224149 User submitted reviews online!!
Sunset Isle RV Park / Motel was rated 7 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (352) 543-5375
CGID646

Sunset Isle RV Park / Motel

Camp Information
Sites
53
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   9   5   7   9   7   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
Nice walking distance to town and there is a sidewalk for most of the way. Sites are packed close together. Beautiful sunsets from the several docks around the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
Very nice, laid back park. Good water pressure, 50 amp electric didn't fluctuate (and it was warm so lots of A/C running in the park and Wi-Fi was strong. Sites were a bit tight, but not really bad. Very friendly and helpful staff. Restaurant right on property for breakfast and lunch. Didn't check out the laundry. Lots of dogs with no special walking area. People were friendly and, for the most part, picked up after their dogs. Close to town with restaurants and shops. Relaxed time. We would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$37
Cramped park, but nice hosts. We met some really nice folks here. They have a great store with baked goods. There area some great sites right on the inland waterway. We had an issue with the MH and had to leave, no refund, but this is pretty standard. Pet friendly and real close to town, worth a stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$33
This park is absolutely on our "must return" list. The sites provided high quality full services(water, elect., sewer), WiFi signals were strong with good throughput. Best of all was the atmosphere. Very friendly staff, and on-site owners who clearly cared about us and their campground. You can see that the are putting money back into the grounds. There were organized music jams during the week, which was much fun. My wife and I like to play bluegrass, and we had a great time sharing and learning from the other musicians there. The jams were always well attended by the other campers and the friendly interactions amongst everyone made for much delight. The campground is very pet friendly. I think the dog population in the campground nearly squalled the human. Cedar Key is just a couple miles down the road and has some pretty cool spots to hang out or to shop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$33
This park is very crowded and sites are close together. The reviewer who said it appeared the layout was determined by the natural layout of the land was absolutely spot on. Lots of low hanging trees, but if you follow the instructions the office gives you, you can maneuver through without issues. Many long term residents of the park and many of them have trashed up the place. Dog pens in the yards and dogs let off leash. Owners not picking up after their dogs leaves piles of crap for you to watch out for. The staff was friendly and helpful. The park is close to town. Fires are allowed and the campers are so close together it becomes a smoke problem. You don't dare open a window. There is a community fire pit also that seems to smolder all day long. I wouldn't not stay here again. The park clearly had a following though and I'm glad they like it, that's why Baskin Robbins makes so many flavors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$48
We stayed here for five days in January. We had specifically come out to visit other RVers who were staying and recommended it. We really enjoyed our time in Cedar Key, and this RV campground had some good and some bad. The RV campground is older and its layout was probably carved by organic growth, rather than preplanned out. Driving our 36' RV around the RV campground was difficult and, for the first time ever, I had to ask someone to move their car so I could park in the spot. The flip side is everyone is very friendly, they have an onsite restaurant, and oh yeah... beautiful waterfront sunset views. The family would head to a dock and enjoy some time watching the sun go down every day. During the morning dog walk, I would stop to enjoy the beautiful nature that surrounds the RV campground. This RV park had water, sewer, electric, and cable hookups. There was a laundry room, which was clean and had some newer machines. The Wi-Fi was good but not always reliable. I was disappointed to find there was no playground nor dedicated dog walk. When we did leave, I found it hard to leave. The town and the RV campground were very laid back. I never once felt stressed out during my stay. Since Cedar Key is at the end of the road, there was no road traffic or noise. Would I recommend this park? Absolutely. Would we come back? We are debating returning to Cedar Key in a month, but we will absolutely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$20
This is the RV park to go to if you enjoy community activities, art, and bluegrass music. Though the sites were small, the park was well laid out. There's a resident artist there who makes everything look so relaxed and inviting. While we were there, there were several talented seasonal resident musicians who loved to get together Thurs, Fri, and Sat evenings to play blue grass and country music. There were weekly potlucks and Poker-Walks. All this really brought me out of my shell. Downtown Cedar Key is a mile walk down the road. If you go, make sure to stop at Kona Joe's and Away From The World Cafe. Both places are relaxing and serve great coffee. We stayed for a whole month and the daily rate came out to $20, which is not unreasonable. And the name Sunset Isle is very fitting. You have not seen a sunset until you've seen it at Sunset Isle RV Park. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$17
