214552 User submitted reviews online!!
Western Horizons Camp Verde RV Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (928) 202-3409
CGID6542

Western Horizons Camp Verde RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
142
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   7   1   5   5   6   2   3   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$3
This is a basic park with dusty gravel roads and not much going on during the summer (too hot). They do have weekly activities during the winter months. There are lots of sticky fox tail weeds so pet owners need to be mindful of that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$1
Price is ROD. There certainly is nothing special about this park but it works. Almost impossible to get one of the few 50 amp sites (at least if you are ROD). Sites are level and long enough. We don't require frills so the park works for us. My only beef is the extremely dusty roads in the park. Every vehicle that drives by sends a cloud of dirt in the air. Laundry is cheap. Verizon 3G throughput was OK most of the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$13
Friendly staff, with large pull through sites. A good stop over on the way from Phoenix to the north. Recommend Montezuma castle and Fort Camp Verde close by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2014
$10
The access was narrow gravel road with sharp turns. People in the office very rude. Would not stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$1
Price is ROD. 2 weeks free, but we would probably not stay here again, even for free. An old, aging park with little upgraded. The Wi-Fi is Tengointernet and only allowed 400 mb per day. Whoops, we went over and were banned for more than 254 hours, for goodness sake. Office only open till 2 p.m. and if you want mail delivered it is only offered for Western Horizon members. Spaces were okay with picnic table, but no cement pads. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2012
$0
Rate is ROD. The park is an old, tired park. They have done a little painting and freshing things up compared to 2 years ago when I was last here. I'm fine staying here for free on the ROD rate, it isn't bad as the basics (utilities, bathrooms) are fine and laundry is cheap. Pool is nice but not heated. Wi-Fi did not work at all for me and Verizon data signal was on/off as the park is kind of down in a hole. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$1
While at the RV show in Quartzsite this winter, I received a coupon for 3 free nights of camping at Camp Verde RV Resort, if we agreed to listen to a 90 minute sale pitch. During the sales pitch, we learned that the discount price (if you buy today) was over $8,000 with an annual fee of $399 plus $199 a year for resort directories. That was pretty shocking especially considering the condition of this “resort.” There is a clubhouse and recreation building which might add credibility to the “resort” billing. There is a pool which is not heated. In contrast, the resorts we stay at in the Rio Grande Valley have heated pools. Many sites did not have sewer hookups and the electric was only 30 amp at many sites. The sites are gravel/grass and most of the interior roads are gravel. This is an aging park in need of serious upgrades to its infrastructure before it can truly call itself a resort. When I told the sales guy that, before I could sign the contract, I would need to read it, he became aggressive and told me, "That’s not true. You’re just using that as an excuse.” The sales pitch rapidly went downhill from there and we walked out of the meeting as he said, "You will never get another free night of camping from us.” I guess too many people have taken advantage of the free camping without buying a membership. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2012
$10
We have camped here 2 previous years and enjoyed our stay. This time was very disappointing. New management very rude (except) for the landscape man. We were here through RPI and were treated like second class citizens. Were put in no sewer site with no chance of moving. On previous visits this park was pet friendly and we were able to set up our pet kennel, but not this trip. We would understand if each space had a lawn but there is only 2% grass and the rest is goat heads and fox tails. We were also told we could not use our Fire in a Can because it was a state law, no fires. Well that may be true on state land,wilderness areas but not true in private RV Parks. We have been all over AZ and used our fire in a can Everywhere. We left 2 days earlier than scheduled and left them with the $20, maybe they can buy grass seed for one of the sites. We will come back to this area but not this RV Park. DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PARK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2012
$10
Rate with RPI. We have stayed here before and the rating dropped because of broken promises. A manager change early in January has not been a good thing. The staff has grown surly and much less helpful than when we first visited here. Water pressure is sporadic and electrical stanchions are inconsistent and often low voltage on 30AMP. This resort has changed in a very negative way since we first visited here late in 2011. We will not be returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$10
