223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Emma Long Metropolitan Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 6 user reviews. Phone: (512) 974-6700
CGID9404

Emma Long Metropolitan Park

Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
April 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   8   8   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
We drove through this park on a Saturday. There is another comment that they can accommodate a 40 ft rig. We never saw one that could accommodate anything larger than a 30 ft trailer if that. Although the price is good for the area, I cannot recommend this park unless you are ready for many people, lots of noise and very crowded conditions. We would not consider returning to this park. It is also quite a distance outside the main part of the city and not really handy for doing the tourist thing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
Nice, trees, grass with paved sites, but old. No pull throughs. Rate was for a lakefront site, non-lakefront (50 feet from the lake) was $20. Plus there is a $5 vehicle fee. TV reception was excellent. No Wi-Fi but our Verizon cell and broadband worked well. Quiet except for the invasion of boats Sat AM. We didn't stay on Sunday. Park gates close and are locked from 10PM to 7AM so don't plan on staying outside the park too late,or getting an early start! Twenty minutes or so to central Austin. We will return to take in more of what Austin has to offer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$15
Great City park with 20 RV sites with water & 50/30/15 amp pedestals, and another 46 tent sites. Roads & Parking Spots are asphalt. Parking Spots are wide, but not real long. All are back-in. Tight Roads, but do-able. Entrance road has lots of hills and curves and is 2-lane. Roads could use some maintenance. Our site was right on the water at Lake Austin. We like staying there, just wish it was easier to get into. All sites are first come, first serve and there is an extra vehicle charge, $5 M-T, $8 F-S & Holidays. Get in mid-week & you should not have a problem getting a site. Check the sites before you pay to be sure you can fit if you are in a diesel pusher. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$15
What a nice municipal park, right on the lake. I was there for longer than the 14 day limit - though I had to move to an adjacent site, but hey, I needed to dump tanks anyway so had to drive to dump station. I parked parallel to road vs perpendicular which allowed me to "pull thru" to both sites. I had seen someone else do it. The drive to the main road was a good 6-7 miles, then several to many miles to town. At times I was the only camper there, but it was late in year. Thanksgiving Friday to X-mas week. Staff member was initially hard-nosed about the 14 day limit, but relented when I was the only paying customer. Was forced to scale down to reduce expenses is why I chose it in first place. Can imagine how busy this place is in Spring or Summer. Monster picnic and tent area. The washrooms were just a notch above primitive but clean. Might very well stay here again sometime when not on a forced vacation. My PC's air card worked very well and was able to point the sat dish thru the trees enough to have that. Like I said, what a nice municipal park. Both my sites the 50 amp worked. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2008
$15
The nightly rate does not include a one-time $5 entry fee which we only had to pay once for 3 days. This campground is very convenient for visiting some friends in town, and would make a good place to generally visit Austin. However, while there are an absolute ton of non-electric tent sites, there were only 20 or so RV sites (water and electric), and they were about 60% used up (all lake front sites were used) by Thanksgiving day (compared with maybe 5 non-electric sites used in this park, and only about 20% occupancy of all other campgrounds in this trip). So this is a pretty popular, first-come first-served park. The popularity can give you some noisy camping neighbors unfortunately, which is why this gets a lower rating than other parks. Upkeep can use some work also; the lack of lids on trashcans means that trash was spread out all over the place in the mornings by hungry critters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$15
Nice holiday park owned by the county. Very large city park on the lake. NO RESERVATIONS! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com