This is a nice campground, friendly staff, very accommodating. They have a little grill/restaurant on the property. They want you to make reservations and pay for your entire stay upfront.....We payed the monthly rate and stayed 1 month. They have a laundry with 2 washers and 2 dryers. They have some nice sites here, however they have some sites on the water that are only about 15 feet wide. If we came back here we would ask for site 46. It's not on the water, but is much larger with some shade trees. The little town is a very quaint little fishing village with several decent restaurants, and it's only 1.3 miles away. You can ride your bikes or even walk if you'd care to. They have a liquor store and market, however, to do bigger shopping you have to go 25 miles into Chiefton. The place isn't actually on the ocean or Gulf of Mexico, it's on a bay so there's not a beach or any waves. There is a beautiful sunset view. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
Do not plan on fishing from the mud flats that are the view from this park. What this park has going for it is the proximity to Cedar Key 1.3 miles. We enjoyed biking there and stopping at the Clam facility on the way. They do have a Blue Grass jam session on Friday and Saturday nights. The tenants and the help are friendly. Great grill/restaurant on premises. You are really packed in here. If you get a reservation make sure you have a site number. Late comers get packed in to driveways and such. It tends to be rather dirty as very little grass and lots of gravel. lakeside sites are very narrow. Not a lot of traffic on the highway at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$28
Very nice staff and fellow campers. The campsites were a little too close for our taste. Within walking distance to Cedar Key restaurants. Very quiet at night. Reasonable rates. They have a grill for breakfast and lunch. There was a free blue grass band on Friday night which was quite enjoyable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$23
Small campground, 1.5 miles to Cedar Key, making it an easy walk to great locally owned restaurants. This is on the bay, not the Gulf, but really nice. Great spot for sunsets. Spots are tight, our 39' RV fit but anything larger might be tough. Real friendly people in the campground and locals in town. Price was weekly rate for 10 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Quiet and quaint. Older style RV park, great for stopping through. Need own transport to see anything close by. Shame Cedar Key town is only a shadow of it's probable former self. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
We stayed here a week in one of the waterfront spot - absolutely delightful. The staff is super friendly and helpful, and the sunset views from the waterfront spots are worth the upgrade. The location is just a 1.5 mile walk/bike ride into town. There's a cafe on site that serves BBQ, soft serve ice cream, breakfast (with fresh eggs) and grill fare for probably the most reasonable prices in all of Cedar Key. The facilities are kept in great condition. Some things to be aware of: - Most of the spots are quite narrow - 20' at best. Very tight maneuvering. Our neighbor had parked his RV a bit over the line into our spot, which made it extra difficult. - When you book a waterfront spot, be sure to inquire about the state of the mangroves. Some of them can grow quite tall and block the view. By law, they can't cut them down - but they still charge for a waterfront spot regardless. - There are public docks all around, but you have to cut through campsites to get to them. If you book a waterfront spot, know upfront that your spot is always a walkway for everyone else. The park WiFi was hit or miss, even with our WiFi Ranger we couldn't keep it stable. AT&T was a pretty solid 3G signal, and Verizon 3G was in and out. All and all.. we'd return and probably book a spot for a few weeks. Their rate structure is really quite flexible and gets cheaper the longer you stay. The rate below is based on a waterfront weekly rate in season, without taxes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$34
This is an older park and very quaint, but what a location! Great sunset views, great staff. Monthly rates are phenomenal! 1.5 miles from downtown Cedar Key. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2012
$50
Probably the worst experience ever! We left a phone message at 1pm about our 8pm arrival. When we finally got there after a 6 hour ride we were basically chastised by the owner about getting there late. He continued on by telling us he was tired and how all the campers have been complaining about this and that for day. Is was the worst camping experience of our camping career! WARNING: DON'T BRING ANYTHING OVER 25 FEET! THE TREES ON SOME ROADS ONLY GIVE A 2-3 FOOT CLEARANCE. WE TALKED TO ANOTHER CAMPER THERE AND HE SAID HE SAW SEVERAL RV'S GET DAMAGED OVER THE LAST SUMMER. BEWARE OF SUN AISLE RV PARK in Cedar Key Florida!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
