221698 User submitted reviews online!!
Gold Dust West Carson City RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (877) 519-5567
CGID7863

Gold Dust West Carson City RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
48
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   9   7   6   7   8   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
Return trip here. Hookups, Wi-Fi, space, location all great. Cable TV is now a box to hookup. It doesn't work. Noticed several campers with the same problem. Staff, friendly, said they are going back to regular cable. They told us that 7 months ago. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
Pictures on the web site do not show how "tight" this park is. It is more a parking lot than an RV park. Our unit is 39' and we barely fit into a space. Couldn't put our awning out because the neighboring rig is too close. The dog park is little more than a 30 by 6 feet. sand pit. Would not return to this park, ever! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
The park was well maintained. The sites were a little tight, but we managed ok. It was nice to have grass between the sites and trees. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$31
Very clean campground. The only problem I had was they were landscaping the park and the landscaping company started at 6 am in the morning. I thought this was a little bit inconvenience for the people camping there - I did not complain I just went with the flow. They also were watering the new turf and the sprinklers were not set just right so several motorhomes got soaked during the night. The campground was very quiet. The casino food was reasonably priced and pretty good. I would stay here again if need be. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$33
This is the second time we've stayed at this park and it probably will be our last. First, the good: Wi-Fi and water pressure are excellent; the location is convenient to the rest of Carson City and, 13 miles away, historic Virginia City; and the casino restaurant has passable food at inexpensive prices. Next, the bad: the spaces, although landscaped, are short and narrow, too short for a full sized motorhome plus tow; registration is at the hotel front desk and of the desk clerks I spoke with during our three day stay, two were noticeably curt, and the third was downright rude; although there is a small pet area, it is too small for exercise (there is an adjacent paved overflow parking lot); and the noise from the adjacent freeway, while not overwhelming, can be distracting. Finally, because this park operates as a hotel, it stores your credit card information and posts charges as they accrue, all well and good, except that, without telling you, the park will post a $100 “authentication” charge at check-in, which, with luck, it will credit back when you check-out, and, in our case, the park charged us for four nights when we had stayed only three, requiring a follow-up phone call and bit of an argument to get the extra night’s charge removed. Daily and monthly rates only, no weekly discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$27
A relatively quiet and secure park located on the far side of the Gold Dust Casino parking lot. All paved sites, close together with a minuscule grass area and small trees. Maneuvering with a large rig can be a bit tricky, and the pull through sites are a bit too short for the tow to remain attached. Registration is a walk across the parking lot to the casino hotel registration desk. Very friendly staff at the casino and a good restaurant with daily specials. Verizon Cell and Aircard worked well, and the park's free Wi-Fi and cable TV were also very good. If full, this park would be very cramped, but we were here during the off season and there was plenty of room. Convenient access to highway 395 and Carson City downtown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Spent a couple nights in Tahoe and wanted to get away from the hype. Checking for close by parks we happened upon this. Many casino parks are simple and not worth staying at unless you really want to be there. This is quite the exception. Although the sites are close, we found that it was a very quiet park and also very clean (I think the hotel staff work here too). The hotel offers two good restaurants, bowling alley and of course gambling. Definitely worth staying here if you want to visit this area. We'd never planned to come to Carson City, but glad we did. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
Nicely paved lot with grass strips between sites. Trees are big enough to get some shade. However, the sites are so narrow that we had to jockey to get the tree between slides and still miss the utility post. Pull through just fits a 40 footer without tow. Rating: No Pool -1, Site size -1 = 8 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Very nice park, staff is friendly, restrooms and showers very nice! Would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Nice asphalt parking with grass, picnic table next to it with some trees. Have both pull through and back in spots. Easy registration but I don't care for walking up to hotel to register for RV when they can have the registration in building next to RV campground. WiFi connection available but it was variable on its speed. Easy access off of freeway. Would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
