223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Red Top Mountain State Park & Lodge was rated 8 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (770) 975-0055
CGID868

Red Top Mountain State Park & Lodge

Camp Information
Sites
111
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   9   9   10   8   8   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
Busy park just north of Atlanta and a short drive from I-75. Access to the park is fine, but parking at registration is tight for an RV. I had to park along the side of the road to register as cars were parked in the limited RV spaces. I stayed in a pull-through site and the access loop was a little narrow. Most sites are on a slight rise and fairly close to each other. Nice hiking and plenty of wildlife to observe. No wifi in the park that I could find. Faint train noises but not an issue in my opinion. I will be happy to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$28
The rate is for a “40 foot, back-in site” with 30 amp electrical and water hookup. There is also a $5 per day fee for park use. The park has five types of camping: 40 ft. pull-through, 40 ft. back-in, 20 ft. back-in, tent w/power and water, and tent w/o utilities. We are over 20 feet, so we had two choices. The 40 ft. pull-through sites are lined up all in a row, so we did not want to do that, so we chose the 40 ft back-in and made on-line reservations, which are not site specific. The park is fairly easy access off on Interstate, with some fairly narrow roads but doable. You arrive at the Visitor Center/Camper Check-in, where, unfortunately, there is no parking for RVs for check-in; so we parked in the middle of the lot with lots of dirty looks from other visitors. After check-in we proceeded to the campground, just a short ways down the road. Be aware of the entrance gate. When we arrived, it was open. We proceeded through and it started closing. We barely avoided being hit by the gate. Apparently someone had come through before us and actived the gate, then it started to close. So make sure you let the gate close, enter your code before entering through the gate. This is a very strangely laid out campground. Many of the sites have a lot of slope and are on sharp curves. For larger RV’s I would not recommend anything but the 40 foot pull-through sites. We found a site, but it was very hard to get into, even for our smaller 27 foot RV. We also had difficulty leveling. The power was 30 amp with two-30 amp plugs. Power was good. The sites are so far separated that there is good privacy even though there is little vegetation. Prior reviewers complained about train noise; although we did hear trains, they were far in the distance and not a problem. It was very quiet and nicely dark at night. The campground is very tree-covered, but we were able to find a hole with our portable dish to get satellite TV, but don’t depend on it. We had good Verizon phone and data (4G) coverage. The hiking trails are very nice and are a major attraction for the park. We would stay here again, but would want to make for sure we arrive early enough to find a somewhat level site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
After a short mountain drive in the dark (scary for us newbies), we found our way to the gate just in time to catch the camp host before they locked down for the night (10 pm). A quick check-in and some excellent guidance from the host, we were set up in one of their large rig drive through sites. This was quick overnight for us, and the site was perfect. The pull through sites aren't level in the traditional sense, but they are 'crowned', and we found it a breeze to just stop when we were level. There was a nice concrete pad adjacent complete with a fire ring and a lantern hook. We had a delightful wind down listening to the night sounds of the woods. And woods they are. This is a densely wooded state park. Our closest neighbor was about 2 sites away, but they just as well have been a mile. There was lots of cover between us. After a good nights sleep, we woke up to deer in our yard, which made us wonder what else may have visited in the night. The closest bath house was closed for rehab, so we packed up and drove to the next bath house. This is when the character of the place shows. The drive gets very narrow, and steep at times. The sites in the next section are back-in, and probably not suitable for larger rigs (we're 25 feet and could have fit). The bath house was basic and adequate, tho they could use a shelf in the shower area. Once we cleaned up, we continued around the loop to exit and found that there was scant room to get our (little) rig by an inappropriately parked car. Things are tight around here! Of course this second loop was where the lakefront lots were (Lake Allatoona), and the view was spectacular. We didn't linger, but plan to come back and stay for a few days here soon. This park is very convenient to I-75, and well worth jumping off for. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
After a stint in a few Alabama State parks, we very pleased with this park. The sites were had great separation and views of the lake were great from our site. Very clean grounds. The bathrooms were very dated and not clean. No problem for us as we use ours. Nice trails and very helpful camp hosts. If you are staying more than 2 nights, consider annual family pass as it includes 2 free nights camping for $75. Pays for itself if you go to more than 2 parks in a year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Stayed 2 nights. Lots to do, especially for the kids. Stayed in a lakeside site. They do not really track what site you are at, just tell you what sites to pick from based on you rig. Camp host was friendly and followed us to a site. Mentioned were we could get free firewood for the evening. All the lots are shaded, very quiet. Park has tennis, a beach, boat rentals, minigolf, hiking, (riding trails?) I think. You can swim right at you site. Staff was very friendly and helpful as was the host. You could stay here for a week of enjoyment, will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Clean excellent park. A little hard to get into in a motorhome, but once in a fantastic park with great hiking trails, views of the lake. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
