224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Cheyenne Mountain State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 74 user reviews. Phone: (719) 576-2016
CGID9552

Cheyenne Mountain State Park

Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   8   6   9   10   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2014
$31
What a gem of a state park located high on a hillside overlooking Colorado Springs with the Cheyenne Mountains behind, so there are gorgeous views from every site. This is a very well maintained campground with helpful and friendly park rangers. Roads are asphalt. Our concrete pad was a long level and wide pull-through. Big rig access was good. Very quiet with lots of privacy, space for our towed, some sites had shade trees ours did not. Wooden steps up to a very pretty gravel area with a picnic table and grill. Bathrooms were spotless, and the laundry was large, clean and well equipped with washers, dryers, iron and ironing board. Not overly pet friendly. Yes, there are pick up bags, but dogs are not allowed on trails, and have to be walked in the roadway, so it would be great to have a dog walk area in the Park. No Wi-Fi but cell was good. Walmart and Safeway are just down the road, along with good restaurants and plenty of sightseeing. This is a very popular park and takes some time and patience to get a site here, but it's well worth it. We would stay here again, the scenery is breathtaking and the city lights at night are very pretty.  We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2014
$33
Gorgeous views from almost all sites, which sit high on the hillside overlooking Colorado Springs. Full hookup at each site, level concrete pads, and nice spacing between the sites. Park has many hiking trails. Bathrooms are super clean, but showers are coin-operated. Note that you are required to purchase a "daily entrance fee" for $7 in addition to the $26 camping fee. We only stayed one night but would have liked to have stayed longer. They didn't seem to check the "daily entrance fee" tag we were required to display on the windshield, so it may be possible that you could skip purchasing a new "entrance fee" tag daily if you left your rig and/or vehicle sitting on the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$33
$26 plus $7 daily park fee. Loved the spacious, clean sites with spectacular views (stayed in sites 16 and 12). Great hiking trails. Some noise from Ft Carson, helicopters one night around midnight for about 90 minutes, but the sites are far off the road, so being so close to the city it was amazingly quiet. No WiFi but Verizon cellular access to the Internet was fairly good. We will definitely stay there again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$31
This is a very nice state park. I do agree with the last poster that the signage could be better inside the park. We stayed in site 15, which was level and easy to get in and out of. The one issue that could be better was the lack of pet areas to walk your dog. There are several gravel trails around the park, but even the ones that lead directly to a camping loop are off limits to dogs, so you are left walking them on the roadway. And one other note if you have a pet, the Air Force Academy which is near by plays Reveille and fires off a cannon each night at dusk. Not real loud, but it may spook the more sensitive pets (like mine). Still a very nice place overall, and I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$31
First the good: very roomy, clean bathrooms and showers. The views each campsite had were incredible- Cheyenne Mt. behind us, and the vast plains below us. Now the bad : poor signage in the park. No signs to give directions on how to get to the campground section and registration office. This of course adds stress and wastes time. A shower costs 4 quarters for 4 minutes. We put in our money and got ready, only to have cold water. Added 4 more quarters, and still got cold water. Not happy campers! The site we had (#37), was so steep and angled, the rear of our trailer hit the asphalt and scraped. We had to get maintenance to come set up boards to lift our wheels in order to get in and not tear up the chassis of our RV. The pad was full of dents ,gouges and scrape marks from other RVers trying to back in. We noticed other sites had this same problem. When we asked for the maintenance guys to help us get out the day we left, they gave us a bad attitude . We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$25
Our favorite state park! We've been coming here since it opened in 2010, and this place just keeps getting better! What everyone else said is spot on, great sites, great views. We had site #25 this time. A back-in that had an awesome view! We love using the park as a base while we do the "touristy" stuff in the Springs. Close to the Zoo, Cog Railway, Cave of the Winds, etc! We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
Fee includes $7 daily park pass. This is by far the best campground we have stayed in. We were in the Gobbler Grove loop. All paved, level, full hook up sites. Very clean, roomy sites with nice views. Great system of trails for hiking and biking. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Our campsite was a back-in site that gave us a beautiful view out our back window over parts of Colorado Springs. Beautiful campsites, great facilities - I have nothing but praise for this Colorado State Park. Some of the spots may be too short for a bigger unit so just plan for that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$26
