218149 User submitted reviews online!!
Falcon State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (956) 848-5327
CGID8177

Falcon State Park

Camp Information
Sites
117
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   6   10   9   4   9   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$18
Great park if you are a birder. Also, boat ramps for the fisherman. Staff was very helpful and interested in making this a great experience. We would love to come back in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$16
$16 per night was for a full hookup site at their weekly rate plus a couple of days. In addition, a daily entrance fee of $3 per person is charged unless you have a $70 Texas State Parks Pass, which is good to cover entry fee to all state parks for one year. Dirt/sand sites are mostly level with asphalt pads for parking. Each site has a covered concrete pad with a picnic table in addition to the fire ring and BBQ grill. The park does have vegetation surrounding each site that includes wild oregano, wild olive, hibiscus, mesquite thickets, huisache, and prickly pear cactus. Animals we saw during our stay included roadrunners, bobcats, deer, jackrabbits, armadillos, and javelina. There are also many types of birds and the park is near the Roma Bluffs World Birding Center in Roma, TX. There is a butterfly garden near the recreation hall. The nearest shopping is in Roma, about 15 miles east of the park. If you like hiking/biking there are trails within the park and roadways outside the park. Fishing/boating is available on Falcon Reservoir. The park hosts/volunteers have many scheduled activities including crafts, potluck dinners, jam sessions, and the like. Spacing between the sites is very generous. We received three bars 4G on our AT&T cell phone. We used our Millenicom Jetpack as a Wi-Fi hotspot and it worked very well on three bars of Verizon 3G. There is Wi-Fi at the office, which is one mile from the campground. There is Wi-Fi in the campground but it was very slow. We received one English over-the-air TV station and several more in Spanish. Radio reception was mostly Spanish. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
We stayed here for 2 weeks. We enjoyed the bike paths and also rode the paved roads. The volunteers stay several months in the winter and have been doing so for several years. They are a close group but are very welcoming to visitors. We were invited to game night and potlucks. The club house is large with lots of books, puzzles and DVDs as well as 2 washers and 2 dryers. The cost is $1.50 per load. The butterfly pavilion is a nice spot to walk around or sit. The staff was expanding WIFI to the campsites. However, it was painfully slow at 18 KB per second. Here are a few things we didn't like. The sites are very close to each other and are not level. They will be working on the leveling problem in June. The spaces are pull thru but are short and hard to navigate as they have tight curves. The closest town is Roma about 12 miles away. There you will find a big grocery store and restaurants. There is a little store about 2 miles from the park for bread and milk and such. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$13
This is a great state park. The bird watching is fabulous here. It is a nice quiet park, it is about 50 miles to a town of any size with groceries. The sites are paved, some of the sites in the full hook up section are not level but as long as you are prepared for that you would be fine. Restrooms are clean with hot showers. Lots of trails to hike and pet friendly. We would definitely stay here again. In fact we have extended our stay and may do so again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$16
What a gem of a find at $16.00 a night. Beautiful pull-throughs, birds flying and singing everywhere, hardly a camper in sight. The trails are really well maintained, the rec hall lovely. They even have bird blinds with feeders to get a chance to see some of the many species available. Cactus were blooming, too. Bathrooms are good, showers usually had a few spideys in them, but they ran away. Would have given it a 10 except no swimming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2011
$16
This was an alright state park but we'd pass on by if in the area again. Our site was not at all level and pull thru. The sites are quite short and very close together. Also in the section we were in (the 200 loop) every sites hook ups are on the wrong side, hard to imagine who planned this set up but they certainly weren't rv'ers. The sites were loaded with burrs (aka "goat heads") so enjoying the site was impossible as was walking a dog on anything other than hot blacktop. The staff was very friendly and check in was quick and easy with a reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$22
One of our favorite destinations in Texas. Nice private campsites with the most colorful and beautiful birds we've ever seen. Also there is a boat ramp and fishing from the shore is allowed without a TX license. One of the best bass fishing lakes in the U.S.The staff are amazing. We were there at Christmas and they invited us to a potluck dinner that was great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$19
Enjoyed staying in a state park with RV access very much. Made a reservation online for one night and am pleasantly surprised at the caliber of facilities. Clean power, good hook ups except for the sewer which has no threads at the mouth so hang on to the hose when you dump. Sites are parallel to the road on either side so you pull in as you would a parking spot. Long enough for my 40 foot coach and tow car. I walked around the park and it is clean, with the bathrooms well placed and exceptionally clean for a state park in my experience. No heat so I bet showers are an interesting process if it was needed. It's the middle of winter and the weather has not been good for some time, but the fishermen are here in force. Interior roads are good. Sites are mostly level, the environment is attractive, with the organized bird feeding areas. The cabanas at each site are a plus as well as the fire rings. Plenty of space if it was better weather to sit outside. I would definitely come here again, but not without a reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
We went here on a fishing trip and pretty well had the park all to ourselves. Bathrooms were fairly clean and roads were kept up. Long pull through sites made it easy to park but did require a little leveling. Not too much shade, but it is deep in the heart of south Texas where shade is not too common. The lake is beautiful, and the bass fishing is like none other! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$12
Nice campground with roadside pull throughs. Private garden area with roofed patio, table and fire ring. Tons of birds at our feeders, also Havelinas. Only a few miles from Salineno, prime birding hotspot in area. Birding in park is also awesome. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$14
The full hook-up area has more room for big rigs than the water/electric area. The water/electric sites are pull-throughs but the parking area is tight but doable. There is a rec hall with a cafe, laundry, showers, dump station, and boat ramp for Falcon Reservoir use. This is a nice birding area and guided tours are sometimes offered. There is a three-mile nature trail and a birding blind. There is also a primitive campground area with water available and bathrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com