220198 User submitted reviews online!!
Miami Everglades Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 57 user reviews. Phone: (305) 233-5300
CGID737

Miami Everglades Resort

Camp Information
Sites
330
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   3   8   6   6   9   9   9   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
This is a very clean, pretty park with lots of amenities. The pool is sparkling clean and has lots of chairs and tables around. The store is well stocked. The campfire circle, horseshoe and shuffleboard areas, basketball and volleyball courts, and the off-leash pet area are all attractive and well maintained. There is a very nice walk circling the campground. The main strength of this campground is its staff, however. From the time we made our reservation until we checked out they were courteous, knowledgeable, and friendly. The sites (there were 7 rigs in our group) were close to each other, and all had full hook-ups and 50 amp service. My only criticism was that our group was not allowed to use the clubhouse or tiki hut for meals or games unless we paid a very high fee. I would highly recommend this campground to anyone traveling in the Miami area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
I will never stay here again! We got reservations several months ago and made sure they were aware that we had a 43' fifth wheel. We arrived late to find our so called "super site" that we paid extra for was a "pull-in" and not a true "pull-through." What they did not mention at all was the SUPER low power lines that we had to drive under to get into our site. The campground was never full during our stay, so no reason they should have put us at this site. When we brought up the power lines to the employees they said they knew and had called the power company which obviously never fixed the issue. Our air conditioners literally drug the power lines as we pulled in. Once we finally got into the GRASS site, we tried to put our slides out and realized they wouldn't go because of how close the hookup pole is to the back of our fifth wheel. After many tries we ended up blowing a fuse in our hydraulic slides. Finally got pulled up way farther than we should have been just to be able to open our slides. Employees were nice but not very helpful in helping to tell us the best way to get out of the campground (super tight roads and no directional signs on any of the roads) or where to find 4th of July fireworks. However, the other campers at this campground are the rudest we have ever encountered in our over 8 years of camping around the country. We will not be back and would never recommend this place for a big rig or friendly folks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$48
This is a very good park. We stayed here for two nights and went to Shark River Everglades NP. It is well located for both Miami and the Everglades (Duh - Check the name!) Our site was a grass pull-thru but level and well maintained. The staff is also very good and very helpful. We didn't try the Wi-Fi - just easier to plan to use our hotspot. Coffee every morning with a chance to meet and mingle. This is a go to spot for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$56
Nice park but has many permanent trailers and workers. Staff is nice and they have a good camp store, complete with wine! Lots of social activities and pool looks nice but we did not use it or attend the social activities. Located in agricultural area so it is not near anything but it is quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$45
I was parked in an odd spot with for my 42 ft rig even though I made reservation 11 months ahead of time. Tree in the middle of my pull thru, cracked concrete patio block that has been run over many times so it has very sharp edges to potentially pop your tire & you have to run it over to fit into your spot, and an electric post position not helping the entire situation. The website states free wifi, but realize if you do the monthly rate then you will have to pay extra for internet. It is only free if you pay the daily rate. Nice 1 mile walking path. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$59
This park is a perfect 10 is almost every regard. The only reason I didn't give it that is due to very low water pressure at times and some tight and narrow sites in some places (ours was a very spacious super lot, so no problems). The park is beautiful, very well maintained, with lots of amenities. There are many activities that are very actively participated in. There is a large staff keeping things going, and they are all wonderful. A 1-mile paved path circles the park and is great for walking and biking (a little bumpy in places with a small wheeled bike). The park is perfectly located for going anywhere between Ft. Lauderdale to the Keys. The overall experience here is wonderful and you will definitely want to come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$60
My wife and I loved this park. Nice paved interior roads, and our large site (#152) was grass and perfectly level with a large concrete patio. Full hookups were good with strong power, water pressure and cable (we did not try the cable). The Verizon signal to our amplified Hotspot and phones was strong. There was a charge for the park's WiFi but it was very reasonable. We had a large tree over our site which helped with the afternoon sun but did not block our satellite signal. As mentioned previously, this park is located away from town in an agricultural area, which meant no outside road noise, and we were surprised how quiet it was inside this large park as well. We enjoyed walking the one-mile path around its borders several times. My wife counted 12 washers and many dryers in the laundry room, and a nice folding table was included. The pool was large and beautiful. We did not get a chance to check out the bathrooms or showers with all of the traveling we did into the Everglades National Park. Shark Valley is a must-do here, and is perfect for biking around to see all of the wildlife. The Flamingo Visitor Center is almost 60 miles away, but a nice drive and worth checking out. Great park, and although a little pricey we would definitely come back again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$69
