219095 User submitted reviews online!!
Pinery Provincial Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (519) 243-2220
CGID7691

Pinery Provincial Park

Camp Information
Sites
1000
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$49



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   10   10   10   9   7   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$49
I wish park officials would realize that we need height room to get to our campsite without scratching up the unit. Park was clean and fairly well maintained. Electric and water worked well. Our RV is 40' long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
The Pinery is a campground we frequent and love its very "natural" setting. It is a park we enjoy visiting to go bike riding, take nature hikes, spend time at the beaches, and go on the excursions hosted by the Naturalists. This visit, we enjoyed the Sunset Stroll along the beach and learning about tide patterns and the eco-system at the park. The guides were very friendly and knowledgeable. Our site was small and the electrical hook-up was in an awkward location so it required a very long extension cord to reach from our camper. Not all sites had this issue, but be warned that you might want to be prepared. The General Store has a great supply of anything you could need during your stay and we took advantage of its reasonable prices and convenience. My only complaint is that the Wi-Fi hasn't worked any of the times I've been so don't count on it if you require it. The washrooms are modern and well-maintained. The "vault" areas are less than desirable but good in an emergency. The showers are fairly roomy and clean but there are often lines. One issue we have is that we always have to book many months in advance to get a site at this campground. If you can't book 5 months ahead, you likely won't get a site, or at least a specific one that you are hoping for. It would be nice to have more flexibility with booking but these sites fill up very quickly. Overall, the staff was very friendly and helpful and we left the park wanting to come back again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
This is a great park to camp in. We generally camp here off season as it is very difficult to get a site July through mid-September. Washrooms and showers are spotless at all times, lots of hot water. Dumping stations easily accessible. Beach is very nice and the have a dog beach which is a huge draw for us. Thanksgiving and Halloween in this park are truly events not to be missed! Park Store has just about everything you could have forgotten at home and then some. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
This is our third visit to this park. We stayed in the Dunes Campground, Area 4 (site 294). This was a huge site with lots of shade. There was a hill behind us and it was quite a distance to the adjoining sites; so it was very private. The new bathroom and shower facilities are fantastic! We loved canoeing on the river and swimming in Lake Huron. We will be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
We stayed in a site along the river, lots of room for our MH on our site with a view of the river. We had our canoe and spent many hours in the river. Lots of wildlife in and around the river. They have miles of paved roads in the park for biking. There is also a large beach on the lake. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$34
This was our second stay at this park. This time we were in the Dunes Campground (286). This is an electrical site, but the power post was 50 feet away from the best location for the trailer. The site was very private - no one on one side (site closed for rehab), no one behind (nice bluff), and quite a distance to the next site. It was nice and shady, but we did get a bit of afternoon sun on some of the site. It was fairly level. The bathroom facilities need to be rehabilitated as they are quite old. In particular, they need some more shower facilities (separate showers would be nice). In the Dunes area 4, the bathroom building did not have showers. As others have said, this is a beautiful park with lots of hiking, biking, and other outdoor activities. We'll be back in a couple of years. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
A very large park and very popular, shows signs of use (trash in parking lots and along roadways & trails). Several campground units, we stayed in Riverside Area #1, Site #398 . Sites have good space between each other with thick vegatation, but site was shallow. In our area nearly all sites were pull-through. Park was thick with poison ivy - a concern for those with kids or pets. Several beaches, including one for dogs - nice and sandy. Restroom buildings planned to be replaced in 2009 (according to park staff). Dunes campground seemed tighter - better for tents or smaller units. Great bike trail around park. Many locations for picnics. Park store with small restaurant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
A large park with considerable separation between the various campgrounds and the beach access. Only the Riverside CG was open in May - it has some electric sites along the edge of the river and most sites are shaded. The overall size, level and privacy of campsites varies considerably. If driving a motor home you will need to checkout the suitability of the available sites. From Riverside CG its about a 3 mi drive to the beach area where you walk across large sand dunes to a long sandy beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
This is a fantastic park on Lake Huron. We camped in the Riverside campground (area 1, site 487). This area has pull-thru sites (with electricity) and 12 rental yurts. There are electrical sites also in Riverside area 4 and in the Dunes campground (near Lake Huron). The kids loved swimming and playing in Lake Huron. The beach is very sandy and the lake is shallow. The 14km bike trail is a nice ride around the park. Good store on-site with a snack shack. We'll be back next year! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com