IMHO, as state parks go, this is one of the best. Excepting for some resort things like a pool, it rivals any commercial CG that I have used. You are not in the woods communing with the squirrels, but rather in a park that has nice asphalt access roads, with large, concrete, level sites that have plenty of elbow room from your RV neighbor. The utilities are excellent, the staff is friendly and professional, and the bath houses are nice. The FHU utilities are very good. There is no WiFi but Verizon 4G cell service was good. OTA TV channels numbered about a dozen. The park is in a location that overlooks Colorado Springs. The back-in sites that are along the rim of the CG afford the best view. This is not really a destination park, but rather a very comfortable place to stage out of when doing the tourist thing in the city. I am stingy with my higher ratings, but this is easily a 10 rating and that is validated by how hard it is to get into this park. It took me three weeks of daily checking for a site cancellation until I got a site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$26
A beautiful newer state park just south of Colorado Springs. High above the city with sparkling city lights at night and mountain views during the day. Easy access off Hwy 115. Clean facilities. Spent 4 nights here in a 40 ft rig. Full hookups are perfectly located. Lots of bike and hiking trails. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$31
Rate reflects camping fee and daily entrance fee. Very nice, relatively new, state park. Facilities work as expected. Great views over Colorado Springs. Sites very comfortably spaced, easy big rig maneuvering. Web site seems to describe each site well. Surprisingly, the restrooms were clean enough but not maintained daily. Trash seemed to remain for the full week we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
Very nice state park. All RV sites have 50 amp power, water and sewer which is great. Camper Services building does not open until April 15th, so the laundry, store, etc. were not open during our stay. Good hiking trails and a nice visitor center. Our only complaint is that the pull-throughs (at least in Swift Puma Loop) are not usable for many rigs, including our 33' fifth wheel. We tried to use one, but they are too narrow, and the curve too tight to be able to get our rig in. I was as far over as I could be (tow vehicle tires against the tire stops)but the trailer tires would have dropped into the deep sewer pit that each site has. This would have damaged our trailer and we had to back out of the site. We noted that all other fifth wheel trailers were using back-in sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$24
Park is clean and well kept. Anytime you camp in a Colorado State Park there is a $7.00 car charge on top of the per night rate. They do have an annual car pass for $70.00 per year. Therefore my camping rate really was $31.00 per night. This park is new but has just a couple of sites that will hold a 40' rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$24
Beautiful state park. All trailer sites have full hookups. No water or sewer available when we were there in March. Also, showers were closed as was the office at 2pm. No mention on the park signs what the fees are when there are no services except electric. I am sure this park is booked continuously during peak season. The facilities we were able to view looked new. Close to Colo Springs. This would be a destination park if interested in staying in Colo Springs for a while. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Wow! One of the best campgrounds (state, federal, and private) I've been to. This is a 50A full hookup park with Cheyenne Mountain above you and Colorado Springs below. Stellar views. There are plenty of hiking trails and access to modern conveniences in nearby Colorado Springs. However, once in a while the quiet would be broken by artillery practice at nearby Fort Carson. The nightly rate of $45 =$29/night + Colorado day pass. So if you're planning on camping in a lot of state parks in pays to buy a annual pass. We had good Verizon 4G LTE service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
Oh man, what a beautiful campground! Colorado obviously takes their state parks very seriously. Most sites were quite spacious and have great views of the mountain and/or the town. The entire park is very clean and well staffed. Maybe we got lucky, but it was also very quiet. We can't wait to come back here again someday. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$26
This was our 6th time staying at here and it is always a great place to camp! Wide variety of sites to stay in, but there really isn't a bad spot in the park. We were in site #36, a back-in with fantastic views of the city. Hookups worked great with excellent water pressure. The park is only minutes away from major attractions like the zoo and Seven Falls. The only reason it got a 9 was no WiFi and several sites have a steep angle backing in. Not a huge deal, just unhook your WD bars before backing in! We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$26
This is by far one of the best campgrounds we've ever camped in. It is a rare find for a state park to have water hook-up, sewer, and a laundry facility. This is a new park and it is absolutely the cleanest park we have ever been in. There are several hiking trails for all levels of difficulty. There are several prairie dogs waiting for your arrival! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
The best RV park we have ever stayed in. The only complaint that I have is that they only allow a 2 week stay every 45 days. Beautiful views from every direction. Facilities are immaculate. Even if you don't camp here, the hiking trails are worth a visit. Well marked and well maintained. We hiked as many of the 20 miles worth of trails as our bodies would allow. We even came back while camping at a different park just to hike there. We will come back here as often as we can. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$7