RPI rate. This CG is close to I-17. The CG staff is super helpful and friendly. Most sites are full hookup, 30 AMP and mostly level gravel. There is ample room between sites with grass buffers and some mulberry trees. We cleared our site of leaves, raking into nice piles, but no one picked them up the whole week. There is cafe in the Lodge, good food, excellent cinnamon rolls and fresh bread daily. Lots of activities and amenities and everything clean. The pool is open but not heated, good for a Polar Bear swim this time of year. Hot tub is good. CG a good place to do the "week out," or longer. We are staying in the Verde Valley for a while and will be back here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$10
OK other than the fact that we couldn't get our bike out of the toy hauler: not too terribly bad. The RV's are back to back so we were not able to unload the bike without doing so before we parked. Fairly level and clean. Not the best area, too far from anything to enjoy. Wi-Fi was iffy at best and without satellite, there was no TV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$10
A nice park for a week or day. I stayed a week and found it quite acceptable. Sites are grass and gravel; some leveling is required. Most have a picnic table. There are large shade trees in many sites especially along the fenced creek. A game room with pool table and dart boards. Club house has breakfast and dinners. Good food, reasonable prices. There is no cable TV and forget about getting any antenna channels. If you need a satellite connection get an open site away from the trees. Huge swimming pool, but not heated. Water temp is similar to Lake Superior. I found the showers OK, but very old and pretty clean. Wi-Fi is worthless. Don't waste the $2.00 a day cost. The rate reflects Coast to Coast discount. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$10
Rate reflects RPI. Nice park, lot of the sites do not have sewer hook up. Easy check in. Clean bathroom and showers. We will stay here again when not at the TT park up the street, where we are members. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35
This is a very spacious park. Everyone one we met was very nice/helpful. The restrooms were very clean. The grounds/pool were well maintained. Lots of trees. There is so much to do in the area we will for sure go back. Park is convenient to many things. Great places to walk dogs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
Park is a nice place for a night or a week. Well kept and a very nice pool area. It has a separate game room building that is divided into an adult and children's areas, with pool tables, books, games, etc. The small cafe is open Friday through Sunday for breakfast and lunch and a dinner on Sunday night. Very good food, and very reasonable prices. One drawback was that we had a choice of either 50 amp/no sewer or 30 amp/sewer. Being in the desert and hot, we chose 50 amp/no sewer. The office staff was helpful, and we think that being Coast to Coast was the reason for the 30-50 amp choice as many empty sites had 50 amp/sewer. One drawback was that on the first day here, a guy came to the RV and talked us into a 2 hour sales pitch about joining Western Horizons. Very expensive plan, and after checking with the Better Business Bureau found it was rated an F. Close to Sedona for a short day trip, which was well worth the 30 minute drive. Not much in Camp Verde for entertainment or eating out. We paid the C2C rate. Would probably find another park if we were to come through here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$10
We stayed here 3 weeks. 2 weeks with RPI ($10) and one week at $25 a night. We really enjoyed this park with large sites. We started out with a site that had no sewer, but within 2 days we had a sewer site. This park has river sites, but the river was not flowing very much so you really couldn't see the water, but you could walk down to it. There is a restaurant on site; Salty's which is open 3 days a week with home made bread and excellent meals. The park is centrally located to all the sight seeing areas. Had a great time there. Only negative is there are a lot of goat heads and burrs in the grass, so not very pleasing for pets. Keep them on the roads. We will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2010
$5
Our experience was spoiled by the hostile and rude behavior of the desk and office staff. We can only assume they have given up on this business are taking out their frustrations on the paying customers. Too bad. The campground itself is large and dusty (grass and gravel) and the condition of the facilities is average but a little tired. I could not recommend WHR membership to anyone at this point as their future does not look very secure and members are constantly pressured to attend high pressure sales meetings. Their sales practices are aggressive, unpleasant and deceptive and the ever-changing membership rules make it very hard to use the benefits touted. WHR have sold several of their resorts recently but have not offered to refund any membership fees paid. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$10
Various rates available for different club affiliations. WH members sure don't get much for their $399 annual dues and the ridiculous $8500 joining fee now being quoted. (Heard stories about the infamous sales guy). This is a lovely, quiet setting but there's been no improvements in years. Pool is still not heated, not used although days were sunny and warm. At least the hot tub was okay, but the shower room by pool is gross. Some sites are shaded, long and wide. Others are short back-ins. Not all are FHU's, be sure what you are getting. Has dirt sites, which are not level. The family of 7 next to us was too much; we left early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$10
