214501 User submitted reviews online!!
Allatoona Landing Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (770) 974-6089
CGID865

Allatoona Landing Campground

Camp Information
Sites
116
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   5   6   8   5   1   2   3   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
This campground would be much better if not for the trains which come by every 20 minutes or so during weekdays (slightly less on weekends) and train horns are very loud and close! Lots of shady sites which would be great in summer. Lakeside sites would be nice also but no cable or WiFi back there. This park has obviously seen better days years ago and has gone down greatly since. Overall I felt a rating of 6 is generous. If we had a better choice of parks in this area I would have stayed elsewhere but we wanted conveniences of WiFi and cable TV for March Madness games. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
This a beautiful park but only a few sites have sewer, we booked a sewer site but ended up on non-sewer site. Went to office and asked for sewer. Was given two sites. Both were too out of level so we moved back to original site. The worst thing about this park is the trains. Every two hours a train comes within feet of the property and blows horn to make sure every one is awake. The staff was nice but we were not offered assistance to the site. Most of the sites are empty. There were level sites with sewer but we were not offered one. This park is OK for a day or two but not good for us for longer periods. Other than the trains, this is a nice park We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
We selected this park for a two-night shake down of our new to us RV. The site we reserved was lakeside and we were clearly informed at time of reservation that there was no cable, sewer, and the WiFi would probably not reach. We were pleased with the site. It backed right up to the lake and was pretty. We went swimming right from our campsite. The office staff was friendly and helpful. We declined help with finding our site as it was very simple. The site was not level but considering the banks of the lake, not unexpected. We did have to use our full complement of leveling devices to get our back end up enough to reach an acceptable level. Overall, one can tell that the park was once a much more vibrant place and has since seen significant decline. Many of sites have broken paving and few are level. The restroom and bathhouse were clean and in good working order. The train tracks are nearby and very active. Expect significant train noise. It is clearly no longer as nice as the website portrays but it is perfectly acceptable. If I were to return, I would select the same slot and be content. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
This was the first we had stayed here since March of 2012, and a lot of changes have been made. The main thing is the permanents are no longer here, in fact you may not stay longer than 1 month. This makes the campground much better without looking at all the trashy units. Many of the sites are not level, and only about 21 are full hook up, although they do have gray water hookups available throughout the park. It is possible to find a level site or a site to accommodate a big rig. The train tracks are nearby, but for the Atlanta area it is satisfactory for a visit. The Wi-Fi worked well. Much, much better than in the past. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
Pretty campground. Caters to boaters and fisherman using Lake Allatoona. Appear to be lots of permanent units for folks using the resort. We got in late, well after dark, so the security officer handled our booking. I've never had such a fast tour of an RV park in my life. I couldn't tell a thing about the sites we'd supposedly seen. Paved sites, but they're not all level. We drove to the site we were assigned, but it was nowhere near level. We just took another one that was close to level and set up, knowing we were leaving the next morning. Campground store was well-stocked. Park is several miles off the interstate, but it's a nice place to stay. Advise getting there during daylight so you can pick out a more level spot than we did. Back-in space, but it wasn't a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
Need to level sites. Goose droppings everywhere. Smells. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
Previous reviews are very correct. There is an extremely narrow road getting to campground. Check in very difficult, took a long time and the staff could not tell us how to get to our site. When asked how to pull onto the pull thru site she told us hook-ups were on the "right" side, meaning "correct" side but she did not know how to get there. Wifi is non existent. The campground is full of old units, seasonal. We wish someone could explain why such good ratings in the directories. Other overnight campers had same opinion as us, and would never return. We locked the door and went to bed early but that did not work due to the constant trains going through the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2010
$38
