220021 User submitted reviews online!!
Lamar Sportsman's RV Center and Horse Motel was rated 7 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (719) 336-3623
CGID9072

Lamar Sportsman's RV Center and Horse Motel

Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   8   5   7   6   7   8   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
Good wifi, very friendly staff, nice pool, nice horse barn with runs, level pull through sites but fairly short. Surrounded by feedlots, but this whole area is feedlots. Good overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$22
This park is easy to find. The owners very nice and help you to your site. Everything is clean and it was quiet. Pads are level gray rocks and there is plenty of room for any size camper. There is a swimming pool. There were no horses in the barns that night. There are restaurants about one mile away on Hwy. 50. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
Nice little campground for an overnight stay. Owner was very friendly and helpful. Good Wi-Fi. Well kept grounds. Easy to find. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
My comments are similar to the ones already posted except that on our departure day the wind shifted to the North West and brought the odor of a cattle feed lot next door into the park. For a one night pass through it was OK, but I wouldn't want to have an extended stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, but I thought that having a beauty salon in the office was weird. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
This is a former KOA campground. New owners are slowly making improvements. Bathrooms were clean but in the process of being remodeled when we were there. Sites are level and all were pull through sites. As one reviewer commented they are a bit short so if you are pulling a vehicle you may need to disconnect. We have a 36' motorhome and pull a car and found that to be the case. Park was clean, quiet and a good choice for overnight. There is a large 24/hr. Travel Plaza about 1 mile from the park where you can get fuel and other supplies. We paid $35/night, which included Good Sams discount. This was the posted rate so I assume rates have been raised for the season compared to the rates listed by previous reviewers. We would stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$22
This park was pretty close to the highway. We parked in space 43 way in the back corner and did not hear much highway noise. Most of the spaces are pull-through. $22 with a Good Sam card. Everything we used worked okay. There was dog waste everywhere. You had to be very careful about where you stepped. There is a horse barn where you can park your horse for the night. I had to do some light levelling since the space tilted slightly toward the front. From the shape and design of the office, it looks like it could have been a KOA many years ago. A very nice lady checked us in. If I was passing this way again and needed a one-nighter I would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$31
On a sliding scale,for this region, this park could be a 9 or 10. Great friendly folks and your basic Mom and Pop park. If you are 45' and do not disconnect the tow you will be out into the roadway behind you; BUT THAT IS NOT A PROBLEM, just tell the nice people you are big and they will assign you a sight where also using the roadway is just fine. Gravel roads and sights are level, wide, no tree or maneuvering problems. The hook-ups appear to be just recently up-dated and the electric, water and sewer are all modern. Our 24 ton, 4 slide bus was very happy here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Pleasant, small park, just Northwest of town. Plenty of grassy areas for dogs, nice pool area, friendly staff, not much shade. Gravel drives and sites. Utilities worked well. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$27
We stayed here four nights on our way to Nebraska. It is a nice cozy quiet small campground with a very friendly and helpful staff. We did not use the Wi-Fi. The laundry room was clean and everything worked well. Plenty of nice grassy area to walk the dog. Water and electricity worked well. Enjoyed the resident mules and horse. A hair saloon on premises was very convenient. Will definitely stop here again when in the area. Rate reflects Good Sams full hook up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$16
We stopped here on the way to Colorado. Nice clean park, friendly staff, the pull-through was good for about 58' length. There had been lots of rain yet the gravel and grass did a good job. Will stay here again. The rate reflects Good Sam and only electricity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
This is our fourth year to stop at this CG. It has always been a good place to stop, at least I thought it was. But a new owner has taken over and has a lot to learn. When we arrived at 3:30, the office was closed and a note said to pick a site, which we did. It was almost dark when the owner finally was in the office. The Wi-Fi did not work at our rig and the grounds needed grooming. The showers were OK, but could be better. I hate to knock a CG, but this new owner better shape it up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