This is one of the nicest state run parks I think we have ever been to. While we did not get to stay, due to waiting too long to book, let me tell you about what we found when we drove out to look at the place with our traveling friends. The state of Colorado has done a great job with this park. All the parking sites are terraced which means you get great views in all directions, and I don't think there's a bad site there. The amenities are fantastic with clean and well maintained restrooms and shower facilities. The sites themselves are clean, maintained, and manicured. I liked that each site has a fire ring, and you can have a fire in the evening. The staff is attentive, seemed friendly, and professional. Above all they go out of their way to make the whole experience painless and enjoyable. While they were sympathetic to our plight, they made us feel good about trying next year. We noticed the activities boards around the park offering day and evening classes in everything from studying prairie dogs to star gazing and night sky activities. If you have not already, you will have to buy a $70 dollar seasonal pass to the park, good at all Colorado State Parks as well, and then pay the nightly fee of $7/day. No big deal and the $70 bucks is paid off pretty fast if you stay the 2 week limit. Speaking of time limits, it's 14 days in a 45 day stretch. So, stay 14 days then leave for 30 days before you can come back. The park is so popular with the good folks of Colorado and other states that you need to book early through their website "reserveamerica.com." We sure were bummed we could not stay this trip, but we hope to come back and stay for 14 days in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$36
Price reflects daily rate plus $7/day required Colorado Parks pass - if you do not possess the seasonal pass available for $70/year. If you must have shade trees, you may not be happy here. But the western sky is shaded by the mountain by late afternoon. Sites are large, nicely spaced, concrete and asphalt with full hook-ups and picnic and tent areas. There are miles of bike and walking trails. Dogs are allowed in the park but prohibited from walking on the trails. Big rigs towing, don't miss the small sign to keep left at the roundabout near the entrance. Upon our departure we were forced to turn right on Highway 115 due to an event at the military base and drove several miles out of our way before finding a suitable place to turn around. We would most definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$31
Awesome, awesome park. The best park we have stayed in within the last six months of our travels. Clean, clean, clean. Big site that brings you back to nature. Lots of trails, and beautiful views. Rangers we deal with or talked to, and there was several, were all first class, friendly, informative and very, very helpful. If we were to give an award for the best park and best staff, this park would win hands down, no question. Stayed four nights. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
The nightly rate is $24 with an additional $7 per night fee for the RV. The park is VERY nice. It overlooks Colorado Springs as it sits part way up the mountain and is easily accessible to town and to Camping World. Nice facilities, nice staff, nice pull-through spots. It was windy when we were here and we had to bring in the slide out, but we were in the midst of a blizzard warning that fortunately never materialized! Very nice state park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
Book ahead. State Park. Newer, well planned, well staffed. Breathtaking views, close to Colorado Springs. Did hear some "booms" from the base one night. Does get very windy at times. Private sites, fun trails to hike. This was at the top of our list of best parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
Beautiful park with full hook-ups! Nice pull-through sites with no close neighbors and great views. It does get windy though because of the location. We only stayed 2 nights but would return again for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
Big Rig Friendly! Every RV site has full hook ups! We stayed in site 16, back in site with level cement pad. Views - down the mountain we could see Colorado Spring, looking up we saw the lights to the opening of North American Aerospace Defense Command - NORAD. The employees that we meet were all kind, considerate and very helpful. Roads are all paved. Public rest rooms and laundry were spotless. Walking trails were every where. We brought our pedal bikes, but the hills were too steep for us. Special care on your awnings and patio mats, the wind will come and go, sometimes very strong. We placed the large rocks we found at our camp sites on the corners of our mats, but the wind still picked the mat up and blew. If you do not have wind sensors on awnings (we do) you might take your awnings in when you leave the campground. We highly recommend this campground and we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
This is a quiet, lovely state park that is currently under-utilized. The sites are well laid out and most of them are very private. The wind, when it blows, tends to howl through here as you are fairly unprotected up on the ridge. The only disappointment is that, in addition to the camping fee, you must purchase a daily park pass for $7 per day. In most other state parks the campground fees are all-inclusive, so this was a bit of a surprise. Rate shown includes the daily fee as well as the reservation fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