We stayed here 3 nights. Had a "super site" on the end of a row so we had a little more space, which was nice. Lots are grass but level. Lots of open area in resort which is great.....and they have a nice walking track around the complex. Great little store in registration center with eggs, milk, staples, etc. Off leash dog park. Free wi-fi and cable. Friendly staff. Gave an info sheet with directions to local stores and services which was very helpful. Park is in agricultural district, so away from the crowds. But the turnpike and hwy. 1 are close by. The rate is a little high, but we found everything down here to be more expensive. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
This park used to be a KOA. It is in the farming country just outside of Homestead. Not a good location if you are using it as a vacation spot. The pool was great. It was very large and there was beautiful landscaping around it. The restrooms that were near our RV were located in a trailer and not very clean, but that's probably because there was a large teenaged group nearby staying in tents. There are some seasonal RV's there, but they kept their spaces neat and clean. The trees were very mature and well maintained. Our site was on the grass. We prefer cement pads, but it worked out just fine. The staff at the park were very nice and helpful. We had no problems with anything. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$49
WOW what a nice place. Just was there this weekend and I must say that the bad reviews are really wrong. If you don't like rules then maybe you should open your own place. A speed limit of 10 MPH is for safety and all rules should be followed. Anyway, we had a great time and if I lived closer than Jacksonville (376 miles away) it would be my go to campground. It is nice and clean, the restrooms are tiled and it looks new inside, the only complaint is the NO A/C. The pool is about 3' Deep and very clean, the basketball court is small but good for half court, the play ground is neat and clean, the club house has coffee in the morning and free computers for emails alog with a pool table, the whole park is well kept and the staff for the most part is helpful and friendly. The Resort is in the middle of no place (all farm and nursery land) which is really nice and the little CG store is full of stuff if you forgot something. If we are in the area again it will be the first choice. The only reason for the 9 is that there are no activities planned, but then there were only about 30 RVs in the whole place this weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2013
$47
This review is for Legacy RV resorts, which owns this park and a chain of RVparks, with around 20 locations throughout the states. They all seem to have nice amenities and a luxury atmosphere with camping rates to match. The facilities are generally staffed through something called a work camp program. Through this system, the company mostly  employs senior citizens living out of their RV's within the parks. A clever idea, give the bored retirees living here something to do, and save a bundle on operating costs. The result, however, can often be less than ideal for the younger vacationing crowd. Check into one of their locations, and you're given a list of about 101 rules and regulations. The mostly semi retired staff, with nothing better to do than mind you're business, makes it their mission in life to enforce every single one to the letter. Although these places look like they're probably a lot of fun, rule number one might as well be: NO FUN! Check out some of the reviews on their individual establishments on Google maps. Generally, the happy campers are also working there, and the fun seekers are dismayed. Save money, get a bigger campsite, and have more fun at a locally owned establishment, or a state park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$39
Check in/office staff were helpful and friendly. WiFi spotty and went in and out. Most if not all sites were pull through and grass , some had cement pads for picnic tables. Our utilities were adequate and functioning. Main complaint was that many of the non English speaking (primarily Russian and Spanish) fellow campers walked right through the center of our campsite. Our tow car was parked directly in front of our rig and they walked in between them passing by our picnic table. No consideration whatsoever! Maybe a cultural thing but it felt invasive. No sense of boundaries whatsoever. Like having neighbors back home cutting through your back yard!! First time I have encountered such a thing and by multiple groups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$55
A nice park away from hectic Miami traffic. We used our Good Sam card for a better deal. There's a great walking/bike path around the perimeter of the park too. It's a huge park, but relatively quiet considering its size. Grassy parking spots with large concrete "patios" make up the park. We like it here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$59