This was very nice park. Some of the sites were not level. We did not look any further then the pull through sites. They are very tight getting in and out of. The park had a lot of things to do at it. A very nice lake. I prefer a back in site but with the size of these sites I would strongly suggest a pull through for a bigger vehicle. If in the area, we will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$23
$28 full rate, seniors 20% less. Very limited number of sites suitable for motor home and larger rigs. All of those are in the first area, a row of 12 pull throughs. Don't venture deeper into the campground without first checking for a site. It is tight - real tight - and that was in the toad. But our site 11 was a nice long pull through, almost level, 50 amp, water, and a very limited cable lineup (about 12 stations). Easy access off of I-75. Cartersville has just about one of everything. Overall a very nice park and area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33$
This State park features nice shaded sites. It is not very good for big rigs because of tight narrow roads. No sewage, and poor phone/internet connectivity in this area. It is very quiet, with great outdoor walking trails.It is not really convenient for an overnight from interstate 24 but it worked out due to pull through sites. The sites arey are not very level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
We stayed 5 nights and LOVED it!!! It didn't hurt that it wasn't very crowed (during the week) and the weather was perfect! We were able to see deer around us the entire time! Shady spot, nice fire, beautiful scenery. Just perfect! The camp host was very nice. He helped us fix our lights as we were leaving. I hope he's here the next time we come. And we do plan on coming many times! Thank You Red Mountain for a great stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$24
Wonderful park with loads of trails and a great lake. We had a nice pull through site that was level and easy entrance/exit. Bathrooms clean and showers were nice. Close to marinas and restaurants (within 5 - 7 miles). Lots of shade. Lots of trails where we walked the dog. Saw deer in camp most days/evenings. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
The road to the park has a couple of surprisingly sharp turns and has a very narrow road once you get past the registration office. There are only thirteen pull-through sites available. We made reservations, but only two sites were available for motorhomes. It's a beautiful place with lots of room. Sites are not level, but we easily blocked up the low side and are nearly level. Staff is very friendly, especially during check-in. We got a 20% discount due to being "seniors". The lake is beautiful! Handy to shopping within 5-6 miles. Hiking trails are available. Don't forget your camera. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
We LOVE Red Top! We have camped there all year round. This park has a boat launch, beach, and recreation area within a few minutes' drive. There are also several campsites located right on the water, as well as some more secluded spots if you get there early enough to grab them. We have always found the hosts and fellow campers here to be very friendly and hospitable. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
I agree with all of the information reported by the previous camper. I camped in site 4 of the 12 pull through sites. I camped in a 37' Motorhome with tow, and it was very tight to get in the site. When I exited the site their was not enough room for the turn. My left back wheels and tow fell into a drainage ditch. Damage was minor but scary! The pull through sites were not very well thought out and I would say this is not a big rig friendly campground. Also, the lodge and restaurant (which offered free Wi-Fi) closed on June 30, 2010. Other than that the Park is BEAUTIFUL! We would like to camp here again. We will see. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
Another beautiful Georgia State Park Campground! However, if your camper is more that 20 feet, you will want to reserve a pull-through campsite. There are 12 pull-throughs that can accommodate up to big rig size campers. But, the pull-through section is not near any views of the lake. There are Cable TV hookups at all of the sites, but no sewer hookups. The bathhouses/restrooms were clean, but were a bit small, having only one shower in each. The Campground was very neat, clean and quiet while we were here. A campground host is always on the premises of this gated campground. All sites near the lake are small and could only accommodate a tent or pop-up camper, with very little room to even drive a larger camper through the narrow roads. Overall, a great campground, but make sure you have reserved a campsite if visiting! Also, try out the Iron Hill Bike trail around the lake if you like to bike. The trail is accessible from the campground. Happy Camping! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
This is another one of Georgia's great State parks, It is so private and it had huge Pull throughs that gave us all the room we needed. They charge $25 but then you have to buy a Parking Pass to get in the park but it is worth it. It also had cable TV which was a great plus up in this mountain. The park was very well maintained, the fire rings and gravel sites were Great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
