218135 User submitted reviews online!!
Chicken Gold Camp and Outpost was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (520) 413-1480
CGID85

Chicken Gold Camp and Outpost

Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   8   8   7   9   8   5   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$25
Electric only park (diesel generator) pit toilets and coin showers. Single hose for water near office. Grey dump station and black dump station. 4 pull-through 30 amp sites with some tree separation. A bit narrow with awnings and slides but not bad. Other sites are 15 amp in a dirt parking lot. Bac-kin sites have trees in rear. Park is basically a dirt lot. Nice office/café. Chicken is out there in nowhere, so having reliable electric power was nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
We love this park! It offers electric only or dry camping, and yes, the internet is slow at times, but you are in Chicken, AK! This park sits on top of an old gold mine - the owners are to be congratulated for their work in reclaiming the land. Water is trucked in and filtered for use (and it tastes good). There is a café with sandwiches, baked goods, and drinks to match any urban coffee shop. The gift shop offers handmade and high class gifts. A small book exchange is located in the café seating area. There is gold-panning on site and tours of the historic gold dredge. You can also arrange for gold panning trips out to one of their mining claims. The rest of the community of Chicken is within easy walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
We were there for the Chickenstock Music Festival so were there for multiple nights rather than the one-nighter most do as they transit the TOW. It has its own charm but Wi-Fi was slow to near impossible to use, and sites are somewhat tight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$10
Great, fun place. Dry camped in a 40' RV on our way home after a one month stay in Alaska. Park was sold out so we were fortunate to find a dry site. One must always remember that you are in the middle of nowhere so finding a place like this with a few comforts is a real treat. Food and wine on the outdoor deck was very good. Staff was great. Gift shop as well. Drove on to Dawson on the 100 mile dirt road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
Ok folks - they've done well in making a go of putting an RV park in the middle of nowhere. Yes, the upper lot is 20 amp electric-only (diesel genset, by the way), there is no black water dump, and all water is hauled in from a well a ways down the road. Showers are pay-per-use. Spaces are OK level - and gravel - and there are seemed to be either long-term amateur miners or caravan-ers in the park. We stayed only one night, but it was pleasant - beer at the saloon, supper at the RV Park kitchen, and a nice tour of "Tish's" school/home the next day (read the book). Considering what it must cost in O&M for the park, we're not griping about the cost for plugging in - it would have cost that much in gas for our genset had we dry-camped. A tour of the dredge just outside the office is kind of spendy - if you're coming through Dawson City, find "Dredge 4" instead - it's WAY bigger. If we come back to chicken, we'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$7
Best choice in the town of Chicken. It is a rustic campground with a lot of history and gold mining equipment. Best gift shop in Chicken also has food and ice cream. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Rate reflects dry camping in caravan pull thru's next to Gold Dredge. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
What a fun place to stay! The restaurant that was located along with the campground had lunches, small breakfast items, coffee, pop, icecream and a nice gift store. The staff was very efficient and nice. There was only one shower for men and one shower for women, but it was enough for the park since many people were in large, self-contained RVs. In the restroom there was a sink with hot and cold running water and a shower, but no toilet. ALL of the toilets are vault, outside toilets, but they are very clean and do not smell. There are NO flush toilets anywhere. Apparently ALL water has to be trucked in and water is at a premium. Be sure to go to the Chicken Creek Cafe UP ON THE HILL. There is a Saloon (bar) beside it, chickens in a pen, and the Chicken Mercantile Emporium. The gift shop had "chicken" items with every chicken joke known! The owner of the cafe makes the best chicken pot pie I've ever tasted and two HUGE blueberry pancakes that were the size of platters and filled with two cups of blueberries! This is what we THOUGHT Alaska would be like, and we were not disappointed. We've encouraged many people to stay here. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Rating based upon a park with electric only. A nice park with easy back-in for large rigs; also pull-throughs. Nothing fancy though a little expensive for just electric. Being in Chicken after driving the Top of the World Hwy was worth it and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$10
For the rate, there is nothing really that one can complain about. The owner has been here for many many years and takes good care of the property. He was in the process of upgrading the power supply early this spring. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$10
We really liked this campground. The few spots with electricity were taken so we dry camped. The area where we stayed were all back-ins. Basically the campground is a large gravel area with level back-in sites around the edges so there was plenty of room to maneuver our big rig. There is adequate space between campsites with picnic tables between. The office area also contains a very nice gift shop with a lot of very nice local and Alaskan made things. They also sell coffee and ice cream and there are many containers of flowers outside-looks really nice. The campground is very clean and well maintained. It's a short walk to Chicken. They also have a large dredge on the premises and offer an interesting tour for a nominal fee. The bathrooms are pit toilets but very clean. There is a charge for the showers but we didn't use them. They also offer gold panning for a nominal fee-either at the campground or will take you out to a creek. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$5
Even though they only have 5 sites with electric hookups: there is plenty of room to dry camp. Which we did. Chicken is an experience worth doing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$10
Some power sites but we dry camped. Did not use but the showers looked clean. You can dump grey for free and pay to dump black water. You are in the middle of nowhere so look at it as a wide open national park and you will enjoy your stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$13
Very clean and well groomed campground. Nice gift shop, restaurant and espresso bar. Gold panning is available on site. You can walk to "Beautiful Downtown Chicken". Note: Power is only on from 7:30 AM to 8:30 PM. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$8
The park is very clean, and neat with very friendly hosts. The park offers gold panning (the owners operate a gold mine adjoining the park) which was great fun and productive! Nice setting and very relaxing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com