What a great RV Park. The sites are easy in and out and level. The staff is friendly and helpful. We extended our stay twice and stayed one month, and they we able to accommodate us with no problem. They have plenty of activities in the campground, coffee hour, an afternoon cocktail gathering, cookouts, potluck dinners, bingo and so forth. The campground is in southwest Miami, and it is easy to get around into Miami, the burbs, and the Keys. One of the best run RV parks that we have visited. We will return for an extended stay next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$59
This is a gorgeous park with beautiful landscaping. It is an old KOA (you can tell by the office building and some of the "lodges"). The whole park is wonderfully maintained: so clean and so pleasant. The laundry room is huge and airy. There's volleyball, a pool, a hot tub, shuffleboard, horseshoes, and a one mile paved track. There is free morning coffee and a congenial group of people who gather together. The park is very quiet: located in the middle of a bunch of commercial growers on the outskirts of the suburbs of Miami. The only negative is that their WiFi is terrible. I got one bar out of five: and you know what means. It isn't usable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
This is a beautiful park, set among nursery/garden centers. We felt very safe in the area. The campsites are among the prettiest we've seen. Very green beautiful grassy sites with concrete pads next to each campsite. People were friendly and helpful. There is a Bike/walking path around the perimeter that is lovely. We would definitely stay there again. Great place for the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$45
This is a great park. We have come here three times so far, and we always enjoy the environment. There are plenty of activities, pool, shuffleboard, etc. There is also a great paved walking/biking trail that is 1 mile long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$52
Price is for standard site with 30 amp with GS discount. Great campground close to the Everglades, Biscayne, not too far from Big Cypress and a 3 hour ride to Key West. Loved the rural setting of the place, we expected to have to deal with Miami city, but avoided that completely. Nice pool and spa, everything is in good repair. Great service from staff if we asked for anything. Little pricey, but considering the location and time of year, understandable. Didn't see any MH's having issues with the part of the park we were in, as earlier reviews noted, plenty of trees to give you shade and but spread out enough not be a problem with maneuvering. Would recommend this place as a base to see the National Parks from. Would have given them a 10 if we could put all our devices on the Wi-Fi, but it's limited to one device per site. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$60
This seems like a different park from when we visited it in November. Didn't realize how packed the place could be. Staff is still friendly but the facilities seem to have lost their sparkle due to the volume of residents. If you have a big rig like we do, make sure the person taking your reservation fully comprehends your size. Our 43 footer was shoehorned into a site that might comfortably house a 26 footer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$60
This is a decent place to stop before going down to the Keys. It is fairly close to the Florida Turnpike with easy access--five miles or so down a rural two lane road. It is out in the middle of orange groves. It's hardly what I'd consider a resort, but it's clean, has a nice store, and the staff and campers were friendly. The sites are grass, but some looked quite tight. We have a 45 foot motorhome, and I was guided to a site where I KNEW I could not get around a tree, and the gentleman was nice enough to move me to a more accessible site. Leveling our motorhome was no problem. I'd stay here again for an overnight if I were driving to the Keys, but it sure isn't what I'd consider a destination resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$62
Clean park but a little tight to maneuver a 45 footer in. Internet Wi-Fi intermittent. Mostly full of snow birds for winter, but they save some premium sites for short time visitors. Lots of activity for all who want to participate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$62
This is a nice clean campground away from the city in the country. The grass sites with nice mature trees were nice. This is an excellent stopping place on the way to the keys. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$65
Sites were a little tight for our rig, overall the staff and the regulars were very friendly. Campground is pretty much in the middle of farm lands but was quiet and peaceful. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$65
This is a fantastic campground! Staff members are very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were clean and modern. Laundry facilities were the best I've seen in any RV park we've been too and they were reasonably priced. Our kids loved the pool, the playground, and the shuffleboard. We stayed here overnight on our way down to the Keys and came back for 4 nights while we visited Miami on our way back up the coast. The only reason that I didn't give this campground a 10 was location - it was slightly out of the way, which can be a big deal in Miami traffic. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$42
The park is located about 5 miles off the turnpike. Our power steering hose blew as we pulled into the park. Staff was very helpful getting us parked and finding a mobile mechanic. Sites are long, level, and grassy. Showers are clean and have good water pressure. There is an enclosed dog run, about 60 x 60, pick up bags are provided. The spa and pool are very nice. Other recreation includes shuffleboard, horseshoes, ping pong, and a paved walking path around the perimeter of the park. There is morning coffee at the clubhouse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$41
