220787 User submitted reviews online!!
Acton / Los Angeles North KOA was rated 4 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (661) 268-1214
CGID8615

Acton / Los Angeles North KOA

Camp Information
Sites
84
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   1   7   3   1   9   4   1   1   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$3
Middle of the road. No TV reception and Cell signal really weak, (Sprint). Has possibilities, but staff not real friendly. Bathrooms were damaged with vandals (kids). They tried to fix them, but not whole lot of improvement. No toliet paper, holes in walls. One bathroom was fairly new, but others needed improvement. They are doing something with the kiddie pool, but I think time would best be served elsewhere. We are Thousand Trails Members and will not go back even though it is the closest one to LA, unless we can not get in another one. People next to us in a Class A was really upset and wrote them really a nasty letter. Did a lot of walking and Acton was ok: really small town. We went to Palmdale to shop. Showers were broken: had to turn them on and off. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
This looked to be a great place to stay with the access to Pacific Crest Trail and Los Angeles. But to our surprise it was noisy with trains all night and the neighbor's parties (employees). I tried to get my children into the arcade, but it was full of adults yelling and screaming. They did have some interesting attractions; down the road is a big cat compound called 'Shambala' which was very much fun. Thank goodness for Six Flags, 45 minutes away. I just wouldn't recommend this place due to the extended stay people. I could smell marijuana all night the first night and beer the second. Not a very good place for families. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$38
I camped here for one night en-route up to Alabama Hills by Lone Pine. My site, space 55, was a dirt pull through site. The site was long enough that I was able to keep my truck hooked up (total length 51 feet) and still easily be off the roads to the front and rear of my site. I had to use one ½ inch board to level side to side. There was a huge, neat tree just east of my site. The site had a picnic table. AT&T cell does not work in the campground. Verizon users were able to text but not make voice calls. The free Wi-Fi worked very well. There was a creek about 10 yards from my site. The water was rushing, probably due to recent rain and snow. There was a train track 75 – 100 past the creek. Four trains came by during my stay. Trains were loud but I didn’t feel any shaking. A unique sound was that two or three times we heard lion’s roar. The office staff told us there was a game preserve called Shimbala just up the road so don’t be afraid if you hear a lion’s roar. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. I would estimate that over one half of the sites are occupied by full time residents. Unlike some campgrounds I have been in, most of the rigs were well maintained and the residents were friendly. I read about the staff in prior reviews and wasn’t sure what to expect. When I checked in, I asked the girl at the front desk if AT&T worked any where in the park. She told me no, but let me use the KOA hard line to call home and let my wife know I had arrived safely. A friend was going to meet me at the KOA, later that night. She waived the extra vehicle fee and gave me a pass to put on his car when he arrived. When I was leaving the next morning, she asked if there was anything the KOA could do to make my stay more pleasant. When I was walking around the campground, one of the KOA staff drove up, asked if he could help with anything. We talked about 10 minutes and as he left he said be sure to let the staff know if anything could be done to make my stay more enjoyable. There are not enough activities in the area to draw me back to this campground. How ever if I was passing through, I would not hesitate to stop for a night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2011
$32
I read the last review and wondered what park were they at? It wasn't this KOA with the trains all night and the dust. Truly out of the way except a very busy road. Nothing to do but stare at the walls. The shuffle board sticks were worn out and Horseshoe pits needed to be maintained. What friendly staff? I had to return 3 times to get a spot that wasn't already taken. The staff acted like I was disturbing them. No one even tried to apologize for any inconvenience for me. Yes, the trash cans were over flowing. The dogs are off of leases and there is dog excrement everywhere. I won't stay here again. Not a KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2011
$32
Small sites very crowded with extended stay campers. Could have been a good place with the creek and all. The bathrooms were filthy and the office staff was like children and laughed at me when I mentioned the trash. Where is management. Maybe the owner doesn't care. Won't return. Too much drinking and drugs for a KOA. Smelled Marijuana all night long. Dirty everything, even the store. Won't return. Went down the road to a better place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$39
We LOVED this campground! The view is very beautiful; at night you can hear the lions roar from Shambala Preserve just down the road from the campground. The staff is very friendly; the park facilities are very clean; and the location is very private. This is a campground you'd want to go to if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of life. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
OMG this is a KOA? Haha. Won't come back here. Weird store hours. Uninformed camp workers or heavy drinkers. Former flower child. Just a few of the strange workers. Should have been a good stay with the access to Pacific Crest Trail that we wanted. We have headed to the north for better accommodations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2010
$35
To start with the 'trains' run all night long and most of the day. The campground would have been tolerable except for the sites were cramped and there are lots of long stay campers. The staff in the office needs to be replaced. Rude and abrasive. There was one camper who told us about some fun things to do in the area: hiking trails, Six Flags, etc. I want to thank her as it made the stay wonderful. The Christmas train was fun too, thanks. The staff here recommended another campground that was just the pits. Check out my other reviews to see. Will not come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
