220021 User submitted reviews online!!
Cypress Woods RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (239) 694-2191
CGID677

Cypress Woods RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
499
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   10   7   8   10   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
Excellent paved, level sites. Water, sewer, and electric worked well. Beautiful pools, showers, and clubhouse. The reservation office is hard to contact. Clerk wasn't always in during posted office hours. Had to make four calls to reach her. Entry gates are problematic when entering with a motorhome and tow car. Overall, a great resort with attractive individually decorated sites. Easy access from interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$50
The park is beautiful and well maintained. The individual sites are all different because they are privately owned. We had a fantastic site. The only downside was the regulars are not very friendly. A few waved but many made us feel like we weren't good enough. For the most part, it was a great place. A great place to stay if you are looking for paradise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Cypress Woods is a beautiful up-scale gated RV resort with 499 lots. Most lots are privately owned; although, there seems to be a large number available for rent during the year. This resort is about a half mile off I-75, going through Fort Myers, Florida, exit 139, then head east to the end of the road (Luckett Road). The winter months are reserved a year or more ahead of time. The staff are ready to help whenever possible. Note: The “D” lots offer wider roads and larger lots to accommodate rigs up to 45 feet. All major shopping is two exits south on I-75. See the resorts web site for details and amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$75
One of the best parks we have ever stayed in. Everyone is friendly and makes you feel like family. You are encouraged to join into activities and they have something for everyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$47
This is a beautiful park, and the clientele seems reasonably friendly. The location is 1/4 mile from an exit on the I-75, and two miles from an exit to a major shopping area. However, the organized activities are limited, considering what we are paying for rent. They have so far put on a few evening events. There is regular shuffleboard and bridge. Yoga is offered for a fee. The only other exercise class is water aerobics which has happened only occasionally due to cold weather and an unheated pool. If you are looking for a park where people stop on the street and strike up a conversation, this probably isn't it. While people do stroll and drive their golf carts around, it isn't easy to meet them. It just doesn’t have the relaxed feeling of many other parks. There is a somewhat snooty attitude here. This park is poorly run, considering that it is costing us $1400 per month to stay here. The irrigation system has been on the fritz since before we arrived, and we have yet to see the grass watered. The swimming pool has been unheated all winter since the pump is broken and still hasn't been fixed. Many site lampposts are not working. Ours wasn't, and it took over a month to get it fixed. We’ve found that the office staff is not particularly friendly. The main purpose of the management seems to be that of selling sites. We rented our site, and one day received a surprise visit from the salesman. We were shocked when he informed us that we could be moved at any time if he sold our site. He also told us that we were not allowed to use the storage shed on our site. No one had told us this, either when we reserved or when we checked in. We continue to use the storage shed and have not been bothered again. As far as we are concerned we are paying a lot of money and it should include everything that sits on the site. If it doesn't, we should have been told that when we reserved. It seems as if they treat renters like second-class citizens, and owners are the important ones. Friends of ours who are also renting here had the salesman show up one afternoon, without warning, to show the site to prospective buyers. He was poking around in the shed when our friend came and asked him what he thought he was doing. Our friend asked him to leave. Finally, right behind our site (outside the park) is a recycling plant of some sort, and all day we hear loud truck noises, crashing truck boxes and ringing phones from about 5 am to the end of the day. Overall, we feel that we are not getting our money's worth, considering that this is one of the most expensive RV resorts in the US. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$44
Nice clean park. Extra large lots. Wide streets. We had a coupon for one free night on a three night stay. Has some permanent mobile homes, but other parks closer to the beach were mostly mobile homes with a few RV's mingled between them. Rating an 8 due to mobile homes and away from beaches. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$50
One of the finest RV parks in the country. First class sites, roads, lakes, pool, tennis, shuffleboard, and clubhouse. Concrete sites are 46' x 90' - the actual pads are about 35' x 75'. Most sites have extensive tropical landscaping. Except for mid day, many sites now provide morning and afternoon shade as the sites in the park are now 5 - 10 years old. Excellent power, water, sewer and cable TV all well located. Excellent 75 channel cable TV system with local network channels in HD. Can get satellite TV on most sites. We stayed on a waterfront site on the larger of two lakes, which was just beautiful. The lake is a least 10 acres, maybe larger, with several lobes and two fountains which are lit at night. Again, all first class. Park was extremely well kept. Although mostly empty at this visit, on previous visits during the winter season the park is full with many, many activities and great parties and dances. Convenient to shopping and close enough to restaurants, beaches, and all that SW Florida has to offer. Sites are owned but can by rented by the night, week, month, and season. Our rate was based on a one month rental. Unlike some other owner parks, renters are well treated here and can participate in all activities. Don't miss this place, its a gem! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
