214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Clear Creek RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (303) 278-1437
CGID6875

Clear Creek RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
36
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   8   7   4   3   10   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
Clear Creek (City of Golden, CO) campground is a very popular campground so call (we were told to call at 8AM) on the day you would like to arrive to see if they have a space for you. Don’t just show up. We walked into Golden and had dinner at the Old Capital Grill (15 min easy walk), but there are other eateries and shops available in downtown Golden. The campground is somewhat crowded, hard gravel and level so our automatic levelers didn’t need support plates. As the Denver-Boulder area had just suffered devastating rains, the park had been emptied and we were one of the first to call/return so we got a nice river site for our two day stay. As they don’t take reservations except for the day of your intended arrival, call ahead and be prepared to learn they’re full. Your summer stay is limited to a max of two weeks. They have a strong Wi-Fi. On the downside one camper along the creek had the back of his rig sprayed with graffiti. Nothing like that happened during our stay. Not all sites are rooftop satellite friendly, but there are enough local TV and radio stations to get with a standard crank up antenna. The staff is city employees – not camp workers and they do a nice job. We would return to this campground if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
This small city owned campground is a gem. We enjoyed watching all the rafting and tubing activity on Clear Creek. They don't take advance reservations. Call at 7am on the day you plan to arrive and they will let you know if they have a space for you. It was full every night of our 9 night stay. You can stay up to two weeks. It's a great location for everything in Golden, plus the mountain drives, and Denver are just short trips. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$21
This is a small but excellent park. The management is both friendly and helpful. A joy to deal with. The sites are close together but well worth the effort. Clear Creek has a great walking path with easy access to downtown Golden. The park is busy and tough to get into but you will like it once you do. All facilities are clean and well-maintained. We will stay here often! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
This is a nice small park near enough to town to walk to stores and restaurants. It is hard to get into as they do not take reservations. It is in a city park so you share it with a lot of locals. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
Small sites, barely enough room for the tow vehicle to park with the trailer. Camper behind us was close enough to reach out and touch the the back. We thought based on the description that we'd be able to walk to Golden, not really possible as it is a distance from the campground. In addition people not staying at the campground had easy access to the campground from the walking path. Do no think we'd stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
The playground was not actually on the campground; it was near the entrance in a city park, but it was easily accessible and fantastic. The walking trail along the river was great: kids loved it. However, we noticed non-campers coming into the campground from the walkin trail, at least one of whom was suspicious. The site itself was horrible for our 33 foot rig. No room to extend the slideout, and barely room to park our Wrangler. We self-registered after hours, so we did not have access to the bathrooms or Wi-Fi. We would not camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
Lovely small park, close to the creek where you can watch the people with the mini-kayaks. Walking/biking trail next to RV park. Flat site,clean grounds, close enough to Denver to see the sights there and close to Red Rocks and other area attractions, not to mention, Coors. The only drawback is that they don't take reservations. You have to call that morning or maybe the night before and hope for the best. 14 day stay is maximum. I would return in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
The good thing about this park is it's location, along a riverwalk, about 3 blocks from Historic Downtown Golden, beautiful setting. A lot of RV's parked in a small area, sites close together with little room to park tow vehicle. Gravel sites, mostly level, with paved interior roads. A dump station at the entrance, a short one-way road. The office staff was friendly and helpful. The restrooms/showers, and laundry were well maintained. Their Wifi worked excellent. They do not take reservations. I called the morning I wanted to arrive and was put on a list. When I arrived there were no full hook up sites available, so I took a electric only site. The next day a full hook site became available and I moved. It was a hassle, I don't know why they don't take reservations. Rate includes tax and Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$21