This is one of Colorado's best state parks when it comes to facilities. Roads are well paved, full hookups available, and clean bathrooms and showers. Campfire rings are well built with a water hydrant close by to help put out campfires. The park is located about 500 feet above the city providing a wonderful view during the day and night. There are numerous trails throughout the park suitable for hiking and biking. I cannot wait to come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
About 500 to 1000 feet above Colorado Springs and Fort Carson gives a great view of the area. Hiking/biking trails of mixed difficulties and very well maintained. One of the nicest state parks we been to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
Very unique views from this campground. Overlooking the city in one direction and beautiful mountain views behind you. Nice level concrete pads with all hook-ups in the proper places. Good spacing between sites. As all other have said; This is a very, very nice state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
This campground was very clean; the playgrounds were well maintained as were the walking trails. The sites were very level and spacious and not sitting on top of each other. The hosts were helpful and very polite. You do hear TAPS being played in the mornings and evenings since Fort Carson is only about 2 miles away, but it is faint and you only hear it if you're sitting outside your rig. This is a great campground and a great destination for vacation. The only negative is the daily park pass that is not included in the campground price, and I think it was $7.50 a day. I thought that was steep. Be sure to book ahead as this campground books quickly in the summer. I made my reservation in January and at that time they only had 2 spots left. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
This is a nice place to spend a couple of days. Our pull through site was level and spacious. It was very easy to get in and out of the park. There was plenty of room to put out our one slide. The playground area was nice for the kids. We were in Gobbler Grove and had a nice view of the town and mountain. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Outstanding campground. Beautiful views. Great trails. Full hookups. Extremely attentive staff and rangers. Loops are designed for slot privacy and views. This place is top notch. No wonder getting a reservation was so difficult. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
Great campground with beautiful views, very quiet. Large pull through sites or back in, level. Tent pads and fire rings are best we've seen. Staff very friendly. Restrooms, showers and laundry are spotless. Great place for single track mountain biking. 3G service with AT&T on our cell. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
One of the best State Parks we have ever seen. We stayed in a pull through site on the upper loop. It had a million dollar unobstructed view of the valley. The park is in the shadow of Cheyenne Mountain. (The Norad Site). The only drawback for the Park is that the State charges you an extra $7 per day park usage fee in addition to the camping fee. Your tow vehicle is free, but make sure that is it towed in, or else they will charge you the $7 for it also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
This was one of the best parks we have stayed in. The sites are large and not just a parking lot like some we saw. The bathrooms and laundry were very clean. Would stay here again and highly recommend. I would also recommend to make reservations since they fill up fast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
Excellent state park! Great views, good location for visiting area attractions. We stay here every year since it opened and we will be back. The only drawback this year, was somewhat low water pressure at our site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
Paid $88.00 for 3 nights plus $21.00 for 3 day state park passes. All things considered, it is well worth the overall cost. The facility and sites are layer out to take advantage of the spectacular views in all directions.. All sites and roads are paved and concrete. All sites are level with plenty of room between sites. The showers (coin operated) and restrooms are large, very clean and well maintained. This is by all means one of the best RV parks I have stayed at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
Excellent state park close to Colorado Springs attractions. I stayed in a overflow campsite area for a week as did not have reservations. The site was level and the view was great. Good bike trails, but pets are not allowed on the trails (otherwise would rate this park a 10). The staff was friendly and the camping sites were well maintained. Highly recommend this campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
As others have stated, nice sites with phenomenal views. Site was level and the staff was friendly. As another comment stated, the only real complaint was the $7 per day "use fee" added on top of the site fee. There is also a $10 fee to book online through the company who is apparently handling this service. So, what is a reasonable $26 per day fee advertised on their website for a pull through spot becomes an excessive $35 per day fee for W/E/S hook ups with no other amenities. So, while the sites were very good, I will check out staying at some other location if we return to Colorado Springs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
