214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Tropic Winds RV Resort (55+ Park) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (800) 458-6086
CGID6115

Tropic Winds RV Resort (55+ Park)

Camp Information
Sites
535
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   4   8   8   8   8   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$3
This is a 55+ resort. It is owned by ELS (Thousand Trails and Encore). It is located in the city of Harlingen, Texas, right in the Rio Grande Valley. Easy drive to S. Padre Island. The park is large, with 535 sites with over 400 being RV sites, and the sites are spacious. Concrete Patios 10X40 feet. 30/50 amp electric. There are quite a few permanent park models, but the majority of the residents are in RVs, quite a change from the usual snow bird parks. There are activities galore (over 450) and super friendly people. A very active community. The park is far enough out of town to feel like it is in the country, but close enough to everything that there is shopping, dining and entertaining only a few miles away. Thousand Trails has about 45 sites here and, depending on your membership you may be able to stay for 2 weeks at $3 a night. Not eligible for Zone members. Thousand Trails members also get a greatly reduced site fee for a seasonal stay. With a cafe called Windy Cafe and street names like Windy Lane, Windswept Lane, and Windgate Lane You can bet that this area is windy, There is also Sunshine Court and Sunway Drive, so expect lots of sunshine as well. I would have given this park 5 stars, except that the bathrooms near the pool are very badly in need of renovating. Everything else is just about perfect. Thanks to the wonderful office, activity and maintenance staff. We camped here in a 39 foot motorhome for 2 1/2 months. Will we come back here? You betcha! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$3
Larger than average sites, especially for a park as big as this. Friendly staff and lots of activities. This is an age restricted park and so is not kid friendly; although, they said they will make exceptions for short stays. The park is well organized with good roads. There are many permanent residents but they were very welcoming, too. We stayed as part of Thousand Trails program but had to pay a reasonable $3 per night resort fee. We enjoyed the stay and would return if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2013
$45
Pretty typical Encore park. Sites are small for a large motorhome. Ours is 45' and our mirrors were in the street. No place to park a towed. No hot water in the showers, lukewarm at best. Jacuzzi is way too small for 535 sites, but it was warm. Pool is heated. Extra charge for 50amp service. Extra charge for internet. Lots of speeding by golf carts, driving side by side, cutting corners etc. Be careful if you have an end unit. Lots of noise from the International airport a mere 2 miles away. With all the camping available in this area, there are many parks that offer more. We wouldn't return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$3
We have stayed at this park several times in the past 10 years, using our Thousand Trail Membership. Park is primarily used by Winter Texans and permanent residents. Sites are spacious with a mixture of grass and dirt to park on and a concrete patio slab. Interior roads are in good conditions, but I should note that when it rains the parking sites get very muddy. On several occasions when it rained, we noticed that RVs had to be pulled out of the mud. Laundry is super small considering the size of the park. There are lots of organized activities for senior citizens, but please consider this park unfriendly to children for obvious reasons. We have enjoyed all our stays, primarily because of the price and location, but will probably consider another Encore Park in the future. Rate reflects a Thousand Trails discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$3
Good place to hang out for a while. Mostly Winter Texans here for several months, but about 40 sites are designated for Thousand Trails members. This was our third time here. Tuesday night's hamburgers are very good! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$17
The rate reflects the monthly rate of $479. Wi-Fi is extra using TengoNet which we didn't subscribe to. The Park is very quiet despite being located close to the Valley International Airport. The sites are wide and there are lots of activities including Pickle Ball which is not mentioned on their website. We found the people to be very friendly. The park is conveniently located to all shopping and many attractions. The washrooms are used by those using the pool as well as the outdoor activities and are in serious need of updating. I used the toilets only while playing pickle ball and the pool and would not want to use them to shower. The Entertainment Director brought in a number of entertainers which were good and one that was very good and all tickets are very reasonably priced. The only negative with staying here is the winds which blow pretty much every day; some days the winds are light but we found them to be quite strong most days. We compared the winds here with Mission TX where we stayed for December and when the winds were really blowing Harlingen was at least 5 mph stronger. We loved this RV park and would most likely stay here despite the winds! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$16
We stayed here for 2-1/2 months for the winter. The park is very nice, with lots of activities. Site was gravel with a full length concrete patio. Water pressure and voltage was good. It has the widest sites of all the parks we noticed and from talking to different people that have been coming to the valley for years. Plenty of shopping within 5-6 miles but away from the bustling crowd. The rate reflects the monthly rate including the electric we had to pay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
My husband and I are contractors working in south Texas and chose this RV park based on previous reviews. And I'm glad we did. It's a great place. Although pretty vacant in the summer, you can tell this is a hoppin' place in the wintertime. The sites are good size, there is a nice laundry facility (a/c, tv, etc.), a large rec room with pool tables and a few exercise machines. There is a nice outdoor pool also. There are very limited shady spots (2) and we were fortunate enough to get one. The manager was very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
Very nice park. Lots of Winter Texans here. Flat clean pads, good services, really nice folks working and living here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$3