Our stay was very enjoyable. Being right next to a walking path along the river was perfect and the campground is within walking distance to downtown golden. Sites are small and our awning couldn't open because of a really close tree, but most people staying here were very courteous and respectful of the small space. Laundry area is clean and all machines were always in working order. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. October through May is when monthly rentals are allowed and I sure do wish they allowed it year round. Monthly rate of $635 during that time included electric and was a great deal compared to other rates in the area. Maybe not the best park for families if your intention is to have a lot of outdoor activities for the kids readily available. But perfect if you're just here to visit the town of golden and other local spots. We've really enjoyed our stay here and will be back next winter if we are in town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
We loved this little park! Yes, you are packed in tight like sardines & it's tough to get in but you are right on a lovely creek with a nice walking path and a 10 min walk into town. There is a city community center across the street with a full gym, classes, indoor pool & a lovely park. The staff was wonderful & the facilities extremely clean. We were able to get a few TV stations with our antenna. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
Very nice park. Getting a spot here is not handy but, it worked out. Friendly staff. Clean showers with plenty of hot water. We ended up with spot #1, right next to dumpster. Luckily the truck showed up at 0845 not 0700. Easy walk distance to a nice downtown area (and Coors tours). Bike trails nearby but was too crowded on Saturday to actually ride on it, better once away but very steep there too. No handy groceries. Spots very level. Awesome city playground just outside campground. Our spot had electric only which for just 2 nights was fine since there was a dump site on the way out We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
Awesome location in a great town. Nice river walk adjacent to the park that you can follow all the way downtown. Great shops and restaurants in town and a neat parks along the river. The RV park is owned by the city, seems well-maintained, and staffed by very nice folks. Only downside is that many spaces were extremely small and difficult to maneuver into. Had to park our car up near the office as there was no room for it at the site. But, the rates are reasonable, so we'll probably stay here again because it's so convenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
Very nice park next to the Whitewater park for kayak and canoe users. Nice walk and very close to town. In the middle of a park and recreation area. Nice people, quiet, and safe. We stayed longer than expected because it was so pleasant. Only take reservations the morning you want to stay, but you can stay up to 14 days (summer) if you want. Laundry machines were very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
We were traveling on I-70 and due to the holiday weekend we couldn't find a site close to the Interstate so we opted for this park as it is approximately 6 miles off I-70. What a pleasant surprise. It is located on a big stream and is within walking distance of Golden's business district. It's small but very well kept. No pull through sites but we managed to get our 42' 5th wheel in a spot on the creek. All utilities worked fine as did the WiFi. We liked it so much we stayed 2 extra nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
Wow! Small park but beautiful setting. Would have loved to stay for a week or two. Wonderful small town near Denver. Clean park on a stream with a bike path. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
We have stayed here three times and love the location by the river and walking distance to the town of Golden. There is a walking /bike trail that runs along the river and a town pool and park just around the corner. The spaces are tight and there is only one pull through. The park is small but we managed with a 40' motorhome, and it is only 20 minutes by car from downtown Denver. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$28
Pass this by if you're just here for an overnight. It would be a good place to stay if you were staying for a few days to enjoy the city of Golden and the creekside campground. Almost all of the sites were taken by rigs that were obviously there long-term. We were outside the 14-day limit time of the year. That left three sites with electricity only for us to use. The site we were assigned was barely long enough for our rig and getting our towed vehicle on the site was a feat. Our main concern was that the electrical power was very low voltage for most of our stay. Internet was off and on. We were also concerned that one of the two fresh water spigots for filling tanks was in the same space as the dump station and the other was at the back of an unused camp site. Park staff was nice and we were offered a 50-to-30 amp adapter if we needed one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
I like the location of this park, within walking distance to historic downtown Golden, along a river, with a wide walking trail. The laundry room has 4 washers and 4 dryers, all worked well and reasonably priced. Nice restrooms and showers. What I don't like is the hassle to get in. They don't take reservations, we were told to call at 8:00am when they open, on the day of our planned arrival to see if they had room, which they don't know sometimes until check-out at 11:00am. There were no full hookups available, so we took an electric-only site. They will put you on a list if you want to move to a full hookup when available. We stayed 5 nights toward the end of September, and they were full every night. Their Wi-Fi and our aircard both worked excellent. The dump station is in the middle of the short entry/exit road, which is tight and not wide enough for 2 rigs. The sites in the park have little maneuvering room and are back-in only. Staff is friendly and helpful. They have 50amp only, but loaned us an adapter for our 30amp. The $27.86 rate reflects the Good Sam discount for an electric-only site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
