221614 User submitted reviews online!!
Leapin' Lizard RV Ranch was rated 9 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (760) 767-4526
CGID9853

Leapin' Lizard RV Ranch

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   7   10   9   8   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
We loved this park, the shade around each site, the friendly staff especially the owner who helped us back in to the site, and the immaculate restroom facilities. The sites were generous in size, level and well-kept. The only drawback is the extremely limited communication through cell phone and Internet. Limited browsing does not include use of Facebook. I know this is not important for many people but we are full-time travelers and want to keep connected with friends and family. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$23
We really enjoyed this campground even though it was in the middle of the desert and ATVing is the popular activity. It was quiet while we were there, but according to their rules it would be even when they have a lot of ATVers. ATVers must use a back gate and push the vehicle out do the park or in to avoid stirring up dust. The sites are surrounded with some kind of tree/bush which provided shade for a good portion of the day. This campground was immaculate! They sweep and rack the sites each day and also the dog park, which they also roll pack. The shower house/bathroom was spotless and I observed them multiple times each day, checking it out. The laundry room was also extremely clean. The owners and workkampers were so friendly and helpful. The owners are building a pool and hot tub which is going to be beautiful when finished later this year. I would definitely stay here when in the area. Again, ATVing is the thing to do in this area, so it could be dusty (more than normal) in the area, but not inside this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$12
Price is based on monthly rate. This park is just wonderful. Rural, but not completely isolated. The Leaping Lizard's owners and staff are not only helpful and incredibly friendly, but will work out excursions for you, give you info on Anza Borrego SP, and the area surrounding the RV Park. LL owns about 135 acres, that is our backyard view from the RV, and a fine place to take the dogs for a big run. There is a trough for the horse which the dogs (2 golden retrievers) can jump in and cool off! We are about 20 minutes from Borrego Springs and 40 minutes from Brawley, which has all the big box stores if you need a big "shop." We arrived after dark, and the owners and two staff showed up with flashlights to help us back into our primo spot (#18). The bathrooms and showers are immaculate. I am serious! This is the first RV Park Review I've done and I'm inspired to do so since this is such a perfect place for us. If you like big-in-town luxury parks, this is probably not for you, but we were mightily amazed even to find every one of the 60-some sites raked and surrounded by tamarix for ultimate privacy. WiFi is fine, but we don't have cell coverage. You can walk a block to get three bars. There is a store for emergency goods a half mile away. They are building a pool that should be open next year. Come visit! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
Rustic campground set on sandy ground with plenty of privacy trees; trees formed almost a complete view block on 3 sides of our site. Very quiet and peaceful with plenty of room to sit out, 8 to 10 ft wide on patio side of rig. All sites are back-in, but staff directs you into your spot and does a good job of it. We pretty much maxed out the site with a 37 foot class A; ladder in back just clear of trees and nose of coach protruding slightly into access road. Unhook any toad before entering campground. Electric OK, enough to run both A/C units. Water pressure low at 25 psi. Sewer run is slightly uphill. WiFi is very limited HughesNet. Basically e-mail and light web browsing. Limited to 6 hours a day and very slow. Clock runs as long as you have a wireless connection to the WAP, so make sure to turn off your wireless radio when not using it. No cell service except within 10 feet of the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
Stayed here for two weeks (nightly rate reflects a weekly price). Really friendly welcome by staff. Site easy to back into and level up the rig; hook-ups conveniently placed. Site had shade trees all round so felt really private, not like on display as with most campsites. Wished we had found this site earlier. Down side (if this is important to you), site is miles from anywhere in the middle of the desert; fortunately, it was just what we were looking for. Plenty of things to see and do in the desert if that appeals to you. Excellent facility for dog; it is kept really clean as was the whole site. Addition of pool and hot tub in progress, so it will be really good once this addition is completed. We would return again and certainly recommend it; well worth it, good value for money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
+9 Smooth, dirt back-in; tamarisk trees on both sides provide good privacy. The camp hosts are friendly and helpful, and the park is very well kept, especially the restrooms. The current owners have owned the park for 16 years, and their pride of ownership shows. Very pleasant walk “out back” on desert property almost to the dirt airstrip which the owner uses to land his plane! -1 Downside: needed leveling blocks in front, and some may object to having to walk a short distance to the office for cell phone service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
Excellent RV park. Extremely friendly. Clean showers & laundry room. Rate is for good Sam. Actually located in Ocotilla Wells. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
A great park with lots to do in the area, especially if you like to hike and/or geocache. Remember to take your shower shoe with you, since the floor "mats" are a bit much for my old tender feet. That aside, the staff, hosts and guests are all very friendly. If you like unusual aircraft, you'll enjoy the "Ospreys" making VTOL's at the local "airport". The town shuts down pretty much during the week, but comes alive with man off-roaders on the weekends, due to the OHV park nearby. We'll return here for sure, if we come back to the area. Be sure to check out Font's Point for amazing views of the desert and the badlands. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$23
Nice sites although a 40+ would have some difficulty getting into most of the sites. All gravel interior but well maintained. Washrooms completely redone and are beautiful. They were in the process of putting in a pool when we were there - still several months away from completion. It was quite a ways from anywhere but a very nice getaway park, we would stay there again. The above rate reflects Good Sam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
This is a great park. Has wide sites that are secluded from the surrounding sites. Friendly staff. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Very nice park with some shade in the desert! Fairly large sites with trees between. Swimming pool and spa are in progress with expected completion 2010. This park is closed June - End of Sept. Very close to the Ocotillo off road area and 15 or so miles from Anza-Borrego state park. About 30 miles from Salton Sea. Laundry area with reasonable rates and very clean. Park owners and staff very friendly and helpful. New Wi-Fi system put in while I was there and it works well. Much better than nearby RV parks, which look like wild west towns. Has a dog fenced area. The bad: could not get cellphone reception on ATT, Verizon, or Sprint. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com