Very nice state park. Did not have sewer but did have cable TV, which I would have hoped would be the opposite. Only had 12 channels and reception was average at best. Bath house was tiny but clean. Only had one shower stall. Park seems to have a lot of land but not many RV sites. A good bit of the sites were for tents only. Location is beautiful with Allatoona Lake access in park. We would visit here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
A very beautiful, hilly, wooded state park close to I-75. Lake Allatoona has returned to normal levels. Much more amenable to camping than RVing, but the RV sites are very large. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
We spent 1 night here: reserved a pull-through site. They have 13 first-come-first-serve, pull-through sites. We arrived late and I bent up my rear bumper getting into site number 13. Had to board the wheels up a few inches at a time, then back out of the site. Pull through sites #3-10 look OK. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Most sites are shaded and good distance from other sites. Busy during holidays. Must book early. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
We have been camping here for about 20 years: never had a problem. Nice people! It was dirt roads when we started camping, now they are paved and they have cable TV! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
We stayed at Red Top Mountain towards the end of May, 2009. We had my Mom with us, who had never camped a day in her life. My wife and I had no idea if she would even like it. We had spot #28 up on a small hill over looking Allatoona Lake. What a breathtaking view. The campground is very clean and quite. My Mom could not believe how peaceful it was, and is willing to go there again. We will try to make it back more often. I give it two thumbs up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Thankfully they refunded our money but only after we learned the hard way that this campground is not big rig friendly. The slide topper and window awning will need to be replaced due to the large pine trees that make maneuvering very difficult. Location is breathtaking but unless you are in a smaller rig this park is not for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$26
I'm basing my rating against other "state" campgrounds I've visited, not necessarily in contrast to a nice commercial campground. Please keep that in mind. This is a very nice state campground, really only lacking sewer hookups. I'm not sure why they chose to do cable at each site instead of sewer, but I expect it wasn't much of an upgrade from pulling electric. All services worked great, and the cable was a nice bonus. The campground itself is well kept, very quiet (we're here in the off season mid week), and the sites are huge and well laid out. The real downside is just the bathhouse. There's only one shower per side, and they both need a good cleaning. It appeared to me that they are basically in the "refill TP and that's it) stages. There are cobwebs and dead bugs everywhere, and my girls and wife won't even use them for fear of being bitten by something. They simply need a good cleaning and a bit of maintenance here and there. Normally, this wouldn't be a big deal, we'd just shower in the camper, but with 3 nights here, gray water space is a premium, and I'm not keen on hooking back up just to dump the tanks. I'd highly recommend this campground for 1-2 night stays, and for folks not squeemish about showering with bugs and spiders ;->. It's a great non-city place to camp for Atlanta, or a nice getaway as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
We are really liking the state parks in Georgia. They are clean large sites and the only thing lacking was sewer at the site. However the dump location was easy to get to and always available. The RV sites are all pull thru with picnic benches and fire pits also cable. Lots of stuff to do golf, hiking swimming, miniature golf, boat rental, etc. Also great restaurant at the lodge. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is no sewer dump at each site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$24
Excellent sites, was close to Playground, all of us really enjoyed it.. Restroom and showers cleaned several times a day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$25
I'm not sure what the rate actually is per night, because I had a certificate for a free night. Redtop has lots of trails, a nice lodge, good restaurant, and friendly personnel. I arrived late and was just staying for one night and did not want to unhitch, and wanted a pull through site. They were very accommodating with my requests. Although I didn't use it, I believe the sites have CaTV. Very beautiful scenery and a nice drive to the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$25
We did an over night stay in this state park. The park had style and a small measure of security. There was a locked gate at the entrance and one of those “one way” barriers coming out the exit. The park was somewhat confusing to a new person. I had to drive throughout the park to find a site. The bath house was clean. The site we had was not very level. There were plenty of playground equipment and a lodge. I think there is a lake too. I wish I had been able to stay for a day or so. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