Lovely park, very quiet, nice concrete pads, well kept, beautiful pool and clubhouse. We had a very nice spot facing the lake. For the price I think you should get Wi-Fi and cable TV at your site. This looks like it is mainly for long term (snowbirds) and not short term visitors. Way out of town too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
The park is super and well done for newer class A and 5th Wheel campers. How ever they charge $25 deposit for the gate opener. It would be nice to have someone in the office on a Saturday morning around 10 to refund you your money. This necessitated 3 cell phone calls before we confirmed how to return the opener we could not drop off and how they would refund our cash deposit. This was not professional, thus the lower rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$70
Very nice campground. Grounds are well kept and the layout is excellent. There's no wireless at the sites, only at the clubhouse. They're nigh time security at the front gate and it's double-gated. The office staff isn't very friendly and problems may or may not get fixed. If you plan to leave after the office is closed, go early and talk with them so you can get your gate key deposit back and figure out how to return the keys. Overall, a great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$40
A Very Very Nice Resort. The people and the management were very courteous and helpful. We were invited to many activities. Valentines day dinner and dance to a bike ride to a Mardi Gras parade and Cocktail get together. The Resort was landscaped very nicely and maintained. Both pools were very nice and well taken care of. I would highly recommend this resort to any RVer that wants to stay at a high end resort in Florida. Ft Myers obviously needs no review. There is plenty to do in the area and shopping and dining is abundant. Class A's and Fifth Wheel only permitted. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$80
Lovely Park to visit. If the main pool is working. It goes down on are regular basis. We agree with the previous review and reiterate what they stated: "The best part of Cypress Woods are the people." The biggest downside of Cypress Woods is the developer and his office staff, and this is why I would recommend AGAINST buying here. We met many disgruntled lot owners who described some of the shenanigans the developer has pulled. Two examples will suffice. (1) The park sprinkler system does not work, and yet the developer sent in a water tanker truck to take three 10,000 gallons loads of water to another property he owns. The water is paid for by lot owners. (2) The "homeowners association" board of directors are either employees of the developer, or hand picked by the developer to vote his way. As a result lot owners have no say in how the park is run, how money will be spent, or even what their monthly condo fee will be. There are countless other developer issues, which has caused a group of lot owners to hire a lawyer to fight the developer! As a renter you may not escape from the developer's clutches scot free: you may have to work with an individual we came to call the Minx, who is very unhelpful and obnoxious to renters, an opinion voiced by many other renters we met. Why the developer employs her I have no idea! Overall, Cypress Woods is a very nice place to spend the winter with congenial people, spoiled only by a shyster developer and his employees." Barking dogs left unattended for hours at a time. 20 break ins of units in a ten day period of time. Security which you pay for is non-existent. This is just two of the many true stories we can tell you about life in CW. Do not BUY in CW RV Resort or RENT for a long period of time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$65
We stayed on the lake and everything was excellent. The park was fairly empty since lots of folks had headed back up north. The park was clean and well maintained and pet friendly. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$60
We have stayed in the Fort Myers area at different campgrounds but have enjoyed Cypress Woods more than any of them. We enjoyed it so much that we decided to buy a lot there. I realize there has been some complaints about the developer having control of things, but to me this is normal in a situation like this until a high percentage of the total lots are sold. As far as the developer controlling the board, remember it is the owners and the developer that vote the board members in. Also, the board members are volunteers. If there are complaints about board members then new people can step up to the plate, come the next annual vote, and try to get voted in. We have loved Cypress Woods and do appreciate how well it is looked after and appreciate the volunteers that help make this a wonderful place to stay. It is so peaceful and the different type of birds we see on the lake every day have been so enjoyable. They have wonderful dinners there and many other activities for you to take part in if you so choose. The lots are bigger than many resorts we have stayed at. Their wifi is a bit outdated, but we have been able to connect everyday with our external hawking high-gain adapter. We are very excited about owning a lot at Cypress Woods. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$60
