218149 User submitted reviews online!!
Desert Rose Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 59 user reviews. Phone: (505) 632-8339
CGID8684

Desert Rose Resort

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   2   9   1   1   6   8   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$40
The staff is very friendly and quick to respond to my needs. Although we are full-time RVers, we stay at each park a few months before heading to the next one. We travel for my husband's work. We've been here nearly 6 months so far, with another 3 to go, until we move on. Everything about this park is great! The manager is doing a fantastic job of renovating the park and he sees to it that everything is always in working order (pool, spa, restrooms, laundry, etc). It is clean and tidy and surprisingly, it also has a lot of grass (not at the sites) surrounding the sites. The restrooms are probably the nicest I've ever seen. They have been renovating the store as well, and they now sell food/drinks/ice. Beer is available at all local gas stations. Propane is available on site. It is close to local attractions and about a 23 minute drive to Farmington's closest Wal-Mart. Sites are large and well-spaced and they're going to build even larger pull-throughs soon. All the picnic tables have been resanded/repainted to look brand-new! We're going to miss this park and everyone that works here when it's time for us to go. I would definitely camp here again, and I've already referred many people to here, with equally a pleasant stay and experience. The only reason I'm giving it a 9 instead of 10, is because there are some small holes in the dog park fence that I worry small dogs might be able to escape through if they were persistent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$34
This is a former KOA that is being refurbished. There is lots of activity in the nearby gas and oil fields, there is an oil well on one corner of the property, so a good portion of the sites are medium term folks. That said, everyone was very careful about their speed within the facility and it was very quiet. We had a nice spot under a tree and slept very well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2014
$40
Very disappointing. We booked a 50 amp site and it should have been unavailable as it was so rough that we could not level. The 50 amp box was so close to the ground that my husband had to be on his knees in the dirt to hook up the plug. Gave it a 2 because it was quiet and the staff appear to be working to improve things. Sites are pull thru but short so have to unhitch towed vehicle. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$15
Park is clean and quite. I looked around at other parks and found this one to be the best in the area. Dog park is kept clean. The laundry is clean and the dryers are faster than any other I have found in a laundry facility. There are some long terms campers but everyone is welcoming and quite. Lots of grassy areas and trees for New Mexico. I look forward to the roses blooming and leafs on the trees later this year. The staff is always helpful and friendly, seems the problem manger from 2013 is no longer around. Donuts in the game room on Sunday mornings. I found the showers were clean with nice water pressure. Lots of cleaning and sprucing up going on for Spring. Convenient to fishing, the race track, Durango, and Chaco Canyon. The park could use more gravel, and since the store closes at 5:00 pm there needs to be a change machine and detergent machine in the laundry. Ice and beer in the store would also be a plus. I would stay again and recommend it to others. No issue with Wi-Fi or cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
Ask before check in if cable TV was available and was advised it was. I was given a comcast box and phone number to connect to cable outlet and TV and was advised it only takes 3 minutes. After contacting comcast for 45 minutes and getting nothing to work went back to office and was advised that cable was not working. I ask to talk to the manager when she returned. Did not receive a call back. Called Resort several time to see about a refund and after several more call was advise that the bill would not be adjusted. After driving all day who would want to spend 45 minutes to a hour of their time trying to get Cable TV. Management was not responsive to problem. Would never stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
This was one of the few really unsatisfactory places for the price paid that we've stayed in (out of 20+ private and public campgrounds) so far this year. The web site does not reflect the reality. Only 4 sites are for RVers. The rest are permanent residents. We were not told at check-in that cable does not work, and no adjustment was offered by the woman in the office. Only two washers or dryers work and the remaining ones are out of order. Signs admonish residents not to wash their "greasy clothes" in any washer but the yellow one (broken.) There are Good Sam signs everywhere but we were charged a higher rate than quoted when we reserved. Our all-gravel site had an ancient picnic table and rusty grill. Our first clue should have been this: We booked ahead with a credit card hold in July because we needed an overnight close to Chaco Canyon; we received a cell message weeks later that the previous owner had oversold and we did not have a site. Too bad we bothered to call back, because we were then told there was a cancellation and we could come after all. We would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