Very clean park amongst a bunch of plant nurseries. All grass lots that I saw. Several tent camping areas. You could pick avocado's if they had fallen from the trees. The pool is very nice with a hot tub next to it. Big permanent umbrellas by the pool kept you cool. Well stocked store but restaurants are not open during the summer. My GPS took me through some pretty skinny neighborhood roads with low hanging branches to get to this park from the Keys. Felt very safe but would recommend eating at the campground as it can get shaky if you do not know where you are going to find a restaurant. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$41
This is a great park; an old KOA, that has been improved. A nice stop close to Miami. Rate reflects weekly. Sites are grass, some shade, nice pool. Easy access from turnpike. Well maintained and all facilities were clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$50
This park is huge. They are very family friendly with a lot of activities for children. I parked in the pull through sites and my only complaint would be that we got eaten alive by bugs. I would camp here again but I would buy a case of citronella candles and circle my unit before going outside. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$73
Miami Everglades is my favorite stop on the way to Key West. The campground is spotless and the staff if very friendly. The sites are well situated and convenient to the store, swimming pool and the clubhouse for the nightly “cocktail time”. The park is very dog friendly with a long walking trail. We needed to unhook the toad because the pull through spots are not long enough for the coach and toad, however, this was not an inconvenience as we always enjoy visiting the terrific fruit stands and restaurants in the area. The address for Miami Everglades really should be Homestead FL. Upon leaving the park you find yourself on the Overseas Highway within 30 minutes. We will stay at Miami Everglades again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$57
Nice, shady park with paved roads and grass/sand sites. Our site was not level and it appeared that you would have some leveling problems at any site. Had a nice 1-mile walking path all around the park. The pool was great, so was the hot tub. (only problem was no restroom at the pool). The park had activities including volley ball, shuffle board and some evening events. Staff was friendly and helpful. Everyone we met was friendly. Only real complaint we had was the Wi-Fi. It was spotty and frustrating to use. Price included a Good Sam discount but still seemed high. Park is located well away from Miami in the farming region. No place to walk to outside the park. If you wanted to do anything like shopping, restaurants or movies, you had to drive to it and it was always a long drive. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$58
Things were looking great when we registered at this RV park when they told us the owner is here and there is a wine tasting tomorrow at 3:30. To our disappointment, they moved it ahead 2 hrs at the last minute and had no way to notify the 300+ campers, we missed it. The park was well kept and clean. Most everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. There is a paved walking, biking path around the perimeter of the park which is about 1 mi, this was a big plus for anyone who tries to exercise on the road. The park is covered with avocado and mango trees, yours for the picking, as long as you are here during the season in which there is fruit. We were not, fall is the harvesting season. The park is located where there are many tree and produce farms and fruit stands are a plenty. We stayed in one of their “super sites” which has about 30 extra feet of grass and trees in front of the site. The sites are extremely narrow, about 10’ between each RV. Every site has a paved patio but ours happened to be the only one without because of the large electrical pole (site 122). Sites are grass but very level, didn’t have to use any leveling apparatus. This park was a KOA 9 yrs ago yet they still honor the KOA discount and the Good Sam discount. That put our stay on a super site to $58 plus tax per night. During the end of January, there was no noise and plenty of friendly campers here for the entire winter. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$62
The $62 nightly rate includes $10/night for two children and was water and electric only, not full hook-up. Their website does not indicate that there is an extra $5 per night charge for each child, which brings the already high rate up. I didn't find out about the extra fee until I checked in. The lady who checked me in was friendly, but must have been new because it took a long time on the computer to get me checked in. She also did not know where the nearest big rig friendly diesel fuel could be found, nor did she know how to get to the Everglades Visitor Center. While checking in, the manager came over to help her with the computer and made a very snide remark about the site we reserved. She shook her head and said that it was ridiculous that we didn't want the full hook-up 50amp site with a 40' motorhome. She was not at all friendly and I felt uncomfortable. The interior roads to the pull-thru sites are extremely narrow and grass. The site was long, level and grass. The WiFi was in and out. The park is pretty and clean. The bathrooms and showers were clean. The dressing area in the showers is very narrow due to a large built-in bench which takes up most of the space. The pool and playground are nice. The day we left, we felt the vibrating and thumping of bass music that started at 9:00 in the morning. When I looked out of the window, a large school bus full of teenagers was unloading under the pavillion and the music was extremely loud. The school bus was still blocking the road when we pulled out. We had a problem getting someone to move the bus because we couldn't find anyone that spoke English. The location is good for visiting Everglades National Park and Miami. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$47