This is our third stay here and it is just awesome! The park is beginning to mature a bit, so there is some shade starting to appear, but it depends on your site location. All sites are great and I don't believe there is a bad one in the lot! We were in site #7 that overlooks the campground and our views were outstanding! All hookups were good and site had good water pressure. No wifi in the area, unfortunately. Overall this is a great spot for day trips to the zoo, 7 Falls or the many other attractions in the area. Bring a hummingbird feeder! Fun! We WILL be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
We stayed here with 2 of our grandkids in June, 2010, for 5 nights. This is a fantastic park. The camping fee includes a $6/day park entry fee. The kids loved the area--lots of wildlife, nice views. This is a great location for visiting all the tourist areas in & around Colorado Springs. You'll probably need reservations to secure a site during prime vacation time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Awesome GC with a beautiful view of the city below and the mountains above. The sites are level with concrete and gravel pads for tents and picnic tables. This was a great location for all our day trips, south to Royal Gorge North to Pikes Peek. Only complaint once you arrive you have to buy a $7 per day car pass that's not mentioned when you make your reservation online. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Beautiful park, new and clean. Unfortunately, it's against the rules to walk your dog on the trails, of which there are many. So, to follow the rules you basically have to walk your dog on the roads. Also, there are not many trees that shade the sites. If not for those two reasons, I would have given it a 9 or 10. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
Great spot to camp! Beautiful views of Colorado Springs, lots of wildlife (we saw prairie dogs, turkeys, and lots of birds) and really clean facilities. This is one nice spot! The site fee is $26 but there's an additional $7 parking fee on top of that, so it's actually $33 per night. Reservations couldn't be made the same day (guess you have to reserve 3 or more days ahead) but we didn't have a problem finding a spot. We stayed during the week though, leaving on a Friday, and it was already filling up with reservations when we left, so I would recommend planning ahead! We lucked out. Showers are coin op, 50 cents for 4 minutes I believe it was, so make sure you have quarters. Bathrooms were clean. Sites are close enough together to be convenient for families, groups, etc. but far enough apart for privacy and reduced noise. Each loop of sites has a community area with a BBQ, table, etc. which was a really neat touch. Staff is a little sparse, however we were also there in an off-peak time, plus you're in a park, not an RV resort. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$24
This campground is beautiful. Overlooking the city with Pike's Peak behind you is spectacular. Sites are paved and level. Large patios and fire pits. Hiking trails and even a laundry. Deer passing by your rig in the morning. Close to everything in The Springs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Spectacular! Some sites have incredible views overlooking Colorado Springs and the plains beyond. Wild turkeys strolled through our site every day. All sites are full hookups unfortunately the dump was too far back for us to use. No biggie. We simply stopped at a vacant pull through on our way out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
A very clean, pristine State Park with wonderful facilities. My wife and I go there a couple of times a year to get away from the hectic city life of Colorado Springs. It is a worthwhile experience for both a short stay while passing through the area or a few days for getting away. I highly recommend this State Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
You simply cannot find a better place to camp in Colorado Springs. It's in a good location for visiting the city, but totally quiet and peaceful. The view of the city lights at night is pretty. The campsites are well spaced apart and quite level. We walked one of the trails which was well marked and easy to navigate. There isn't any shade, but the weather cools off nicely at night. We've stayed at a couple other campgrounds in Colo Springs and this is by far the best. No pool, of course, this is a state park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
We stayed here for 3 days. The Park overlooks Fort Collins Army Base and Colorado Springs. Sites were asphalt and level, hookups were very good with great water pressure and good electric service. Each site had a firepit, table and tent site. Laundry and showers were immaculate. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had deer in the evening and wild turkeys in the morning by our rig. This was a great place to return after a day of sightseeing to relax away from the city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
Without a doubt, one of the nicest campgrounds in the state park system! We were amazed by how quiet it was given it's proximity to Ft. Carson. The entire campground is spotless! The only reason it didn't get a 10 was the sites were not completely level and there is a goofy incline where you back down into your site, we had site #27. It made unhitching/hitching a little more tricky. All the hookups work great and there was great water pressure. We did wonder about the half dozen sites that were roped off and not in use for some unknown reason. The entry gate said "campground full" but these sites were never occupied. Broken? The campground hosts were excellent and were very pet-friendly. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