This RV park is under new ownership and it appears that it is in the process of much needed cleanup. There are numerous rigs that seem to be permanent; probably workers in the nearby town. The Wi-Fi is very very slow. There is cable TV, but not all the channels that the office list are available. I would stay here again, but Wifi is important to me. I hope they get it fixed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$31
Nice place. Off the main highway a block, but close to a busy road. Traffic lessens considerably at night, so it is quiet - especially if you ask for a site in the back. Park and shower/restroom facilities were clean and folks were friendly. Most sites had some shade, but no grass. Long terms were clean and quiet and no problem at all. Stayed 2 nights so we could go visit Chaco Canyon. Would stay again if we're out this way. Rate is with GS discount We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$33
Transitioning between two owners while we camped there. Plenty of cleaning up dead stuff throughout the park. All gravel and sites are some what level. Wi-Fi is very spotty and you will be told that when checking in. Nice propane refill station can't be used because of ownership transition. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$15
We were somewhat leery of Desert Rose because of past reviews, but decided to try it because of location (we planned to visit Chaco Canyon). We are glad we made the decision to stay. Nice park, quiet, neat. Much trimming, cleaning completed during our stay. Pool opened during our stay. Great staff, always helpful. Convenient to Salmon Ruins and Aztec Ruins (both Chacoan), as well as good access to Chaco Canyon. Good 4G ATT phone service. We plan to stay here again. Rate reflects one month stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
Clean campground. Nice and quiet. Sites are short, so had to unhook the camper from truck ( not a big deal). Friendly owners. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
We stayed here on a Sunday night in October. We had a FHU, pull-through site with 50+ channel cable TV and WIFI that worked at our site. Most sites are pull-through and 30 or 50 AMP. There are about 10 tent sites, a group tent area, and a couple cabins. Yes, there are a lot of permanent area workers staying here, but I didn't feel they were, in any way, a detriment to our stay. The pool was closed for the season but there is a playground for kids plus horseshoe pits and a basketball hoop. The main building has a laundry and bathrooms. The park is well off the main highways and at least a mile from any restaurants and shopping. The office staff was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$31
Better than nothing but not a "nice" stop. Lots of full time oil workers. No grass. WI-FI very "iffy." Watch out when you drive out. There is a dead end at the end of the western most lane. Had to unhook just to get out. Former KOA so you know the layout. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
We wandered the area of Farmington looking for a suitable RV park. Finding none we went to the Farmington Visitor Center and was given a brochure for Desert Rose just a few miles south of in Bloomington. We are so glad we stopped to ask where a decent place was because this park was very nice. It had everything we needed, dog park specifically since our larger dog likes to be off the leash when doing her business. Very clean bathrooms with plenty of hot water for the showers. The staff was very nice and quite helpful regarding local attractions and directions. I'd recommend this park to anyone going to the Farmington/Aztec/Bloomfield area since all 3 towns are about 10 miles from each other and easy to get to any of them since they are in a triangle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Nice CG it has grass. The sites were a little tight but not a problem. It has an enclosed dog park area with toys and such. WiFi was fine and we were near the back of the park. We used this as a base to go to Chaco Culture. Aztec Ruins are close but we did not get there. Shopping is nearby this CG is in a residential area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
This park is a mess, no where near deserving of the Trailer Life ratings given it. Other than the beautiful entry, surrounded by rose bushes, there's nothing more. Here's our experience: weak and poor Wi-Fi, more dust than you can imagine, trashy live-in sites (like a livestock trailer), sites too close together, unable to level the motor home, pool too cold to use, hot tub shut down, and lastly, more dust! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
The best thing about this park is the pet park which is grass and fenced for my dog to exercise in. Otherwise, the pull thru sites are short and narrow. You must unhook your tow vehicle. Dusty, but that is NM. We would stay here again in a pinch but probably would stay in Farmington, NM instead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
This park is located in a remote part of a drab little town with few amenities. While the restrooms were clean and the staff was friendly, the park itself was all gravel, dusty and had many permanent residents. We chose it because of its relative proximity to Chaco Canyon, but would not stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Like a lot of desert area parks, this one was dusty, but it did have some patches of weedy grass between spaces. When we arrived at 4:15 PM, the office was closed, even though a sign indicated that it would be open from 4 to 6 PM. (Also from 9 AM to 1 PM.) However, there were instructions to select a vacant site with park maps as a guide. We drove through the park, stopped in one site ... then walked around to see if we could find one closer to the showers ... and moved to another spot, more to our liking. The gravel sites were