This was a wonderful park. It's clean and well taken care of. One of the best Western Horizons parks. Price reflects RPI. Internet works great but there is a $2.00/day fee. Nice location. Sites were large, some with trees. Close to 2 major highways though you would never know it, no noise. Lots to see and do in the area and the office is very helpful and full of information. Would without a doubt, stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$1
We stayed here using our Western Horizon membership. We had 50 amp, full hookups, and a table. The park is dusty with goats head stickers. The park is trying to re-grow the grass. Lots of dust, sometimes low voltage, and the sewer hookup was behind the coach requiring an extension on the sewer hose. Personnel were friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$10
This is a membership campground. It is a very nice place to stay with lots of open space and places to walk around. Sites are long pull throughs. Wi-Fi worked very well for an extra charge. Pool was not heated. Showers were clean and very usable. Rate is for C2C. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$6
This was a horrible experience. We asked for 50 amps and were given site #148 with no shade. Our voltage meter read 94, and the alarm went off everytime the AC came on. Felt like we were in a sauna: could only run one AC due to low voltage. Had to resort to our generator when using the microwave, our alternative was to turn off the AC. We requested a shady space, thinking the voltage was only low in that one space, (#27) WRONG! Had the same problem in the new site. I went around with my voltage meter seeking a site with higher voltage: does not exist in this park. All 30 & 50 amp sites registered below 95 volts. This place is no Resort! Its whole electrical system needs a serious overhaul. We originally planned to stay 3 weeks, after 5 hot stressful days, got a refund and moved over to a real resort, Distant Drums (posted a review). There we could run two AC's AND the microwave at once, and they also have are no trees. So we are now chillin in a real Resort with FREE unlimited WI-FI. The WI-FI here is NOT FREE, and is controlled so that you cannot download or watch news clips, etc., without purchasing additional time. We are Western Horizon members, and will NOT ever stay here again. As we move along the highways, we are finding similar conditions at many of the Western Horizon "Resorts"! Perhaps ten years ago they could call themselves a resort, but by today's standards, they are just low-powered campgrounds with added-on surcharges to members. What a letdown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
We stayed here for price only. We will pass next time. It reminded me of a KOA at 1/3 the price. There are many seasonals there, but it was quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$4
We stayed at this park under Resorts of Distinction. When we checked in we were told that since we had an extra vehicle (a motorcycle)(we have a Class A motorhome and a car), we had to pay $4.00 per night for the motorcycle. This is the first time we have ever been charged for an additional vehicle and we have stayed in WHR before. The office staff were rude. We had originally made a reservation for 7 nights, but we left after 2. We will never return to this "resort". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$5
Don't take site 17, all others would be ok. Pretty area and nice staff. Pool isn't heated in the winter and is closed, but spa is open. Would rate higher if pool was heated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$12
Camp Verde RV Resort is a Western Horizon Resort and we’re staying here under RPI. It is a small RV resort with an activity center, pool and hot tub, laundry, book exchange, pickleball courts, shuffleboard, and activities scheduled daily. The staff (well, the one woman with whom we spoke) was nice, and as typical with Western Horizon Resorts, their WiFi is not reliable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$14
Great place for the price. We used ccusa for the half off price of $14. Lots to see and do in the area, we stayed 3 nights. Easy in and out. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$6
This is a members only resort, and I am a WHR member. The park is one of the nicest that I have stayed. There is lots of open space within the park and most of the campsites are quite large. This park is clean, well-kept and has the most amenities of any park where I have stayed and lots of activities. I will keep coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$3
This a membership resort. Office very friendly and helpful. I will stop every change I get. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$7
We camped here under AOR. The rate was $6 + $1 for 30 amp/night. Our site had electric and water only. Park seems fine and has activities in the clubhouse. We were expecting full hook-ups and wi-fi. When we checked in, they said our site was EW only and the wifi wasn't working. By the next day, I was able to sign in and pay for wifi service with Tengo Internet, only to have it say "limited or no connectivity" within minutes of paying and I couldn't access it again for several hours. The wi-fi was "iffy" at best. Signal strength wasn't particularly good. Now that we have read the reviews on Distant Drums, I would stay there in future instead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com