This park may be the closest thing going to Fort Wilderness at Walt Disney World, except there is no theme park. Sites, hookups, bathrooms: everything was spotless. It was almost too perfect. But, alas, there are problems. The park is extremely popular, and the Colorado State Park reservation system is about the nuttiest, most tourist discouraging system invented. You cannot reserve less than three nights ahead. There is a $10 fee to reserve. (And, there is a $6 fee if you cancel.) Anything else, you must do walk in. But, you can only walk in if: A.) You pay the state park fee; B.) You go to the office and see if a site is available; C.) If you are lucky, you can reserve for as long as that site if not reserved. But, if you have to change sites, you will not be able to reserve online OR reserve at the park until the day on the calendar of change has arrived. I needed an attorney and a flow chart to figure it all out. Bottom line: reserve ahead of time, or take your chances. By the way, the wildlife at this park is outstanding. Bears do show up, but don't let that discourage you. The bird life was incredible. We would return here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
What a fantastic park. We loved the views and wildlife. As you enter the park there were prairie dogs in abundance with their young running around everywhere along the sides of the road. We saw deer, wild turkey (mom, dad, and six babies) Beautiful areas for picnics, along with many hiking trails. If you are an early riser you can hear Reveille in the morning from Fort Carson, and then you hear Taps at night - what a treat. The Park Rangers and park employees were cheerful and very helpful. We would definitely recommend this park and would love to stay here again in our travels. Three day in advance reservations are required for a reserved space; however, we just showed up and lucked out on an empty spot that is on a first come basis. Also, we had a space big enough for our 43' Rv, with a tow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
This is probably the best park in Colorado for the price during the summer. Great new and clean facility with million dollar views of Colorado Springs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
I can not say enough great things about this park. Finally a state park that can handle a big rig and with full hook ups! We enjoyed the view from the Raptor Glen area during the day and at night. Every evening at 10pm we could hear Taps being played from Ft. Carson. The hiking trails are well marked. We saw deer, wild turkeys and lots of prairie dogs. We would definitely stay here again and again. The only bad thing is that you can only stay 14 days at a time! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
What a fantastic State Park. Yes, it's pricy, especially when you add on the additional day use fees they charge (which can be lowered by purchasing a year round pass.) The turn off from Colorado State Highway 115 onto the park access road is a little tight, but after that it's easy going. Our Verizon cell phone and aircard worked and we had no problem with the roof mounted satellite dish. There is lots to do in and around the area, or you can just hang out in the park which has over 20 miles of hiking trails! Just watch out for the bears!! You will be warned about them and given directions on how to store your food, etc., when you arrive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
This is by far the nicest park in the area and one of the best I have ever stayed in! Walking trails are easily accessed and clearly marked throughout the park. Deer, turkey and prairie dogs were seen daily. The views from many of the sites are incredible. When booking online they provide a photo of the site so that you can see the view you want. We stayed in Gobbler Grove #15 and could not have been happier. Sites on either side of us had equally impressive views. Bathrooms were kept clean by a constantly patrolling pair of maintenance men. Rangers drive through the area at regular intervals. As long as your permits are clearly shown you should not have any problems. We found the Rangers to always be friendly and helpful. The RV area is at the top of the park so you do have a fairly steep pull to the sites. Our site was level and well maintained. Road noise was nonexistent; the only noise you may hear comes from Fort Carson at the foot of the mountain. Reveille at 6:30 and Taps around 10 could occasionally be heard. Helicopters are regularly patrolling the base and distant bomb runs could be heard, curious but never loud. In an area with numerous choices for you to select from, many of them toward the center of town, we found that Cheyenne Mountain State Park was by far the finest and well worth the additional few minutes it might take to get to your destinations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$26
We absolutely love this place since moving to Colorado 2 years ago. We camp here 3-4 times during the season. Word of warning though, you can get some pretty vicious winds in the spring. There are tons of walking trails and you feel like you're in the middle of nowhere, but you're only just outside of the Springs. Another note of caution when entering off of Hwy 119 with your rig: turn wide at the road to the park entrance when coming in from town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
Nice park. Paved pads and roads. Hookups were solid. Good valley views. They do not allow dogs on the trails. No wi-fi. No pool, hot tub or other amenities. Looks like the nicest park in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
