223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Kissimmee State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (863) 696-1112
CGID720

Lake Kissimmee State Park

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   10   5   8   9   2   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$23
Trails are bikeable with hybrid/mountain cycles. Gobbler Ridge (2.4 miles with some walk it sand) went down to Lake Kissimmee. Saw sandhill cranes and deer. North Loop Trail (4-6 miles) was well marked but not much seen other than pine needles and 2 tortoises. Well kept with friendly rangers. Worth a couple days. Large rigs should avoid site 13 despite 40' rating. All sites have foliage so get out the OTA antenna, dish won't work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$12
State senior rate shown. Great park about 15 miles from Lake Wales. Seems much further. We were there twice-November, 2013 in site 4 for 4 days and site 21 March, 2014 for 5 days. Privacy was good with brush and trees between most sites. Perimeter sites were the best with forest and wildlife right behind the sites. We don't fish but many people did and you could hear boats on the lake into the evening, especially air boats. Restrooms were clean and located at the center of the 2 circular loops and easily accessible from everywhere with paved and unpaved paths. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
This is an odd state park. I'll cover the camping sites first. All are back-in, surrounded by dense palmettos, pines, and live oaks. The "pad" is crushed shells and most sites looked level or fixable. Plenty of room on most sites. Privacy was good due to the dense vegetation. Restrooms were clean, showers were clean and private. For camping, the camping area was very good; no complaints. Now to the road. The campground is 3 miles from the entrance station along a road that wanders aimlessly through the palmettos and pines. I counted 56 separate turns in the road through a flat area between the entrance and campground. There are no spots to pull over on the road and nothing to do except pick up a trail crossing the road. But, with nowhere to park....The only parking in the whole park is at the small marina on a canal out to Lake Kissimmee. Without a boat, there is precious little to do besides 3-4 hikes. The park is 15 miles from Lake Wales and we chose it to visit Bok Tower Gardens. The nearest place to get a cup of coffee in the morning is about 3 miles away from the entrance station. There is a saloon across from the park entrance open in the evenings. We really like state parks, so would likely stay here again if in the area, but the road in the park was sure tedious; best driven as though on a slalom ski course. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
This is one beautiful place. The campground is four miles from the entrance, which is nine miles from the highway. Sites are well separated and spacious, with shade from trees. Bathrooms are very clean and everything works. It's the first state park I've seen with laundry facilities. Trails to the restrooms are laid out so that no one needs to cut through campsites. At night it is dark and quiet. No Verizon and barely an AT&T signal. Good Wi-Fi at the Marina. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
We've camped here a couple times in the last year because it's close to our house.... It's our little weekend get away place when we don't have the time to go far from home.... If your a true nature person or a fisherman you will love this place... lots of trails to walk... lots of wildlife to see and fishing in lake Kissimmee but nothing much else.... We don't really use this campgrounds for what it's intended for, it's mostly a quiet getaway for us as we rarely leave our RV while we're there. We prefer campgrounds on the beach so we can enjoy the ocean but this one works for us when we just need to get away. Nothing really special about it and you better book your site VERY VERY early or you won't get one. I wanted to book a site for memorial weekend but it's already full and booked online for months on the weekends ahead... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
By chance we picked the hardest site for us to get into from the ReserveAmerica website. Sites are mostly large and well screened by trees and foliage, but this is not a place for big rigs. The restrooms are large and very clean. Wifi is not available. There is a washer and dryer available for campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
Sites are spacious and have privacy due to all the vegetation. Bathhouses are in the center of the loop, with paths to it. If it is dark, it is best to take the paved handicap path or you might have difficulty figuring out which path goes to your campsite. Bathhouses are modern and very clean - better than most FL state parks. We didn't have any issues with electric (like previous poster) but we only require 30 amp. Our A/C etc ran just fine. The campground is pretty much out of the way, and nothing much nearby but RV parks, marina, and fisherman's lounge w/motel. Not to much to do there except for fishing (by boat). Many vacancies on a September weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2012
$20
This used to be a great campground but has really want down hill during the last year. It has becoming difficult to navigate due to lack of tree trimming and their electric power only produces between 105 and 110 volts, and therefore, no power. This should be listed as primitive camping only. Won't stay here again until they take care of their maintenance problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$26
Excellent park. Wildlife in abundance; deer, wild turkey, sand hill cranes in our campsite. Great hiking trails. We are going back next January. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
This is one of our favorite Florida places now and wished we had a boat. Access to the lakes are restricted to hiking, bikes, or by boat. There is a lot of water here, with gators, and some terrific fishing opportunities. There are two camping loops in a secluded quiet woodland area. Each site has plenty of shade, wild turkeys, deer and armadillos. During the weekdays the only noise comes from owls and distant air boats. The campground lanes are paved and previous post indicated they are good for big rigs. Perhaps if one drives really slow. I would not advise a 40' or bigger on the 3-mile entrance road and narrow campground lanes. There are plenty of curves, twist and trees to encourage stressful driving. Sites are composed of crushed shells and soft sand. We had site 47 and was able to obtain satellite TV. Verizon 3G was hit or miss and on some nights no Verizon. An RVer looking for the Snail Kite will likely find one out on the Gobbler Trail. We would of liked to stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$10
If you want to get away from civilization, this is the place. We did get TV on the antenna, but no wireless phone service. Didn't really care. Lot's of hiking and biking can be done. Facilities clean, and staff friendly. Site was level, shaded and spacious. Park well kept. Quiet weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$20
