220250 User submitted reviews online!!
Stampede RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (520) 457-3738
CGID6805

Stampede RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   6   6   7   5   7   6   5   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
The positive thing about this campground is the location: 2 minutes you are in the center of town. The CG is right on a street with lots of traffic, and you can hear the cars drive at night. The campground is well maintained. There are cigarette butts and dog poop around. Around the Office is metal scrap. The owner repaired cars. The WiFi, supposedly best in town, is quite slow. The rate of $ 30 is based on Goodsam. There are 50 AMPS. We would not come stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
Easy egress, gravel mostly level sites. The utilities are accessible and worked. Friendly staff with a restaurant serving great breakfasts. Three blocks to the OK Corral. Gunfights hourly. American Legion two blocks away. Stayed two nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
Interesting little old park. Owners are helpful but the place is a little long in the tooth. Bathroom and laundry were fine, not perfect, but fine. We did enjoy our stay because it is a 2 block walk right into the heart of the action that is Tombstone. Super cool little restaurant on site for a great breakfast. Pretty eclectic and quirky but we can recommend it and, if we went this way again, we would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
Rate is Good Sam plus $5 bathroom key deposit, refundable on return. No frills, aging campground. Husband and wife team who run it are very friendly and knowledgeable about Tombstone. The office area is off-putting as it looks like a junk shop with rooms of papers, etc. stacked everywhere so it is hard to move. Our back-in site was roomy but the sewer was so far back we were unable to hook up. Quiet even though on little traveled main road into town. Easy walk to downtown Tombstone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$33
Very close to Tombstone historical, district, about 4 blocks. Great location in town everything walkable. We stayed in a space near the laundry and rest rooms they had a covered picnic table there. Its a large older park. There is a street running between the two sections. One part for the permanent members of the park the other for weekenders. The park is older needs some paint. The owners collect things and leave them about the park a little cluttered. The front office knows all about the town. They have an excellent breakfast restaurant in connection with some cabins they rent across the street . We were here for thanksgiving and had a free turkey dinner at the American Legion post 2 blocks away (donations). Most everything closed for Thanksgiving but the mine tour. Ask for a space away from clutter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
A little pricey for this caliber of park. No frills, basic over-nite stuff. Close to town though and nice little cafe on site. Spent two nites here and all was OK. Pull though are very narrow, we used a back-in as we have four slides and it was plenty roomy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
No frills park, gravel, weeds, but nice owners. Backs up to a well-traveled road. Pull-through sites are very narrow, but the back-ins are wide. Walking distance to downtown Tombstone, which is nice. Great Wi-Fi. No place to walk the dog except on the side streets, which was fine. Nice little cafe for breakfast behind the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
This park is in a great location for visiting Tombstone. It's within easy walking distance of the main street attractions, but it's far enough away to avoid the noise. The staff was very friendly and helpful and pointed out several must see sights in town. Sites were reasonably level, and the hookups worked fine, except for the cable. Most channels were snowy and some were unwatchable. Wi-Fi worked great and was fast. The office and area around it was pretty junky, but the rest of the park was nice and well kept. I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$26
Tombstone is a gritty, historically significant town, which claims it is "Too Tough to Die." This campground fits right into this theme: a gritty, rough and ready park just a block or so from the OK Corral tourist attraction. The park has piles of old junk--artifacts, probably--around the edges and at the main office, submerging the porch and cluttering the office. But the folks are friendly as they can be, there is a huge amount of space in which to maneuver your rig, and the hookups are mostly very convenient. (Some of the back in sites have the hookups at the rear of the pad, though: bring lots of hose, power cords, and water lines.) A funky place, but you need to be open minded and not too fussy. We don't regret our choice, and we'd come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
No credit cards accepted. Have to have a physical key ($5 deposit) to get into bath/showers instead of having a code. Saw several people (including me) have to go back to the RV to get key. Only two showers for the whole RV park. Laundry is only open half of the day. Three of the machines were broke and no chair in the room to sit down. Both Wi-Fi and TV had problems. Liked the location in town, and it's probably the best RV park in the area, but it needs updated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
As with the previous reviewer, I am wondering what is wrong with this park! I'm here for two days, and everything is fine. Site 24 is within 1/4 bubble of level, the Wi-Fi is strong, (if a little slow). Cable is fine, and the owners go out of their way to explain the town. The little breakfast restaurant is a plus. Rate reflects Good Sam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