relatively level and the hook-ups were in good condition. Walking back to the office, I stopped in the restroom, and discovered that it was out of paper towels -- and the hand-blower didn't work. (I was told it was switched from the office to keep "kids from playing with it." There was an apology for the paper towels being out -- and the dispenser was full the next morning when I took a shower.) Otherwise, the restroom/shower was reasonably clean, but was obviously used (dusty foot prints, etc.). In the end, I'd rate this as a "C" grade facility. There is a garden with beautiful rose bushes (some were still in bloom even late in the season). The pool was obviously closed for the season as it was about half-full with murky water -- and the hot tub was empty and pool cleaning equipment was stacked inside the enclosure. Nice playground next to the pool for young kids. While I wasn't terribly impressed with this RV park, I'd consider staying here again, since the alternatives in the area don't look to be any more inviting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
This is a pretty campground, mellow, and really friendly attentive owners on site. When folks say it's tight to get into, they aren't kidding. If you go really slow and pay a lot of attention you'll be fine - but unhook your toad before entering and don't hook it up in the morning until you're out. It is TIGHT. At least for our 40' rig. Trees hanging low and scraped the roof. Sites are short and you MUST unhook your tow to stay overnight to fit in a site. We stayed one night and left really early - one thing that was great was the PERFECT dog run - well kept, grassy, and large! Very pet friendly but note that they have breed restrictions due to insurance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
We really liked the park, and the hosts were great when we called ahead for a space. Be advised though that the turn into the actual park from the office is tight so keep an eye on your mirrors. Also going through the park (gravel but with trees, some hanging low that could do with a trim and tables and grills at each site), it seems tight. We have a 33' class A towing a dolly with a Honda Element, and we filled the entire pull through from end to end and a little sticking out. Had we dropped the car it would have been a better fit, but we were only staying for 1 night. This seems like just about the right distance to drive coming from Amarillo to say Moab. Restrooms and showers were clean and water was hot in the AM. Would we stay again? Yes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Nice and pleasant "mom & pop" type owners; very well kept grounds with lots of attention to detail and aesthetics. Nice clean pool plus a hot tub. Friendly atmosphere. Good value for amount of amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Clean park with some landscaping. Staff is friendly and helpful. Ample length pull-through sites. Roads and sites are gravel [and dusty]. Good for overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$20
Very Clean, Very nice people. Felt like Family, had a very amazing Rose Garden that looked Spectacular. No Problems at all. We LOVED the place, and would very much so stay again, and we are very soon. This Place Gets a 100 out of 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
This park is in a very quiet location with nice, large sites. The road and sites are gravel. Staff is friendly. Not a destination park but sufficient for one or two nights. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$37
Old KOA with very unlevel sites, in bad need of some gravel to stop dirt from being either mud or very dusty. Pretty entrance but low pine trees on one side and big rose bushes on the other scratched the sides of our motorhome both coming and going. Park is mostly permanents with lots of big dogs and dog pens. Way too pricey for what you get. Also office hands out fishing guide info sheet for a local guide. Guide was terrific, but the prices that Desert Rose quotes was $50.00 less than guide gets, guide honored the price but did not have to. Left early and found a park two blocks away for $15.00 a night cheaper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
Park is mostly for long termers. Needs new gravel to prevent the dirt from turning to mud. Has nice entry landscaping. The yappy little dog left outside in a pen 10' from our rig was an annoyance. This was the closest campground I found to Chaco Canyon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$37
After a long drive it was a pleasure to be welcomed by a friendly staff. It was also good to see some greenery in the high desert area. The shade and pool were a welcomed amenities. We enjoyed the campground a lot. It looked like what a campground should look like: not like someone's parking lot. Their office was filled with many brochures of things to do in the area. We decided to stay three more days. Our dog loved the pet area, and we loved their clean restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$37
This campground advertised heated pool, hot tub, and pull through sites. The pool was not heated, the tub was not hot, and the sites were mostly taken by permanent residents and not for big rigs. The low hanging trees in the tight turns scratched our rig up while we searched for a space, and the "gravel" road was so dusty you couldn't sit out and enjoy the evening even if you could have sat on the warped, weathered picnic tables. Way too pricey for what we got. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
Very pricey for what you get. Sites were short, but wide enough. Friendly people, but there were mainly permanent residents, all of whom had dogs which barked day and night. Little to no road noise, but those dogs: ugh. Will not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$34