This is a good park for fishing and hiking. Also can do a good ten mile bike ride if you ride all the roads.If you like nature this is a good place to see it but is more like a petting zoo with people feeding the deer and sand cranes. Which I am not for as it is not good for the animals. Bald Eagles, Deer,Sand Cranes, Otters,Wild Hogs, are some of the wild life you may see. First the good is that all the staff are very good and friendly. Rest rooms are older but were very clean and in good repair. No heat or air as most of the older parks but very usable unless like us were there when it was close to 25 F Burr. Most of the camp sights were private. Now the not so good. Take what you need as it is about 14 miles to a Super Wall-Mart. That is the closest food store. There is no store of any kind in the park. There is one about 3-1/2 miles for things like bread and milk. If you go to town to eat stay away from Perkins on 60. It took us one hour to get food that was not up to fast food taste. Most of the camp sights are under trees and need to look for dead wood hanging over your RV that can come down in a good wind. Some sights are a lot better than others. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$17
Site #44. Site was large and shady with a sand and leaf base. 2 loops both with about 30 sites. Each has a bathhouse in center with a washer and dryer. Each site has picnic table and a combo fire ring/grill. Firewood needs to be brought in or purchased outside of park. Easy access dump station. Entire park has live oaks with a good canopy, great for climbing too. Day area has playground, observation tower has closed for renovation. There is a marina with boat ramp and boat slips. No air boats in park. No swimming because of giant gators. Pets allowed on leashes. Park has a cowboy camp during cooler months on weekends. Several hiking trails from .5 mi to 6.7 mi. Bikes allowed on trails. We did not have cell service in park (ATT) but did get good TV reception. Wildlife seen by us was turkeys, Sandhill cranes, birds, large gator, and deer. This was the first visit here for us that we saw the least amount of wildlife in park. Park ranger on duty when we checked in seemed a little flighty. She could not hold a conversation and do a task at the same time, therefore check in took longer than needed, especially when site was already paid for and paperwork was printed up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
This campground was awesome. There were plenty of wildlife to view including deer, turkey, raccoons and armadillos. The showers were clean and in good repair. The staff were very helpful and the campground was very well kept. We loved this campground and will definitely come back time and time again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$17
This was our second trip to Lake Kissimmee State Park, and it will not be our last. This time we were in site 58 (Loop 2), which was huge, shady and private, as well as perfectly level. The campground was pretty full, including kids, but the spread out nature of the campsites minimized noise and feeling of being crowded. As with our last trip here, the wildlife was prolific. Deer wandered through our campsite in the early morning fog. Armadillos and sandhill cranes also came through the campsite. Other sightings included wild turkeys, catbirds, hawks, osprey, ibis, tri-colored heron. Restrooms are modern and clean; the showers are the double kind, with a locking door; there was no curtain, however, between the shower itself and the changing/drying area. Hot water was plentiful through the showerhead, rather than the water saver heads often seen (and the shower not felt). This campground has a marina for small boats and airboats heading out to Lake Kissimmee itself. Near the marina area, which is also not far from the campground, is a nice playground for small children. There are also picnic areas and big open areas shaded by huge live oaks overhung with spanish moss. The campground is three miles from the ranger station at the entrance, but the paved road, which winds through the forest and scrub, is excellent for bicycling. Getting to the lake, however, has to be on foot, and it requires a fairly long hike on a sandy road; there are other hiking trails as well. There is also a cow camp, which we did not get to yet. Supplies are not available at the campground. Forgetting everything else, though, the natural beauty of the campsite alone is worth five stars. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$17
This was the largest, most private campsite we have yet experienced. It was surrounded by huge live oaks, covered with ferns. Gorgeous. Our campsite was visited by sandhill cranes and wild turkeys. We saw numerous deer, snakes, armadillo, and a variety of birds. Paved roads for bicycling good. Plenty of hiking. Down side was that the lake is a fairly long hike down a sloggy, sandy road; otherwise the only water you see is the canal which provides boat access to the lake. Nothing in the way of food or supplies for sale. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
This campground is Awesome.You would not think in the middle of Florida that you would have Deer & wild Turkey coming up to your camp site.This is a huge park. It seems like you will never get to the sites. Plenty of hiking and bike trails. We loved the Civil War era "Cow Camp", very informative. Lots of shade. Only draw back is the winding roads at sites with trees close to edge. I do not think big rigs will get by and did not see any there. Mac's fish camp up near entrance with boat rentals. Cypress Gardens about 30 minutes away if you take back roads. Ask the guard for directions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$28
The park is very old Florida, much of it is undistubed in it's natural setting. As for the lake, there really is any access to the lake from the State Park except by a canal and which there is no beach or swimming. The nearest town to do any eating or supplies is about 20 miles away, although a couple general stores are in the area. The campsites are very private with a lot of growth. The bathhouses are old but for the most part are clean. No real activities besides hiking, fishing and a cow school. One downfall is the amount of air boats out on the lake at midnight. It sounds like you are camped at a airport at times! :) We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$17
This is a true camping park. Lots of privacy between sites. Most sites are shaded, I think there were 3 that were not. There is a cow camp from the 1840's with a cowboy from that time frame who is there every Sat-Sun and holidays. Plenty of hiking trails, fishing, boat ramp, playground, and observation tower. There is no swimming at this park due to gators in water. Restrooms were very clean and on each loop they are adding a cement walkway to the RR for handicap access. Rangers were nice and not bothersome. One dump station for 2 loops. Central trash area, so racoons don't bother campers much. Lots of wildlife to see: deer, turkeys, opposums, racoons, armadillos, and fox as well as plenty of birds. Definitely will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com