We were absolutely appalled at what we found here, especially for the price and the false advertising. The beach, pool, buildings and other amenities have not been kept up for years. I found it very funny that the camp store in the office, has beach and pool toys/clothes galore. The staff is not helpful and do not understand what it is you have to complain about. The Wi-Fi simply doesn't work. The sites are varied, few are level in any way, only a very few FHU (many with gray water drainage only), some blacktop, some cement, few with patio area. This is a campground, not an RV park. And it appears to be a campground for trailer trash and many fulltime residents. The bathhouse was unclean and not maintained with shower heads missing. The trains are incessant, sometimes 15 minutes apart. This is an $18/night campground, not $38. We will not be back although we have family in the area. We will find something else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2010
$37
This was a disappointment for a highly rated campground. Signage/office was all nice, and sites were quiet,paved and pretty enough with trees and picnic tables and fire rings, etc. (though not that level, but can forgive due to slightly hilly lakeside area), but we noticed a weird sewage type smell right away and off and on the whole weekend. The next thing we noticed is that the pretty full campground was really a trailer park for quite permanent residents as evidenced by canopies set up with stuff piled under them next to RV's, and chairs/potted plants and stuff stored under RV's that looked like they had been there awhile. It dampens the whole "vacation atmosphere" (and they kept the nice little laundry room full). We never found the "great bank fishing" area advertised, and the "beautiful, sandy white beach" was very dirty and unkempt with pine straw/cones, weeds and dilapidated dock areas and a very old broken down playground was next to the beach. The pool was covered, but the area around it was covered in tree debris. A plus-a very nice new wooden playground with porch swings for the parents was next to the office. The bathrooms looked clean/roomy with nice tile and plenty of showers with changing areas (didn't actually use), but the showers were missing their shower heads. We already knew about the train noise, so it was no surprise, but can be a real issue at night. We knew this campground was more for boaters (very nice looking marina areas), and this was a little early in the season, but some of the amenities need a great deal of work and upkeep. Also, if a campground is really mostly a trailer park with permanent residents, should it be advertised with high scores in campground directories? We are used to state parks and I am concerned that all private campgrounds that I have reserved for a big trip this summer in our new RV are going to be like this. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2010
$39
This is a OLDER campground and long term tenants. Most of the sites have signs "not potable water" majority of the sites were not level. We noted 13 sites that were Big Rig suitable for overnight camping; of those 5 did not have sewer. The train noise was very disturbing at all hours (6pm,7pm, 9pm,12pm, 4am, 6am). For the price and condition with all the distractions they should consider this a $20 nightly rate. Walmart is a better consideration. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
I agree with others that this campground has a huge train problem. They roll through nearly every two hours. The staff are not eagerly willing to help when you require solutions to problems. We had very poor wireless services, which timed out regular with no corrections. Sites are very unlevel, paved but very poor to park your rig level on. The bottom sites are many times wet, as those above at higher sites, empty their grey water through water hoses from their rigs because they have NO sewer hookups at many sites. When we were here, we experienced many sites occupied by insurance people who were working from this park, attending to insurance claims in the immediate area from past storms. All run diesel trucks that are very noisy every morning. These people also over load the wireless network so it is very difficult to use for any length of time. Our experience was very poor and no one seemed to care about our concerns. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
We did not like this campground because of the noise of the trains. We also did not appreciate the unleveled camping spots. We also did not experience good internet connections. In addition, we did not appreciate the fact that many campers were allowed to discharge their grey water on the ground, which then ran downhill to lower camp sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
This is a beautiful park, and the people are friendly and nice. There's just one reason I didn't give them a "10"-- Trains. Lots of 'em, all night long - blowing their horns and making the ground shake because they're about 50 yards away. For a light sleeper like myself, it was a long night. Had I had access to this website when we were making our plans for the night, I would have driven a little further, I think? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