This park is way over priced for what you get. As said by a previous post it seems run down and there are lots of permanent units with some looking pretty shabby. The good things about the park is that it is quiet, wi-fi was excellent, and they are pet friendly. We would look for a different park if we were to return to the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$31
A very nice park: friendly staff, great restrooms. All in all this was a pleasant experience. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$34
Sites are a little short. Have to unhook for just an overnight stay. It was sort of a "self serve" park. Find a site, come back later and find someone to pay. Clean park. A little pricey. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This park is dirty. We have stayed here three times in our motorhome & this spring was the last. Each time it has gotten worse. Spaces are unlevel, park is not being kept up, lots of full timers living there. We will not return. Roads are narrow & bad. It was hot when we stayed & we asked for a shade tree & we were put between 2 dead trees!! It was windy & we were concerned about limbs falling from these dead trees. We will not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
This campground is the best one in the area but that is not saying much. The campground itself isn't bad but they have long term residents here and most of them have dogs. The dogs are in pens and they bark quite a bit--more than we like. I would have rated this campground a 5 if not for the dogs. We stayed here because it is the closest campground to Chaco Canyon that I could find. I would try to find another place to stay but would stay here again as a last resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We spent one night here on our journey west. This is an old KOA that is now privately owned. It is a good park for overnight - the quality sites are occupied by long term residents. The rental sites have few trees and the park is not paved, therefore dusty. Probably the only good park in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We stayed there for 2 nights to visit Chaco for a full day-trip. The staff were extremely nice, and one of them walked our dog twice during the day for $5 each. Great pet area where they can run and play with other dogs. The grounds around the front are planted with lots of pretty roses and others plantings. Not a ton of trees, but then again we are in the desert! Site was level gravel. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
Although this park states it is Big Rig friendly, it is very tight quarters. The sites are all gravel and not level. The only half-way decent thing about this park is the dog run and it needed to be mowed. We would not camp here again unless there just was no place else to go. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$36
We stayed here for 2 nites simply because it was all we could find. Rained for 2 days we were there and it turned into a muddy mess. Need to put more gravel on their sites. WiFi worked OK. Cable was fine. Alot of long term stayers working the oil field. 2 nites was $73 and some change with Good Sam Discount. Probably would not stay here again if I could help it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
This is not a resort. The park is occupied mainly by long term workers as are the rest of the RV parks in this area. The roads inside the park are very narrow and hard for a big rig to manuver in. Sites are wide and vary in length. The wi-fi works good most of the time. The park is quiet. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$39
This is a good location to visit the Salmon Ruin, Aztec Ruins, Four Corners and Ship Rock. Staff had limited office hours, but the hours were posted and it was not a problem. Sites were gravel. Pet run area was probably one of the best we have seen. Laundry facilities were good. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
We were very disappointed. There were many year round residents in older rigs. We were assigned a spot between two permanent residents,one with three small children and a baby, along with three yapping chihuahua's left in a pen. This used to be a KOA and has degraded. The sites are dirt and dust with little vegetation yet. On the plus side there are lots of trees. This might be OK for an overnight stay, but not worthy of Trailer Life's rating of 9 or the price to stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$34
Do not understand what other folks have complained about. I have seen and stayed at sites much narrower than this campground. Have 36' motor home. We put out slide, awning and parked our Jeep next to the awning and it all fit on the site fine. As far as comments on grass, look at the rest of New Mexico as you drive to the campground. It seems the whole state does not do grass, so give this place a break. The reviewer who complained about the hook ups may have pulled in the wrong way. Park was clean from what we saw. Just checked in today. Good enough for me so far. CERTAINLY will post again if that changes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$34
This is an older park but is fairly well maintained. All roads and pads are gravel. The only grass is in the area around the office and the doggy park. Some sites are shaded but not all. Traffic flow is good and the site I had was very close to level. The office staff was friendly. Wi-Fi was good. Quiet park, pool closed while we were there. Sites closer together than I prefer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