Great place to camp. Sites are level and secluded with fire pits. Playgrounds are new. Scenic views front and back with the mountains to your back and the city to your front. They have a mountain bike path all through the park which is really cool. This is a really great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
If this is the campsite to compare all others too then everyone else will lose. Imagine eating dinner after sunset from your table by the bay window overlooking the Fort Carson and Southern Colorado Springs area. A million dollar view for $22 plus parking! Cheyenne Mt Park is located adjacent to the infamous NORAD base inside the mountain and across the street from Fort Carson Army Base; bringing home the current war efforts when the bugles played over loud speakers to mourn the loss of our soldiers. Deer, wild turkeys, coyotes, rattle snakes, bears, and birds all were seen or left noticeable tracks. World class hiking and biking trails inside the park (trails leaving from the camping loops). Incredible views, amazing sunrises and sunsets, clouds, fog, warmth and freezing ice all greeted us during our 10 days in October. Frankly, the state of Colorado is going to put any neighboring RV parks out of business with this park. Items of note: the rangers are a bit annoying as they make regular rounds to check parking and camping permits (3-4 times per day we had to display this info); Verizon gets a signal but you do receive heavy interference from the military infrastructure surrounding you; you are 500ft above the city so the weather is colder and a bit more variable; the park is not yet on GPS maps so print directions from their website before rolling out; and you will not want to leave and may stake out permanent residence at the park. Don't hesitate staying here if you are heading towards Colorado Springs, Pikes Peak, Manitou Springs, or Fort Carson. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
Simply beautiful! Although there is not much shade, the scenery is breathtaking! To the east, you have an awesome view of the city. It's very spectacular at night! To the west is the imposing Cheyenne Mountain. I can't find a bad site in the lot. Although some are better than others, it's totally preference. The only small gripe I had was the entrance to some sites had a steep to moderate slope. A tip: unhook your spring bars before backing into one of these sloped sites. Other than that, this place is great! Close enough to the Springs to use as a base of operations to see the sights! We will be back again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
Cheyenne Mountain State Park is the example all other states should follow. All of the Colorado State Parks are well done, but Cheyenne Mountain tops them all. The campground is opened late in 2008 so all the buildings and amenities are brand new. To the east all of eastern Colorado is at your feet. To the west Cheyenne Mountain overlooks the campground. It's a bit of an up hill drive to get to the CG but nothing to worry about. The sites are all large and afford almost total privacy. Note that some of the 51 sites have a sloping driveway to enter the site and some bigger rigs may scrape their hitch upon entering. Full electric, sewer and water at every site. Make reservations early because as more and more people get wind of this place it will be very hard to get into. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
The only way to describe this campground: "If this isn't paradise it close enough for me." Large, private spaces so far from your neighbor that you think the place is yours alone. This is indeed the "Crown Jewel" of the Colorado State Park system. If you don't reserve a very long way ahead you will only get a night or two before you must move. A Colorado State Park permit is required so factor that in your budget. We will return here again..and again..and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
Simply wonderful. One of the best parks we have ever been in! We were in the Raptor Glen loop on site #9 and had unrestricted view of the city. Everything one could want, except internet and cable TV. They do charge a daily entry fee over the daily site rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
Look at my other park reviews. This is by far the NICEST campground we have ever visited – bar none!! If you want me to be picky, the water spigot dripped. Other than that, this park is about as perfect as they come. I just wish the state parks where I lived were this nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
We camped in a 45 foot motor home. For a state park, this park rates at the top of the list. The campground opened within the last 16 months. There are paved interior roads and sites. All sites are 50 amp, full hookup. The website gives complete description of each site including a picture. Pay attention to the website, because different sites accommodate various length RVs. Some sites have a steep include to access a level pad. If your rig doesn't have much clearance, beware of the incline. Each camp site has 2 water hydrants, picnic table, fire ring, & approximately 10 foot by 10 foot gravel area for a dining fly with tie downs. The campground even has a camp store like a private park.There are miles of trails lead from each loop of the campground. There are ranger activities. The only thing holding this campground back from a perfect 10 for a state campground is lack of shade for those who want it. The entrance is located across the street from Fort Carson Gate 1 (main gate) on E. J L Heights Rd. The Right turn off Colorado 115 is tricky because of the curbing. Be careful. Proceed through round-about 1/2 mile to Entry Station. There is a fee of $6 per motorized vehicle unless you have an annual pass. Now drive approximately 1 mile to the Camper Services building to pay for the campsite fee unless you made paid reservation via the website. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
