219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Santa Margarita KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (805) 438-5618
CGID6580

Santa Margarita KOA

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   1   1   8   8   8   8   10   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$45
Lovely park. Sites are under tall shady trees. We had a spot in front of the jumping pillow, which the kids loved. In fact, I had fun too! The staff are really friendly and helpful and the site was quiet and relaxing. I used the laundry, which is in need of a bit of an update. Its quite small but I had no problem getting a machine. There was a notice stating that they have a high iron content in their water - on a hot wash whites might be stained yellow!!! I took a chance on warm and had no issues. The dryers are pretty poor, so you are likely to need 2/3 cycles to get a load of washing dry. Whist I am going on and on about laundry, I might as well add that it was a good 5 min walk from our site to the laundry with heavy bags so all in all I recommend you plan to do your laundry else where. But I would definitely stay here again en-route to the coast, We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2012
$60
The campground is in need for updating especially the roads. The staff is friendly, however owners are not helpful with controlling teenagers roaming park alone, hanging out smoking in play yard ,and fighting with small children. The owners also could not control the teenagers parents who were out of control yelling and trying to fight other parents who were trying to get the teens to play football off the Jump Pillow! The Owner said "there's a funny odor from their cabin earlier, I think they are doing drugs". Get the druggies out of there! I have been here several times and will NOT be back !!! Find another place to camp, this is a horrible place!!! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$48
Avoid this place at all costs! Dirty facility, dirty grounds, poor management. Stay away. KOA needs to cut this place out of their lineup. Not convenient to anything. ATV paradise, others stay away. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
All I can say about this campground is WOW. They were really nice people and very attentive to my small children. My 2 year old had a summer cold and the cleaning people gave us toys for him to play with. He stopped crying and every time he saw someone in a yellow shirt he waved and smiled, saying KOA. We had a wonderful time and will gladly come back. Thanks again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
Very quiet, even during spring break. Sites were fairly close together. (If you can do without hookups, there's much more privacy in the non-hook up areas.) Some of the pads were gravel, which tends to reduce the mud and dust. The grounds are very nice, lots of oak trees. The campground is hilly. There are steep staircases up and down to the bathhouses. Not suitable for handicapped people. There are little cabins near the RV sites, which would be handy if you wanted to include non-RVers in your group. This area probably gets hot during the summer. There's nothing to do here except hiking, mountain biking, fishing, boating and stargazing. It's far from town and shopping. We saw a bear raiding the dumpster so practice bear-safe food storage. The sewer connections were raised above ground a little bit so be sure to bring your folding sewer hose support slinky device. WiFi works well but only at the clubhouse. Cell service is poor. It's better up at the top of the campground than down low. The management folks were very knowledgeable and helpful. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
It was off season so the park was very empty, yet we were put right next to two other parties when we could view at least two dozen empty sites from our trailer. Overall it was very quiet and clean and the staff seemed friendly. Sites were kind of small so if the park was full it would have been inconvenient. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$61
This campground is out in the middle of no where, which was fine with us. It covers a lot of real estate and is quite hilly. The bath houses are quite a climb - 15 steps up to the toilets and showers. The exception is the facilities at the office/pool. It is so peaceful and among beautiful trees. And only a 10 - 15 minute walk to Santa Margarita Lake, which is a great park with boating, hiking, wild life. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
Fantastic campground offering a back-to-nature experience. The sites are stepped on a hill with some fairly dodgy tracks up to your site. However the staff, was fantastic at helping us newcomers settle in and giving us top tips on our RV. Beware the laundry facilities: the washing machine turned aload of my whites orange, something to do with the iron apparently!! The staff refunded our money though and tried to help us out. Shower facilities were basic but good. Loved this place for the good old-fashioned camping in beautiful surroundings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
We were parked on a high dusty hill with small spaces and no trees between spaces. Managers were very friendly and helpful. The owners could spring for some gravel on the campsites to keep the dirt down. I would not camp here again unless it was absolutely necessary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
Nice clean campground. Upon arrival host escorted us to our site and assisted with backing in. Very friendly staff. Site was exactly level side to side, almost perfect front to back. Sites are all compacted red-rock. Lots of trees. 1/4 mile from Santa Margarita Lake. The campground is cut into a hillside so your views are not blocked by other RV's. The dirt road in is a little steep, we dropped into 4 wheel drive for the steep part. This is not your asphalt parking lot, but is a nice more rural campground miles from any traffic noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2007
$35
We stayed here for the Thanksgiving holiday. It was the closest place we could find to the coast that was still available. It's an older park and very dusty and dry. It also has a strong sewer smell in the early mornings. They also advertise pull through sites, but there are none. Not much to the place so I didn't feel I could give it anything higher than a five. It served its purpose but we will not be staying there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
All dirt and steep hills. Pool was green. Half of everything was broken. And I don't recommend drinking the water. Very friendly and helpful staff. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$38
If you’re into dust, motorcycles, loose dogs, then this place is for you. For a KOA I was pretty disappointed. We have stayed at several KOA’s throughout the nation and although some are better than others, all seem to follow some corporate requirements. This is not the case here. The campsites are up a long, steep, climbing dirt road (actually had to use 4x4 to get to the top). If you want to use their restroom, visit their store, or swim in the pool, plan on either driving or hiking down and back. All of their sites appeared to be dirt, and not very level at that. To top it all off, it is an 11 mile drive off Highway 101 to get to this campground. We will not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
Nice little park in the wilderness. Would agree with a previous post that it might be a little long in the tooth but the atmosphere is nice. Rolling hills surround park. Upper levels (where most FHU sites are) are reached by moderately steep dirt road which can be tricky when it's wet. Definitely more "campground" than "RV park". Nice base for sightseeing in the area. Approximately 1 hour to Hearst Castle, half hour to Pismo Beach or Morro Bay. Plenty of wildlife in/around the area (deer, owls, raccoons). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2007
$33
Park is getting a little long in the tooth though very clean and neat with terrific personnel. Some sites very small, only 1 pull through. This park is cut into the side of a hill and few trees were removed so roads tight. Some semi perm residents trailers getting very junky looking and should be removed to bring park up in ratings. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com