Very nice campground and convenient to the local activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
Cedar Key is a great place but the campground was not one that we would go back to. You were crammed in the sites and the place was not maintained. A lot of junk laying around. We camped there in a 5th wheel over the 4th of July. Our sewer pipe we had to mount on 4 concrete blocks that we found on the site next to us. The pipes were exposed and way out of the ground and wouldn't drain. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2010
$50
Try to get one of the west facing waterfront spots. Very few sites for larger rigs, very crowded and at all odd angles to fit something on to every inch of this very small area, but very close to Cedar Key. Definitely a fun "island" experience, if not exactly on Cedar Key itself. Best to call for reservations as it's a long way and nowhere else to go, and not many places to turn around either! Come fully supplied as it's a long way back to major shopping. Friendly owners, motel also on property. Old Florida - think Key West 60 years ago! Don't miss Cedar Key State Park Museum. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$46
We had an ocean front (actually bay front) site and it was well worth it. Wonderful owners and a great little town to walk through. We camped here in January and there were open sites. However, you can tell that if all the sites were full, it would be a bit tight. Great time listening to blue grass music in the clubhouse performed by some of the campers. We plan on staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$25
This is a real old Florida-type place. The people who run it couldn't be nicer, the place is charming. Interesting paint colors on the buildings and pictures painted on the walls. The spaces are small and tight, but many back right up to the Gulf and have little decks where you can sit out over the water and watch the amazing sunsets. Cedar Key has very little to do, the nearest Wal-Mart shopping is 1/2 hour away, yet it's a place you want to be. I made my reservations for next year before I left. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$27
Older park with haphazard layout, uneven dirt sites, rather close together. Friendly, helpful owners. Charming ambiance with great water views. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$44
The people were very friendly. Restrooms were older but very clean and pleasant. It is close to town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$44
This is a small Old Florida style park. No pool or big recreation hall. The rest rooms and showers are clean and well maintained. The owner (husband & wife) are very friendly and welcome all. Some evenings guests gather in the common building for music or games or tv. The wireless worked fine for us in a site on the water. The island and area has great fishing, kayaking, touring and awesome places to eat. The locals wave to everyone. If you like clams this is the place. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
Sunset Isle's location is perfect for visiting Cedar Key. We really enjoyed our stay here. Some sites are waterfront but even if you are not directly on the water you can still walk out on one of the docks. Our site was full hookup with cable. WiFi is available at the office. The owners are very nice and helpful. The sites are kind of tight but we had plenty of room for our tow vehicle and to put the slides out. There is a very nice club house with a fireplace. Some nights you might be lucky enough to hear an impromptu jam session. The name of the campground says it all - you can see a beautiful sunset from the docks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2009
$42
Wi-Fi did not reach the RV sites, had to go to office area to connect. Generally, the RV park was run down and over priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2009
$38
The people were very friendly, but that was the end of the good news. Very run down , very dirty. The bathrooms & showers were not clean at all. There were piles of trash behined the club house & the house. Toliets, sinks, wood, drywall, ect. It was very muddy, with these terriable flying bugs that bite. We were itching for weeks. I would never go back We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
This is a typical old Florida campground. Sites are a little tight and it is a little run down, but it is very beautiful and the folks are great. Our site ws right on the water with our on private dock. Lots of wildlife. The drive into Cedar key and it's delights is about 2 minutes. Rate reflects Passport America, which unfortunately is good for 1 night only. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$42
Overall, a nice campground with a great water view. A bit crowded, and the sewer connection was too far to reach with my 15 ft hose. I liked the commons room - got a break from my wife! Would like to spend more time in Cedar Key. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$47