This campground is great. It is clean and the sites are nice and big. It is walking distance from historic Tombstone. The management made us feel like family and we made some great friends. We stayed here for 3 nights and would have stayed longer if we could. Very well-kept and highly recommended at a great price! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
I must have been to a different park. I was hesitant after reading other reviews but my family has a very different opinion and glad we chose this place. Although my family used our travel trailer for showers and restrooms I did take a peek and the facilities appeared clean and kept. The grounds were clean and kept. Wi-Fi worked great and so did cable TV. There were two large garbage cans similar to other RV parks around by an entry but other RV'ers were respectful and kept the lids closed. There is a nice dog walk outside the park fence by the road and it appeared clean of doggie dew, again other RV'rs were respectful. No land mines noted in the park but didn't go looking for it. There are about 1/2 sites with some shade. Pads were fairly level but may need blocks if you want perfection. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Walking distance to downtown. Served breakfast 7-11 but may close early if business is slow. We didn't eat but the homemade biscuits n gravy smelled good. Stayed during Wyatt Earp days. Great time. Close to lots and lots of ghost towns and some 4 wheel'n dirt stuff too. 2nd time to Tombstone and if we come this way again we would stay here for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
What a dump. Don't waste your time or money! Once you make it past the garbage to get through the door, you will find more. Most sites are uneven, there is no cable TV, they do have internet. Has dog crap all over the place. It is an easy walk to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
The owner was very nice and extremely helpful in pointing out local attractions. However, right off we thought it odd that they don't accept credit cards: cash and/or check only. We stayed in a site that backed up to Haskell, which was extremely noisy, even with the floor fan running you could hear the street noise. There are water pressure issues and the cable TV is still not working on this row. Thank goodness we have satellite. Our neighbors did not, and they were not happy at all to get completely set-up and find this out. Also, our site was extremely uneven. We changed spaces twice, but it appears that they are all in pretty bad shape. The grounds are not being kept very well: the office's front porch is covered in trash and/or garbage. In spite of the convenient location, I doubt we'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$28
The park is well located for walking to downtown Tombstone and the owners are very helpful. The only real problem we had was the water pressure, but they are working on it and should have it solved before much longer. They offer a breakfast in the morning for a minimal cost and usually have coffee around. It's not a fancy park, but certainly gets the job done for you. Plus, if you have any problems the owner goes out of his way to help you out. Definitely the place to stay if walking the area is important for you. Plus, it's quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$31
It's a fairly clean campground and the owners are very helpful. However, the cable TV no longer works and we and others keep losing water pressure, especially in the morning. I had to finish my shower with what water we had in our tank. The owner didn't seem concerned about it. Lost water pressure at night too, for no apparent reason. Because of this we won't come back unless there is no other place available. On the plus side, it's within walking distance of the downtown area which is nice if you don't have a car. The area around the office is very cluttered with junk and an old fire engine. We were barely able to get into the spot assigned to us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
Park is OK for two nights. The cable TV was very bad, snowy and not good at all, it faded in and out. Wi-Fi was OK, a bit weak at times. We didn't go to the breakfast, because we saw the cook leaving the kitchen with the rubber gloves still on his hands to go to his own camper. We also were not allowed to let our puppy do it's affairs (I always clean up, any place in the campground. We had to walk the dog on the street. However, the owner's two cats left their mark all over, even on the camper wheels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$28
The good news about this park is that the staff is all super friendly. You can walk to everything in Tombstone, and there is a small breakfast room on site that has the best cinnamon rolls I have eaten. The bad news is that the Wi-Fi is spotty, the cable TV is snowy, and the spots are narrow and tight. My husband, who is an excellent driver, took out a neighbor’s truck mirror trying to maneuver our rig between golf carts parked at the office and the campsites. If you have a large rig, you might want to think twice about staying here. We certainly will. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$25
This is a small family run park. The lady, Sue that runs it is super helpful - she gave me brochures and a recommended itinerary for the one full day we had in town. The park is about 3 blocks from the Mains street so you can totally walk to everything from here, and home from the saloons if you choose to have a few brews in a place where Doc and Wyatt drank. Sue offers home cooked breakfast, muffins and cinnamon buns every day - I had a cinnamon bun, it was great. The bathrooms were old but clean. On day 3 there was a big wad of hair in the drain, and it didn't seem to be draining - I told her about it and she said she'd send her guy out that day. We had a screaming fast Wi-Fi signal in this park. The pull through sites are really narrow, but if you have slides, the back-ins should be large enough for you. We originally parked at Tombstone RV about a mile out of town, but moved to this park when the other sites were not level, Wi-Fi sucked there and we'd had to have driven into town vs the 5 minute walk from this one. The guy there told us no other park in town even had any Wi-Fi - this is the second time we've been lied to by one park owner - don't believe anything one tells you about other parks, they just want you to stay at theirs. Overall - we will stay in this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$28