This is an RV condo-resort that is a good place to rent a site but a poor place to buy. Sites are large, 50 feet by 90 feet, and have large concrete pads and full hookups including phone and cable TV. We like the sites in the new D section the best, especially those on the lake. These sites are larger and have nicer views than the three older sections (A,B,C). In spite of what several previous reviewers have said, we found the park to be well located for shopping, spring training baseball, and the Florida Rep theater in downtown Fort Myers. The park is farther from Fort Myers Beach than other parks in the area, so if the beach is your primary interest I would go elsewhere. Ther best part of Cypress Woods are the people who own and rent there. We quickly made friends over the month we were here, and were treated as equals by lot owners and seasonal renters. The activities we went to, a Valentines dinner dance, steak fry, yoga classes, and so on were well run and lots of fun. The biggest downside of Cypress Woods is the developer and his office staff, and this is why I would recommend AGAINST buying here. We met many disgruntled lot owners who described some of the shenagians the developer has pulled. Two examples will suffice. (1) The park sprinkler system does not work, and yet the developer sent in a water tanker truck to take three 10,000 gallons loads of water to another property he owns. The water is paid for by lot owners. (2) The "homeowners association" board of directors are either employees of the developer, or hand picked by the developer to vote his way. As a result lot owners have no say in how the park is run, how money will be spent, or even what their monthly condo fee will be. There are countless other developer issues, which has caused a group of lot owners to hire a lawyer to fight the developer! As a renter you may not escape from the developer's clutches scot free: you may have to work with an individual we came to call the Minx, who is very unhelpful and obnoxious to renters, an opinion voiced by many other renters we met. Why the developer employs her I have no idea! You can rent directly from lot owners, which is far preferable. See notices posted in the laundry room or ask around if you visit the park. Overall, Cypress Woods is a very nice place to spend the winter with congenial people, spoiled only by a shyster developer and his employees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2006
$45
We booked two months at this Resort nine months ago, and we have not been disappointed. Other than the distance to the beach and shopping, and traffic, it is fantastic. Definitely geared toward seniors (and dog-owners). Everything is immaculate, the concrete pads are huge, and as of today the WiFi is working in our area. There are tons of planned activities, a fantastic club house, two pools and two hot tubs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$60
We are staying here right now for 3 months. A beautiful RV Resort. I have yet to see a dog "Do It Thing" and it's owner not clean up after it. Wifi does have limited range, they have improved it since we have been here and are still working on it. I have only seen 1 Motorhome with a trailer left on a site since we have been here. Nightly prices are high but the monthly prices are within reason. We like it here so much we have already rented for Jan., Feb., & March 2007. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2006
$55
This is a nice RV Resort. However, it could be better by following their own rules. Security was non existent and we found that dog owners were out of control. People routinely brought their dogs out of their RV and rushed them to some non-suspecting neighbours site so they could 'do their thing'. On more than one occasion we found dog owners with no intention of cleaning up after their pet. WiFi is simply not acceptable. Utility trailers are routinely left on camp sites despite rules to the contrary. I simply found that no one seemed to care or mind these issues. I would not recommend this resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2005
$55
Cypress Woods is a beautiful condo RV park where most of the campsites are owned. However, many are available for rent by the day, week, or month. This is a true RV resort with all the trimmings. Sites are large, 46' wide by 90' long with concrete pads and large patios. Many are on one of the two beautiful lakes with fountains, lighted at night. Some sites have extensive landscaping, done by the owners, and others have grass and a few palm trees. There are two pools. The newest one is the largest I've ever seen in an RV park. The "clubhouse" is also very large with a gathering room that will seat 300 people. There are two lighted tennis courts, about 5 lighted shuffleboard courts, horse shoe pits and a grilling area for cookouts. The resort is a half mile off I-75, a real asset given the heavy traffic in the Fort Myers area. For spring training baseball in March the resort is 20 minutes from City of Palms Park (Red Sox) and 30 minutes from Hammond Stadium (Twins). It took us 30 minutes to reach Fort Myers Beach on Sunday morning, 40-45 minutes during the week, arriving at the beach by 8:30 a.m. to avoid long lines of traffic and parking hassles. I don't agree with those who complain about the price at this park. I think its a good value for the 55+ crowd who want peace, quiet, friendly neighbors and pleasant surroundings. I can't recommend this park too highly! We stayed at Cypress Woods for 1 month and will return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2005
$60
Beautiful resort, with very large pads. Wi-Fi has a limited area. There are no restaurants near by. Will not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2005
$60
We just spent 8 days here. I didn't find it to be a family CG because there is no play ground or any activities for kids. Pool, shuffle board, and tennis are offered. The reason I rated it so low is because of the price and what you get for it. It is along ways to any restaurants or attractions. The grounds are very well maintianed. I will not stay here again. If you are looking for a country club atmospere and are willing to pay for it, you might like it here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$40
We enjoyed our stay here, but the rates were high. The place is clean and has a secure atmosphere. People buy sites in the park and the resort rents them out when not in use by the owner. There is a nice lake and more sites are under construction now. We would like to stay here again someday if the prices don't get higher. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$41
This park is an excellent park. The only part I did not like was the price, it is a little high. Park has a small lake that RV's back up to. Pool was large and everthing was very clean. Number of people own sites and live here year around. Lot of very nice motorhome park here. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com