The previous reviews prepared us for the tight sites and the hassle to get in, since you have to call at 7am to get on the waiting list for that day. Didn't get a call back til 10am, that we were lucky. It's an interesting place. Loved the location next to Clear Creek, with all the tubers floating by, though there was a lot of foot traffic along the park. You can ride a bike from here, up the nearby mountain or east to Denver. Laundry room and showers were clean and efficient. Used VZ aircard and cell, TV antenna: all were strong. Biggest problem was the weak power, due to a heat wave and everyone using AC. Voltage was quite low. We paid $27.86 with our Good Sam discount for an electric only site. Good luck getting a FHU! Dump station is in the middle of the entrance/exit road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
The park worked well for us. We stayed with our kids and family friends, they were in a tent. Having the stream next to the park was nice for the children to play near, but a little nerve-racking at the same time as water levels were pretty high. There was a rec center nearby with a nice fitness center. It was a little too busy for our comfort and security. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
This campground is GREAT!!! One of the better places to stay. Staff id overly friendly and helpful. Sites are well maintained. You are only a short walk to the city of Golden and if you are lucky you will get a site right along Clear Creek, a mountain stream that runs down one side of the campground. If you ever have the chance this IS the place to stay in Golden. I will definitely say here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
Beautiful park along Clearwater Creek. Leveling may be a problem, some sites required MH to have both front wheels well off the ground. I couldn't get level in Site 6 (electric only), but it's the best site to see and hear the river. Ended up in Site D where WiFi was the best, TV reception was good and Verizon was very good. Light timer in the men's room was too quick, turning off the lights. Twice while taking a shower, the lights went off leaving me in total darkness. Opening and closing the shower curtain turned the lights back on. Staff is very friendly. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
This is the 3rd or 4th time we have stayed here. It is the only place in the Golden area to stay as far as I am concerned. All the good things everyone else has said I second. The sites are a little close back to back but side to side they are good. Lots to do and see in the area. The creek is very entertaining with the activities on it and the walk along the creek is great. Close to the school of mines. The staff is great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
Bingo. This the the park for staying in the Denver area. It is real cute. Clear creek runs right in front of it and has a walking trail that takes you into downtown Golden and links up with miles of other walk/bike trails. There is a kayak run right on the creek and public fishing, too. The spaces are a little close and tend to slope toward the creek. Hookups were solid. The wi-fi worked flawlessly. If the park had more amenities (pool, hot tub, rec hall, etc.) we would give it a 10. Otherwise it is perfect. Downtown Denver is about 20 minutes away via hwy 6. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$31
Very nice, surprisingly quiet considering the location is so near main roads. Nice facilities, clean and well maintained. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$31
This is a great city owned park, not to big but if you can get in try it. You need to call one day ahead of arrival to check on availability, no reservations. Mgr will hold you a spot if one is available. I wouldn't try if in a big rig. Our HM is 36 ft and it was tight, very tight. Had to park toad down the street. Sites are next to the Golden River walk and lots of locals use it for their daily exercise. Lots of dog walkers also. We loved our stay of four days. Golden is a fun town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$31
A lot of sites packed into a small location. Clean and friendly nice place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
A nice place to stay in Golden. The spaces are tight, but the park is clean. The manager is very helpful. Call at 7 AM the day you want to get in to get on the waiting list. He will call you back if he has a spot available. There is excellent Wi-Fi. There were some mosquitoes at dusk. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
As other reviews said, this is a well kept park and the managers are very cordial. There are full hookups, however because of the unique "first-come-first-served" situation they are always full. The uniqueness is that there are no reservations, and if you just show up you most likely won't get a space. You have to telephone the morning of the day you intend to show up, and there is a waiting list in most cases. You will then most likely be put in an electric only spot and you can then be on a waiting list for full hook ups when they open up. So, you need to decide if it is worth it if you aren't planning on staying a while. They raised the limit from 14 days to 30 days, so the "best" spots on the creek are always taken and you can plan on waiting to "rotate" into them if you stay long enough and are lucky enough. In all the spots you should plan on being only feet from whomever is next to you and in about half of the spots your backing skills will be tested due to the closeness and layout. Don't agree with the reviews who say big rig accessible. This would be rated an 8, 9 or even a 10 were it not for the closeness and how cramped it is. It is close to downtown, close to activities, very well maintained, convenient and the hosts are very cordial, but notwithstanding these attributes this is a very, very cramped park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$19