Lamar is a town along a major trucking route and one of the main travel routes from Texas to Denver. This campground is unique because it caters to horsemen and RVer's alike. It was a nice place to stay. Sites followed the contour of the land. The entire campground is on a mildly sloping grade but it wasn't a problem. Roads in and out are ample for our 57' long truck and trailer and packed coarse gravel drives offer enough traction for maneuvering. We stayed one night and left at 6AM so we didn't experience much, but it is a great stopover and way better than the motel/RV arrangement on the other side of town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$23
This is a nice park for an overnight stay. The young owner was friendly and helpful. Lots of green grass at the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
This campground is adequate for overnight. The sites (gravel) were a bit short for our motorhome and tow car (36' + toad). The roads are extremely narrow and if the campground had been more full, we wouldn't have been able to maneuver around. We were told to pull up through the site in front of us to get out, as the turn would have been too tight. There were a few permies, but most were tidy. As far as campgrounds, there isn't much to choose from, only one other campground, but the reviews were so bad, we passed it by. WiFi was fast with a very good signal. The highway is right here, but not that noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$24
This park is an old KOA which, although in the process of renovating with new owners, still has some of the problems of an older design. Sites and roads are difficult to maneuver in/out of with big rigs without driving over or through adjacent sites. The gravel sites were fairly level, and hookups were good; however the free internet would not connect. Verizon Aircard worked well. Close enough to the highway to hear the many trucks, but tolerable. Lamar is not a destination, just a stop on the road, and for one night this is the best park in the area. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Park shows sign of neglect. Owner nice and helpful. Site was level gravel. Easy in and out on highway to Santa Fe. Would stop again for one night again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
Friendly owner, ice cream sandwich was a nice treat. CG is still for sale. This is a nice stopover for the night. We were guided to our site and asked if there was anything needed. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Love the free ice cream sandwich when you register! This park was a one night stay for us on our way home. The owner was quite friendly and the park was clean and neat. Flies were bad, but not uncommon for this part of Colorado in the summer. Near the pool is a covered picnic area with water misters that helped keep the area a little cooler. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
Nice park close to the highway but with surprisingly little noise from traffic or other campers. The pool was very clean, and our kids played in there for hours. The bathroom and toilets where clean. The owner gave us ice cream when we arrived, how friendly! Wi-Fi worked but was a little slow. Good stopover park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
This is close to the highway and it is an easy stopover campground for us. There are sites long enough that we do not have to unhook the trailer with ATV behind 5th wheel. Not usually crowded and even though there is no shade, it cools off in the evenings. They were very accommodating with helping us to our site. Gave us ice cream bars on arrival. Even though close to highway, it is quiet. Not far from a truck stop to the east for fuel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Management was very friendly, park was not close to anything and you are out in the middle of nowhere. Will not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2010
$37
Sites were pull throughs, however if other campers were here it would have been really tight to maneuver a big rig. Laundry facility was very clean, although a little expensive to wash ($2). We would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This is a diamond in the rough! Not a destination, but a tremendous stopover. Owner is friendly, helpful, and just plain nice.I will plan to stop here every trip !! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
We stopped here on the way to Denver and I have to say that this is one of the nicest campgrounds that we have stayed at. It is clean and you wouldn't think that being by the road it would have been as quiet as it was. I say no shade trees but I didn't look for any either. We were happy without a shade tree. So I would ask the owner. The owner is as friendly and helpful as I have ever seen at a campground. It is in a very nice area and if we are back in that part of the state again, we will definitely stay here. We give it an A+. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$21
Not a destination CG, but as previous reviewer stated a "real diamond in the rough". I'd stop here any time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$21
This is a former KOA under new management. It is a small simple park, with gravel pads and roads. The utilities are recently updated, and the FREE WiFi is fast and dependable. The owners were helpful, even hooking my neighbor up in the rain. Not much of a destination, but a real diamond in the rough, for an overnight or two. They also have a barn and supply overnight horse boarding, so another plus if you are horse person. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com