Rarely do I give a 10 and probably should have for this CG. Very clean, well laid out, lots of trees and greenery. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Quite a few seasonal and permanents, but mostly their sites were well kept. Escort to site. Bathrooms were modern and smelled and looked exceptionally clean. Large well stocked CG store. In short, a great campground, priced right. The only negative is that the rows for pull-throughs are a bit narrow making it a tad bit difficult to pull in, but with the help of a campground host it was no problem. We would definitely stay here again, hopefully for more than one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$45
Large, level, grass pull-through and all the utilities worked as expected. Easy access to the eastern and southern Everglades which was the reason we stopped here. Large, heated pool. Clean, convenient, and functional. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$42
It is an older park and they have tried to keep up with the times. They have no control over the business next door that has a loud and late night party while we were there so I did not mark them down for it. How ever they could and did not shut down the tent campers and cabin campers who turn their car radios up loud so they can hear the tunes. Don't you go camping to get peace and quiet? Overall an OK campground and I would stay if back in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$23
This has been one of the nicer RV parks we have stayed at. The spots are grass and some have concrete pads. Only comment on the grass is that the spots are not level meaning setup takes a little patience. Verizon signal was strong for both cell and data cards. This location could easily be described as a resort and during their season which is winter and fall, they have an activities director and constant fun. The pool and spa were always heated and beautifully kept. Our rate reflects a one-month calculation the park would've received a 10 from us but their daily rate is a bit high. From the park you have quick access to the Everglades National Park, a straight shot down to Key Largo, and a little drive over to South Beach. It is actually quicker to go to Fort Lauderdale via the turnpike than it is to try to make it to South Miami. Overall a great location. Although this site categorizes this resort as being in Miami it is actually closer to Homestead. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$49
We stayed March 14 through the 18. The staff was very nice, the park was well maintained, and we would stay again. The campers in the park were very friendly also. I would recommend for a stay in the Miami area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We used this as a stopover on the way to the Keys. We were pleasantly surprised. We arrived very late with no reservations, but found the self check-in very easy. A covered desk area at the front of the office provided pre-filled forms for several suggested sites allowing a selection of 30 or 50 amp sites. The place was very clean and well maintained. Sites are all pull throughs so we didn't even need to unhook the toad. Office staff was very friendly and helpful the next morning when we settled our account and checked out. This place is in a agricultural area completely surrounded by tropical plant farms for miles. At night the approach is very hard to see with a very small sign, and not many street lights in the area. It is a relatively easy drive from there through Homestead back onto US1 and the Keys. We will keep this place on our list to stop on the way to the Keys, or as a base for going to Miami. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
Friendly/helpful staff with beautifully maintained grounds. Sites are on St. Augustine grass. Neighborhood is nursery/farms, rather rural. We stayed here drive into Miami for meetings. I wouldn't stay stay here for a destination park, but its a good place to stay. Good access to the north keys. There are no restaurants within walking/biking distance, you need a car. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$49
What a pleasant surprise on our way to the keys. Great Pool and Hot Tub, clean facilities, large laundry and a wonderful walking path around the park. Easy to get into and fairly level sites. Everyone working is extremely friendly and more than willing to help in any way. We enjoyed this campground so much we came back on the way out of the keys to spend a couple of evenings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$60
We were surprised to find this campground so close yet far enough away from the city of Miami. The campground is clean and have a great pool. It is round. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Liked the trail around the campground. Bathrooms were clean. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$58
The campground offers many activities during the winter months. Receptive and friendly staff. Campers get together on the deck for complimentary coffee each morning, making it a great opportunity to meet people. A clean store with some food items is available in the campground. There is a large pool and hot tub. We were late in making reservations and could not get a 50 amp site but did okay with the 30 amp. The grassy site was adequate for our big rig. Overall, it was a decent place to camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$63
