attempted to empty the tanks yet. Everything else has been good. I really like the packet they hand you at the front gate, it has the cafe menu, a site map, important numbers and a list of things to do in the area, there is a lot to do onsite and in the surrounding area as it is very close to Guntersville State Park. They also have a store at the front of the park and there is a gas station nearby. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
After getting a membership to Ocean Canyons, we checked out this Alabama RV Park, but decided to stay in the cabins for an extra $50 a night. (With our membership we get to stay in our RV for free but the cabins are extra.) The cabin was great, worth the cost. Had a brand new TV and cable access, comfortable beds, and was quite clean. We especially liked the porch you could sit on with the cabin. You could see the lake quite well from where we were staying. The campground itself is lovely, with docks going out onto Lake Guntersville. The restaurant is very quaint and serves good food. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The place for the RVs to be hooked up looked like it was busy but not overly crowded. I don’t really understand all the negative reviews, there was hardly anything negative about our own specific trip and hopefully we will be back in the area soon. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2012
$1
My husband and I were invited here, after we purchased our camper, for a "Free" weekend. Facility is so so. The "youth room" and "adult room" features old furniture, and the TV in the youth room was smaller than the one in our camper. The facilities need definite upgrades. The restaurant was the highlight of our trip. Catfish was amazing. Here's where they lost us.. 2hr & 15 min sales pitch which was strong armed, aggressive, and downright rude. They pitched us the whole "Membership of a Lifetime" pitch. $10,000 +$395 yearly membership fees. We weren't impressed with their facility, but didn't feel we needed to be rude and insult them, so we politely declined. The female manager took over, and began talking to my husband and I as though we were idiots. She resorted to using our eldest son as a means of pressuring us. When she used the "don't you love your children" tactic, I stood up and walked out. Do not be deceived. As soon as you decline their timeshare offer, they turn nasty, and resort to dirty sales tactics. We will never return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$1
Date of visit is approximate. Pretty nice campground with nice facilities that with a little maintenance could be rated as very nice. Beware of the sales presentation. My experience with the sales staff is they were captive, high pressure, and not necessarily honest. I do not plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$3
Setting on beautiful Lake Guntersville, park has limited 50 amp service. Nice clubhouse and activities available for young and old. Indoor and outdoor pools. Shuffleboard court and Mini-golf courses are pitiful. Tennis court and basketball goals available. No Pickleball courts. Too many golf carts running around creating dust. Gated, but watch your property. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$1
This is one of the better maintained memberships parks we have visited. This is a very nice resort. They have it all, indoor, outdoor pools, tennis courts, basketball court, huge clubhouse with daily activities, cabins, etc.. The location is remote but on the lake with boat docks, ramp and fishing piers. Sites are mostly grass, with a concrete patio and 30 Amps, some 50 Amps. We stayed here for a week and would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$3
The children and some adults do not know campground etiquette. They just walk through your site within inches of your RV. This park is in a great location but is in need of some TLC and should have an adult area. Staff was very friendly. Store and cafe closed during high season? The Guntersville Lake State Park and Lodge is one of the best in the country, which is located only a few miles away. State Park boat rentals are very reasonable. Do not waste your time to visit the Unclaimed Baggage Center in Scottsboro; better value at any WalMart. This is one of most beautiful lake settings we have found. We would come back during non-holiday weekend. Fee we paid was for a ROD (Resorts of Distinction) member with 50 amp service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$1
We are members of Resorts of Distinction and this is our home resort. We are new to camping and even newer to our travel trailer. We like that this in located on Lake Guntersville with 3 boat/fishing docks. There is a cafe and ice cream shop. 2 pools, one indoor and one outdoor, basketball and tennis courts and a playground. Plenty of areas to walk around. A kids game room and an adult only center, fitness center and a club house. The employees are friendly and the other campers are helpful. There is a gated resort for security. This is a wonderful resort, for both families, couples and singles! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$8
This park provides a lake view from just about every site. The sites were large and level. The clubhouse was real nice. There is plenty to do or you can just rest. We camped here in a motorhome and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
This was a very nice campground with many different types of sites available. There is a boat launch and parking available for your boat and trailer. An indoor and outdoor pool are available and there are outdoor tennis courts, a gameroom and work out center. Plenty of space for pets to walk and run. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$1
Very nice and well kept park. Each site is pull through with a patio and table. Can see the lake from every site. Lots of fishing on the lake. Grassy and level sites. Personnel are friendly and helpful. Security on premises. Around 20 miles away from a town. My husband very happy here. We toured the area every day but one. If in the area but sure to see the Ava Marie Grotto and the Catherdral Caverns. We would come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com