I don't understand the 3 previous comments on this park. There is NO crowing as sites are 30 ft. wide! How wide is wide enough? My 45 ft. MH fits just fine. Access is very adequate with wide graveled roads and a standard layout. A few trees with branches, but I know not to pull in and scrape them or to go to another site, so this is not a problem. I had no issues with the utilities either. The staff is friendly with a small store on site. There is no safety issue here and any permanents must be on the other side-away from the over nighters. Remember, this is New Mexico and you're not going to have a campground in a grassy oasis, so get real! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$36
This park is okay for an overnighter, sites were on dirt but fairly good size and clean. Restrooms and showers were a little worn but clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
I was here on a work contract. This was the niceset park around, but it was awful. They stated that there was wireless internet... That stunk! Couldnt even get on at the office. I asked for a site away from the playground and kid areas, and was put next to a house trailer with kids!! Trying to sleep in the day was a real chore. I was close to the dog park which was nice for me and the dog. There was supposed to be a rule against 4 wheelers, well there was one in the park for about 2 weeks. Then there were power surges that made everything shut off and the owners said it was our fault (the rv owners). The hot tub wasn't working most of my stay, and one of the co-owners/grounds keeper was extremely rude and carried a beer can around constantly. He would even stare at me while I was trying to do rv maintance. If I wasn't gone most of the time I would have left. If it weren't for some of my neighbors I would have left a long time ago. As a single female I really didnt feel safe esp with one of the grounds keepers around. I only recommend a brief 1 or 2 day stay not extended stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
There is not much else to choose from in this neck of the woods so we have stayed here while passing through northwest NM a few times. This place is in a quiet neighborhood but the spaces are really cramped. There is barely room to park your truck next to your rig after you unhitch. It's basically a gravel parking lot. The WI-FI is pretty much useless because the signal is so weak. The showers were disgusting with hair clogging the drains and general dirt and garbage left behind by past campers. The best thing this place has going for it... which is actually really nice, is the fenced in dog run. It is large enough to give the dog some space to play. If you have a dog it is worth staying here for that reason alone. There is not much in the way of good food around here either. You are better off cooking for yourself. Don't let anyone tell you that Rubio's in Aztec is worth the drive because it's not! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Sites are too close and poorly Laid out. Hookups were separated from site with a row of rocks putting the hookups in the site on the left, very strange... The trees need trimming, I had to scrape through them on the way in and out. Office hours are a little odd, 9-1 and 4-6. Wi-Fi worked but slow and it would completely shut off every few hours. We stayed here because it was the closest to visit Chaco Canyon from, should have stayed in Farmington, Bloomfield is not a nice place... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
We liked this park. I think it previously was a KOA but is now under new management. The grounds and restrooms were spotless. The park has good shade for Northern New Mexico and is appropriately named for the rose bushes were in bloom at almost every site. A very nice touch. The sites are quite large, both in terms of length and width, so you don't have that "stacked-in" feel that so many private parks offer. We certainly would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2007
$01
We were supposed to stay at this park for a couple of months. We left after 2 days. The water line was frozen at the first site they put us in and the second one had a leak. After spending $200 on equipment to adjust to the first two sites and being asked to move to a third, we decided to leave. The man running the place was rude and clearly did not know what he was doing. We would never stay at this park again under any circumstances. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
Good location as a base camp for exploring the ruins at Chaco Canyon, especially if you want hook-ups since the NPS CG at Chaco is primitive and at the end of rough dirt roads. But,if you stay at a KOA you should expect typical KOA quality - poor. This park is no longer worthy of a stop. Too many long term residents with the usual junk and trash at their sites. Park upkeep has declined. We stayed here 3 years ago and it wasn't too bad then. This time we just headed down the road after observing the negative changes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2005
$33