We don't often give a 10, but this park is about a 9 and 3/4's. The only draw back is a small laundry, but didn't cause us any problems. We always got a washer & dryer. The staff was very friendly. The rate is with Thousand Trails, with a $3. park fee use per night. A great area to walk the dogs, and a big fenced in area to rum the dogs. It was fum to watch the many jack rabbits. The site are large, flat with a 8 x 30 cement patio. There were many many activities. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$30
We stayed for 2 weeks; most are here for the season. There is a wide variety of planned activities that we were involved in. There is an activities director on site. Sites are spacious, adequate hook-ups (location and ease of hooking up). Everything is clean and well maintained. If we come back to this area, we would probably stay at this park compared to others we have seen around here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$36
Very nice well kept park, and the staff and other campers were great people. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$3
Larger sites than most. Swimming pool is clean and heated, warm enough for water aerobics at 8:00 am. This appears to be a well managed park with friendly staff and residents. Power and water are good, Tengonet is offered and great when working, was down once while we were here but was unusually windy at that time. Rate reflects Thousand Trails member rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2009
$32
We stayed at Tropic Winds for 2 month's and found the park well laid out with large lots, lots of room for pets and the employees very friendly. The laundry room is entirely too small for the park and it was difficult to find a time to use and the room was so crowded with 3-5 people you could not move or find room to fold anything. The pool and hot tub are are also extremely small for a park this size. We have been RV ing for many years and were surprised at the unfriendliness and lack of simple courtesy of many of the guests. Things like speeding through the park, not picking up after their pets and walking or driving through lots of others. Some actually took their pets deliberately to other peoples lots kept them their to do their thing. We will find somewhere else to rent and we are leaving a month earlier than planned to enjoy the rest of our winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$10
Big sites. Only campground in the valley with sites this size. We were supposed to stay for 2 weeks and move on. After comparing other campgrounds in the area we decided to stay here for the winter. People are nice, lots to do. The only thing I hate and was not aware of is The weather. There is ALWAYS a wind (not breeze) which is very annoying if you are not used to it. Obviously it is not the campgrounds fault..lol but none the less. I think I would have avoided "the valley" if I were aware of this wind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
Lots of activities and good facilities available at the resort. Parking was a back-in site on grass with a concrete patio, long enough for parking the car. The spacing between the sites is generous and the park is in a quiet area, set well away from the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$10
Second year staying here for season, spent 4.5 months. Great huge sites, well managed park in a great central location. Activities were super and would recommend this park to everyone. They also accept TT/NACO and Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$13
This is a seasonal park, probably packed to the gills during the Winter months. Even staying for a few days at the end of their season, the park had what seemed to be a lot of permanent park model residents. They don't advertise their willingness to accept Thousand Trails members at a reduced rate, which is what our rate was. If we return to this area, we will definitely come back here, even though there are a zillion campgrounds in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
This is a clean, well kept park. The sites are grass and the patios are concrete. There are no shade trees. The rate we mentioned is a Passport America rate. The WiFi is extra. The park is close to the airport, but we did not find the noise to be bothersome. The park is conveniently located to all amenities. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
Remember this is windy Texas. The park is great with very wide spaces. No trees or shade and the wind is usually blowing so hard you can not put your awning out. Make sure your air conditioner is working well. They honored our Passport America for $18/night. The park is full of winter Texans and there is a huge social schedule to keep you busy. The people are friendly and Harligen is central to the area. We talked to many RVers in the park and they all liked it and are coming back next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$27
We stayed the Winter of 08-09 in a motor home. Liked the park as it has roomy spaces and ample parking for trailers, etc. Had numerous activities over the season. Electric rates were up and down all Winter. Texas has unregulated rates and they vary all over the place. Of course the wind was a negative factor this year. Restrooms were in the need of attention, taken care of by Volunteer workers, as was the laundry facilities, which also needed a little TLC Overall, adequate.. Better than most in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$22
We wondered why so many people travel to Southern Texas for the winter, so we did ourselves and we still don't know why! Staff was very friendly, sites were just OK width. I know the weather can't be controlled, but the wind blew at least 40 mph every day we were there. Easy access to border, but we would never travel there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$23
Nice, large park with grass sites and cement patios. Not much landscaping, VERY windy when we were there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$12
We spent the 2008/2009 winter here so our rate is based on the monthly rate. We also spent 6 weeks here last winter. Last winter this was an awesome park. Since then Equity Lifestyle Systems has purchased this park and things have really gone down hill. They have replaced the manager with a new manager who is not nearly as nice as the old manager. When you stay by the month you pay your own electric. You pay this bill directly to the park office and it is the highest rate in the Valley. One month the rate was $0.214 kw. The new manager also collects all profits from the different park activities, so the activities department doesn't have a budget. We will not return to this park because of these issues. It is still a great park for Thousand Trails and weekly stays where you don't have to pay your own electric. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$27