This campground is well maintained. The employees have been friendly. After reading the prior reviews we didn't know what to expect, but apparently a lot of changes have taken place. The only negative is we couldn't get a 50 amp site. The last Nascar race will be in Homestead and the campground will be full towards the end of the week. Other than that, our site is large, the pool is great, the laundry area is good, the campground is surrounded by nurseries. The paved walking trail is a plus. Overall we have enjoyed this campground and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
We had stayed at this campground when it was a KOA and although, it was OK then, the new management has made some great changes. Restrooms clean, staff very polite and informative. The campground was well taken care of and a very enjoyable experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2007
$59
Reading priors reviews up to this one shows the decline in the quality of this particular park. Under new management, this park has gone from desirable to undesirable in the past few years. If you want to experience campground managers who have never read "How to Win Friends and Influence People" this is the place to visit. During the 2005-2006 season, this campground went through FIVE different sets of managers, and several assistant managers -- one of whom we encountered one hundred miles north who expressed his dissatisfaction with senior management in such vulgar terms that I was embarassed. This year, his assessment proved to be eerily accurate. The current management picks and chooses which rules and policies to enforce and has even told seasonal campers that those rules are subject to "his' interpretation. Only after suggestions of legal action if injury resulted, were missing lights replaced, two-foot deep holes filled in (althought those campers had to then buy the grass seed and straw to replant at their own expense or live with mud for weeks.), and a site leveled so that the motorhome of a handicapped individual did not have to be leveled by adding boards to the front of the rig to the extent that it was dangerous to the inhabitants. At least one paying camper has been asked to "seek a campground elsewhere" because of management's inability to resolve a conflict with an employee who has had several conflicts with several different seasonal campers (Does that suggest to you who is at fault?). And even though the survey company claims coincidence - the camper who has had next year's deposit returned and who has been asked not to return, received a survey asking for his opinion of the campground and management. This on the very day of his confrontation with the manager. So if you want a beautiful setting with management and staff that one French Canadian described as UGLY, this might be the place for you. Bring lots of money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$45
This was our first time at staying at this campground and found it to be very quiet and clean. The pool and hot tub was well maintained and both were very clean. There is an on site restaurant across from the office and pizza's can be ordered and pickup. The management was excellent and escorted us to our site and informed us that if we needed anything to let them know. There were not many campers during our visit, but we were told by another camper that there had been a lot of transient workers camped there during the hurricane clean up. The only reason I did not give a 10 rating was the signs to the campground was very poor, there was a large sign with the campground name on it but, no arrows pointing to the campground. We drove past the campground and had to turn around and go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2006
$58
Signage directing you into the park is poor. One obscure sign near main road easy to miss. (Thanks for GPS). Probably my fault but I never asked if they were a Good Sam Park. However, they never asked if I was a Good Sam member either. Most places have the courtesy to ask. There were no Good Sam signs that I noticed anywhere at the facility. That was a $28 discount/mistake that I'll never see. There was confusion upon arrival as to the power requirements I needed and I probably paid for 50 amp service although I only needed 30 amp. I was originally booked for a 30 amp site (#169) but that was changed between booking in August and arrival date. It was nice that I was brought to the site by an attendant. He was immediately reminded by my neighbor and it was pointed out to him that the dog messes from a previous camper still had not been picked up. The front office was also notified. (They allowed a camper with 5 dogs on the site. You have got to be kidding). When I left 5 days later, the crap was still here. This is not acceptable. For $58.00 a night, the campground management should be ashamed. Sites are small with many older long term rigs scattered about. It appears that there is some type of self contained treatment facility in the park next to the main office. Beware if you're in the area of sites 235, 236, 257, 258, because there was a constant stench coming from those tanks. Sewer connections are a long reach for some rigs (makes sure you have and extra 15 feet and a coupling), and cement patio pads are not situated well for most rigs. General appearance is OK and the park was quiet (except for the 5 AM whistle blowing train that runs adjacent to the property). For those rates, I would expect a lot more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2006