The customer service I received at this park was excellent and I would gladly stay here again. Some of the sites looked a bit messy but overall it's a nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
We stayed here in a 40' 4 slide motorhome with tow vehicle. We were in backup site B-46. Asphalt roads and parking area. Grass and table. Full hookups with 50 amp. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
A nice quiet park very close to the freeway, but this doesn't affect the noise. Handy for touring the area. They don't do weekly rates which is a shame as I am sure it would encourage people to stay longer. Check in was nice and easy. The only downside I noted was their dog walking area, it was really small and full of weeds and grass so much so that my small dog wouldn't use it. I walked up to their large vehicles' parking lot at the edge of the casino property which was nice and quiet to walk her. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Park was very quiet considering the location right off the new 395 freeway section. Check in is now done through the hotel in the casino, but was very smooth and they let us pick our own site. Bathrooms were very clean. Good central location for seeing Carson, Reno and Virginia City. There is a bowling alley in the casino. All sites have a table and small grass patch. We stayed here in a 34 footer and the back-in site was large enough for us. The sites have trees which are a fair size for some shade. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
Sites are very small and it is very difficult getting into site. Had to park dinghy in casino parking lot. There is a small dog run. Very little noise and casino has cheap eats. Not a destination stop. Very little night lighting for walking dog. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
Paved roads and sites, grass between sites with a picnic table. Sites are level. There are trees between sites. Back-in sites are along the edge and the pull-through sites are not long enough to leave a tow attached. Turns are a bit tight and sites are closer together than desired. Water pressure was high, be sure to use a reducer. Cable TV has many channels but at our site the picture was fuzzy. Very fast Wi-Fi, better than Verizon air card which was slow. Some road noise from the nearby freeway. This rate was for a 50 amp, pull-through site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2009
$31
Today the Gold Dust West Carson City RV Park is hosting the Hispanic Music, Car and Motorcycle Show. The activities are less than 10 feet from my RV. The speakers are vibrating my entire travel trailer. I cannot use a cell phone or hear my TV. I was informed only yesterday of the activities. The management would agree to no refund or compensation for a day of noise and misery. I have been a frequent (often extended stay) customer for over 10 years. I will never stay here again and cannot recommend Gold Dust West Carson City RV Park to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$37
Sherri, the manager was the most delightful person we met on this trip...very helpful to us and an asset to them!! We had a paved back in site with some shade and tall pines around us. Hook-ups were perfect. The bath/showers are individual rooms with sink, toilet, and showers. Very nice and private. They gave coupons for 1/2 price meals, free drinks, comp slot plays so they appreciate your business. Restaurant was coffee shop style but had very good food and reasonable prices. Casino was nice, too. We enjoyed our stay and will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
This campground was convenient as it was close to the freeway and also a retail area. The Gold Dust West casino is just a short walk away. The sites were small and required some maneuverability for bigger rigs. The park is "pet friendly" but we were asked to keep the dogs off the grass and use only the "dog run" in the back. The "dog run" is a big parking lot adjacent to the casino that is not entirely fenced in so we were not able to let our dogs off-leash. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$24
Overall, this is a nice park, especially for a quick in and out with access to grocery, casinos, freeway, and local attractions. Sites are very close. No cable, only a few local channels. BUT, and it's a big BUT, the sites not very big rig friendly, at least in the definition of my big rig. Maybe we need a new definition of what a big rig is. For motor homes up to 40 feet, there's easy access in and out of the sites after you unhook your tow vehicle. But, if you're a 40 ft 5er being pulled by a large pickup or medium-duty truck, it's a pain. Forget about getting out if your neighbor's car/truck is parked in front of or next to their motorhome or trailer. Especially if you're in the row next to the main building. Everybody with anything bigger than a Ford Explorer has to park sideways across the front of the trailer because the side parking spaces for the site are for a compact-size car. Other than this one issue, it's a real nice little park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
The park is really tight and spaces are really close. Not much room to park your toad. Many full time RV campers here. Nice casino. Wifi available in the nearby casino office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com