We stopped here for 1 week. Six weeks later, we finally left. The campground itself is not luxurious, but the people and the town make it hard to leave. The facilities are good and the breakfast cafe is outstanding. The owners and their staff are topnotch. If you like history and good people, this is a must stop. It is within walking distance of downtown Tombstone, where something is always happening. We are sure there is 1 grouch there, but we did not find them. The people make this place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2009
$35
The location is good. The lady who runs the park is very nice and super helpful (we also saw her in a period fashion show during the day). However everything else is barley acceptable, gents toilet and shower (there is only one) were not very clean at all. The park has some chaotic charm but we would not stay here again mainly due to the toilets/showers. However do go and visit Tombstone we always have a lovely time when we visit and will be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
Had a great time, very clean bathrooms and showers and enjoyed the breakfast every day. Very friendly and helpful. The owners are very knowledgeable of the town and it's history. A very easy 2 block walk to the downtown area of Tombstone. Use the cleaned laundry with no problems at all. Wi-Fi worked great. This area is 4600 ft so the weather was great. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
After experiencing major frustration and customer service issues checking-in to another RV park, we stumbled across the Stampede RV park. In appearance, the park was similar to all others located in the town of Tombstone. However, this one stands above the others in my opinion based on their attitude and personal care for their customers. We were given a choice of many spaces and assisted with set-up. After check-in, we were given an excellent run-down on what Tombstone has to offer, which included an excellent history lesson to compliment our day of attractions. The park was quiet and our space was adequate. After a day of touring and a good night's sleep, their morning breakfast was excellent and much like Grandma used to make or what you would expect from an old fashioned B&B. Their rates were also the most reasonable we found. If you are planning to stay close to the attractions in town, I highly recommend them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
Location, Location. It is in the town of Tombstone at the end of Allen Street. Lady is a wealth of information as well as her husband. She knows her town and will share information with you. Wi-Fi is still not working. Laundry was clean but only about half of the machines worked. Yes, in front of the office it is still cluttered. They offer breakfast in a small dining room at a reasonable rate. No other meals are available. Good electrical power on our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2009
$27
Sites are very cramped. Nothing for kids to do at the site. They advertise WI-FI; however it doesn't work. They also advertise cable hookup, apparently lighting hit the transfer box a YEAR ago and they still don't have cable hook up. You have to leave a $5 deposit for the bathroom key. Although the town of Tombstone is a nice place to visit, I wouldn't put my money into this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$29
Site was $23 plus $3 each for having more than 2 people. The park is a small sized gravel lot with an office building and a restroom building. There are some trees on the periphery but no trees inside/between spaces. We were offered either a pull through or back in space. We chose the back in because it had cable TV hookups. However, the cable didn't work. We never visited the restroom so can't comment on that. There is a lot of junk piled around the office which leaves a poor impression. The couple who runs the park were very friendly. They gave me a map tour of Tombstone and pointed out places to visit and good restaurants. There isn't much to the place but it is about a 3 block walk to Tombstone. We didn't see any RV park which was better so this park will work fine if you plan to spend your time in Tombstone anyway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$26
The campground itself isn't much, but they were working on water lines to improve them when I visited. The staff more than makes up for what the campground lacks. They are very knowledgable of the area and history of the town! I got a verbal tour of the town when I arrived, and got the low-down on the "must-see" places, which I greatly appreciated. It's very convenient to town as I had my dogs, and walked back a few times during the day to check on them. They ask you to walk your dogs outside the park because they allow tents on the sites too, but I was parked next to a walkway, so it was easy to step outside the fence. I only stayed one night, but got there early on Friday and left around noon on Saturday which was plenty of time to see what I came to see. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$29
Very small campground. Sites are close together. Personnel were very friendly and very knowledgeable of the area. The campground is close to downtown Tombstone. There was too much "junk" around the office area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com