$60
This used to be a KOA - as such, it's really not compatible with big rigs. When I called to reserve the spot, I informed them that the length of the rig was 42' with 4 slides - I overestimated because I knew that KOAs typically have trouble with larger rigs. They assured me we would fit just fine. If you consider having very narrow streets and manuevering around trees and a cactus (yes!) that are planted at the rear of the site as fitting "just fine", then I guess it is big rig friendly. Overall the park was okay - there are a lot of what looks like very long term tenants - it looks as though some havent moved in quite awhile - $60 a night is overpriced for the aesthetics of this campground, but the employees were very nice. We were here in a 40' motorhome with 4 slides. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$53
This is the same campground with reviews under Miami/Everglades KOA but the campground is no longer a KOA. We only have a 30 ft class A and did not want sewer hook-up so they put us in GP6 along the grassy back edge of the park and we greatly prefered it to the more congested regular RV sites. It was a bit of a distance from the showers and didn't have cable but the site was very large, partially shaded and level with nice views forward of the play field and horizon. The whole park including the bathrooms/showers and laundry room was extremely clean and well kept. The park is surrounded by plant nursery's and other agriculture so the area is pretty quiet. We did hear a couple of trains go through nearby. The park is very close to the excellent Miami Metrozoo and we liked the Hunt Brothers Pizza right in the campground. Expensive but they are a Good Sam park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2006
$58
We were quoted $45 per night over the phone and charged $58 per night when we got there 1 month later. Like many campgrounds they have a no early cancellation policy but this one has it with good reason because after we saw the site we would have left and stayed in a WalMart instead. They said they have WiFi, but it wouldn't reach the site we were rented, so no internet access. We have our own cell-phone-based system but use it only as last resort as it is slow. Speaking of site selection, we were on space #114. Next door to us on #113 was a campground employee with a really nasty looking site. He had spread out with laundry hanging out, rusty BBQ grill, was growing tomatoes on his site and had a junky old truck and an old Caddy that couldn't be driven due to bad brakes. The folks in space #115 thanked us for parking next to them and blocking their view! I could go on about the place but to be sure I won't be staying at the Miami-Everglades KOA again, it was a pit! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2006
$56
This park is designed for those people who never want to leave the property. They have plenty of scheduled activities for their guests everyday such as bingo, shuffle board, poker, swimming pool, pool table, pot luck dinners, etc. But you pay for it in the long run with the steep nightly fee. We used the campground as a home base for our visit to Miami. The park had clean restrooms but the sites were very compacted in: very close to your neighbors. The park did have a excellent store on the premises and for a bonus a pizza joint inside the campground: this sure was nice. The park is quite a way from Miami. On my next visit I will stay at a less expensive and closer to Miami park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2006
$40
This campground has all the amenities and is extremely clean. Thats the good news, the bad news is they allow a bunch of itinerate roofer workers to live in their tents on the grounds. When I got to my site there was no picnic table and Ii had a park worker tell me that these roofer workers had taken my table. When I asked him who are these people that are not in sites he said he didnt know it was some deal with the mgmt. Loved the park but wouldnt go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2006
$70
Desk staff friendly, knowledgeable. Many pull-through sites convenient for Big-Rigs. Internet available for a fee. Downtown Miami was a good hour's drive away and park is closer to Homestead. Close to Everglades NP and Monkey Jungle. Pool was very well-kept. Sites were grass and may be very soft during wet season. Nightly rate seemed a bit high given the remote location of the park and lack of paved sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2005
$77
This was a o.k. park for a overnight. We had a pull-thru site. Very close to sites next door. We thought the 77.00 was very high for 2 adults, 3 children. We did have a concrete pad, but pull-thru was grass. Just didn't think it was worth the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$30
Campground was neat and clean - excellent showers and rest room facility. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was just a tad difficult to find because I wasn't expecting the road to turn onto to come up so quickly and missed the signage. It was a great spot to stay, to and from key west, if you are taking a slow ride up and down the keys. We will stay here again next trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$23
The park is eat off the floor clean, staff is friendly and hard working. If there is a problem it is addressed immediately. The new owners have worked hard to bring it back to a campground that you would visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$40
A really nice park and excellent staff. Beautiful mango trees all over the park. If ever in the area again I would stay there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com