We arrived a day early and after hours however, the nighttime attendant was very helpful and was able to call and get us a site for the evening. We had to move the next day but that was to be expected. The campground is on very hilly ground and their were very few level sites. The office staff was very helpful and friendly and were able to give you a lot of information about the surrounding area for dining and entertainment. Unfortunately, as previously stated by other reviewers, there are a lot of very loud trains which go by at all hours of the day and night. The road to the campground is fairly narrow and hilly with some sharp turns but has a good surface. The campground needs a little attention to be rated any higher. Their interior roads are getting bad and there is very little room to park a "toad" vehicle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$42
This park is easy access to Atlanta. Attentive staff. Nice mix of older and upgraded sites on the lake. We had a pull thru without sewer. First 2 nights only had one leg of our 50amp service. They were unable to fix and we moved and given a free night. Only issue is the loud train whistles much of the day and night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Our truck broke down just as we arrived in the campground and the service was wonderful! They were very accommodating and the maintenance crew was excellent! They helped us set up and asked if there was anything else they could help us with. They even stopped by to ask us how we were doing and to see if we needed further assistance as they knew we were stranded for a week. Although the sites need a little work, overall they were great. Just be prepared for lots of ants! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
A lot of seasonal units here and a general feeling of commotion. Got stuck on a gray water only site and had to move to get sewer. I told them when I made the reservation that I needed sewer. Wi-Fi was useless for me and I was very near the office. Train and loud whistle all day. I was not happy here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
This park needs an update for facilities available anyway. The WI-FI is free. We stayed here over a weekend. On Friday evening the signal began to degrade & then all but disappear. On Saturday we inquired in the office about it & were told by the office staff that the person who takes care of the system does not work weekends. Monday came & still no relief. Finally on Tuesday it came back up but only marginally. The interior roads are a bit narrow. Long fifth wheels might have some backing in problems. Our motorhome made it in but only after pulling onto someone space to do so. Lots of trees, satellite reception could be a problem. Power levels fluctuated quite a bit. I almost forgot the train tracks on the south side of the park. Train traffic is fairly heavy during the day, but during the time we were there only one train after hours. Nice big lake if you boat or fish. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
We found this park quite by accident while looking for a place to stop for the night. We arrived at about 5:30 PM. Staff was courteous and helpful. All sites are on the lake and are very well kept and maintained. The showers/restrooms are clean and easy access. Some sites are a little uneven due to the hills the lake is on, but nothing jacks or hydrolics can't handle. Nice quiet and very beautiful campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
Looks like it would be fun in the summer, big lake. Lots of seasonals. Camp is run by the Corp of Engineers, they have some of their own rules. Our site was not flat but we made due. If I had a boat I would spend some time here. All interior roads are blacktop, the place looks clean and has 24 hour on site security. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$28
We liked the closenss to Atlanta and yet the feeling of being in the woods. There are mostly full timers here. There are a few good spots for large motorhomes but not when we were there. They put us in a spot that was not level and difficult getting in and out. We stayed for two weeks. Yes, there are a lot of trains and close by but we did not mind them. Great bicycle riding trails through Allatoona Battlefields which is adjacent to the the park. We would stay here again if we could get a better site for our 40 ft motorhome and tandem tow dolly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$24
Sites mainly full with seasonal and seasonal boating campers. Newer pads and utilities. But the trains I mean the trains, all day and night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$24
We stayed at the Allatoona Landing Campground for one night on our way home from Florida. The campground was very nice and clean and the employees were very friendly and helpful. There were two major reasons why I didn't give it a perfect score. First, the road to the campground from the interstate was extremely narrow, winding and steep. The campground sits right on a railroad. We were awakened four times during the night by trains blowing their horns continuously as they passed by. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$28
The campground is two miles off I-75, exit 283. It is pretty hilly but the sites are reasonably flat and paved. It is gated. Train tracks run a few yards away and they blow a loud horn but we did not mind. Some sites have sewers and some don't. They have a dump site. All in all a nice campground. We spend one night there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