We stayed at Red Top only one night because we were just passing through. We had heard a lot of good things about it. We found the park/campground very beautiful. The terrain is somewhat hilly but the sites are level and very large and private. There were lots of hiking trails through the woods. As far as we could tell during our short stay, the entire area was a beautiful woods. Unfortunately, a severe drought has caused Lake Allatoona to drop about 17 feet! We still saw fishermen out in the lake, but the drop in water is very obvious. Our site was #11. It was enormous, level and private. The temperature was in the 70's, normal for this time of year. We would return to this park. Activities seem limited to hiking and boating. Red Top would be ideal for campers who want a beautiful but quiet getaway We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$23
This is one of the nicest state parks we have camped in. The sites are spacious, shaded and equipped with tables, fire rings, cable TV besides water and electricity. The campground area is gated and requires a pass code to enter. It is very quiet and peaceful. The rv pads are crushed rock and relatively level; most have tent pads also. The pull thrus for big rigs are located on a slight hill. There was evidence that on at least one of the pull thrus, large rv's had scraped the bottom of their rigs when driving up into the pull thru. There are approximately 8 back-in sites that are designated for rv's over 25 feet. Some of these sites may be difficult for newbies to get into as backing around trees is required. If you have a big rig, a reservation is probably necessary especially on weekends! There is a lot to do at the park including fishing, hiking, tennis and swimming in the lake. There's also a lodge and restaurant at the park. We would definitely stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$24
We totally enjoyed this very clean campground. The camp hosts were so polite and very helpful. Very beautiful campgrounds spring, summer or fall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$22
Red Top Mountain is a beautiful state park with plenty to do for families. They have a lodge, plenty of fishing areas and a swimming area when the weather is warm. It is a large campground but be warned most sites are small, short, and hard to get in to. It is a campground for smaller campers, pop ups and tents. There are 12 pull through sites that will handle larger campers at the entrance to the campground. We really enjoyed this campground and stayed three nights in the pull through area with out fifth wheel. There are sites farther down in the campground that will handle larger campers but you would have to know which ones. The shower facilities were very clean and the campground hosts were available if needed. There is a pass code gate so you can get in and out of the campground as needed. I would recommend this campground. I suggest you reserve a site if you need one of the pull-throughs, they do fill up fast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$24
Good hiking trails along Lake Allatoona. Campground a little too hilly for leisurely biking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$22
We have stayed here in the past. Beautiful campground area. All sites are well maintained and well equipped (fire ring, picnic table, and post with lantern hook). We have stayed in the tent area and in the pull-through area. This last trip was in the pull-through area. I will definitely camp here again. The only reason it got a 9 instead of a 10 was because the physical location of the different camping areas can be detrimental. When we tent camped, we were with others in our party. Now that we RV camp, if anyone with us camp in a tent, we would be about a mile away from them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2004
$22
Another great Georgia State Park. Sites are generally well spaced and neat and clean. Many of the back-in sites could be more level, but we're always able to level up with 2-3 inches of blocks. The pull-throughs really cater to the big rigs, but they're not on the water like the back-in sites. Even the sites that are set back a ways from the water have pretty good views, and you don't have to go through other's campsites to walk down to the lake. Generally quiet and peaceful in the campground, with enough to do in the park to keep you busy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$22
This is a truly beautiful park. We can't wait to go back. I would have rated it a 10, but the access was a little tough for our 40' 5th wheel. Other than that, this is a very pretty park, well kept, and fun to explore. There are 12 big, pull throughs which are great for larger RV's, the other sites in the rear of the campground are great for tents and small RV's. There are cabins for rent and Lake Alatoona is beautiful. Just remember, leave plenty of time and patience when it comes to arriving as access is tricky for a larger RV, but well worth it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$20
Throughly enjoy ourselves everytime we camp here. Especially like the pull thru site that offer more than enough room for our kids to run and play. Grounds include mini golf, swimming beach, tennis courts and several hiking trails. Last camped here May 2004. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$20
The only reason I didn't give this park a really good score (8 instead of 9 or ten) was because we had such a hard time getting into our steep site. However, it was the last site available, so I really can't complain. The scenery here was very nice and the park was clean and quiet. We went to the lodge and enjoyed the buffet. Some of the sites are pretty steep and one of my friends had to use 4x4 to get his fifth wheel into the site. But, still a very nice park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Very nice wooded campground for tents and small campers. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com