This is a wonderful RV park. First of all, it is well designed providing well spaced both back-in and pull through spots. Each site is full hook up, 50 amp. There are great views of Cheyenne Mountain and Colorado Springs from all sites - the night lights view of Colorado Springs is great. Facilities are first class and spotless. Trails are well marked, varying lengths and a variety of woods and grasslands. The only downside is no WiFi - which is not uncommon for a state park; but could be added at the Visitor Center. This is one of the nicest places we have stayed, would stay again and highly recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$11
This was our first visit to Cheyenne Mountain and we think it is an excellent campground. We loved our site--large, private, great views. The campground is quiet and has great trails for hiking and biking. The laundry was clean and reasonably priced. The restrooms were clean, spacious and very nice. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
This camping area opened this year (2009). This is a typical Colorado State Park. Big sites, camp sites are not cramped side by side. I would have given it a 10 but there were no shelters over the picnic tables. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
As others have commented, this is a new campground with paved sites. Electrical is 50 amp and the sewer connection is in a recessed concrete area. The CG is very well designed and maintained. There are over 20 miles of well maintained trails that are suitable for hiking or mountain bikes. The bathrooms and showers (pay) are immaculate. The design of the back-in sites is like the spokes of a wheel, so you have good separation from your neighbors. A couple of the back-in sites have a fairly steep ramp section, so be sure to check this on the web site if this will be a problem for you. The trees are mostly small scrub oak and don't provide shade, so this CG could be hot in the core summer months. The only TV reception is over-the-air, but the Colorado Springs TV stations all have their antennas on Cheyenne Mountain, which is right next to the CG. There is no WiFi, even at the visitor's center, so you have to drive a few miles into Colorado Springs to a coffee shop. We will definitely stay here again when we are in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
This is a very nice, new campground with well kept trails and facilities. The park staff does a great job setting and moving around geo-caches for the kids; you can rent a GPS and get the latest coordinates at the visitors center. The grounds are very pretty, but you aren't completely in the wilderness with Co Springs down the hill and a housing development up and to the north. The playgrounds are only for kids up to age 5, so don't expect to amuse your older kids there. There is a 6 or 7 dollar daily fee for your car in addition to the nightly camping fee if you don't have an annual pass, and a motorhome with a toad may have to pay for the second car as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$22
This is a new state park and all facilities reflect it. All the RV sites are level concrete pads with asphalt drives and roads. Each site has a picnic table, fire pit and tent pad. The camper services building includes a camp store. Views of the city at night are incredible. This is a great park to use as a base to see the sites in Colorado Springs. It is also a great park for local campers to use as a "shake down" trip in the spring or a final trip in the fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$22
My faithful co-pilot and I made a field trip today to Colorado Springs and to this new campground that has opened inside Cheyenne Mountain State Park. These are our impressions. The campground has several different areas. "Raptor Glenn Campground" is 10 sites on a hill with great views of the city. "Gobbler Grove Campground" is 7 sites in a shallow hollow which are more private and wooded. "Swift Puma Campground" is 21 RV sites and 6 tent sites, located in an open area on a hill also with great city views. "The Meadow - Group Campground" is 13 RV sites and 4 tent sites in an open field meadow with group picnic sites connected to the individual campsites. There are numerous fire rings and tables. This campground is so spanking new, I think no one has camped here yet! It was completely empty except for some maintenance crews roaming about. We had the place to ourselves. It's situated on a gradual hillside next to Cheyenne Mountain itself. All new buildings/showers and lots of good signs. All the roads are well paved and the sites are concrete pads. There are 51 total RV sites: 14 pull-throughs, 37 back-ins and 10 walk-in tent sites. All RV sites have water, electric (30 and 50AMP), and sewer. This includes the group camp area. The group area also has supplemental water spigots in addition to the ones at the sites. There are heavy tables and fire rings with covers at all sites. While most sites are back in, they all appear able to handle at least 35 ft rigs. The turnabouts are wide and I would feel comfortable turning my TT around. The initial climb from the entrance gate to the campgrounds, is a little steep, about 10% in spots, but the roads are wide and well-constructed. The State Park is obviously a work in progress and you can see where more sites are planned. Overall this is a smaller campground, but a welcome addition to the area. Hope everyone finds this information useful. We did! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com