Sites are a bit small, but the waterfront sites have a view that is quite impressive (worth the extra cost). Cedar Key is a gem, and this campground is a bike ride from town and the rest of the island. We would definitely go back to this spot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$38
We had a wonderful stay here. The campground is sort of older, and some of the "upkeep" could be better, but it fits the whole town--sort of like a mini-Key West! The lady on the phone was very nice; said it was directly on the gulf--which is sort of true. It's more like an inlet, but a pretty view nonetheless. The shower house/bathrooms were old but very clean. Great WI-FI service, very fast. Cable was not so good, but we watched movies instead. Water pressure excellent. Great little place, and the price was right for the area!! My inlaws came with us and stayed in the attached "Motel" (4 rooms). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$35
The couple who purchased this a few years ago, are charming. They have painted it in limes, and turquoises and pinks, making you feel like you are in retro Florida. The whole campground makes you feel like old time Florida. Loved it. The restrooms and shower room have murals, and are very clean. There is a laundromat just down the street. The town is very quaint, we enjoyed the town, and the waterfront area. We purchased lots of fresh oysters, and had our fill of raw, stewed, soup, and fried. The campground itself has sites very close together, but most backup to a bay, with little piers onto it. The space behind us made us feel that we had plenty of room. (There was a 40ft motorhome beside us, and we still felt cozy in our spot). It got really cold while we were here, so we utilized the community room, with a big fireplace, TV, coffee, etc. Although dogs were not allowed, we seem to be the only ones using it, so we took our chances and let our dog in. The owner came in, and said it was OK. She was really nice and welcoming. Their website says they are selling permanent lots, but so far I don't think that is working out, and they have plenty of sites. Very charming! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$38
This campground is becoming an ownership RV park. Their web site is very misleading as to the current condictions. The spots are small, but high tide view are great. It was cool while we were there so only a few bugs. We enjoyed biking from the park to main part of the island. Life is slow and easy going on Cedar Key. We enjoyed our 10 days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2007
$37
We had an ocean view. Our 5th wheel is 35', with 3 slide outs. Very tight!! We had trouble getting in and getting out, because sites are very close together. We had trouble finding a place to park truck (dually). They want you to park between rigs, ugh!! We were too big and had to park out front. We were eaten alive by "no see ums". Had to wear long pants, long sleeves, close all windows. Ground is uneven and sandy. High tide is beautiful, low tide is nothing but mud. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2006
$42
The information provided by their (clever) website and the person taking the reservation was very misleading. It sounded more like an Outdoor Resort type of facility. The sites are sand/gravel and nothing is paved. It looks more like a work in progress with with a lot remaining to be accomplished. They are in the process of removing some of what look like derelicts. As stated in earlier reviews by others the sites are close together, extremely close together. If the park had been full we would not have stayed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$42
Made reservations for two nights using Passport America discount, no problem. Upon checking in, asked twice regarding cost per night. The manager stated $21/night. She supposedly didn't have time to check us in: said pick your site and pay up later. Checked in, went to the office, asked price for our spot and the manager said $21/night, pay in the morning. We stayed two days. At check out, she said first night $21/night, the second night $42/night. Passport America book stated 2 night minimum, 6 night maximum at $21/night. She denied ever discussing price, a flat out lie. Then she continued to say the campground has been bought out by condo developers and they don't need our type of business. Our last stay at such a flim-flam operation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$28
Spent two nights here while exploring Cedar Key. It is convenient, friendly, and clean. Bathrooms/showers are together, so for families, this may be an advantage. Sites are VERY tight and close together. They have tenting sites near the front under shade, which is nice. Views of bay are great at high tide; at low you are looking at mud flats, very tidal. Roads are typical Florida limestone/sand and therefore can be dusty. But since it is a small area and most folks come and sit for several days or more, not a big issue. Close by was a clam farm and we walked to the facility, bought a large bag of fresh clams for dinner, then had a tour of how they raise clams for export around the country. Fascinating (and excellent eating. ) I believe the campground/motel is undergoing change of ownership; not sure how much of the friendly, easy-going nature will be retained. But if you want to visit Cedar Key, it is a great spot to spend a few days or weeks. They are Passport America, but do not accept discounts during high season (November through March). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2006