Nice park with plenty of space between units. Very friendly staff and neighbors too. Rigs park on the grass and then you have a full size cement patio to step on during your stay. Lot's of Winter Texans here. We would stay here again if we were to ever visit the RGV again, which we won't. Too windy for us! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$17
We really liked this park because the people that stay there are really friendly. They have a lot of activities and a very energetic activity director. The park facilities could have been better. Their bathrooms weren't very nice and the bathroom by the pool were bad. The laundry room was small and they use a card system that usually wound up people spending more money than they ought to have. Overall we would go back but it would be nice if they fixed it up a bit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Very nice park. One of the best we have stayed at. Everything is clean and up to date. People are very helpful and friendly. Safe place to stay and very well maintained. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$7
Stayed using TT/NACO rate of $199/mo. Stayed 3 months. Nicest winter Texan park in the valley with huge sites. Full activity schedule and excellent park management. Will be there this coming winter season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$29
This is the nicest RV Park we have found in the Rio Grande Valley. A very quiet setting. All of the sites are very large with concrete drive/patio. There is a 24/7 gate attendant. Great activities and amenities. This park has very few park models and mobile homes and they are mostly around the perimeter, so you park mainly next to other RV's. We stayed here for a month in late February and early March 2008, but we plan to spend a few months here next winter. It is located on the north side of Harlingen, which is a very nice city about 45 minutes from South Padre Island. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
Newer park with big sites, all with concrete patios. Friendly park staff. PA and TT/NACO accepted. Stayed 2 mo, be back 1/1 for 3 more months. Cleanest and freshest park in this end of the RGV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2007
$15
Stayed there during the "off season" which was very reasonable. Unfortunately, the constant wind and rain made it difficult to enjoy the area. The restrooms and showers in the main building were usually clean and well stocked. However, the restrooms and showers next to the pool were poorly maintained and in need of repair. Although quite close to an international airport, the park was usually quiet. Would stay there again during the "regular season" provided the weather is better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$15
Located off hwy.77 with easy access to park and inside park for big rigs. Sites are large but you park your rig on the grass which is a huge problem when it rains. Some people had to be pulled out after a rain. Park facilities are too small for size of park. Wi-fi is worthless but for 29.99 per month you can get roadrunner high speed internet. Most park employees are friendly and helpful but a few seem to be indifferent to any problems or concerns. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$28
Very large resort with lots of activities and amenities. We didn't get a chance to enjoy many of them because the weather was dreadful when we were there, but that's hardly the fault of the resort. Lots of park models and snowbirds in residence. The RV sites are on grass with a large concrete pad next to where you park. When it rains, though, you're parking in a big mud pit. The grass wasn't very level, and when we put blocks down under the levelers, they just shoved the 4" tall blocks down into the mud so far we couldn't retrieve them. Again, the weather isn't the fault of the resort, but we would have much preferred parking on the concrete pad. It's probably a great place for snowbirds in good weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$26
This is one of the nicest parks we've been in. It has all paved roads, is a 55+ campground, the sites are grass with a large concrete patio for each one. All sites are back-in, no pull-throughs. The sites are not real level as they all tip toward the roadway, which makes a large first-step for motorhomes with the door up front as you have to raise the front the of the rv so much to get level. Also, the grass is not well taken care of, so most of the sites are mud when it rains (often) and splatters your RV, and makes it hard to wash your RV because you are walking in mud. The Wi-fi is Tengo (daily/monthly fee and very problematic) or Roadrunner cable internet ($29/mo for a 3 month package). They also have telephone modem hook-ups in the main rec room. It is very quiet here, away from any traffic noise and the lots are 40' X 50', so you have a good space between you and the next guy. I gave this a "9" due to the muddy conditions and sloping lots, but for $1375 for a four month package, this is probably one of the nicest parks you'll be in for that price. There are also permanent lots available in mobile home size and park-model size. It has 40 spaces reserved for Thousand Trails members. There are lots of activities here, a computer club, RC car club (and races), dancing, entertainment, ice-cream socials, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$28
This park is mainly intended for the "Winter Texans" that arrive in the winter, but will allow a day/week stay. PA and TT offer a half price discount. The name Tropic Winds couldn't be more true, the wind blows all the time and with few trees there is no protection. The sites are long enough for a big MH and about a third wider than most sites at other parks and have a concrete patio. There is a internet hookup at the main building and Tangonet pay wifi. The entrance is gated and the gate house staffed at all times. We were given a three page list of rules, about half apply to people staying longer. Still plenty of rules! The staff is friendly and helpful. There are a few trailer homes, but they are well kept. The park is near a airport and train. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com