The rating on this campground should be a MINUS 2. The people were rude and too young to be running a campground. I'm in my early 30's and these two were more childish than my 4 year old. The manager was unavailable the whole time. The couple at the stairs were rude and angry people. They yelled at my children in the play ground. We wished we had never stayed here. We stayed the 2 nights but wanted to leave the first minute we checked in. Thanks for nothing. The trash was blowing everywhere. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
Is this campground for real? KOA? Very questionable. The bathrooms were filthy and no toilet paper. I have been here 3 times before, and it was much better then. What happened to the wonderful office staff and the campground workers. The trash cans are overflowing, and no one bothers to check to see if we are happy. Went to the office and told the 'child' behind the desk what the problem was, and she chuckled and said it would be taken care of, but to no avail. Not only did I have a problem with the grounds and workers but also being yelled out by someone living near the stairs saying I was too noisy walking down them. This campground has many things to offer if it was kept up. The game room smelled of gasoline. They have a well used pool table and the cue sticks need to be replaced. I will never return to this campground and will tell all not to come here also. The management is lacking in professionalism and is lacking in general. My family and I stayed here in March 2010, May 2010 and July 2010 with no problems. The staff was polite and helpful as well as the grounds were kept clean and orderly. Did you sell this to someone or don't you care anymore? We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
What a wonderful campground located in the hills near Los Angeles. The new staff was absolutely amazing, compared to some of the employees they had during our last visit. There used to be a heavy set older woman in the office that was plain and simply despicable. With the fresh polite new staff our views have gone from not returning, to absolutely making this our number one camping spot. Plus the bathrooms were in spectacular shape. We will definitely be returning to the smiling faces of this wonderful new staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
This is the 3 time to try to rate this park. The park is nice and could use some up grades. The bathrooms were clean when we were there. Looked like some games were there, but we didn't play. Close to area fun. The staff needs to be replaced. The office people are too young and silly or old and rude. We talked to friends, and they said this is something new, and the other staff people were better. Where are they? We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
We stayed here thinking that it would be quiet: Car Show. Lots of tent sites and the RV sites were nice and level. The music was great but a little loud. The creek was dry but fun for the kids. Was told by a long term camper that there are movies on the weekends during the summer and activities for the kids also. My big complaint is the employees. Started with someone in the office who didn't know what she was doing. Outside, the campground employees were selling food and they weren't very helpful. Security was non existant at night with fires and loud music. When we went to leave we were greeted by the same female employee upon checkin: a very rude and abrasive employee that couldn't help us. Probably won't return. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$29
This is a really nice campground with level sites, and lots of birds to look at. The recreation rooms were well kept up. The bathrooms were clean. There were games to play but I didn't have time. The only concern I have is that there was a camp worker who came and ate with our big group and proceeded to bad mouth certain workers. She was not very nice about it either. Several people voiced their opinion about this situation and said they didn't appreciate it. We will be having several other trips to this campground and don't want to have the same situation occur. We don't want to have to find another campground due to this infraction on the worker's part. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$10
This campground is lovely with all the trees and the big cat preserve next door. The store seemed to have lots of items necessary for camping. Has lots of parking and a beautiful swimming pool. There is some bad with all this good. A short older woman in the store was about as rude as she could be. I asked for information and she just ignored me. My wife asked and the woman said that she would get to her when she had time. This was during a car show but we were the only ones in the store and this woman didn't seem to be doing anything at all. My family and I are looking forward to our trip here in the spring and hope this womans' attitude improves. We enjoyed the car show and the restrooms were very clean but a little busy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
Have stayed at this park before. Great pool, lots of hiking trails but the newer employees are extremely rude, obnoxious and plain stupid. The women in the office (2 kids and one doter old shrimp) were all useless. I contacted the main office and nothing was accomplished. Apparently this campground doesn't want people to come back. Okay done won't return ever!!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
This park seemed to have everything, games for the kids, swimming pool, hiking trails and looked to be great campsites. Problem lies in that we never got to stay. Was threatened by a young employee and then basically pushed out by another. Sent corporate and e-mail and got a sorry. Called recently and found these same employees are still here. Won't try camping here again. Will tell everyone of the problems we had. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
This is a great place to stay for extended periods. Monthly rate is very good: $495 a month with full hook up is hard to beat. The pool is nice but closing soon. Great place for kids to play with the swings and hiking trails. Will come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
