206877 User submitted reviews online!!
Kit Carson RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (928) 774-6993
CGID8917

Kit Carson RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
April 2012
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   3   6   6   2   6   10   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$36
Not good, but have seen worse. Nice location with tall pines. Good for overnight, wouldn't want to stay much longer. Restrooms not very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
Sites are spacious and the staff is friendly. That being said, this RV park has been under new management since Jan, no improvement noticed since our last stay in 2010. Areas that would be ideal for a playground or pet area are used for heavy equipment and RV storage. Many of the tenants are permanent with older RVs. Attached wooden decks, patios, storage shed, and large propane tanks are common through out. Restrooms are extremely small. Showers are in desperate need of re-caulking. In the laundry facility, half of the machines do not operate. Kit Carson has much potential, but in its current state, it has been neglected for a very long time. I love the tall pines, but this RV park just is not an attractive park for vacationers. We will not stay a 3rd time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
This is an older park, having been here in the 1960's. Sites were laid out funny. Was given the choice of 2 sites. First site was a no brainer, had several real tight turns to get to it. Second site was better. A lot of low power lines through out the park. Manager did warn me of them. The majority of the residents are permanent. Was given 2 full pages of rules to follow. We may or may not stay here next trip to Flagstaff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
This is a residents park with not very many overnight spots available. We did not like any of the overnight spots and searched the park for an empty slot farther from the road. We asked and got permission to use that slot. I found the manager helpful for my needs but would not expect much help if something went south. BTW: The sewer system has just been fixed. They had to dig up a large section in the front of the park. I would not hesitate to camp here again. It is close to the downtown area and shopping. Buried in the trees, it is quiet which we like. The bathroom looked well used and crude, but were spotlessly clean. Ditto the laundry facilities. I did have trouble receiving WiFi from our spot and you had to be very near the office for reliable WiFi. This is not as bad as reviewed earlier. Oh, lots of lava rock which is dusty. But they are laying down good rock replacement which is helping the dust situation. If someone drives fast on the road, it does kick up a lot of dust. We stayed here twice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
Based on the positive review we read here (April 2010) we decided to try Kit Carson RV Park. What a rip off this place is. For the price you would expect at least a decent park. The roads are washed out gravel that are pretty rough and the camp sites are not any better. Overall the park is run down and in need of a major face lift. We did find the restrooms clean, but I don’t think I have ever seen such a small facility in my life. Also be aware that there are wires strung over the roadway within the park that are very low (11’). They advertise cable TV, but do not offer free service. Cable is at some of the sites but you have to contact a local provider to set it up. OK I guess, if you are staying here for an extended stay. The internet would not work at our site, but we took the laptop down to a bench outside the office and got a weak signal. Would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Rustic campground in the pines. Stayed near the back of the park so I had to traverse the incredibly rough dirt roads to get here. If you get a site closer to the entrance, it is okay. The people were friendly and helpful. It can be tough turning left on to the highway due to traffic. It is pretty far of the freeway, too. All-in-all it is better than average but not very convenient for a stopover (which is why I was there). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
Wow, I just can not believe the negative review! I have just spent a week at Kit Carson and it was a WONDERFUL experience! The rustic park is in the pines, the site was very neat and clean, and the manager in the office went out of her way to be helpful. She was a very cheerful, friendly and kind person. Our experience there was very positive, and the park is just beautiful! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
We knew we wanted to escape the heat this summer and thought what better place than in the cool Ponderosa Pines of Flagstaff, Arizona. One of my brothers lived in the area for awhile and loved it. Some very good friends of the family had stayed at Kit Carson RV Park and had very nice things to say about it. Our reservations were made during winter for a June through August stay. We're now three weeks into our stay and have not had a single positive experience with the park. Hang onto your RV's steering wheel, here's where it starts to get ugly. After pulling into the site and setting-up we were shocked, no pun intended, to discover that the site only has 30 amp electrical service. When making the reservation we specifically requested a 50 amp site. On check-in day we once again received assurance that the site has 50 amp electrical service. When we confronted the Manager about the discrepancy she replied, "I'm legally blind, I made a mistake." She and her sidekick, proceeded to get nasty with us when we expressed our frustration with the situation. We agreed to try the site and see if it would work-out, if not, they would refund our money. Our mail (like most full-time RVers) follows us from our home state to wherever we happen to be. Everyday for 8 days we checked with her to see if she had made a mail key for us. On the ninth day the heavens moved her to get the job done. Each day we checked with her we received a new sarcastic, nasty excuse. The bulk of our mail arrives by Fedex on Tuesdays. Tuesday, June 17, 2008 we arrived at the office to collect our mail only to discover the office was closed while they went to a doctor appointment. We continued to check back throughout the day until 5:00pm. The office never opened. We were unable to retrieve our mail until Wednesday morning. Instead of an apology from either one of them, we received a snide remark. Later in the day after checking the Fedex website I found that our mail had been left outside the door of the office which sits on Route 66. Dumping waste tanks is one of the not so pleasurable but necessary evils of a life in an RV. Early in the evening on Friday, our "black" tank was full: it was time to do the deed. Immediately I knew we had a problem. Waste water, raw sewage, was leaking from around the hose that coupled to the parks sewage system. The situation grew worse very quickly: I won't gross you out with further details. I flagged down my parents and asked them to help. My mother found our family friend who tried to find staff from the park to help, no luck. We got the situation under control as best we could and I placed an urgent phone call to the office. I left a voice mail explaining the situation but was disappointed that there was no "in case of emergency" contact information offered. Eventually the Manager's home was found and she said she would alert the caretaker. We didn't hear from anyone Friday evening. When the office opened Saturday morning my parents were there to discuss the situation with the Manager. She informed them that the situation would not be corrected until Monday when the plumber would be out. They asked about getting someone out over the weekend but she told them that wasn't going to happen. My Father told her that he was sure the Health Department would have something to say about that. She replied, "Do what you have to do." It's Sunday morning as I write this: we're still leaking raw sewage. Rules of the park are unenforced. The "management style" is neglect. Several of the park models have tarps erected at various places that make the place look like a refugee tent city. There is no enforcement of site decoration rules. Loud dogs are commonplace. Many sites have more than two dogs (the limit imposed in the rules). Gatherings at campsites are very large and inconsiderate of the noise they create for neighbors. Kit Carson RV Park offers a beautiful setting in the Ponderosa Pines of Flagstaff, Arizona. It also offers the most unfriendly, uncaring, rude, ineffective, and inefficient management I've ever encountered in any business. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com