Bloomfield KOA has to be the worst campground we have ever used. We are really angry at Trailer Life right now because we passed up at least four acceptable campgrounds looking for this 8/10*/8 campground. Granted, we were in New Mexico, so didn't expect lush green grass and trees. What we did expect is that somebody would trim, mow and water what little grass and trees that were visible. The only trees we saw were those that scraped the top of our 5th wheel trailer. We got there at 2 pm, and found the office closed until 4 pm. Go find your own campsite and come back and register. We drove around and found one that was acceptable, i.e., the electricity worked, the water worked, and we could reach the sewer connection. I went up to the office, and found that site was already taken. We drove around some more and found another one - right next to Paw Paw Park. That was the only place in the campground that had any grass. The main problem is that 2/3 of the campsites taken were with permanent or long-term trailers. One of the requirements seems to be that you have a diesel truck (and leave at 5:30 am) and one or two large dogs. Why can't they put all those long-term in two or three rows, rather than having them placed with the overnighters. Our campsite had two 30 amp plugs, and one worked, so we pulled in. The water leaked. The man next door started his diesel at 5:30 the next morning, and let it warm up for 15 minutes. We have seen just as good bathrooms at other campgrounds, and I really think that a "10" would have locks on the shower doors rather than a latch that doesn't reach. They also charged $31.95 (with our KOA card), so it is grossly over priced. As you have guessed, we will NEVER go there again. It is hard to find anything acceptable in New Mexico, but we stayed at Santa Rosa Campground (Good Sam) the next night, and it was very nice. Trailer Life needs to audit their ratings more closely, and not just take somebody's word because they also bought an ad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2005
$31
It took several times before I got a return call in order to make a reservation. We arrived in the afternoon and the office was closed. Our reservation paperwork was in a conspicuous spot so we grabbed it and went to our site. The site was already occupied. I left a few messages at the offices and we just took another vacant site hoping that it was not reserved. We finally got a return call back but several hours later. The campground was filled with many year-round RV's, many that were very old and run-down and their outdoor areas arund the sites were littered with about everything they owned. It was very unattractive. There were also dogs roaming around and there were some trucks and other vehicles parked here and there. The grounds would rather unkempt. The nicest looking part of the campground was the pet area. I think with some extra maintenance and TLC, this campground would have been much better. The owners must think you don't have perform too much maintenance to keep the place up. I think the Trailer Life Directory overrates this campground. Regular offices hours need to be maintained as this was one of the most annoying aspects. We never did see the owners because of their odd hours. This place was ok for an overnight stop because there are not too many decent places to camp between Albuquerque and Durango. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
This park is just ok. Front desk open and closed at odd hours, almost as if the folks managing have another full time job? Pool was clean but hot tub rules not enforced- children using hot tub even though signs say no. Restrooms were clean but need updated- minimal lighting. Sites are all dirt with some gravel. 50A sites are bigger and better maintained than 30A sites. On the rare time when it does rain, the non-50A sites are muddy. Many of the trees are dieing out. There are numerous oil/gas line long term residence and several of these have kennels set up with multiple dogs in their sites. Park doesn’t seem to mind there messy sites or barking dogs. Usually KOA’s can be counted on for maintaining the rules. As stated in previous posts, this use to be a nicer park. We will probably look for other options when staying in this area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$24
Stayed there in August of 2003. Outstanding Campground. Really liked to be able to watch TV in air conditioned lounge while waiting for laundry cycle to finish. Landscaping and flowers were a pleasant treat. Manager was especially helpful with area information. Gift shop had unuasual items. I visited with a number of other guests in the TV lounge that were just as pleased with this great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2002
$33
New Owners took over. Many trees have been cut down, shade has been reduced to almost nothing. The large park area now has a double wide mobile home in the middle. The owners are reluctant to provide service, and tend to be very rude. Too much money, too little services. Will not go here again. Previous owners were wonderful, too bad they are gone. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$33
This park is under new ownership, so my previous review is "on hold" until they show how they'll continue to maintain this park. We found a change in the overall appearance, although the new owners seemed to be in the process of keeping things up. They were a bit reluctant to trim some overhanging branches in the "big rig sites" but finally did. Restrooms are spotless. Price is too high for the area in my opinion. I don't think we'll bother to stop anymore. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$25
This was a lovely oasis in the high desert. The area is poor and not very pretty, but the historical sites make this worth several day's stay. We had a site that was wide, with a light tree shading the picnic table and roses climbing the fence that separated the sites. Roses were all over the campground. This is an excellent place to use as a base to visit Chaco Canyon (a wonderful day trip, but make sure your car is up to the 15 miles of dirt road), the Aztec Ruins (a more easily seen site that is nearby), and Ship Rock, etc. There is an excellent golf course in town, Pinon Hills, that is reasonable for golfers. The town of Farmington, nearby, has a Walmart, Sam's, etc. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com