What a mistake it was staying here. When we first arrived we were greeted in the office by a mother and daughter team who were just delightful. Then the following morning we returned to the office to get directions into Los Angeles and did not receive the same smiles as the night before. Instead we were told by the woman behind the desk that she didn't have the time to deal with us and if we wanted directions we should buy a map! She was just plain rude! Other than the lack in customer service skills, we attended their movie night only to discover it was all in Spanish so we weren't able to understand a word of it. The wind blew all day and the trains ran all night and to top things off, as we were being scolded for driving over the 5mph speed limit an employee blew by us in a golf cart at a minimum speed of 20mph. so much for setting an example. All in all, we would have had a nicer stay in a Wal Mart parking lot! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Nice location but right in the middle of a fire. We were here for 2 days and then a fire broke out across the street so we moved our fifthwheel and another person's rig down the street for safety. Had problems with some of the workers (they were nice to everyone else but us). The owner was very strange and wouldn't listen to what we had to say. The WiFi was free but sketchy at best. Electrical problems because of the heat caused some problems with our vehicle. Also, where we were camped, all we heard was the movie right above us on the lawn. Because of these problems we will not be coming back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
This park would have been nice with all the amenities except that there was a fire and we were evacuated (not the parks fault). The problem we had was that two key office personnel were so scared and not helpful. When we were sent to a gas station to wait out the fire we saw one pair of these camp workers. When we left the campground after them there was several campers still there. I won't stay where the so call captains leave in a time of need. I will try other parks. What a shame it has so many nice things. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
This is my third try at reviewing this park. In short, this park is over priced for the facilities and atmosphere provided. Sites are gravel, narrow and close together. Train runs across the back day and night. Restrooms received no attention (dirty & no tp) during our visit. Leash rule is not enforced. One staff member should not be dealing with the public. Shade sites occupied by long term campers. "Nearby town with restaurants" is actually about 5 miles away. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$34
The owners have worked on upgrades, including new bathhouses, grass in common areas and playgrounds, new fencing, and new utility poles at sites. They have perhaps eliminated some sites to achieve roominess for others, but the site we were in was still a pretty cramped area. It was a very narrow distance between our slide out and the next unit's area. The staff was friendly with directions to highways and area restaurants. They stated that they are doing another year's worth of improvements. This CG is several miles up a canyon road, but the road is good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
We stayed a week and found the park restful and peaceful. After months of remodeling (which continues) the park is now a KOA park. The managers are pleasant and helpful. An unaffiliated old-time western town and horse rental facility is being built next door. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
They now have 50 amp in 75% of the park. They said 100% by the end of summer. They REALLY cleaned this park up!!! Enjoyed the stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
The sites were small and sandy but easy to get in to. The bathrooms and showers were old but clean. The managers were very pleasant and helpful. Improvements were being made; while we were there flowers were being planted in the front area. The only real problems we had were due to the location in the canyon: our cell phone and internet air card did not work (but the OnStar phone did.) We were given several free trials for the campground's new internet service and that worked very well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
We stayed at this park while working at the San Fernando Valley Fair. This park has had some hard times, but is on the rebound. Improvements are being made. The park is largely dirt yet the park has large shade trees. There is nothing at each site. No table, grass, slab or space designations. Just park between the power boxes. The park may look a little run down, yet the owners are making continual improvements. Pool is excellent. Restrooms and showers were being renovated at the time of our stay. This park would be a wise choice if planning a visit to Magic Mountain Theme Park. The drive to Magic Mountain is further than other parks yet the price is half of the others. Park is quiet with the exception of the occasional train near the park. Park managers were very friendly and pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$13
Don't let the 5/10 keep you away. I will be back. Apparently this park was at one time a membership park. It was severely run down, and was full of Jerry Springer wanna bee's. 6 months ago a new owner took over. Most tenants were kicked out the new owner is attempting to make this a family park. The pool was very clean and nice. The restroom and showers were improving. Flowers and grass have been planted. Decks and buildings repaired and painted. Sites are weird in that some do not have water, but do have sewer. It looks like they are putting splitters on the hose bibs. The managers are strict but fair. This is probably necessary right now. They were very helpful, and shared truthful information of the conditions before I got there. If they keep up the work, in 6 more months it will probably be up to a 7-8. And as I said, especially for the price with Passport America, I will be back.. Hopefully they will keep up the good work. This could be a real nice park again.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com