We stayed here for the winter, so the rates above are averaged out based on our monthly rate of $575.00. This rate included a flat electric fee of $25.00, which came in handy as outside propane tanks aren't allowed. Although a commercial propane station is just down the road, we didn't want to have to pull out once a week to refill. Some weeks, because of snow that wouldn't have been feasible anyway. The management is awesome here. They are friendly and accommodating. And we love the location! It's right on a beautiful creek and walking path that either takes you down to the library, recreation center and downtown Golden which is very charming and picturesque, or the other way, through a nice wooded open space park. Within walking distance is everything you could need including a little natural foods grocery store, park, ball field, tennis courts, microbrewery with an outdoor patio, dry cleaners, museums, the Foss Liquor Store (although unfortunately the drugstore closed), post office, restaurants, a new bookstore, coffee shops, banks, and more. The recreation center is state of the art with an indoor pool, running track and climbing wall. They charge $5.00 a visit (with longer term memberships available). The lots are gravel, but most are level, there are two pull thrus, and there are plenty of trees. I thought the way they intersperse a pink gravel around the picnic table areas adds color and keeps it from being drab or looking like a parking lot. There are grassy spots, picnic tables by the creek, flower plantings and things are kept tidy. The shower facilities are a little old - I never had a truly hot shower - but they are cleaned daily and I've been in much worse! If you use the laundry note that two machines are $1.25 and the other two are $1.50. The pricier machines actually do not work as well. It can get noisy here - several tenants had horribly loud motorcycles and liked to rev them up for fifteen minutes and then circle the park. There was also a lot of work in the area with heavy machinery this year (they cleared out the creek to make it more habitable to trout). The park is pet-friendly. There are no dog parks within walking distance but there are stations with doggie bags along the trail and garbage cans for disposing. The park doesn't charge extra for a second vehicle and the last few months the WIFI was free. The only other drawback about this park is they don't take reservations. I understand that the summer is much busier and noisier. All in all we were very happy to have discovered Clear Creek - we'll definitely be back next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$29
Sites are a bit tight if you are over 40’, but the location and setting make it worthwhile. The park runs along a fast rushing stream that is quite popular with inner-tubing locals. It is also close enough to downtown to walk, an extra plus for those without available transportation. Well kept and clean, it is a park we will return to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
Clear Creek RV Park is a sweet little park ran by the city of Golden. It is a small park on the banks of Clear Creek, which is more of a small river than creek. If you want to check out Golden, CO this is a good place to stay. The old downtown area is within walking distance. The RV sites are mostly back-in, and you will need to sharpen your reverse turning skills as there are lots of obstacles. The park doesn't take reservations, but if you call around 7 AM you can get your name on a waiting list for that day. Overall, I enjoyed staying there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
Very nice, well-maintained small city campground just blocks from downtown Golden. The staff was very friendly, and we enjoyed the scenic and short walk to downtown Golden. It's not the easiest campground in which to get a reservation, but it's well worth it if you're able. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$29
Good Sam discount applies to rate. Very clean city owned park. River runs along side of park where people were putting in Kayaks and tubes and floating down stream. We had no WIFI signal from where we were at, I did not know they had wifi. Lots of trees, no satellite signal, but good local channels. 1st come park, no reservations accepted, but you can call early and put your name on a list. Right in town and close to everything. 14 day limit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
Located 2 blocks from downtown Golden, on Clear Creek. Quiet, clean and easy to reach. Minutes from Lookout Mtn, Coors, Red Rocks, etc. Good Sam is honored. Some sites have grass, some gravel, roads are paved and there are trees, picnic tables. Not what we expected ended up staying for 5 days instead of overnight. If you kayak, people drop them right in the creek, big park right down the street with playground, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com