$35
If you are a social type of person you will love this park. All the sites are right on top of each other so you really get to know all your neighbors. The water front sites do offer a great view of the bay and great sunsets every evening. This park is an old park, but on the other hand it is a very unique park. The staff is very friendly and treat you like you are staying at a bed and breakfest, they have some kind of food and drink treat every morning and evening for all the guests. The whole park is decorated in the Jimmy Buffet-Margaritaville style, which makes you smile all the time. These were some of the cleanest bathrooms that I have ever encountered. Each one is seperate and contains all the conveniences just like at home. We used this park as a home base for our visit to Cedar Key, which was very convenient to bike to the historic district from the campground: about 1 1/2 mile. The campground does not have much to offer children to keep themslves occupied. If you want to do a little fishing and kayaking at Cedar Key this is the place to stay. I feel it was reasonably priced at $35 a night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2004
$27
This is a rustic campground whose personality fits that of the key. The owners have painted everything in bright colors of purple, pink and teal, reminiscent of the Caribbean! There are several docks for fishing, bird watching or relaxing. Mornings will find muffins or coffee cake in the clubhouse and a warm fire in the fireplace to remove the chill from your bones. On Thanksgiving day, the owners prepared turkey and ham and guests provided all the fixings. Kayaking and airboat tours can be arranged at the campground. A wonderful place to escape the problems of the world and wonderful people who want to be sure your stay is enjoyable. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$38
This is an older park that the new owners are gradually upgrading. The sites are fairly small and the levels could be better. You will need at least 2 sewer line lengths for the hookups which are mostly at the rear of the sites.The staff are very friendly and keen to help. There are a small number (10 or so) permanent residents with older units that vary in condition. This does not detract much from the overall appeal of the park. The residents of these units that we met were friendly and helpful. The few shortcomings of this park are more than made up for by the price. This is a good value park with very friendly staff. They provide free continental breakfast. We met some real nice fellow travellers there. Going back for labor day. Nearest large store for supplies is 30 minutes away so make sure you stock up before you get there ! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$40
Park is much smaller than it appears on their website. Spaces are very close together. The interior roads and sites are are white gravel and very dusty. The slide on my TT was only 6" from my neighbor's awning and I could not extend my own awning. This is one of the very few sites I've ever used where I had to use 2" leveling boards to level my TT. The fishing docks were in poor repair and dangerous for small children with no bars or railings at lower levels. The only railing was at waist high for an adult. Everything was an extra cost - $2.00 for dog, $1.00 for cable. There were several old, permenent RV's there that looked like they dated from the 1960's and gave the park a junky appearance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$16
New owners who are wonderful. Working very hard to to fix campground up and they have done a wonderful job. We had a great time and stayed longer than had anticipated. Took friends who rented one of the motel rooms which are more than adequate. If you want a real getaway, Cedar Key is the place, like Florida was 100 years ago. Good restaurants and nice little town for exploring. We certainly will go back. Giving such a high rating, not that camp is that elaborate but such nice people and relaxing atmosphere and I think that is what motorhoming is all about. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$16
Very pet & child friendly. Socials on Sat. night & free cont. breakfast. Laid back & casual. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$28
We had a great time. The new owners were wonderful. They are struggling to upgrade the park. They have hand painted murals on the walls of the bathrooms to make them unique and homey. They were extremely clean, and private. We walked to town with our dog. It was raining and we called them about cab service, they came and got us. There are docks behind some of the sites and we caught a 31 inch red fish. The sunset from the dock was breathtaking. There is a nesting pair of eagles on the point. The bird life is unreal on this island. We are from New England and this tiny fishing village and park remind us of home away from home. We met some really nice campers from Germany there, and hope to go there again soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com