We stayed for about 10 days due to my wife’s 2 reunions. The sites were large and easy in and out. Rest rooms nice and clean. Our site was a little unlevel (4” in length of coach). The lake was almost dry, but this exist all over the South now. With this park, the big factor is the trains. I mean they average about 3 per hour 24/7. Mainly empty car carriers. We ran our AC at night and this drowned out the noise. I even slept in my hammock during the day some. Never knew there were so many trains in Ga. We ate out at two great spots: one in Cartersville Square called Ross Dinner. Opened 71 years ago and very good and cheap. The other one was called Doug’s Place and just as good. The problem is it is located in the town of Emerson which is a huge ticket trap. 1200 people and 9 cops. Cost me $89. Avoid Emerson at all cost and take I-75 to Cartersville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
We were incredibly disappointed with the amenities at this campground. We had hoped for a nice relaxing weekend getaway for my birthday. Little did we know...the playgrounds were severely dilapidated, the swimming pool had a lovely layer of green slime growing on the sides, and the "white sandy beach" was completely overgrown with weeds and tall grasses as the lake level is down about 22 feet. We paid for two nights but checked out early after staying only one. They don't give refunds either. The trains were MORE than loud, but that was the least of our worries. Had I known about this website before-hand, we would have chosen another campground. So disappointing! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$22
Conditions were fair. No real complaints except did not have the normal warm and fuzzy feeling. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2007
$32
A nice place to stay, but the train whistle sounds off about every hour including night and day. They claim to have full hookups and we didn't get any sewer hookup. Our neighbors complained about the train and no sewer hookups also. They do have a few and I mean only a few sewer hookups. Too bad about the sewer and train noise, because it was a nice place and it had long pull thrus for our 36ft motorhome which was towing our car. The train was right next to the campsites. We didn't see it at first when we drove in because of the trees. When we parked our rv we heard the train and then discovered the sewer problem. We won't stay again. The road off the freeway seemed long and narrow to get into the campsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2007
$23
Very Pretty park with a nice like. The train track was a big down side to it. It is also a little hard to get to at night from the interstate. I would recommend it, but wear earplugs, the trains come by about once an hour or more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
I arrived after 5:00 pm so security checked me in and took me to a paved, pull through site. So far, I'm impressed. Unfortunately, this is where my happiness ends. This park is near a very busy train track and the train whistle blows all during the night. There were several long term residents that obviously didn't mind. This is not a place for kids. . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
This park is nice, it does need a little updating with the interior roads, playground equipment and camp sites. Our children were able to ride their bicycles and we had plenty of space between us and our neighbors. The concrete picnic tables are a little rough when you have small children but still worked for us. We were in a shady site, and most sites seemed to have trees. We were backed up to a fence, but we actually prefer that. We loved the little gift shop and the kids had to go and buy a little something everyday. The trains were very close and you could hear them all night, but we have a little boy that just loved that and we didn't mind at all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$18
We camped right on the lake. It was breathtaking. The staff was friendly and everything was clean. We plan to come here again and bring our kayaks. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2004
$28
We were camping there from 2002 to 2004. Almost two years time frame. It is a nice campground with a lot of tall pine trees. Cell phone works good, no WiFi at the time. Rain quite often and could get muddy and wet. It is 5 miles from I-75. No problem with dog, some long term residents with family, people are very nice. We were at monthly rate for $350 w/o sewer, $450 with sewer. Due to the high water table, less than one third of the lots has sewer. Lots w/o sewer can run gray hose to nearby gray well. Black pump out service available on a weekly basis for $8. It is a nice park to stay a while. There are civil war attraction close by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$17
Nice, shady, decently-sized sites. TRAINS go by - very close - about hourly ALL NIGHT! Too bad, because it's a pretty place. Gated, and it took a while for the maintenance person to come and give us a spot, which was right on the corner so people's headlights shone directly into our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Very nice, well maintained sites, good views of the lake, clean facilities. Only problem is across the lake is a major railroad and the trains can wake you in middle of the night. Otherwise a very nice campground. Located 24 miles north of Atlanta. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com